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New Legislation Affects the Cigarette and 
Tobacco Products Licensing Act of 2003

The following legislative bills affecting the Cigarette and Tobacco Products 
Licensing Act of 2003 (Licensing Act) become effective January 1, 2011.

Assembly Bill 2733 (AB 2733) (Stats. 2010, Ch. 607) amends Business and 
Professions Code (BPC) section 22980.2 and added section 22980.4 to prohibit a 
license holder from gifting or displaying for sale, cigarettes or tobacco products 
during a period of suspension or after revocation of a license. This legislation also 
added section 22980.5 that requires a suspended or revoked retailer to post a notice 
of that suspension or revocation at each public entrance and each cash register.

Gifting or Displaying for Sale. Continued sales or gifting of cigarettes or tobacco 
products after the effective date of suspension constitutes a violation of the Licensing 
Act and shall result in the revocation of the license. Continued gifting of cigarettes 
and tobacco products without a valid license or after a notification of suspension or 
revocation constitutes a violation of the Licensing Act, is a misdemeanor, and will 
result in the seizure and forfeiture of all cigarettes and tobacco products in the possession of 
the person. In addition, a person who, after receiving a notice of suspension or revo-
cation, continues to display cigarettes or tobacco products for sale would be subject 
to a civil penalty of $1,000 for each offense.

“Displaying for Sale” is the placement of cigarettes or tobacco products in a vend-
ing machine or in retail stock for the purpose of selling or gifting the cigarettes 
or tobacco products. For purposes of this definition, the clear and easily visible 
display of cigarettes or tobacco products would create a rebuttable presumption 
that either was displayed with the intent to sell.

“Gifting” is any transfer of title or possession without consideration, exchange, 
or barter, in any manner or by any means, of cigarettes or tobacco products that 
were purchased for resale under a license issued according to the Licensing Act 
if the transfer occurs while the license is suspended or after the effective date of 
its revocation.

Post a Notice of Suspension or Revocation. BPC Section 22980.5 requires a sus-
pended or revoked retailer to post a notice of suspension or revocation at each 
 public entrance and each cash register. A retailer whose license is suspended is 
required to post the notice at the retail location subject to the suspension for the 
duration of the suspension. A retailer whose license is revoked is required to post 
the notice at the retail location that was the subject of the revocation for a 30-day 
period from the effective date of the revocation. A violation of these provisions will 
subject the suspended or revoked retailer to a $1,000 penalty.
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Assembly Bill 2496 (AB 2496) (Stats. 2010, Ch. 265) in part, amends California 
Revenue and Taxation Code section 30165.1 to require a distributor or wholesaler to 
notify a retailer when the California Attorney General is recommending removal of 
a tobacco manufacturer or brand family from the Tobacco Directory (the Directory) 
for cause. Other provisions affecting retailers include:

Time Frame for Seizure. Provides retailers relief of any financial hardship 
resulting from the loss of cigarette and tobacco product inventory when 
it becomes illegal to sell a product because it has been removed from the 
Directory. Permits a licensed retailer to possess, transport, and sell cigarettes 
removed from the Directory for no more than 60 days from the effective date of 
the manufacturer or brand family’s removal from the Directory before products 
become subject to seizure and destruction. 

Acquiring Products Not on the Directory. Amends section 22980.1(g) of the 
BPC to prohibit an importer, distributor, wholesaler, distributor functioning as a 
wholesaler, or a retailer, from purchasing, obtaining, or otherwise acquiring any 
package of cigarettes to which a stamp or meter impression is affixed in viola-
tion of the Tobacco Directory Law. Failure to comply with these provisions is a 
misdemeanor subject to penalties according to section 22981 of the BPC. 

Inspection Authority. Expands the BOE’s inspection authority to any site 
where there is evidence of activities that violate the Tobacco Directory Law and 
expands the legal actions BOE may impose on any person for violations of sell-
ing, acquiring, and possessing cigarettes not included in the Directory. 


