Name:		
County:		

AIRCRAFT EXEMPTIONS SELF-STUDY TRAINING SESSION REVIEW QUESTIONS

1.	State law requires that aircraft be assessed on the January 1 lien date annually at the tax situs where they are regularly or habitually situated in California, unless an exemption applies. True False
2.	Aircraft of historical significance is defined as "any aircraft that is years or older or any aircraft of a type or model which there are fewer than in number known to exist worldwide.
3.	For purposes of the "fewer than five" requirement, the amount of modifications the aircraft has undergone is the determining factor, regardless of the original make and model. True False
4.	Which of the following would not be considered an "individual owner" when filing an Aircraft of Historical Significance Exemption claim? [Mark all that apply.] A corporation Several co-owners Two spouses A partnership
5.	To qualify as "available for display" for the Aircraft of Historical Significance Exemption, the aircraft display site must be in California. True False
6.	The Aircraft of Historical Significance Exemption requires a fee of \$35 to be collected by the Assessor with the initial affidavit for the exemption and with each annual affidavit filed thereafter in the same county. True False

1 June 2016

7.	To receive 100 percent of the exemption, a claim for the Aircraft of Historical Significance Exemption must be filed annually with the Assessor by 5:00 p.m. on, for the preceding lien date.
	for the preceding her date.
8.	The Aircraft for Display Exemption is not based on its status as of lien date, but based on its display status during the 12-month period immediately preceding the lien date.
	True
	☐ False
9.	One of the primary requirements to qualify for the Aircraft for Display Exemption is that the aircraft must have been available for public display in an aerospace museum for 45 days or more during the 12-month period that immediately preceded the lien date for the year that the exemption is claimed.
	True
	☐ False
10.	Regarding the Aircraft for Display Exemption, regularly open to the public means that the aerospace museum was open to the public during the 12-month period that immediately preceded the lien date for which of the following?
	20 or more hours per week for 25 or more weeks
	10 or more hours per week for 35 or more weeks
	20 or more hours per week for 35 or more weeks
	There is no time requirement
11.	When filing a claim for the Aircraft for Display Exemption, both the claimant and the director or officer are to sign the affidavit under penalty of perjury.
	☐ True
	☐ False
12.	A claim for the Aircraft for Display Exemption must be filed with the Assessor between the lien date and 5:00 p.m. on February 15 to receive 100 percent of the exemption. Thereafter, the late-filing provisions apply.
	☐ True
	☐ False

2

June 2016