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Summary: Eliminates annual inflation factor-related assessed value increases on homes owned by 
low-income persons 65 years and older. 

Summary of Amendments: The amendments since the previous analysis extend these provisions 
to a manufactured home, require a claim to receive the benefit, and incorporate BOE-suggested 
amendments.  
Purpose:  To provide property tax relief to low-income homeowners by freezing assessed values once 
they turn 65.  

Fiscal Impact Summary:  Annual revenue loss of $27 million. 

Existing Law:  The law requires the assessor to establish a “base year value” for real property at its 
1975 market value, and thereafter reset the value to current market value every time the property 
changes ownership.1 The base year value must be compounded annually by an inflation factor not to 
exceed 2%.2 The inflation-adjusted value is called the “factored base year value.”  Generally, every year 
the law requires a property’s assessed value to be based on its factored base year value or its current 
market value, whichever is lower.3  

Relevant to this bill, the California Constitution4 specifies that a property’s base year value may reflect 
from year to year the inflationary rate not to exceed 2% for any given year.   

Proposed Law:  Beginning January 1, 2017, this bill eliminates future inflation factor increases for 
qualified homeowners 65 years of age or older.   To qualify, the person must have an annual household 
income of $25,000 or less if single, or $50,000 or less if married. In the case of a married couple, only 
one person must be 65 or older.  This limitation only applies to a person's principal place of residence.  

Effective Date. As a tax levy, this bill is effective immediately upon enactment.  However, according to 
the bill’s provisions, it will first apply to property taxes due for the 2017-18 fiscal year,5 which are based 
on January 1, 2017 lien date values.  

In General: Property Tax System. Voters changed California’s property tax system through 
Proposition 13, which replaced a current market value-based system with an acquisition value-based 
system.  This tax system provides certainty to property owners regarding future property tax liability.  

Specifically, under Proposition 13, real property assessed values were rolled back to 1975 market value 
levels and future assessed value increases were limited to the inflation rate, not to exceed 2%, for as 
long as the property’s ownership remains unchanged and the property is not substantially improved 
(i.e., new construction).   

Thus, regardless of future real estate value increases, the 2% maximum inflation adjustment ensures 
limited assessed value increases. The acquisition-based system with the 2% inflation cap can result in 
substantial property tax savings for long-term property owners.   

                                                           
1 RTC Section 110.1 (a) and (b). 
2 RTC Section 110.1 (f) and Section 51. 
3 RTC Section 51 (a)(1). 
4 California Constitution Article XIII A, Section 2(b).  
5 July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2018. 

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/15-16/bill/sen/sb_1101-1150/sb_1126_bill_20160504_amended_sen_v98.pdf
http://www.boe.ca.gov/lawguides/property/current/ptlg/rt/110-1.html
http://www.boe.ca.gov/lawguides/property/current/ptlg/rt/51.html
http://www.boe.ca.gov/lawguides/property/current/ptlg/ccp/XIII-A-2.html
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Base Year Values.  The “base year value” of real property is the Proposition 13 protected value of a 
property. Under existing law, once the base year value of real property is established, it must be 
adjusted in subsequent years by an inflation factor, not to exceed 2% per year.  

Specifically, RTC Section 110.1 provides that the "full cash value" of real property means its fair market 
value as of the date on which a purchase or change in ownership occurs.  Subdivision (b) of Section 
110.1 provides that this value is to be known as the “base year value,” while subdivision (f) of Section 
110.1 requires that the base year value annually be adjusted by an inflation factor, as specified in 
subdivision (a) of Section 51.  This bill proposes to amend Section 51 (a) to prohibit the adjustment for 
income-qualified seniors.  

Senior Property Tax Relief:  Base Year Value Transfers for 55+.  Persons over the age of 55 may 
“transfer” their Proposition 13 base year value from one home to another that is of equal or lesser value 
and located within the same county or in one of ten counties that accept transfers from non-county 
residents.6  The base year value transfer avoids reassessment of the newly purchased home to its fair 
market value.  This once-in-a-lifetime benefit allows seniors to pay the same level of taxes if they move 
by avoiding Proposition 13's reassessment provisions when purchasing a qualifying new home. 

Property Tax Assistance for 62+.   Two state-run programs, both suspended since 2009, provided 
property tax assistance to income qualified persons age 62 or older, or blind or disabled.   
• Property Tax Assistance Program.7  This Franchise Tax Board-administered program provided a 

rebate to income qualified homeowners for property taxes paid up to the first $34,000 of assessed 
value.  The percentage rebated was determined according to a sliding income scale.  Household 
income limits were inflation adjusted.  

• Property Tax Postponement Program.8  This program is set to restart in October 2016. This State 
Controller-administered program will allow income-eligible persons at least 62 years of age to 
postpone property tax payments on their principal residence.  To participate, the program requires 
total household income of $35,500 or less and 40% home equity. The interest rate is 7%.  

• County Deferred Property Tax Postponement Program.9  While the state’s postponement program 
was suspended, the Legislature authorized a county-optional program. This program allowed a 
participating county to pay property taxes on behalf of individuals over the age of 62 or disabled 
persons making less than $35,500.   

Only Santa Cruz County enacted the program, which the county’s Housing Authority administered.  
To qualify, (1) the home had to be located in an unincorporated county area (excluding homes 
located in the cities of Santa Cruz, Scotts Valley, Watsonville, or Capitola), and (2) annual property 
taxes had to be less than $7,985.  Limited funding was available and a $50 application fee applied.  

Background: Other legislation to assist seniors with their property tax obligations include: 

• Senior Citizen Tax Work-off Program. AB 2459 (Davis, 2007-08) would have authorized any county 
board of supervisors to allow persons 62 or older with total household income below a specified 
amount to trade their time and skills performing needed government services to offset their 
property taxes.  This bill was held in the Assembly Appropriations Committee.  

• Senior Citizen Homeowners’ Exemption Increase: The following table lists measures to increase the 
$7,000 homeowners’ exemption for seniors only.   

                                                           
6 The ten counties are Alameda, El Dorado, Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego, San 
Mateo, Santa Clara, and Ventura. 
7 RTC Sections 20501 to 20564.  
8 RTC Sections 20581 to 20646. 
9 RTC Sections 20800 to 20825.  

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/postquery?bill_number=sb_1126&sess=CUR&house=B&author=stone_%3Cstone%3E
http://www.sco.ca.gov/ardtax_prop_tax_postponement.html
http://www.sco.ca.gov/ardtax_prop_tax_postponement.html
http://www.hacosantacruz.org/ptp.htm
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/07-08/bill/asm/ab_2451-2500/ab_2459_bill_20080430_amended_asm_v97.pdf
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayexpandedbranch.xhtml?tocCode=RTC&division=2.&title=&part=10.5.&chapter=1.&article=
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayexpandedbranch.xhtml?tocCode=RTC&division=2.&title=&part=10.5.&chapter=&article=
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayexpandedbranch.xhtml?tocCode=RTC&division=2.&title=&part=10.6.&chapter=&article=
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Bill 
Number 

Legislative 
Session 

 
Author 

 
Type 

SB 1430 2009-10 Walters Increase to $27,000 for 62+ 
AB 351 2007-08 Symth Increase to $27,000 for 62+ 
AB 495 2007-08 Tran Increase to $25,000 for 62+, plus index for inflation 
AB 2738 2005-06 Wyland Increase to $27,000 for 62+ 
AB 185 2005-06 Plescia Increase to $15,000 for 62+ 
AB 2357 2003-04 Plescia Increase to $10,000 for 62+ 
AB 211 2003-04 Maze Increase to $17,000 for 62+, disabled, blind 
AB 1844 2001-02 Mountjoy Increase to $17,000 for 62+, disabled, blind 
AB 2158 1999-2000 Strickland Increase to $8,750 for 62+ 

The homeowners’ exemption predates Proposition 13. First enacted in 1968, it has only increased once 
in 1974. Additionally, despite numerous attempts, it has not been increased since Proposition 13 was 
enacted in 1978. Opponents of increasing the homeowner’s exemption generally argue that Proposition 
13's assessment limitation provisions provide sufficient property tax relief and protections.  Additionally, 
increasing the exemption creates a fiscal impact because the Constitution requires the state to (1) 
reimburse local governments for the associated revenue loss and (2) provide renters with comparable 
increased benefits via the renters’ state income tax credit. 

Commentary:  
1. The May 4, 2016 amendments extend this bill’s provisions to manufactured homes.  As 

introduced, low-income manufactured home owners 65 or older were not included.  Section 51 
applies to real property, while Part 13 “Taxation of Mobilehomes,” commencing with Section 5800 
applies to manufactured homes.  The amendment to Section 5813 was necessary to provide the 
same property tax relief to low-income seniors that own and live in manufactured homes.  The 
amendments additionally require the need to file a claim and provide necessary information to the 
assessor to prove qualification for the benefit.  Finally, the amendments incorporate numerous 
changes suggested in the BOE’s previous analysis that will ease administration and minimize 
implementation costs.  These amendments specify that the age of a person on the lien date (January 
1) determines whether inflation factoring will apply to the assessed value established for the 
upcoming fiscal year, (the following July 1 to June 30) and add a “household income” definition.  

2. Provides financial relief to low-income home-owning seniors.  According to the author, capping the 
property tax assessment for seniors age 65 or older who meet the income requirements will help 
them afford to stay in their own home and avoid homelessness.  The author notes the pride and 
freedom that comes from home ownership and that providing this small financial relief to low-
income seniors living on a fixed income will help them cope with the rising costs of health care and 
prescription drugs.   

3. Freezes assessed values for low-income seniors 65+. In practical application, this bill freezes the 
assessed value of any income-qualified person 65 years of age or older at the home's factored base 
year value for the 2016-17 fiscal year, which is the factored base year value for the January 1, 2016 
lien date. In addition, as other homeowners reach the age of 65, their homes’ assessed values also 
will be frozen.  

4. Historically, the inflation factor has applied equally to all property types and all property owners.  
The Constitutional provision that is specific to inflation adjustments of the “full cash value base” 
does not appear to prohibit the Legislature from enacting a law that makes the inflation factor 
optional.  And it is silent with respect to applying the inflation factor to the “full cash value base” in 
a differential manner.   Section 2 (b) of Article XIII A of the Constitution reads:  

  

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/postquery?bill_number=sb_1126&sess=CUR&house=B&author=stone_%3Cstone%3E
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/postquery?bill_number=sb_1430&sess=0910&house=B&author=walters
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/postquery?bill_number=ab_351&sess=0708&house=B&author=smyth
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/postquery?bill_number=ab_495&sess=0708&house=B&author=tran
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/05-06/bill/asm/ab_2701-2750/ab_2738_bill_20060224_introduced.pdf
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/postquery?bill_number=ab_185&sess=0506&house=B&author=plescia
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/03-04/bill/asm/ab_2351-2400/ab_2357_bill_20040219_introduced.pdf
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/03-04/bill/asm/ab_2351-2400/ab_2357_bill_20040219_introduced.pdf
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/postquery?bill_number=ab_1844&sess=0102&house=B&author=mountjoy
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/postquery?bill_number=ab_2158&sess=9900&house=B&author=strickland
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The full cash value base may reflect from year to year the inflationary rate not to exceed 2 
percent for any given year or reduction as shown in the consumer price index or comparable 
data for the area under taxing jurisdiction, or may be reduced to reflect substantial damage, 
destruction or other factors causing a decline in value. 

Section 1 of Article XIII provides that: 

[A]ll property . . . shall be assessed at the same percentage of fair market value. When a value 
standard other than fair market value is prescribed by this Constitution or by statute authorized 
by this Constitution, the same percentage shall be applied to determine the assessed value.  The 
value to which the percentage is applied, whether it is to be the fair market value or not, shall 
be known for property tax purposes as the full value.”  

Article XIII, Section 1 relates to the same percentage of “assessed value” and “full value.”  It is 
unclear if the amendment to Section 51 prohibiting the application of an inflation adjustment to the 
“full cash value base” of a limited class of properties could be interpreted to run counter to Section 
1’s requirement, or if it could be interpreted as being “a statute authorized by this constitution.” 

5. Qualifying homeowners will need to take action.  Assessors do not have homeowners’ age 
information.  The bill specifies a basic requirement that a claim must be filed to request this tax 
benefit.   

6. Annual income verification process.  To implement this bill, assessors will need to establish a 
procedure to verify continued income eligibility.  The bill requires that homeowner’s provide proof 
of income to continue to receive the benefit.  

7. The bill would apply to low income 65+ floating home owners.  The law10 provides that Section 
110.1 applies to a floating home and it is to be treated the same as real property for property tax 
assessment purposes. Therefore, age and income qualified floating homeowners would benefit from 
the bill.  

8. The bill does not address whether the inflation factor should be eliminated for land in excess of 
what is reasonably necessary for use of the property as a home.  For example, in other areas of 
law, “residential dwelling” means a dwelling occupied by the claimant as the principal place of 
residence, and so much of the land surrounding it as is reasonably necessary for use of the dwelling 
as a home. 

9. Inflation Factor Related Legislation.  SB 1104 (Stone) also proposes to eliminate annual assessed 
value inflation increases.  That bill applies to all honorably discharged veterans age 65+ regardless of 
income.  

Costs:  BOE would incur absorbable costs to modify forms, publications, and website materials.  

Revenue Impact:  Background, Methodology, and Assumptions.  Generally, a property’s sales 
price sets its assessed value (called the base year value), and annual increases to that value are limited 
to the rate of inflation, not to exceed 2% (called the factored base year value). This bill eliminates the 
annual inflation factor increase applied to the base year value of an income-qualified senior’s home, 
once that person is 65 years of age, or after January 1, 2017, whichever occurs later. To qualify, the 
person must have an annual household income of $25,000 or less if single, and $50,000 or less if 
married. 

According to U.S. Census data, roughly 750,000 homes in the state are owned by those 65 years and 
older. The census also provides data on the median household incomes of seniors 65 and over, and 
other details on living arrangements among that group. Based on that data, staff estimates as many as 
half, or 375,000 homes, will qualify for this tax relief.    

                                                           
10 RTC Section 229. 

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/postquery?bill_number=sb_1126&sess=CUR&house=B&author=stone_%3Cstone%3E
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/15-16/bill/sen/sb_1101-1150/sb_1104_bill_20160217_introduced.pdf
http://www.boe.ca.gov/lawguides/property/current/ptlg/rt/229.html
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For fiscal year 2015-16, the average assessed value (AV) of homes receiving the homeowners’ 
exemption was $358,217.  Eliminating the inflation factor for qualified seniors 65 and older results in 
annual revenue loss at the basic 1% property tax rate calculated as follows: 

Avg. Home 
AV 

Inflation 
Factor 

AV Increase 
Avoided  

Tax 
Rate 

Tax Savings Per 
Home 

Qualified 65+ 
Homes 

Revenue Loss 

$358,217 2% $7,164 1% $71.64 375,000 $27 Million 

Revenue Summary. By eliminating the inflation factor applied to a qualifying senior’s home, this bill 
would result in a potential annual revenue loss of $27 million. 

Qualifying Remarks. This revenue estimate does not account for any changes in economic activity that 
may or may not result from enactment of the proposed law. 

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/postquery?bill_number=sb_1126&sess=CUR&house=B&author=stone_%3Cstone%3E
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