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Summary: Exempts from property tax the home of any person eligible for the disabled veterans' 
exemption, with a $2.1 million cap in assessed value that will be adjusted annually for inflation. 

Summary of Amendments.  The amendments since the previous analysis add sunset date 
provisions.  

Purpose:  To exempt from the property tax the homes of most 100% disabled veterans or their 
unmarried surviving spouses.  

Fiscal Impact Summary:  Annual revenue loss of $65.9 million.  

Existing Law:  The California Constitution1 authorizes the Legislature to exempt partially or fully from 
property tax, the home of a person or spouse, including an unmarried surviving spouse, if the person has 
incurred certain injuries, including blindness in both eyes, lost use of 2 or more limbs, or total disability.  
The exemption also applies if a person’s death is from a service-connected injury or disease, or if a 
person’s death occurs while on active duty in military service. This exemption is commonly referred to as 
the “disabled veterans' exemption.”  

Statutory Exemption Amount.  Current law contains a partial exemption.2  For the 2017-18 fiscal year, 
for persons with household incomes below $58,754, the exemption amount is $196,262.  For all other 
eligible persons, the exemption amount is $130,841.3 The law requires an annual inflation adjustment of 
the exemption amount, as specified.  

Blind Definition.  For the disabled veterans' exemption, the RTC defines being "blind in both eyes" to 
mean having a visual acuity of 5/200 or less, or concentric contraction of the visual field to 5 degrees or 
less.4  The USDVA disability rating for this level of vision is 100%.  

Proposed Law:  
Exemption Amount. This bill increases the exemption amount for the home of any person qualified to 
receive the disabled veterans' exemption to up to $2.1 million adjusted annually for inflation. The 
measure of the annual inflation adjustment remains unchanged. This bill also removes any income-
based exemption amount variation, thereby eliminating the need for claimants to annually reapply to 
receive the income-based exemption amount.  

Blind Definition. The definition of "blind in both eyes" is amended to mean a blind person as defined by 
cross reference to Welfare and Institutions Code Section 19153 as it currently reads:   

[A] person who has not more than 20/200 central visual acuity in the better eye after correction, 
or a person who has visual acuity greater than 20/200 but with a limitation in the fields of vision 
such that the widest diameter of the visual field subtends an angle no greater than 20 degrees. 
Such blindness shall be certified by a licensed physician and surgeon who specializes in diseases 
of the eye or a licensed optometrist. 

                                                           
1 Section 4(a) of Article XIII of the California Constitution. 
2 RTC Section 205.5. 
3 This is the current exemption amount.  Since 2006, RTC 205.5(h) allows a compounding inflation factor to apply to 
the $150,000 and $100,000 amounts.  This is the current income threshold.  Since 2002, RTC 205.5(g) allows a 
compounding inflation factor to apply to the $40,000 income threshold. Letter to Assessors 2016/017, dated May 3, 
2016, lists exemption amounts and household income limitations effective for lien dates 2002 through 2017. 
4 RTC Section 205.5(e).  

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/15-16/bill/asm/ab_1551-1600/ab_1556_bill_20160516_amended_asm_v95.pdf
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=WIC&sectionNum=19153.
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=CONS&sectionNum=SEC.%204.&article=XIII
http://www.boe.ca.gov/lawguides/property/current/ptlg/rt/205-5.html
http://www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/pdf/lta16017.pdf
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The USDVA disability rating at this level of vision is 70%. 

Mobility: Assistive Devices.  This bill adds an additional “totally disabled” condition which is the 
“veteran is so severely disabled as to be unable to move without the aid of an assistive device.” The 
Vehicle Code5 uses this definition in a list of disabilities that qualifies a veteran for various fee waivers6 
and a special parking placard.7 (Under the Vehicle Code, mobility is the basis for various fee waivers and, 
unlike the property tax exemption, fee waivers don’t apply to veterans with 100% disability 
compensation.)  

Effective Date. As a tax levy, this bill is effective immediately upon enactment.  However, it includes 
provisions to delay the operative date until the lien date for the 2017-18 fiscal year.  Additionally, it 
includes sunset provisions that would likely8 reinstate current exemption amounts commencing with the 
lien date for the 2020-21 fiscal year by repealing the bill’s provisions on January 1, 2020.   

In General: California law provides qualified disabled veterans and their unmarried surviving spouses 
with a property tax exemption that applies to their home’s assessed value. Exemption eligibility 
provisions require that the claimant obtain a United States Department of Veterans Affairs (USDVA) 
disability rating that either (1) rates the veteran’s disability at 100% or (2) rates the veteran’s disability 
compensation at 100% because the veteran is unable to secure and maintain gainful employment.   

The law also allows surviving spouses to receive the exemption if the spouse's death was service-
connected. To be eligible for the exemption, surviving spouses must receive a USDVA determination that 
the spouse’s death was service-connected.  A USDVA determination is necessary for (1) active duty 
personnel deaths (i.e., the service person was not a “veteran”) and (2) veterans without a 100% rating 
when alive, but whose cause of death is deemed service-connected.  Surviving spouses of veterans with 
a 100% disability rating during their lifetime continue to receive the exemption after the veteran’s death 
so long as they do not remarry. 

The exemption amount depends upon the claimant’s income.  For the 2017-18 fiscal year, the basic 
exemption adjusted for inflation will be $130,841.  If the claimant’s income is less than $58,754, the 
exemption amount will be $196,262.  For the fiscal year 2015-16, 37,653 disabled veterans or their 
unmarried surviving spouses were granted the exemption.  

Qualification Basic Exemption 
Amount 

Lower Income Exemption Amount 
$40,000 adjusted for inflation 

$58,754 
Disabled Veteran 

• Disability Rating = 100% 
• Disability Compensation = 100% 
• Blind 
• Lost Two or More Limbs 

 
Spouse of Military Personnel 

• Surviving Spouse: Disabled Veteran 
• Surviving Spouse: Active Duty Death 
• Surviving Spouse: Posthumous 

service-connected death finding 

$100,000 
adjusted for inflation 

 
$130,841 

$150,000 
adjusted for inflation 

 
$196,262 

Claims Granted: 37,653 33,196  4,457 
In 1990, 8,483 disabled veterans' exemptions were provided to eligible homeowners.  For 2015, there 
were 37,653 eligible homeowners.  In the last 25 years, this is a 443% increase.  

                                                           
5 Vehicle Code Section 295.7.  "A “disabled veteran” is any person who, as a result of injury or disease suffered while 
on active duty service with the armed forces of the United States [i]s so severely disabled as to be unable to move 
without the aid of an assistant device." Note “assistant” rather than assistive.  
6 Vehicle Code Section 9105. DMV Form Reg 256A. 
7 Vehicle Code Section 5007, DMV Regulation Handbook 21.070. 
8 See Comment #3 below.  

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=VEH&sectionNum=295.7.
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=VEH&sectionNum=9105.
https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/wcm/connect/2ef9e96d-b662-41be-bac1-47b57a4159f8/reg256a.pdf?MOD=AJPERES
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=VEH&sectionNum=5007.
https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/dmv/?1dmy&urile=wcm:path:/dmv_content_en/dmv/pubs/reg_hdbk/ch21/ch21_15
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After 2005, the $100,000 and $150,000 exemption amounts annually increased by an inflation factor.  
For 2016, the exemption amounts will be $127,510 and $191,266.  

 
Background:  The following table lists the most recent legislative attempts to increase the disabled 
veterans' exemption.  

Year Bill Proposal 
2008 AB 2568 (Houston) Full Exemption 
2007 AB 1485 (Jefferies) Full Exemption, as introduced 
2007  AB 1485 (Jefferies) Increase to $200,000 and $250,000, as amended 
2005 SB 1005 (Florez) Full Exemption for Spouses if Active Duty Death 

Full Exemption for Spouses if Public Safety Officer Death 
2004 SB 764 (Morrow)  Inflation factoring commences January 1, 2006 (Enacted) 
2003 SB 764 (Morrow) Increase to $200,000 and $250,000, as introduced 
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http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/07-08/bill/asm/ab_2551-2600/ab_2568_bill_20080222_introduced.pdf
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/postquery?bill_number=ab_1485&sess=0708&house=B&author=jeffries
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/postquery?bill_number=sb_1005&sess=0506&house=B&author=florez
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/postquery?bill_number=sb_764&sess=0304&house=B&author=morrow
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/postquery?bill_number=sb_764&sess=0304&house=B&author=morrow
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Commentary:  
1. This bill exempts from property tax up to $2,100,000 in assessed value for the home of a disabled 

veteran and their unmarried surviving spouse.  The California Constitution provides that the 
Legislature may exempt these homes in whole or in part.  This bill increases the current exemption 
amounts to $2,100,000 of assessed value for all qualifying claimants.  This should result in a full 
exemption for most qualified claimants given that assessed values are generally factored base year 
values that are unrelated to current market value.  Additionally, by eliminating the income-based 
exemption amount, it eliminates the need for these claimants to annually reapply to verify their 
continued eligibility for the higher exemption amount.  

2. The May 16, 2016 amendments add a sunset date provision as described in Comment 3.  The April 
28, 2016 amendments deleted the full exemption initially proposed and instead increased the 
current exemptions amounts to $2,100,000 in assessed value.  This cap will fully exempt most 
homes, but addresses concerns that without any cap the exemption could exempt multi-million 
dollar properties and be deemed excessive in certain situations. The March 28, 2016 amendments 
(1) added subdivision (g) to Section 205.5 to delay the operative date of this bill's provisions to first 
apply to the lien date for the 2017-18 fiscal year and (2) corrected a technical drafting error since 
the USDVA, not the veteran, sets a veteran's disability rating.  The BOE's prior analysis of this bill 
suggested both amendments.  

3. This Commission on State Mandates-provisional early sunset provision. If the Commission finds 
that this bill imposes a reimbursable mandate payable from the general fund, then this bill’s 
provisions are repealed on the next lien date rather than on January 1, 2020.  County administrative 
costs would seem to decrease if this bill’s provisions are enacted since it eliminates the need to 
annually process the current 4,500 low-income exemption claims.  Further, in most instances a full 
exemption would be provided and eliminates the need to calculate partial exemptions which can be 
labor intensive. In this case, it seems unlikely that a county would file a test claim with the 
Commission for increased costs. However, all local governments (except schools, other than basic 
aid schools) that are property tax recipients would incur a revenue decrease, because the state does 
not reimburse local governments for the property tax revenue loss related to the disabled veterans’ 
exemption. Thus, it seems unlikely that the provisions would sunset before January 1, 2020. 

4. The author notes high housing costs in California locales where veterans live.  The author states 
that Los Angeles and San Diego Counties have the highest concentration of veterans.  This bill is 
intended to help ensure that California’s disabled veterans and their spouses receive the care and 
assistance needed to live within the state.  

5. Top 10 Counties.  For 2015, counties with the most disabled veterans' exemptions in descending 
order include: (1) San Diego: 5,391; (2) Riverside: 3,732; (3) Sacramento: 2,422; (4) San Bernardino: 
2,373; (5) Los Angeles: 2,092; (6) Solano: 1,764; (7) Orange: 1,691; (8) Contra Costa: 1,147; (9) 
Monterey: 990; and (10) Fresno: 959.  

6. Unlike the homeowners’ exemption, the state does not reimburse local governments for the 
property tax revenue lost from the Disabled Veterans' Exemption.  The state fully reimburses local 
governments for the homeowners' exemption.  

7. To transition to the new exemption amounts at the least possible administrative cost, this bill 
delays the operative date to coincide with the lien date.  As a tax levy, this bill would take effect 
immediately.  Subdivision (h) of Section 205.5 delays the operative date of this bill's provisions to 
the lien date for the 2017-18 fiscal year (i.e., January 1, 2017).  

  

http://www.csm.ca.gov/
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8. The purpose and intent of adding the assisted mobility definition is unclear and might expand 
exemption eligibility.  Existing “totally disabled” definitions are based on pre-existing USDVA-
determinations.  As currently drafted, the new assisted mobility definition lacks a link to a USDVA-
related finding.  It would seem that the USDVA would issue a 100% disability rating to a veteran who 
is “unable to move without the aid of assistive device.”  Is the intent of this bill to extend the 
exemption to veterans that are currently ineligible, such as veterans that become immobile for non-
service-connected reasons? To properly administer the changes this bill requires further 
clarification.  The revenue estimate below does not include an expansion of veterans that might 
qualify by adding new eligibility criteria.  If the author does not intend to change exemption 
eligibility, the following amendment is suggested:  

At Page 5, line 24, delete “, or the veteran is so severely disabled as to be unable to move 
without the aid of an assistive device.” 

9. The BOE does not have any information regarding how many more veterans might qualify by 
changing the definition of blind from 5/200 to 20/200.  The USDVA rates 20/200 visual acuity at 
70% and 5/200 at 100%.  Thus, veterans who do not currently have a 100% rating would become 
eligible for the property tax exemption.  However, the BOE has no information on which to base an 
estimate.  The revenue estimate below does not include an expansion of the veterans that might 
qualify by this change.  In administering this provision, it is unclear whether the USDVA would 
provide the vision diagnosis or if any optometrist could determine if the vision loss was service-
connected. If the author does not intend to change exemption eligibility, the following amendment 
is suggested: 

At page 5, line 13, delete “is a blind person, as that term is defined in Section 19153 of the 
Welfare and Institutions Code as that section read on January 1, 2016.” After “veteran” add 
“has a visual acuity of 5/200 or less, or concentric contraction of the visual field to 5 degrees 
or less.” 

10. The need to modify the property tax exemption to incorporate DMV definitions is unclear. The 
laws are not identical.  For instance, persons receiving 100% disability compensation benefits are 
ineligible for the DMV-related benefits, but they are eligible for the property tax exemption.  The 
above suggested amendments effectively restore existing definitions and will neither expand nor 
restrict existing exemption eligibility.  

11. Related Legislation.  Current legislation proposing to amend RTC Section 205.5 includes: 

AB 1556  Mathis Exemption Amount. Increase to $2.1 Million with inflation factoring.  
Blind and Mobility Definitions. 

• Adds New Category of Total Disability Related to Mobility.  
• Modifies Blind Definition. 

SB 1104  Stone Exemption Amount. Increase to 100% exemption.  
SB 1183 Bates Exemption Amount. Increase to $1 Million with inflation factoring.  No 

sunset date.  
Blind and Mobility Definitions. 

• Adds New Category of Total Disability Related to Mobility. 
• Modifies Blind Definition. 

SB 1458  Bates Discharge Classification. Extends exemption to disabled veterans with 
other than dishonorable discharge and receiving 100% disability 
compensation or have a 100% disability rating and eligible for federal 
veterans’ health and medical benefits.  

 

  

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/15-16/bill/asm/ab_1551-1600/ab_1556_bill_20160516_amended_asm_v95.pdf
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201520160SB1104
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billTextClient.xhtml?bill_id=201520160SB1183
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201520160SB1458
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Costs:  BOE would incur absorbable costs to modify forms, publications, and website materials.  

Revenue Impact:  
Background, Methodology, and Assumptions.  Existing property tax law provides a disabled veterans’ 
exemption to military personnel, or their spouses, in the event of a service-connected injury, disease, or 
death, as specified. The law provides a basic exemption amount of $100,000, but increases that amount 
to $150,000 if the claimant’s household income does not exceed $40,000, with all amounts adjusted for 
inflation.  

The following revenue impact estimate uses FY 2015-16 data and exemption amounts for consistency 
since this is the most recent year where all variables for the same year are available.  For 2015-16, the 
basic exemption amount was $126,380.  The lower income exemption amount was $189,571 for 
claimants with a household income below $56,751.  

To begin, staff estimated the number of disabled veteran owned homes currently receiving the 
exemption. In 2015-16, 37,653 disabled veterans’ exemptions were granted: 33,196 at the basic level 
and 4,457 at the lower income level.  Based on a survey of several counties, staff estimates that this bill 
will not impact 21% of homes receiving the basic exemption (6,971 homes) or 24% of homes receiving 
the lower income exemption (1,070 homes).  These homes are already fully exempt because they have 
an assessed value of less than $126,380 and $189,571, respectively. For purposes of this estimate, staff 
assumes that a $2.1 million exemption amount will fully exempt all homes currently receiving the 
exemption, and that no home currently has an assessed value exceeding $2.1 million.  Thus, this bill will 
exempt from the property tax 29,612 homes: 26,225 (33,196-6,971) currently receiving the basic 
exemption and 3,387 homes (4,457-1,070) receiving the lower income exemption.  

 Homes Granted 
Exemption 

Homes Already Fully Exempt Additional Homes 
Exempted 

Basic 33,196 6,971 26,225 
Lower Income 4,457 1,070 3,387 
Total  37,653 8,041 29,612 

Staff then estimated the additional amount of assessed value that this bill will exempt.  Staff subtracted 
the current exemption amounts provided from the average assessed value (AV) of properties receiving 
the homeowners’ exemption. For 2015-16, the average was $356,370. The affected difference in value 
and revenue loss at the basic 1% property tax rate is then: 

 Average 
Home AV 

Exemption  
Current 

Exemption  
Increase 

Homes Tax 
Rate 

Tax 
Savings Per 

Home 

Revenue Loss 

Basic $356,370 $126,380 $229,990 26,255 1% $2,299 $60.3 Million 
Lower Income  $356,370 $189,571 $166,799   3,387 1% $1,667 $5.6 Million 
Total     29,612   $65.9 Million 

Revenue Summary.  This bill would result in a potential annual revenue loss of $65.9 million.  

Qualifying Remarks.  For 2017, the basic disabled veterans’ exemption amount increases to $130,841, 
the lower income disabled veterans’ exemption amount increases to $196,262, and the household 
income limit increased to $58,754. These amounts will be applied by counties to their FY 2017-18 
property tax rolls. 

The revenue estimate is predicated on the existing property tax law requirement of either a 100% 
disability compensation rating for unemployability or a 100% disability rating. Thus, this revenue 
estimate does not account for newly eligible claimants under the proposed blindness definition or 
mobility definition.  Nor does it account for any changes in economic activity that may or may not result 
from enactment of the proposed law. 
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