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20__ HORSE PROPERTY STATEMENT

(other than Racehorses)
(Declaration of costs and other related
property  information as of 12:01
January 1, 20__)

FILE RETURN BY APRIL 1, 20__

Carefully read and follow the accompanying instructions.

AM.,

(File a separate statement for each location.)

NAME

ASSESSOR'S PARCEL NUMBER

D.B.A. (ranch name)

RANCH ADDRESS

MAILING ADDRESS

E-MAIL ADDRESS

Note: All horses held for sale, rent, or farm use and pets are exempt. Report onlythose horses not exempt. (See instructions)

A B C D E F G H
EARNINGS IF OWNED: Name of site and dam, permanent
RSG/T,S%FER:"F‘IBN AGE COLOR SEX | BREED DAT;\Z\FLAR_ domicile, condlitiof, purchase date and price, etc. ASSESSOR'S
NUMBER AMOUNT AfSOURCE IF BOARDED: Name and‘address of owner. USE ONLY
(see Column H instructions.)
DECLARATION BY ASSESSEE
TOTAL FULL
) ) ) VALUE
OWNERSHIP Note: The following declaration must be completed and signed.
TYPE (4) If you do not do so, it may result in penalties.

|'declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that |
Proprietorship Bhave examined this property statement, and that the foregoing and all
Partnership ]| information herein, including any accompanying statements or materials, is | PERSONAL PROPERTY

true, correct, and complete to the best of the taxpayer's knowledge and belief, FIXTURES
Corporation L7 | and includes all property required to be reported which is owned, claimed,
Other | possessed, controlled, or managed by the person named as the assessee in this OTHER IMPROVEMENTS

statementat 12:01 a.m. on January 1, 20 LAND
SIGNATURE OF ASSESSEE OR AUTHORIZED AGENT* DATE
| 2 PROCESSING DATA
NAME OF ASSESSEE OR AUTHORIZED AGENT* (typed or printed) TITLE APPRAISED

REVIEWED
NAME OF LEGAL ENTITY (other than DBA) (typed or printed) FEDERAL EMPLOYER ID NUMBER POSTEDTO:
PREPARER'S NAME AND ADDRESS (typed or printed) TELEPHONE NUMBER TITLE TAX AREA CODE:
( ) BUSINESS CODE:

*Agent: see page P4 for Declaration by Assessee instructions.

THIS STATEMENT SUBJECT TO AUDIT
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|
EQUIPMENT AND FEED (see instructions)

ITEM

PURCHASE
DATE

ORIGINAL COST

ASSESSOR'S
USE ONLY

4(,0

N

Q

1
\
0.

REMARKS: FEED
2
‘o Alfalfa
& &Hay Tons
’ Grain Lbs.
-~ Pellets Lbs.
% Meal Lbs.
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INSTRUCTIONS

California law prescribes a yearly ad valorem tax based on property as it exists at 12:01 a.m. on January 1 (tax lien
date). This form constitutes an official request that you declare all assessable business property situated in this county
which you owned, claimed, possessed, controlled, or managed on the tax lien date, and that you sign (under penalty
of perjury) and return the statement to the Assessor’s Office by the date cited on the face of the form as required by law.
Failure to file the statement during the time provided in section 441 of the Revenue and Taxation Code will compel the
Assessor to estimate the value of your property from other information in the Assessor’s possession and add a penalty
of 10 percent of the assessed value as required by section 463 of the Code.

If you own taxable personal property in any other county whose aggregate cost is $100,000 or more for any assessment year,
you must file a property statement with the Assessor of that county whether or not you are requested to do so.
Any person not otherwise required to file a statement shall do so upon request of the Assessor regardless of aggregate
cost of property. The Assessor of the county will supply you with a form upon request.

Except for the "DECLARATION BY ASSESSEE" section, you may furnish attachments in/ lieu of entering
the information on this property statement. However, such <attachments must™ contain all the
information requested by the statement and these instructions. The attachments must be jin a,format acceptable to the
Assessor, and the property statement must contain appropriate references to the attachments and must be
properly signed. In all instances, you must return the original BOE-571-K.

THIS THIS STATEMENT IS NOT IF ANY SITUATION EXISTS WHICH
STATEMENT A PUBLIC DOCUMENT. THE NECESSITATES A DEVIATION FROM
IS SUBJECT INFORMATION DECLARED WILL TOTAL COST PER BOOKS AND RECORDS,
TO AUDIT. BE HELD SECRET BY THE ASSESSOR. FULLY EXPLAIN ALL ADJUSTMENTS.

Column A. List horses which were owned by you at.12:0%ha.m. on January #, whether on your premises or not. Then list all such
horses on your premises, undergour controly’or in your.pessession at 12:01 a.m. on the first day of January that
belong to others. Show their names and registration numbers, if any. If unnamed, so state. Exclude “racehorses,”“pets”
and horses qualifying for the “businessjinventory exemption,” as defined below.

A racehorse is a live_horse,including a stallion, mare, gelding, ridgeling, colt, filly, or foal, that is or will be eligible
to participate in or ‘produce foals which will beweligible to participate in a horseracing contest in California wherein
parimutuel racing is permitted under rules and regulations prescribed by the California Horse Racing Board.
Racehorse does.not'mean or include,any horse over three years old, or over four years old in the case of an Arabian
horse, that has notarticipated in‘a horse race contest on which parimutuel wagering is permitted or has not been
used for breeding purposes in-ofder to produce racehorses during the two previous calendar years. Racehorses are
to be reported on form BOE<571-J, Annual Racehorse Tax Return, or on form BOE-571-J-1, Annual Report of Boarded
Racehorses, which mayibe obtained from the Assessor (Revenue and Taxation Code, section 5703).

Pets means any‘animal held for noncommercial purposes and not as an investment. A show animal that is awarded
ribbons or clips would not be considered as held in connection with a trade, profession, or business. However, when
the animal’s proficiency gains monetary or other awards of substantial value, or when the animal is used in the
produiction.of offspring that are sold or exchanged for items of substantial value, it is no longer considered a pet.
(Rule\No. 134, California Code of Regulations)

Horses eligible for the business inventory exemption include all horses held primarily for sale or lease in the ordinary
course of business and horses employed in the raising of crops or in the feeding, breeding, and management of
livestock. (Rule No. 133, California Code of Regulations)

Column B. State the age of the horse.

Column C. Show the horse’s color by abbreviation as follows: chestnut (ch.), brown (br.), black (blk.), bay (b.), roan (ro.), gray (gr.),
pinto (p.), palomino (pal.), etc.

Column D. Show sex by entering the applicable abbreviation: S for stallion (male horse used for breeding purposes); B for
broodmare (female horse used for reproduction); H for horse (mature male horse that is not used for breeding); M
for mare (mature female horse not used for reproduction); C for colt (male horse under 4 years of age, or under five
years old in the case of an Arabian horse, and not used for breeding); F for filly (female horse under 4 years of age

and not used for reproduction); G for gelding (a castrated male horse); R for ridgeling (an imperfectly castrated male
horse).
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Column E. Show the breed by abbreviation as follows: Thoroughbreds (T.B.), Appaloosa (App.), Arabian (Ar.), Quarter (Q.H.),
Standardbred (Std. B.), other (explain).

Column F. Show date of arrival for all boarded horses, except racehorses and pets.

Column G. Show the name and address of each owner of boarded registered, show, work, and pleasure horses. If owned by a
syndicate, give syndicate name and name and address of syndicate manager. If the horses are owned by you, list all
of the following information.

a. Gross amount of money earned since January 1st of prior year.
b. Show the source of the income, such as breeding, showing, etc.

Column H. List the following information in the order in which asked:

+ List the sire’s name first and then the dam’s name.

+ Show the permanent domicile of the horse, and,«if out of California,’ give location on
January 1st.

+ Describe the horse’s physical condition at 12:01 a.m. ondanuarylst., i.e., sound, unsound. Also indicate if in light
or heavy training.

+ Broodmares: State if barren or in foal. If in foal, show'namefof stallion.

+ Stallions: Show current stud fee, number.of maré€s contracted for this calendar year, number of mares contracted
last year and number of conceptions last year.

+ If horse was purchased since Januaryyist of dast year, show date purchased and cost. Cost includes purchase
price, transportation costs, sales tax, import duty, and.broker’s fees, if any.

If you need additional space, continue on the next line:
Column I. Equipment and Feed.

Equipment: Enter ‘the total original .installed cost before allowance for depreciation for each year
of acquisition. Include freight-in, ‘excise taxes, sales or use taxes, and installation costs. Include
fully depreciated, equipment butwdo)not include items that were traded, retired, transferred, sold
or junked“and removed physically from the premises. If equipment is located elsewhere in the
county, attach®a similar Schedtle and identify the location. All equipment at this location, except
licensed vehicles, must béreported on this Property Statement.

Feed: Report only feed'that will be consumed by your animals reported here plus your pets and racehorses.

Horses temporatily removed from the premises may be assessed to you at this location.

DECLARATION BY ASSESSEE

The law requires that this property statement, regardless of where it is executed, shall be declared to be true under penalty of
perjury under thedaws of the State of California. The declaration must be signed by the assessee, a duly appointed fiduciary, or a
person authorized to sign on behalf of the assessee. In the case of a corporation, the declaration must be signed by an officer or by
an employee or agent who has been designated in writing by the board of directors, by name or by title, to sign the declaration on
behalf of the corporation. In the case of a partnership, the declaration must be signed by a partner or an authorized employee or
agent. In the case of a Limited Liability Company (LLC), the declaration must be signed by an LLC manager, or by a member where
there is no manager, or by an employee or agent designated by the LLC manager or by the members to sign on behalf of the LLC.

When signed by an employee or agent, other than a member of the bar, a certified public accountant, a public accountant, an
enrolled agent or a duly appointed fiduciary, the assessee’s written authorization of the employee or agent to sign the declaration on
behalf of the assessee must be filed with the Assessor. The Assessor may at any time require a person who signs a property statement
and who is required to have written authorization to provide proof of authorization.

A property statement that is not signed and executed in accordance with the foregoing instructions is not validly filed. The penalty
imposed by section 463 of the Revenue and Taxation Code for failure to file is applicable to unsigned property statements.





