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Summary:  Subject to voter approval, this constitutional amendment: 

• Increases from 4 to 6 years the exemption period for newly planted pistachio trees. 

• Allows base year value transfers from one home to another if a person buys or builds a new 
home to accommodate a disabled child’s needs. 

• In the case of a married couple, allows each spouse to receive a base year value transfer related 
to the statutorily imposed "one-time only" limitation for persons over the age of 55. 

Fiscal Impact Summary:  
• Pistachio Trees: Annual revenue loss of $2 million.  

• Disabled Child: Unknown minor annual revenue loss of $1,335 per transfer.  

• Spouses: Annual revenue loss of $333,750.  

Pistachio Trees 
California Constitution Article XII, Section 3 

Purpose: To delay taxing pistachio trees until they produce nuts.  

Existing Law:  The California Constitution1 exempts from property tax fruit and nut trees planted in 
orchard form until four years after the season first planted. Grapevines planted in vineyard form are 
exempt for three years. The land in which the trees and grapevines are planted remains subject to tax.  

The Revenue and Taxation Code2 restates the constitutional exemption provisions.  Additionally, BOE 
regulations3 provide that the exemption period also applies to individual trees or vines (1) when a tree 
or vine is newly planted within an existing orchard or vineyard (i.e., a replacement tree or vine) and (2) 
when a tree or vine that has reached commercial production is grafted to the extent that it causes 
another non-producing period before the tree or vine will bear fruit, nuts, or grapes.  

For Proposition 13 purposes, once the exemption period expires and the trees or vines are subject to 
tax, the law4 sets the initial base year value of the trees or vines at its full cash value as of January 1 on 
the first year they are taxable.  

Proposed Law:  Subject to voter approval, this measure increases from four to six years the 
exemption for pistachio trees.  

  

                                                           
1 Article XIII, Section 3(i) of the California Constitution. 
2 Revenue and Taxation Code (RTC) Section 211. 
3 Property Tax Rule 131.  
4 RTC Section 53. 

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/15-16/bill/asm/ab_0001-0050/aca_6_bill_20160208_amended_asm_v97.pdf
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=CONS&sectionNum=SEC.%203.&article=XIII
https://www.boe.ca.gov/lawguides/property/current/ptlg/rt/211.html
https://www.boe.ca.gov/lawguides/property/current/ptlg/rule/131.html
https://www.boe.ca.gov/lawguides/property/current/ptlg/rt/53.html
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In General:  
Property Taxation: Non-Williamson Act Agricultural Land.  Agricultural land is subject to Proposition 
13’s assessment provisions, in that it retains its base year value until new construction or a change in 
ownership occurs. Inflationary increases in assessment are limited to no more than 2% per year. Trees 
and vines are subject to property tax as “living improvements,” and a base year value is established for 
them once the exemption period for new plantings ends. In addition to land preparation and planting 
costs, an investment in an orchard or vineyard may not realize any cash flow for several years.  Both 
crops require several years to reach maturity, and the land is committed to that specific use with little 
flexibility. Thus, the law exempts fruit and nut bearing trees and grapevines from taxation during a 
portion of their immature life. The taxation of the trees and vines is synchronized with their ability to 
produce a sellable crop. The land on which the trees and vines are planted remains subject to taxation; 
only the trees and vines are temporarily exempt.  

Property Taxation: California Land Conservation Act (Williamson Act). The Williamson Act5 helps 
conserve agricultural and open-space lands. Under the Williamson Act, landowners may enter into 
contracts with participating cities and counties to restrict the land to agricultural or open-space uses. 
The contract must have a minimum 10-year term with automatic yearly extensions absent specific 
action to remove the property from the program, such as nonrenewal or immediate cancellation. In 
exchange for entering into these contracts, the assessor values the land and any living improvements 
(trees and vines) according to income earning potential. The law provides a formula to value the land.6 
The valuation method capitalizes the income derived from the land’s agricultural use. The statute details 
how to determine income and specifies the appropriate capitalization rate.  

Lowest of Three Values The law requires the assessor to value Williamson Act property at the lowest 
of three values: Williamson Act restricted value,7 current fair market value,8 or Proposition 13 
factored base year value.9  This guarantees that landowners participating in the Williamson Act 
program are never assessed at a greater value than noncontracted land.  

Commentary:  

1. Increases the Exemption Period from Four to Six Years. The American Pistachio Growers (APG) 
state that “according to the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) and affirmed by 
pistachio industry’s Federal Marketing Order (governed by the USDA), pistachio trees are not 
considered bearing until six years after the season in which they were planted.”  This bill is intended 
to delay the taxation of the trees for two more years.  

2. California Pistachios. According to the Administrative Committee for Pistachios, which administers 
the federal market order for pistachios, California grows 98% of U.S. pistachios.  Five counties 
account for 94% of California pistachios: Kern (36%), Fresno (24%), Madera (14%), Tulare (12%), and 
Kings (8%). 

3. Most Orchards Assessed Under the Williamson Act. Most pistachio tree acres are located on land 
subject to the Williamson Act and assessed under its prescribed methodology, as that results in the 
lowest value for property tax purposes.  

  

                                                           
5 Government Code Section 51200 et. seq 
6 RTC Section 423. 
7 RTC Section 423. 
8 RTC Section 110. 
9 RTC Section 110.1. 

http://www.americanpistachios.org/
http://www.acpistachios.org/
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayexpandedbranch.xhtml
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=423.
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=423.
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=110.
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=110.1.
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Revenue Impact: 

Based on the historical new plantings since 1979, staff estimates that 10,000 new pistachio tree acres 
will be planted per year.   

 

 

 

 

Based on a survey of County Assessors in the top five pistachio-producing counties, the average 
assessed value is estimated at $10,000 per acre. 

The revenue impact at the basic 1% property tax rate is $1 million in the first year and $2 million 
annually thereafter.   

Year Acres Assessed Value 
Per Acre 

Total Assessed 
Value 

Tax 
Rate 

Revenue 
Loss 

First 10,000 $10,000 $100,000,000 1% $1,00,0000  
Thereafter 20,000 $10,000 $200,000,000 1% $2,000,000 

 

 

  

Time Span Years Average New Acreage 
Last Five 2011-2015 15,000 
Last Ten 2006-2015 15,000 
Last Fifteen  2001-2015 12,000 
Historical  1979-2015 7,000 
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Base Year Value Transfers – Disabled Child 
California Constitution Article XIII A, Section 2 

Purpose:  To assist parents caring for disabled children avoid the costly legal process of adding a 
minor child to title to qualify for a base year value transfer.   

Existing Law: The law requires real property to be reassessed from its Proposition 13 protected value 
(called the “base year value”) to current market value whenever a change in ownership occurs.10  
Subject to many conditions, the law allows disabled homeowners to sell their home, buy or build a new 
one, and transfer the base year value.11  To qualify, the new home must be of equal or lesser value and 
located in the same county.12  The implementing statute requires the move to be for disability-related 
reasons. The base year value transfer allows property taxes to remain the same after the move.13  

Proposed Law: If voter-approved, this constitutional amendment would authorize the Legislature to 
extend base year value transfers to homeowners with severely disabled children.  

In General:  Property Tax System.  In 1978, voters changed California’s property tax system with the 
approval of Proposition 13. Under this system, property is reassessed to its current market value only 
after a change in ownership or new construction. Generally, the sales price of a property is used to set 
the property’s assessed value, and annual increases to that value are limited to the rate of inflation, not 
to exceed 2%.   

Base Year Values.  At the time of the ownership change, the value for property tax purposes is 
redetermined based on current market value.  This established value is described as the "base year 
value."  Thereafter, the base year value is subject to annual increases for inflation limited to 2% per 
year.  This value is described as the "factored base year value."  This system, established by Proposition 
13, can result in substantial property tax savings for long-term property owners.   

Base Year Value Transfers.  Voters have approved three constitutional amendments permitting persons 
to “transfer” their Proposition 13 base year value from one home to another that is of equal or lesser 
value.  The base year value transfer avoids reassessment of the newly purchased home to its fair market 
value.    

• Intracounty.  In 1986, Proposition 6014 amended the Constitution to allow persons over the age 
of 55 to sell a principal residence and transfer its base year value to a replacement principal 
residence within the same county.   

• Intercounty.  In 1988, Proposition 9015 amended the Constitution to extend these provisions to 
a replacement residence located in another county on a county-optional basis.  Currently, ten 
counties accept transfers from homes located in another county.  

• Disabled Persons.  In 1990, Proposition 11016 amended the Constitution to extend these 
provisions to any severely and permanently disabled person regardless of age.  

RTC Section 69.5 implements all three propositions. 

The BOE's Assessors' Handbook Section 401 Change in Ownership Chapter 14 at page 106 provides more 
details, and the BOE's website includes FAQ's for both Proposition 60/90 and Proposition 110.  

                                                           
10 California Constitution Article XIII A, Sec. 2. 
11 California Constitution Article XIII A, Sec. 2 (a), Revenue and Taxation Code (RTC) Section 69.5. 
12 In addition, ten counties offer this property tax benefit to new county residents: Alameda, El Dorado, Los Angeles, 
Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Mateo, Santa Clara, and Ventura. Each county has the 
discretion to accept intercounty transfers and must first enact an enabling ordinance. 
13 The property tax payment will not be exactly the same because the tax rate and direct levies (special assessments, 
parcel taxes, etc.) varies by location.  
14 Proposition 60, approved November 4, 1986. 
15 Proposition 90, approved November 8, 1988. 
16 Proposition 110, approved June 5, 1990.  

http://repository.uchastings.edu/ca_ballot_props/850/
http://repository.uchastings.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1964&context=ca_ballot_props
http://repository.uchastings.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=2006&context=ca_ballot_props
http://repository.uchastings.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=2063&context=ca_ballot_props
http://www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/pdf/ah401.pdf
http://www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/faqs/propositions60_90.htm
http://www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/faqs/propositions110.htm
http://www.boe.ca.gov/lawguides/property/current/ptlg/ccp/XIII-A-2.html
http://www.boe.ca.gov/lawguides/property/current/ptlg/rt/69-5.html
http://www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/faqs/propositions60_90.htm#12
http://repository.uchastings.edu/ca_ballot_props/965/
http://repository.uchastings.edu/ca_ballot_props/1007/
http://repository.uchastings.edu/ca_ballot_props/1064/
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Background:  As described below, it is possible to add a child to a property's title to qualify for a 
base year value transfer under existing law.  

Minor Child. Related to a disabled child that is a minor, the BOE has previously opined in Property Tax 
Annotation 200.0076 that a minor may obtain the benefit of a base year value transfer indirectly if a 
guardianship or trust is created for the minor and the minor is placed on title to both homes.  The 
annotation is reflected in Letter to Assessor’s 2006/010, Question A6: 

A6: A couple's minor child recently became permanently disabled. As a consequence, the couple 
must sell their current two-story residence and purchase a single-story residence. Because of 
the child's disability, can the couple purchase a property and file a claim to transfer the base 
year value from their original property to the purchased property?  

Answer: Section 69.5(a) provides that any severely or permanently disabled person may transfer 
the base year value to any replacement dwelling. Subdivision (b)(3) provides that at the time of 
the sale of the original property, the claimant (or the claimant's spouse who resides with the 
claimant) must be severely and permanently disabled. Thus, the disabled child must be the 
claimant and must be on title in order to transfer the base year value.  

A minor may own real property or an interest therein, because the law presumes his acceptance 
of a beneficial grant (Estate of Yano (1922) 188 Cal. 645, 649), but may not convey or make 
contracts relating to real property, as any such contracts are void.17 Through proceedings in the 
Superior Court, a guardian may be appointed for the person, estate, or person and estate of a 
minor, and real property owned by a minor can be dealt with through guardianship proceedings. 
Therefore, a minor may obtain the benefit of section 69.5 indirectly through a guardianship or 
trust. In order to do so, the minor, through his/her trust or estate, must be a beneficial owner 
(on record title) of both the original property and the replacement property. The act of adding 
the minor child on title to the original property can be excluded from change in ownership 
under the parent-child exclusion (assuming a timely claim is filed and the requirements of that 
exclusion are met). 

Adult Child. In the case of an adult child, the child could be added to the title of both homes to qualify 
for the transfer.18  However, there may be non-property tax related implications for adding a disabled 
adult child to the home’s title.   

Commentary:  
1. Currently, in the case of a minor child, a base year value transfer is accomplished by adding a 

minor child to a home's legal title. A parent may add a minor child to both homes' titles through a 
guardianship or irrevocable trust.  Once the minor child is a record owner, the child becomes a 
qualified claimant, and the parent may file a claim on the child's behalf as the trustee or guardian.  
However, the CAA notes this is a complicated and costly legal process that takes time to complete. 
Further, some parents may be unaware of this possibility.  

2. This constitutional amendment would eliminate the need for parents to undertake these steps.  
County assessors state that the law should be changed to allow a parent to claim the base year 
value transfer without any need to add the child to title.  County assessors state that allowing these 
transfers under these limited circumstances is easily administrable.  

3. This constitutional amendment doesn’t expressly require that the disabled child reside in the 
home.  The amendment’s language only requires that the homeowner reside in the home and have 
a disabled child.  Depending on how the Legislature implements this constitutional authorization, if 
residency by the child is not a requirement, then homeowners could move closer to a child who lives 

                                                           
17 Family Code Section 6701. 
18 If the child is added on as a joint tenant, no reassessment would occur. Additionally, if the child is added as a 
tenant in common, the parent-child change in ownership exclusion claim is filed to avoid reassessment.  

http://www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/pdf/200_0076.pdf
http://www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/pdf/lta06010.pdf
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=FAM&sectionNum=6701.
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independently or in an assisted care facility, or allow a homeowner to buy or build a home that 
accommodates the disabled child’s needs when they visit.  

4. The constitutional amendment doesn’t expressly require that the disabled child be the 
homeowner's child. The amendment's language refers to "homeowners with a severely disabled 
child."  Depending on how the Legislature implements this constitutional authorization, in the case 
of a minor child, the language would create the possibility that persons other than parents of a 
disabled child could also qualify.  For example, any person that cares for the minor child, such as a 
relative or friend, may qualify for the base year value transfer.  

5. Related Legislation.  AB 571 (Brown), as introduced, proposed statutory amendments to Section 
69.5 to implement this provision. The provisions were amended out on May 4, 2015.  

Administrative Costs:  If approved, the BOE would incur absorbable costs to update claim forms, 
publications, and the website to reflect the law change as well as address ongoing implementation 
questions from counties and taxpayers related to the new base year value transfer authorization.  

Revenue Impact:  
Background, Methodology, and Assumptions.  Predicting the number of additional transfers resulting 
from this constitutional amendment is difficult.  Since 1990, a total of 1,916 disability related base year 
value transfers have been granted, which results in about 74 transfers per year. Based on information 
from county assessors, BOE staff estimates the number of transfers would be small.  Furthermore, it is 
possible to qualify for a transfer under existing law by adding a minor child or an adult child to the 
home’s title.  Consequently, staff estimated the impact of a single transfer based on available data.   

According to the California Association of Realtors, the median California home price in December 2015 
was $489,310.  For the 2015-16 fiscal year, the average assessed value of a property receiving the 
homeowners’ exemption was $355,819.  Therefore, for each additional claim granted, the estimated 
assessed value difference is about $133,500 ($489,310 - $355,819) or $1,335 per transfer at the basic 
one percent property tax rate. 

Revenue Summary. If approved, this constitutional amendment would reduce property tax revenues at 
the basic one percent tax rate by $1,335 per claim granted. This amount per claim could grow over time 
if assessed value differences also grow in relation to real estate market values. 

Qualifying Remarks.  Generally, eligibility for the described property tax relief requires a sale of the 
original property; i.e. a change in ownership subjecting the original property to reappraisal at its current 
fair market value. This revenue estimate does not account for the change in the assessed value to the 
original property. 

This revenue estimate does not account for any changes in economic activity that may or may not result 
from enactment of the proposed law. 

  

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/15-16/bill/asm/ab_0551-0600/ab_571_bill_20150224_introduced.pdf
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Base Year Value Transfers – Spouses 
California Constitution Article XIII A, Section 2 

Purpose:  To discontinue treating a married couple that buys a home as a single claimant and thereby 
allow every person, as an individual, the opportunity to receive a one-time base year value transfer.  

Existing Law:  The law requires real property to be reassessed from its Proposition 13 protected 
value (called the “base year value”) to current market value whenever a change in ownership occurs.19  
Subject to many conditions, the law allows homeowners 55 years and older to sell their home, buy or 
build a new one, and transfer the base year value.20  To qualify the new home must be of equal or lesser 
value and located in the same county.21  The law provides the same benefit to homeowners without 
regard to age if the homeowner becomes severely and permanently disabled and the disability requires 
a move to a new home. The base year value transfer allows property taxes to remain essentially the 
same after the move.22  

One-Time Benefit. The implementing statute, but not the Constitution, limits to one time the property 
tax relief provided by a base year value transfer. Specifically, to qualify the statute requires that the 
“claimant” cannot have previously received this "property tax relief."23  The statute defines a claimant as 
any person claiming the property tax relief.24 The statute specifies that a spouse who goes on title (i.e., a 
record owner) to the new home with the “claimant” is also a "claimant."  

Proposed Law:  This bill amends the California Constitution to provide that for purposes of the 
implementing statute, a person shall not be deemed to have previously claimed and been granted the 
property tax relief authorized by Article XIII A, Section 2 (a), "by reason of being or having been the 
spouse of a person who previously claimed and was granted that property tax relief, and also being or 
having been the record owner of the replacement dwelling." 

Prospective or Retroactive? This is unclear. The constitutional amendment reads: "This clause applies 
only to persons who file a claim for the property tax relief authorized by this subdivision on or after the 
effective date of this clause."  

In General:  See "In General Discussion" above related to disabled child.   

Background: Statewide Tracking Database. To monitor and enforce the one-time limitation 
statewide, the law25 requires the BOE to maintain a database to track persons already granted a base 
year value transfer.  When married persons receive a base year value transfer to a new home to which 
they share title, both their names and social security numbers are entered in the database.  This ensures 
that neither person will be allowed a future transfer.  

Spouses under 55.  A married person under 55 years of age may transfer the base year value of a home 
that is their separate property, provided their spouse is 55 or older and also resided in that home.26  

Nondisabled spouse.  A person married to a disabled person may transfer the base year value of a home 
that is their separate property, provided their disabled spouse also resided in that home. 

                                                           
19 California Constitution Article XIII A, Sec. 2. 
20 California Constitution Article XIII A, Sec. 2 (a), Revenue and Taxation Code (RTC) Section 69.5. 
21 In addition, ten counties offer this property tax benefit to new county residents: Alameda, El Dorado, Los Angeles, 
Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Mateo, Santa Clara, and Ventura. Each county has the 
discretion to accept intercounty transfers and must first enact an enabling ordinance. 
22 The property tax payment will not be exactly the same because the tax rate and direct levies (special assessments, 
parcel taxes, etc.) varies by location.  
23 RTC Section 69.5(b)(7). The law allows a second base year value transfer if the person previously granted a base 
year value transfer subsequently becomes disabled and files a disability-based claim. 
24 RTC Section 69.5(g)(9). 
25 RTC Section 69.5(b)(7). 
26 RTC Section 69.5(b)(3) and (f)(1)(B). 

http://www.boe.ca.gov/lawguides/property/current/ptlg/ccp/XIII-A-2.html
http://www.boe.ca.gov/lawguides/property/current/ptlg/rt/69-5.html
http://www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/faqs/propositions60_90.htm#12
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Divorce and Remarriage. BOE Annotation 200.0020 "Claimant (New Spouse)" describes how marriage to 
someone who previously received a transfer can disqualify a person from receiving a transfer.  The 
annotation reads:  

Revenue and Taxation Code section 69.5(b)(7) provides that a claimant for property tax relief 
under section 69.5 may not have previously been granted such relief. In addition, section 
69.5(g)(9) defines "claimant" for purposes of the section to include the spouse of a person who 
previously claimed relief under section 69.5 if that spouse is a record owner or co-owner of the 
replacement dwelling. Thus, if A and B are married and record owners of property which has 
received the benefits of section 69.5, then neither A nor B are eligible for future benefits under 
that section. Furthermore, if (1) A and B divorce, (2) A marries C and (3) A and C become co-
owners of record of C's replacement dwelling, C will not be eligible for relief under the section 
with respect to that dwelling since A also would be a claimant for purposes of C's claim. C 
8/26/1987. 

Legislative Background: In 2015, the Governor vetoed, AB 1378 (Holden), sponsored by the 
Howard Jarvis Association.  The Governor's veto message states: 

"This bill would allow each spouse in a marriage to submit a separate base-year 
property tax valuation transfer claim. 

I think this bill is too broad and allows an already generous property tax benefit to be 
allowed a second time on a larger scale. 

I do not believe that it would be prudent to authorize legislation such as this that would 
result in significant long-term costs to the General Fund." 

AB 1378 would have done the following: 

• Spouses on Title. Delete all statutory provisions that require a claimant's spouse to also be a 
claimant for a base year value transfer.27  By not treating both spouses as “claimants,” AB 1378 
would have allowed each person the opportunity to make a separate, one-time claim.   

• Prospective Application. The revision would have applied prospectively for claims filed on or 
after January 1, 2016.28  Prior claimants’ spouses already entered into the database would have 
remained ineligible. Since 1986, in the case of a married couple, the names of both spouses have 
been entered into the database to ensure that neither person is allowed a future base year 
value transfer.  Each spouse was a “claimant” under the law when the claim was filed.  This bill 
would have changed the “claimant” definition prospectively and applied to persons making first-
time claims after January 1, 2016.  Consequently, any person granted a base year value transfer 
and listed in the database, will be barred from making a second base year value transfer under 
the changes proposed by this bill.   

• Spouses under 55. Deleted the provision that allows a person under age 55 who owns the home 
being sold as separate property to transfer the value of that home to the new jointly-owned 
home.29 Thus, a person under the age of 55 would no longer be eligible to file a claim regardless 
of the age of his or her spouse.  Under current law, a person who is under the age of 55 may be 
a claimant if he or she resides with a spouse who is over 55.  The age-qualifying spouse need not 
be a current owner of record of either the original or replacement property. If enacted, 
residency by an over-55 spouse would have no longer sufficed to permit transfer of the base 
year value.  To qualify, the over-55 spouse would have to file the claim and be a recorded owner 
of both homes.  

  

                                                           
27 RTC Section 69.5(b)(7), (f)(1)(A), and (g)(9). 
28 Proposed RTC Section 69.5(p). 
29 RTC Section 69.5 (b)(3) and (f)(1)(B). 

http://boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/pdf/200_0020.pdf
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/postquery?bill_number=ab_1378&sess=CUR&house=B&author=holden_%3Cholden%3E
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• Disabled persons. Limit eligibility for a disability-based transfer to a disabled person who is on 
title to both homes. Currently, residing in both homes is the only requirement. Thus, a person 
who is married to a permanently disabled person would no longer have been eligible to file a 
disability transfer claim.  Under current law, a non-disabled person who is under the age of 55 
may be a claimant if he or she resides with a spouse who is permanently disabled; under these 
circumstances, the disability-qualifying spouse need not be an owner of record of either the 
original or replacement property.  With this bill, residency by a disabled spouse would have no 
longer sufficed to permit transfer of the base year value. To qualify, the disabled-spouse must 
have filed the claim and been a record owner of both homes.  

Other bills to statutorily treat married couples as individuals previously before the Legislature include:  
• In 2009, AB 321 (Niello), sponsored by the CAA, was held in the Assembly Appropriations 

Committee.  
• In 2008, AB 2579 (Niello) , sponsored by the CAA was held in the Senate Appropriations 

Committee.  

Commentary:  
1. This constitutional amendment addresses issues that are constrained by the implementing statute 

not the Constitution.  Related to married couples, the Constitution only specifies that for purposes 
of the age requirement, " 'any person over the age of 55 years' includes a married couple one 
member of which is over the age of 55 years." The Constitution ensures that being married to a 
person that is under 55 years of age is not a disqualifying factor to receiving a base year value 
transfer.  

2. The once-in-a-lifetime provision is a statutory limitation.  The Constitution does not limit the 
number of base year value transfers one person may receive.  The ballot materials for the 
Constitutional amendment do not reference a one time only limitation. The Legislature imposed this 
limit.30    

3. Treating both spouses as claimants is a statutory requirement. The Constitution does not require 
both spouses to be claimants. But the Constitution does prohibit the Legislature from disallowing a 
base year value transfer due to a spouse that is under the age of 55.  

4. Statutory law treats married couples as a single claimant and limits them to one transfer (or bars 
them from a transfer if one spouse previously received a transfer).  Other co-owners are treated 
individually and can each get one transfer for a total of two transfers. 

5.  The bill is intended to allow a married couple to move a base year value twice. For example, a 
married couple could transfer their tax base from a larger family home to a smaller home and later 
to a condo.  Existing statutory law allows unmarried co-owners and registered domestic partners to 
carry over the same tax base twice.31  Current law does not require co-owners that are registered 
domestic partners or unmarried to both be listed on the transfer claim. 

6. Additionally, this bill ensures that a person who marries a previously married person isn't barred 
from transfer.  For example, a person may marry someone who is remarrying after a death or 
divorce and the new couple may buy a new home together. But if the person purchased the home 
with a spouse that previously received a base year value transfer in a prior marriage, current law 
wouldn't permit the transfer.  

7. Supporters note that couples over the age of 55 move more frequently than prior generations.  
They state this measure will help ensure that senior, married couples do not experience significant 
property tax increases during their retirement years.  

                                                           
30 For co-owners, registered domestic partners, and married couples that subsequently qualify as disabled and must 
move as a result, the same tax base could carry over up to four times. 
31 The same tax base need not be transferred; each person is eligible to receive a base year value transfer from any 
home they once owned.  

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/postquery?bill_number=ab_321&sess=0910&house=B&author=niello
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/postquery?bill_number=ab_2579&sess=0708&house=B&author=niello
http://repository.uchastings.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1964&context=ca_ballot_props
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8. Base Year Value Transfer Example. Base year value transfers allow eligible homeowners to preserve 
the Proposition 13 value of their prior residence by transferring it to the new residence.  To qualify, 
a person must buy or build a home of equal or lesser value and sell the old home so it will be 
reassessed to its current value. For example, if Homeowner A sells House A for $400,000 ($250,000 
tax base) and buys House B for $350,000, the following occurs: 

• House A is reassessed to $400,000 

• House B is reassessed to $250,000  

• Homeowner A pays the same base amount of taxes $2,500 ($250,000 x 1%) and avoids the 
$1,000 property tax increase to $3,500 ($350,000 x 1%).  

• House A's property tax increases by $1,500 ($400,000 – $250,000 x 1%) 

• House B's property tax could either increase or decrease as it depends upon the former 
owner's tax base. 

9. Generally, selling and buying a new home will result in a property tax increase. Some homeowners 
do not move due to the property tax consequences.  Some homeowners must move and cannot 
avoid the resulting property tax increase.  For homeowners over the age of 55, and persons who 
become disabled, as long as the new home's value is equivalent, a base year value transfer negates 
the property tax consequences of moving within the same county, or to one of the ten other 
specified counties.  

10. Suggested Amendments.  This constitutional amendment introduces statutory terms, phrases, and 
concepts ("property tax relief," "previously claimed," "granted," "a record owner," "spouse," and 
"deemed") that are not presently in the Constitution.  This is unnecessary for the bill's intended 
purpose. Furthermore, it introduces the one-time only premise into the Constitution, which may be 
undesirable. Instead, the amendments could be redrafted to delete new clause (iv) and use existing 
terms and phrases with one new phrase "entitled to their own" to modify the only provision that 
requires a married couple to be treated as a single unit.  This should achieve the same intended 
result.  

  (i) Any person over the age of 55 years" includes a married couple one member of which is over 
the age of 55 years.  However, each member of the married couple is entitled to their own 
transfer of base year value as a person over the age of 55 years, but only with respect to a 
replacement property purchased or newly constructed on or after the effective date of this 
amendment.   

*** 

  (iv) For purposes of Section 69.5 of the Revenue and Taxation Code or any successor statute, a 
person shall not be deemed to have previously claimed and been granted the property tax relief 
authorized by this subdivision by reason of being or having been the spouse of a person who 
previously claimed and was granted that property tax relief, and also being or having been a 
record owner of the replacement dwelling. This clause applies only to persons who file a claim 
for the property tax relief authorized by this subdivision on or after the effective date of this 
clause. 

11. Retroactive or Prospective?  This is unclear and should be clarified.  Is a spouse who was a record 
owner of a replacement dwelling to which a base year value transfer was granted prior to the 
effective date of this constitutional amendment, that files a claim after the effective date of the 
constitutional amendment on another replacement property eligible (making the provision 
retroactive) or ineligible (making the provision prospective)?  For persons already in the BOE 
database, it may not be possible to determine which person was listed as a spouse if the original 
paper claim has been destroyed.  
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12. Other Constitutional Amendments.  SCA 9 (Beall) also proposes to amend Article XIII A, Section 2.  
Those provisions allow base year value transfers to homes of greater value.  The amendments will 
conflict if voters approve both measures. 

Administrative Costs:  The BOE would incur absorbable costs to update claim forms, publications, 
and the website to reflect the law change.  

Revenue Impact:  BOE property tax statistics indicate that counties grant an average of 5,000 base 
year value transfer claims each year. It is difficult to determine this bill’s immediate impact; however, a 
5% increase would result in 250 additional qualified transfers annually (5,000 x 5%). 

According to the California Association of Realtors, the median home price in December 2014 was 
$489,310. The 2015-16 average assessed value of a property receiving the homeowners’ exemption was 
$355,819. Therefore, the estimated amount of assessed value difference per home after a base year 
transfer is about $133,500 ($489,310 - $355,819 = $133,491). 

The total revenue loss is computed by multiplying the estimated number of qualified transfers by the 
assessed value difference at the basic 1% property tax rate:  

250 qualified transfers x $133,500 x 1% = $333,750 

This bill would reduce property tax revenues at the basic 1% tax rate by $333,750 annually. Assuming 
this bill is prospective and doesn’t apply to anyone previously deemed to be a claimant because they 
were a spouse, this amount could grow over time as the number of potential claimants increases each 
year. 

Qualifying Remarks. Generally, for a claimant to be eligible for the property tax relief described, there 
must be a transfer of the original property; i.e. a change in ownership subjecting the original property to 
reappraisal at its current fair market value. This revenue estimate does not account for the change in the 
assessed value to the original property. 

The revenue impact may be greater to the extent that market values return to previous peak levels.  

This revenue estimate does not account for any changes in economic activity that may or may not result 
from enactment of the proposed law. 
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