
  
 

 

 

 

 

   

Cigarette and Tobacco Products Taxes 

Excise taxes are imposed upon the 
distribution of cigarettes and 
tobacco products in California. 
Distributors must be licensed to 
conduct these transactions and have 
an account number to remit the 
excise taxes owed. 

Two types of excise taxes are 
collected on cigarettes and tobacco 
products distributed in California: 
1) the cigarette tax, and  
2) the cigarette and tobacco 
products surtax. Each tax is 
described below, according to the 
type of product sold. 

Cigarettes 

Cigarettes are subject to both the 
cigarette tax and the cigarette and 
tobacco products surtax, collectively 
referred to as taxes. The taxes are 
assessed on each cigarette 
distributed in California. 

The current tax rate is $0.0435 cents 
per cigarette, which is eighty seven 
cents ($0.87) per pack of twenty (20) 
cigarettes. Distributors pay the taxes 
by purchasing cigarette tax stamps 
from the State Board of Equalization 
(BOE). Distributors are required to 
affix the tax stamp to each package 
of cigarettes before distribution. 
Distributors pass the excise taxes on 
to their customer, and the taxes 
become part of the retail selling 
price of the cigarettes. 

The cost of the cigarette tax stamp 
includes both taxes. The current and 
historical cigarette tax rates are 
available at www.boe.ca.gov/ 
sptaxprog/tax_rates_stfd.htm. 

Distributors receive a purchase 
discount of 0.85% of the total tax 
value per purchase order to help 
offset the cost of affixing cigarette 
tax stamps. 

Products labeled as little or small 
cigars under federal regulation  (27 
C.F.R. § 40.214) and the federal 
Cigarette Labeling and Advertising 
Act (15 U.S.C. § 1331 et seq.) are 
considered cigarettes for excise tax 
purposes and must have the 
cigarette tax stamp affixed to each 
package prior to distribution and 
are reported as cigarettes on the 
return. 

Tobacco products 

Tobacco products include, but are 
not limited to, all forms of cigars 
(except “little cigars”), smoking 
tobacco (including shisha), chewing 
tobacco and snuff, and any other 
articles or products made of or 
containing at least 50 percent 
tobacco. “Tobacco products” do not 
include cigarettes. 

The tax, which is a component of the 
cigarette and tobacco products 
surtax, is paid by tobacco products 
distributors. 

The tobacco products tax is imposed 
upon the first distribution of 
tobacco products at a rate 
determined annually by the BOE. 
The tobacco products tax rate is 
equivalent to the combined rate of 
the taxes applied to cigarettes (for 
details, please refer to “How are the 
revenues used?”). The rate is 
applied to the wholesale cost of the 
tobacco products. “Wholesale cost” 
means the cost of the tobacco 
products to the distributor prior to 

any discounts or trade allowances. If 
a manufacturer is also the 
distributor, the wholesale cost of 
tobacco includes all manufacturing 
costs, the cost of raw materials 
(including waste materials not 
incorporated into the final product), 
the cost of labor, any direct and 
indirect overhead costs, and any 
federal excise and/or U.S. Customs 
taxes paid. Wholesale cost does not 
include domestic freight or 
transportation charges for shipment 
of a finished product from the 
supplier to the distributor. In most 
cases, the wholesale cost will be the 
invoiced price of the tobacco 
products without any allowance for 
discounts. For additional 
information on how to calculate or 
estimate the wholesale cost, please 
refer to Regulation 4076, Wholesale 
Cost of Tobacco Products. The current 
and historical tobacco products tax 
rates are available at www.boe.ca.gov/ 
sptaxprog/tax_rates_stfd.htm. 

Electronic smoking or vaping 
devices, nicotine products, or 
any component, part, or 
accessory of a tobacco product 

Currently, any product containing, 
made, or derived from nicotine that 
is intended for human consumption; 
any electronic smoking or vaping 
devices (for example: electronic 
cigarettes, vape pens, etc.); or any 
component, part, or accessory of a 
tobacco product do not fall under 
the definition of a cigarette or 
tobacco product for tax purposes 
since they do not contain tobacco. 
Therefore, these products are not 
subject to California’s excise tax. 
However, retail sellers of these 
products are required to have a 
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Cigarette and Tobacco Products 
Retailer’s License starting January 1, 
2017. 

How are the revenues used? 

Of the total eighty-seven cents 
($0.87) tax per package of twenty 
cigarettes, ten cents ($0.10) is 
deposited into the Cigarette Tax 
Fund, and two cents ($0.02) goes 
into the Breast Cancer Fund. 

Twenty-five cents ($0.25) is 
deposited into the Cigarette and 
Tobacco Products Surtax Fund and 
may only be used for these 
purposes: 

• Tobacco-related health education 
programs and disease research. 

• Medical and hospital care and 
treatment of patients who cannot 
afford those services, and for 
whom payment will not be made 
by any private coverage or federal 
program. 

• Programs for fire prevention; 
environmental conservation; 
protection, restoration, 
enhancement, and maintenance of 
fish, waterfowl, and wildlife 
habitat areas; and enhancement of 
state and local parks and 
recreation. 

Fifty cents ($0.50) is deposited into 
the California Children and Families 
Trust Fund and is used for 
programs that encourage proper 
childhood development, including 
the development of professional and 
parental education and training, 
informed selection of childcare, 
development and education of 
childcare providers, and research 
into the best practices and standards 
for all programs and services 
relating to early childhood 
development. 

Who is required to register? 

You are required to register if you 
are a distributor, wholesaler, 
manufacturer, or importer of 
cigarettes or tobacco products in 
California. Definitions of the above 
terms are provided under the 
heading “Imposition of the Tax.” 

Retailers are also required to 
register. For retail license 
requirements,  see publication 78, 
Sales of Cigarettes and Tobacco Products  
in California–License Requirements for 
Retailers, available at 
www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/pub78.pdf. 

Delivery sellers (see “Requirements 
for Delivery Sellers”) are required to 
register for both a retailer and 
distributor license. 

How do I register? 

You can apply online using BOE’s 
online services, available at 
efile.boe.ca.gov/ereg/index.boe. If you 
have questions or need help, contact 
BOE’s Customer Service Center at  
1-800-400-7115 (TTY:711). 

If I am required to register, 
what are the requirements? 

Licensing. You must first apply for a 
distributor, wholesaler, 
manufacturer, or importer license 
and pay the applicable licensing fee. 
Current licensing fees can be found 
at www.boe.ca.gov/sptaxprog/ 
tax_rates_stfd.htm. All licenses must 
be renewed annually. If you are 
applying for a distributor’s license, 
you must also post a minimum 
$1,000 security deposit before the 
license can be issued. There are no 
security deposit requirements for 
wholesalers, manufacturers,  or 
importers. For information on 
purchasing cigarette tax stamps, 
please see publication 63, Cigarette 
Distributor Licensing and Tax Stamp 
Guide, available at www.boe.ca.gov/ 
pdf/pub63.pdf. 

Cigarette and Tobacco Products 
Account. After receiving a license 
issued under the California 
Cigarette & Tobacco Products 
Licensing Act of 2003, a separate 
account must be established to sell 
cigarettes and tobacco products in 
California. 

Filing. All licensed distributors, 
wholesalers, manufacturers, and 
importers (with the exception of 
tobacco wholesalers) are required to 
file tax returns, reports, and/or 
schedules, which are due on or 
before the 25th of the month 
following the reporting period. Tax 
returns, reports, and schedules must 
be filed even if no transactions were 
made during the reporting period. 
Online filing is available to cigarette 
distributors and manufacturers. 
Additional information can be 
found at www.boe.ca.gov/sptaxprog/ 
cig_efile.htm. All records must be kept 
and maintained at the taxpayer’s 
licensed premises in California, 
unless another location has been 
approved by the BOE. 

Imposition of the Tax 

Cigarette Distributor. A cigarette 
distributor is a person who 
purchases untaxed (unstamped) 
cigarettes and makes the first 
distribution of the cigarettes in this 
state. Distribution includes the sale, 
use, or consumption of untaxed 
cigarettes, or the placing of untaxed 
cigarettes in a vending machine or 
in retail stock*. A cigarette 
distributor is required to affix the 
California cigarette tax stamp to 
each package of cigarettes prior to 
distribution to indicate that taxes 
have been paid. 

Tobacco Products Distributor. A 
tobacco products distributor is a 
person who makes the first 
distribution of tobacco products in 
this state. Distribution includes the 
sale, use or consumption of untaxed 
tobacco products, or the placing of 
untaxed tobacco products in a 
vending machine or in retail stock*. 
A tobacco products distributor is 

http://www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/pub78.pdf
https://efile.boe.ca.gov/ereg/index.boe
http://www.boe.ca.gov/sptaxprog/tax_rates_stfd.htm
http://www.boe.ca.gov/sptaxprog/tax_rates_stfd.htm
http://www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/pub63.pdf
http://www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/pub63.pdf
http://www.boe.ca.gov/sptaxprog/cig_efile.htm
http://www.boe.ca.gov/sptaxprog/cig_efile.htm


 State Board Of Equalization • Publication 93, Cigarette And Tobacco Products Taxes • September 2016 

   

 
3  

required to calculate the tobacco 
products tax due based on the 
wholesale cost of the tobacco 
products distributed and remit the 
amounts owed each month on tax 
return forms provided by the BOE. 

Cigarette Wholesaler. A cigarette 
wholesaler is a person, other than a 
licensed distributor, who sells taxed 
(stamped) cigarettes, obtained from 
a distributor or another wholesaler, 
for resale. Cigarette wholesalers 
cannot purchase their products 
directly from an importer or 
manufacturer. 

Tobacco Products Wholesaler. A 
tobacco products wholesaler is a 
person, other than a licensed 
distributor, who sells tax-paid 
tobacco products for resale. Tobacco 
products wholesalers cannot 
purchase their products directly 
from an importer or manufacturer. 

Manufacturer. A manufacturer is a 
person who manufactures cigarettes 
and/or tobacco products sold in this 
state. There are some reporting 
requirements imposed on 
manufacturers and there are 
additional restrictions which carry 
potential tax consequences 
regarding product promotions and 
samples provided to recipients at no 
cost, as set forth in Regulation 4081. 

Importer. An importer is any 
purchaser who purchases for resale 
in the United States, cigarettes and/ 
or tobacco products manufactured 
outside the United States for the 
purpose of making a first sale or 
distribution within the United 
States. 

* Retail stock includes all cigarettes 
(for cigarette distributors) or 
tobacco products (for tobacco 
products distributors) on the 
premises of a retail site whether 
on display or not. 

Are any transactions not subject 
to taxes? 

Yes. The following sales and 
distributions of cigarettes and 
tobacco products are generally not 
subject to the taxes although these 
transactions may be subject to 
reporting requirements. This list is 
not intended to be all-inclusive. 

• Sales of cigarettes or tobacco 
products by the original importer 
to a licensed distributor if the 
cigarettes or tobacco products are 
manufactured outside the United 
States (Revenue and Taxation 
Code. [R&TC] § 30105); 

• Sale or gift of federally tax-free 
cigarettes or tobacco products 
when the cigarettes or tobacco 
products are delivered directly 
from the manufacturer under 
Internal Revenue bond to a 
veteran’s home of the State of 
California or a hospital or 
domiciliary facility of the United 
States Veterans’ Administration 
for gratuitous issue to veterans 
receiving hospitalization or 
domiciliary care. The tax shall not 
apply to the use or consumption 
of such cigarettes or tobacco 
products by the institution or by 
the veteran patients or 
domiciliaries.  
(R&TC § 30105.5); 

• Sales of cigarettes or tobacco 
products by the manufacturer to a 
licensed distributor.  
(R&TC § 30103); 

• Sales by a distributor to a 
common carrier engaged in 
interstate or foreign passenger 
service. (R&TC § 30104); 

• Sales to United States military 
exchanges, commissaries, ships’ 
stores, or the U.S. Department of 
Veterans Affairs. (R&TC § 30102); 

• Distributions of federally untaxed 
cigarettes or tobacco products that 
are under Internal Revenue bond 
or U.S. Customs control.  
(R&TC § 30102.5); 

• An individual shipment of not 
more than 400 cigarettes (typically 
20 packs or 2 cartons) personally 
transported into California. 
(R&TC § 30106); 

• Sales and distributions of 
cigarettes and tobacco products 
that cannot be taxed by the state 
under the U.S. Constitution or 
federal law, or under the 
California Constitution or state 
law, such as shipments to 
purchasers in other states, 
territories, or foreign countries 
when the cigarette and tobacco 
products are not to be returned to 
California before use. 

What if consumers purchase 
cigarettes or tobacco products 
from outside of California? 

If consumers purchase cigarettes or 
tobacco products for their own use 
from outside the state without 
paying California excise tax, they 
are required to file a Cigarette and 
Tobacco Products Excise Tax Return 
and pay the tax directly to the BOE. 
The return is due at the end of the 
month following the quarter in 
which the purchases were made. 
This includes products purchased 
through the mail, by telephone, or 
via the Internet, that are shipped 
into California. Consumers also owe 
the taxes if they physically bring 
more than 400 cigarettes into 
California. These purchases are also 
subject to California use taxes. For 
information regarding California 
use tax, please visit 
www.boe.ca.gov/sutax/usetax.htm. 

http://www.boe.ca.gov/lawguides/business/current/btlg/vol3/ctptr/ctptr-reg4081.html
http://www.boe.ca.gov/lawguides/business/current/btlg/vol3/ctptr/ctptr-reg4081.html
http://www.boe.ca.gov/sutax/usetax.htm
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Do distributors need to contact 
the BOE before destroying 
cigarettes or tobacco products? 

Yes. Contact us before you destroy 
cigarettes and/or tobacco products. 
To make arrangements for a BOE 
employee to be present for the 
destruction, call 1-916-323-6361 or 
send an email to: adab@boe.ca.gov. If 
you do not have an authorized BOE 
representative witness the 
destruction of the cigarettes or 
untaxed tobacco products, you may 
be liable for any unpaid cigarette 
and tobacco products taxes. It is 
presumed that all cigarettes or 
tobacco products acquired by a 
distributor are untaxed cigarettes or 
tobacco products, and that all 
cigarettes or tobacco products 
manufactured in this state or 
transported to this state and no 
longer in the possession of the 
distributor have been distributed. 
(R&TC § 30109) 

If you have stamped cigarettes 
which have become unfit for use or 
unsalable that needs to be returned 
to the manufacturer or destroyed, 
you must request a refund of the tax 
stamp in writing to: Appeals and 
Data Analysis Branch, P.O. Box 
942879, Sacramento, CA 94279-0033 
or fax your request to: 1-916-323-
9497. You must file the claim for 
refund prior to returning the 
cigarettes to the manufacturer or 
destroying the stamped cigarettes in 
order to receive a refund of the taxes 
paid. 

What are the PACT Act 
requirements? 

The Prevent All Cigarette 
Trafficking (PACT) Act is federal 
law that amends the Federal Jenkins 
Act. It revises provisions governing 
the collection of taxes and 
trafficking by requiring Internet and 
other remote sellers of cigarettes 
and smokeless tobacco products to 

comply with the same laws that 
apply to local cigarette and tobacco 
products sellers. 

Registration 

If you operate a business for profit 
that sells, transfers, ships, 
advertises, or offers for sale 
cigarettes or smokeless tobacco 
products through interstate 
commerce into California, or into 
Indian Country located within 
California’s borders, you must 
register with the BOE. 

To register, download the Federal 
PACT Act form, ATF Form 5070.1, 
Prevent All Cigarette Trafficking 
(PACT) Act Registration Form, at 
www.atf.gov/file/61471/download. Mail 
the completed form to: Special 
Taxes and Fees, MIC: 88, State 
Board of Equalization, P.O. Box 
942879, Sacramento, CA 94279-0088. 

Monthly Report Filing 

You must also file monthly reports, 
using uniform PACT act forms, with 
the BOE and the California Office of 
the Attorney General. To report 
cigarettes, use form PA-1, State 
Cigarette PACT Act Report. To 
report smokeless tobacco products, 
use form PA-2, State Tobacco PACT 
Act Report. Copies of the required 
report forms are available at the 
Federation of Tax Administrators’ 
website at www.taxadmin.org/tobacco-
tax-section. The monthly report 
forms contain detailed information 
on each shipment of cigarettes  
(PA-1) and smokeless tobacco 
products (PA-2) into California or 
Indian Country during the previous 
calendar month. The reports are due 
before the 10th day of each calendar 
month. You must file a report for 
each monthly reporting period 
regardless of whether you have 
transactions to report for that 
month. It is recommended that you 
submit the required reports 
electronically to 
PACT.Act@boe.ca.gov. If you are 
unable to submit the reports 
electronically, please mail to 

California State Board of 
Equalization, Special Taxes and 
Fees, MIC: 88, P.O. Box 942879, 
Sacramento, CA 94279-0088. 

Requirements for delivery 
sellers (direct sales to 
consumers) 

A “delivery sale” is defined, in part, 
as any sale of cigarettes or 
smokeless tobacco (for example, 
chew or snuff) products sold by an 
out-of-state vendor to an in-state 
consumer. If you are a delivery 
seller, and plan to make delivery 
sales of cigarettes or smokeless 
tobacco products in California, you 
must apply for both a California 
Cigarette and Tobacco Products 
Retailer license and a California 
Cigarette and Tobacco Products 
Distributor license. A delivery seller 
must comply with all California 
laws regarding the sale of cigarettes 
and smokeless tobacco products 
into the state as if that seller were 
located in California. 

Additional Resources 

Other related publications that may 
interest you are listed below. 
Helpful guides, regulations, forms, 
publications, and other resources 
are available at www.boe.ca.gov.  

Publications 

63  Cigarette Distributor Licensing  
and Tax Stamp Guide 

78 Sales of Cigarettes and Tobacco  
Products in California—License 
Requirement for Retailers 

152  Cigarette and Tobacco Products  
 Inspections 

204  Cigarette and Tobacco Products  
 Taxes Newsletter 

403  New California Counterfeit-  
 Resistant Cigarette Tax Stamp 

mailto:adab@boe.ca.gov
https://www.atf.gov/file/61471/download
http://www.taxadmin.org/tobacco-tax-section
http://www.taxadmin.org/tobacco-tax-section
mailto:PACT.Act@boe.ca.gov
http://www.boe.ca.gov/
http://www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/pub63.pdf
https://www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/pub78.pdf
http://www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/pub152.pdf
http://www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/pub204.pdf
https://www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/pub403.pdf
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For More Information 

If you have any questions regarding 
this program, you may contact us by 
phone, email, or mail. 

Customer Service Center 

1-800-400-7115 
TTY:711 

Monday through Friday (except 
state holidays), 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. 
(Pacific time). Select the option for 
“Special Taxes and Fees.” 
www.boe.ca.gov/email/ 

Special Taxes and Fees  
State Board of Equalization  
PO Box 942879 
Sacramento, CA 94279-0088 

Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate 

If you have not been able to resolve 
a problem through normal channels 
(for example, by speaking to a 
supervisor), contact the Taxpayers’ 
Rights Advocate Office for help: 

Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate Office 
State Board of Equalization  
P.O. Box 942879 Sacramento, CA 
94279-0070 

www.boe.ca.gov/info/emailtra.htm 

1-888-324-2798 toll-free phone 

1-916-323-3319 fax

Note: This publication summarizes the law and applicable regulations in effect when the publication was written. 
However, changes in the law or in regulations may have occurred since that time. If there is a conflict between the text 
in this publication and the law, decisions will be based on the law and not on this publication. 

http://www.boe.ca.gov/email/
http://www.boe.ca.gov/info/emailtra.htm
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