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Summary:  Expands disabled veterans’ exemption eligibility by changing the requirement that a 
veteran’s character of discharge from military service be under “honorable” conditions to a lower 
threshold of under “other than dishonorable” conditions.   

Summary of Amendments:  The amendments since the previous analysis change the operative 
date to the lien date for administrative efficiency purposes. 

Purpose:  According to the author, the purpose of the bill is to allow previously barred 100% 
disability-rated veterans, currently receiving United States Department of Veterans Affairs (USDVA) 
disability compensation for service-connected injuries, to receive the California’s disabled veterans’ 
property tax exemption.  

Fiscal Impact Summary:  Annual revenue loss of $126,880 for every 100 disabled veterans newly 
qualified. 

Existing Law:  The California Constitution authorizes two property tax exemptions for persons who 
have served in the military:  

• Disabled Veterans' Exemption.1 The disabled veterans' exemption applies to the home of a 
person who because of an injury incurred in military service, is totally disabled, has lost the use 
of multiple limbs, or is blind.  

• Veterans' Exemption.2 The veterans' exemption applies to any property owned by a person who 
serves or has served in the military.  However, over time, this exemption has become effectively 
obsolete.3  

Under federal law, USDVA benefits and services provided to a veteran depend on the veteran’s 
character of discharge from military service.  A veteran with an Honorable or General (under honorable 
conditions) is eligible for benefits.  However, a veteran with an Other Than Honorable (OTH), or Bad 
Conduct discharge may be eligible for benefits on a case by case basis after an USDVA investigation.  

California’s law for disabled veterans’ exemption eligibility requires the person’s character of discharge 
to be under “honorable” conditions.  The statute implementing the California Constitution’s disabled 
veterans’ exemption as provided in Section 4 of the Constitution defines “veteran”4 by cross reference 
to the veterans’ exemption found in Section 3 of the Constitution.5  The veterans’ exemption in Section 3 
of the Constitution requires a person to be serving in or to have served in and have been discharged 
under honorable conditions from service.6 But, the disabled veterans’ exemption in Section 4 of the 
Constitution does not impose an eligibility requirement related to the person’s character of discharge.  It 

                                                           
1 Section 4(a) of Article XIII of the California Constitution. The exemption also extends to the home of the person's 
spouse, including an unmarried surviving spouse. 
2 Section 3(o) of Article XIII of the California Constitution.   
3 Only two veterans in California currently qualify for the Veterans’ Exemption. Any person who owns property worth 
more than $5,000 if single or $10,000 if married is ineligible.  If a person owned a home, like a mobilehome, the 
homeowners’ exemption provides greater tax savings.  (See Comment 5.) 
4 RTC Section 205.5(b) 
5 Section 3(o) of Article XIII of the California Constitution 
6 Section 3(o) of Article XIII of the California Constitution.   

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/15-16/bill/sen/sb_1451-1500/sb_1458_bill_20160623_amended_asm_v97.pdf
http://www.benefits.va.gov/benefits/character_of_discharge.asp
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=CONS&sectionNum=SEC.%204.&article=XIII
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=CONS&sectionNum=SEC.%203.&article=XIII
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=CONS&sectionNum=SEC.%203.&article=XIII
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only requires that a person be “totally disabled” as a result of military related service.7  

Proposed Law:  This bill eliminates the constitutional cross-reference defining "veteran" for 
purposes of Section 4 of the Constitution (the disabled veterans’ exemption) based on the Section 3 
definition of “veteran” (the veterans’ exemption). Instead, the bill defines “veteran” using the same 
terms found in Section 3 but changes the character of the discharge from military service requirement 
from “honorable” conditions  to "other than dishonorable” conditions.  This allows 100% disabled 
veterans with Other Than Honorable (OTH) or Bad Conduct military discharges to potentially qualify, but 
only if the USDVA determines they are eligible for federal health and medical benefits.  

Effective Date. As a tax levy, this bill is effective immediately upon enactment. However, the bill 
provides that it applies commencing with the lien date for the 2017-18. (RTC Section 205.5(i))  

In General: California law provides qualified disabled veterans and their unmarried surviving spouses 
with a property tax exemption that applies to their home’s assessed value. Exemption eligibility 
provisions require that the claimant obtain a USDVA disability rating that either (1) rates the veteran’s 
disability at 100% or (2) rates the veteran’s disability compensation at 100% because the veteran is 
unable to secure and maintain gainful employment.   

The law also allows surviving spouses to receive the exemption if the spouse's death was service-
connected. To be eligible for the exemption, surviving spouses must receive a USDVA determination that 
the spouse’s death was service-connected.  A USDVA determination is necessary for (1) active duty 
personnel deaths (i.e., the service person was not a “veteran”) and (2) veterans without a 100% rating 
when alive, but whose cause of death is deemed service-connected.  Surviving spouses of veterans with 
a 100% disability rating during their lifetime continue to receive the exemption after the veteran’s death 
so long as they do not remarry. 

Qualification Basic Exemption 
Amount 

Lower Income 
Exemption Amount 
$40,000 adjusted for 

inflation 
$58,754 

Disabled Veteran 
• Disability Rating = 100% 
• Disability Compensation = 100% 
• Blind 
• Lost the Use of Two or More Limbs 

Spouse of Military Personnel 
• Surviving Spouse: Disabled Veteran 
• Surviving Spouse: Active Duty Death 
• Surviving Spouse: Posthumous service-

connected death finding 

$100,000 
adjusted for 

inflation 
 

$130,841 

$150,000 
adjusted for 

inflation 
 

$196,262 

Claims Granted: 37,653 33,196  4,457 

Background:  There are five different types of discharges from active duty:  Honorable, General (under 
honorable conditions), Other Than Honorable conditions (OTH), Bad Conduct, or Dishonorable. 
Generally, to receive disability compensation benefits from the USDVA requires an Honorable or a 
General (under honorable conditions) discharge.  But, it is possible for a person with an OTH and Bad 
Conduct discharge to receive disability compensation if, after an investigation by the USDVA, which 
administers veteran benefits, the USDVA finds that the OTH or Bad Conduct discharge was not “under 
conditions other than dishonorable” and authorizes disability compensation benefits.  

The Senate Committee on Veterans Affairs legislative analysis for SB 1458 explains these issues in detail, 
a portion of which is excerpted below:  

                                                           
7 Section 4(a) of Article XIII of the California Constitution.  

http://www.benefits.va.gov/compensation/index.asp
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/15-16/bill/sen/sb_1451-1500/sb_1458_cfa_20160408_142312_sen_comm.html
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=CONS&sectionNum=SEC.%204.&article=XIII
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Types of Military Discharges.  The military separates its personnel from active service by 
formally discharging them. Discharges may be either administrative or punitive. Each of the five 
different discharge statuses is determined by the characterization of an individual’s service. The 
character of service slides along a scale with “honorable” at the high end and “dishonorable” at 
the low end.  

The types of discharges fall under one of two categories: “administrative” or “punitive.” Punitive 
discharges are reserved for the most negative cases and imposed only by special and general 
courts martial. Administrative separations cannot be awarded by a court-martial and are not 
punitive in nature. Enlisted personnel may be administratively separated with a characterization 
of service or a description of separation. Administrative discharges include:  

1) Honorable. This is the most common discharge status. It presumes creditable service and 
good behavior. All service members will earn an Honorable Discharge unless they experience 
significant problems and receive a lower type of discharge. 

2) General (under honorable conditions). Sometimes referred to as a “General Discharge,” it is 
granted if an individual’s commander determines that the service has been generally honest 
and faithful, even if the person ran into some trouble. General Discharges are given for a 
variety of reasons, including failure to progress in training; failure to maintain military 
standards in appearance, weight, or fitness; or for disciplinary infractions, including drug or 
alcohol abuse.  

3) Other than Honorable. An “OTH” discharge usually is given when an individual’s service 
represents a broader pattern of departure from the conduct and performance expected of all 
military members. It can result from notable drug or alcohol problems, but also can be based 
on other misconduct, such as abuse of authority, fraternization, or a pattern of continued 
misconduct. OTH discharges bar the individual from reenlisting into any component of the 
armed forces, including the military reserves and National Guard.  

Punitive discharges are authorized punishments of courts-martial and can only be imposed as an 
approved court-martial sentence following an individual’s conviction for violating the Uniform 
Code of Military Justice. There are two types of punitive discharges:  

1) Bad Conduct Discharge. This can be imposed by both special and general courts-martial. This 
discharge is usually given for convictions of crimes such as absent without leave, drunk on 
duty, driving while under the influence, adultery, writing bad checks, and disorderly 
conduct.  

2) Dishonorable Discharge. This is the worst type of military discharge a service member can 
receive, and can be imposed only by a general court-martial. In most cases, a Dishonorable 
Discharge also involves being sentenced to serve time in a military prison. 

Commentary:  
1. Some California disabled veterans with 100% service connected disability ratings and disability 

compensation are denied the disabled veterans’ exemption authorized under the Constitution. 
Under current law, disabled veterans receiving compensation from the federal government for 
service connected injuries at the 100% disability level are ineligible for California's disabled veterans’ 
property tax exemption because the veteran was not discharged from military service under 
honorable conditions (i.e., Honorable or General (under honorable)).  

2. The June 23, 2016 amendments delay the operative date to the lien date as suggested in the prior 
BOE analysis in order to ease administration and reduce county administrative costs. The April 6, 
2016 amendments incorporated suggestions made by the Senate Committee on Veterans Affairs. 
The amendments clarify that, to receive the property tax exemption, a person who was discharged 
under other than dishonorable conditions (i.e., OTH and Bad Conduct), must have received a USDVA 
determination of eligibility for federal veterans’ health and medical benefits.   



Senate Bill 1458 (Bates)  Page 4 
 

This staff analysis is provided to address various administrative, cost, revenue and policy issues; it is not 
to be construed to reflect or suggest the BOE’s formal position. 

3. Military Discharges. The Senate Veterans Affairs Committee explains that OTH and Bad Conduct 
discharges lack the broad presumptive eligibility for most of the benefits enjoyed by the Honorable 
and General (Under Honorable Conditions) discharges. When recipients of OTH and Bad Conduct 
discharges claim federal benefits, the USDVA formally investigates and adjudicates the claims.  Thus, 
a person that has an OTH or Bad Conduct discharge is initially barred from basic eligibility for federal 
benefits.  But the circumstances surrounding those discharges may leave the door open for the 
USDVA, as administering agency of benefits, to make its own character of discharge determination 
in order to assess eligibility. The USDVA reviews facts and circumstances surrounding the incident(s) 
that led to the discharge, as reported by the military, as well as any supporting evidence furnished 
by the claimant or obtained from third parties. On a case-by-case basis, USDVA determines whether 
the incidents that led to the discharge may be found to have been “under conditions other than 
dishonorable,” and thus whether basic eligibility for USDVA benefits can be established. 

4. This bill will align state-provided benefits with federally-provided benefits. This bill changes the 
eligibility standard from a discharge under honorable conditions to a discharge under other than 
dishonorable conditions provided the USDVA has approved the granting of health and medical 
benefits.  

5. Exemption administration. When assessors administer the exemption, they cannot grant the 
exemption to a 100% disabled veteran when the necessary document to support the exemption 
claim, the Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty (DD Form 214), states that the 
character of service is “under other than honorable conditions.”  From time to time, disabled 
veterans with OTH discharges contact the BOE concerning their inability to obtain California’s 
property tax exemption even though they are receiving all federal benefits.  Additionally, county 
assessor staff contacts the BOE to question this issue and confirm that they must deny the disabled 
veteran’s claim.   

6. Veterans with post-traumatic stress disorder. The current standard in law is particularly an issue for 
veterans suffering from post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD).  These veterans are more likely to 
have been discharged under OTH or Bad Conduct, because of actions related to their PTSD with the 
USDVA allowing federal benefits after its investigation.  

7. The California Constitution’s disabled veterans’ exemption does not condition exemption 
eligibility on a veteran’s character of discharge from the military.  This is a statutory requirement 
created by the cross-reference definition to the unrelated constitutional provision for the veterans’ 
exemption.  Moreover, the veterans’ exemption is effectively obsolete. The veterans’ exemption of 
$4,000 in assessed value predates the homeowners’ exemption of $7,000.  After the homeowners’ 
exemption was created, home-owning veterans transitioned to that exemption due to greater 
savings.  Only veterans who don’t own a home and own other taxable property, like a boat or 
business personal property, would claim the veterans’ exemption. But, because of its wealth cap 
limitations of $5,000 or $10,000, only two people in the state qualify. Since the wealth cap is in the 
Constitution, it can’t be raised without a constitutional amendment.  

8. The new veteran definition. This bill amends into the statute the same definition as exists in the 
constitution but changes the character of discharge from “honorable” conditions to “other than 
dishonorable” conditions.  Additionally, the USDVA will have determined that the person is eligible 
for health and medical benefits as evidenced by the persons USDVA 100% disability rating or 100% 
disability compensation.  

9. Prospective application. For clarity, the bill should state that the change in exemption eligibility is 
effective prospectively as of a specific date.   

10. What disability rating is required to qualify? The law defines total disability as meaning that the 
USDVA has issued the veteran a 100% disability rating or a 100% disability compensation rating for 
unemployability.8    

                                                           
8 RTC Section 205.5(e) 

http://www.va.gov/opa/publications/benefits_book/benefits_introduction.asp
http://arba.army.pentagon.mil/adrb-ptsd.cfm
http://thinkprogress.org/health/2014/12/16/3604091/ptsd-veterans-benefits/
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=205.5.
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11. How much is the exemption? The exemption amount depends upon the claimant’s income.  For the 
2017-18 fiscal year, for persons with household incomes below $58,754, the exemption amount is 
$196,262.  For all other eligible persons, the exemption amount is $130,841.9   

12. How many homes have been granted the disabled veterans’ exemption? For 2015, 37,653 
exemptions were granted to eligible claimants: 33,196 basic exemptions and 4,457 lower income 
exemptions.  

13. Top 10 Counties. For 2015, the counties with the most disabled veterans' exemptions in descending 
order include: (1) San Diego: 5,391; (2) Riverside: 3,732; (3) Sacramento: 2,422; (4) San Bernardino: 
2,373; (5) Los Angeles: 2,092; (6) Solano: 1,764; (7) Orange: 1,691; (8) Contra Costa: 1,147; (9) 
Monterey: 990; and (10) Fresno: 959. 

14. Related Legislation. Current legislation proposing to amend RTC Section 205.5 includes: 

AB 1556  Mathis Exemption Amount. Increase to $2.1 Million with inflation factoring, 
sunset date of January 1, 2020, or earlier if certain conditions apply. 
Blind and Mobility Definitions.  
• Adds New Category of Total Disability Related to Mobility.  
• Modifies Blind Definition. 

SB 690 Stone  Exemption Amount. Increase to 100% exemption: Low-Income Only. 
SB 1104  Stone Exemption Amount. Increase to 100% exemption:  All  
SB 1183 Bates Exemption Amount. Increase to $1 Million with inflation factoring. No 

sunset date. 
Blind and Mobility Definitions.  
• Adds New Category of Total Disability Related to Mobility. 
• Modifies Blind Definition. 

SB 1458  Bates Discharge Classification. Extends exemption to disabled veterans with 
other than dishonorable discharge and receiving 100% disability 
compensation or have a 100% disability rating and eligible for federal 
veterans’ health and medical benefits.  

Costs:  BOE would incur absorbable costs to modify forms, publications, and website materials.  

Revenue Impact:  
Background, Methodology, and Assumptions.  Existing property tax law provides a disabled veterans’ 
exemption to military personnel, or their spouses, in the event of a service-connected injury, disease, or 
death, as specified. The law provides a basic exemption amount of $100,000, but increases that amount 
to $150,000 if the claimant’s household income does not exceed $40,000, with all amounts adjusted for 
inflation.  

The following revenue impact estimate uses FY 2015-16 data and exemption amounts for consistency, 
since this is the most recent year where all variables for the same year are available.  For 2015-16, the 
basic exemption amount was $126,380.  The lower income exemption amount was $189,571 for 
claimants with a household income below $56,751.  

It is difficult to determine how many additional veteran-owned homes will qualify for an exemption 
under this bill. Using data from both the U.S. Census and the USDVA, staff has determined the number 
will be small in comparison to the over 37,000 claimants currently qualified. Since we cannot estimate 
the total number of additional claims, we will calculate revenue loss based on a per 100 basis. 
Historically, 90% of exemption claims granted are at the basic exemption level, and 10% are at the lower 
income exemption level.  Additionally, newly qualifying claimants would receive this relief in lieu of the 
standard $7,000 homeowners’ exemption they are currently receiving. 

                                                           
9 This is the current exemption amount.  Since 2006, RTC Section 205.5(h) allows a compounding inflation factor to 
apply to the $150,000 and $100,000 amounts.  This is the current income threshold.  Since 2002, RTC Section 
205.5(g) allows a compounding inflation factor to apply to the $40,000 income threshold.  

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201520160AB1556
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/15-16/bill/sen/sb_0651-0700/sb_690_bill_20160622_amended_asm_v96.pdf
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201520160SB1104
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billTextClient.xhtml?bill_id=201520160SB1183
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201520160SB1458
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Accordingly, we can calculate the annual revenue loss for every 100 new claimants as: 

 Dis. Vet. 
Ex. 

Subtract 
Standard 
H.O. Ex. 

Net Ex. Tax 
Rate 

Tax 
Savings 

Per Home 

Additional 
Homes 

Annual Revenue 
Loss Per 100 Addt’l 

Homes 
Basic $127,510 $7,000 $120,510 1% $1,205 90 $108,450 
Lower 
Income 

$191,266 $7,000 $184,266 1% $1,843 10 $18,430 

Total      100 $126,880 

Revenue Summary.  For every 100 additional qualifying disabled veteran-owned homes, this bill would 
result in an annual revenue loss of $126,880. 

Qualifying Remarks. For 2017, the basic disabled veterans’ exemption amount increases to $130,841, 
the lower income disabled veterans’ exemption amount increases to $196,262, and the household 
income limit increased to $58,754. Counties will apply these amounts to their FY 2017-18 property tax 
rolls.   

This revenue estimate does not account for a home owned by the surviving, unmarried spouse of a 
qualified deceased veteran who previously could not qualify during their lifetime. 

This revenue estimate does not account for any changes in economic activity that may or may not result 
from enactment of the proposed law. 
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