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PROPERTY TAX SAVINGS: TRANSFER OF PROPERTY TAX BASE
TO REPLACEMENT PROPERTY - AGE 55 AND OLDER

The State Board of Equalization Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate Office is committed to helping California
taxpayers understand property tax laws, and be aware of exclusions and exemptions available to them.

Transfer of Property Tax Base to
Replacement Property - Age 55
and Older

Did you know property owners in California
who are age 55 and older can transfer the
taxable value of their home when they sell their
home and buy or build another home and avoid
paying higher property taxes?

In November 2020, California voters approved
Proposition 19, which, among other things,
allows persons over 55 years of age to transfer
the taxable value of their principal residence
to a replacement principal residence located

in any California county, up to three times,
provided certain requirements are met. This
prevents the replacement home from being
reassessed at market value due to a change in
ownership, which can significantly increase the
property taxes from those that were paid on
the original residence. “Taxable value” means
the property’s base year value plus inflationary
adjustments, commonly referred to as the
factored base year value.

Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC) section 69.6
implements the base year value transfer
provisions under Proposition 19 for persons
over 55 years of age for transfers that occur
on or after April 1, 2021. (For such transfers
that occurred before April 1, 2021, see
Publication 800-3a Information Sheet, Transfer
of Property Tax Base to Replacement Property
— Age 55 and Older Occurring On or Before
March 31, 2021.)

This base year value transfer is available to a
person who is age 55 or older that sells their
principal residence (referred to as the original
property) and buys or builds a replacement
residence (referred to as the replacement
property) within two years of the sale of the
original property.

To qualify for this exclusion, the following
conditions must be met:

e Claimant must be age 55 or older at the time
the original property is sold.

e Either the sale of the original home or
the purchase or new construction of the
replacement home, or both, must occur on
or after April 1, 2021.

¢ The claimant must own and reside in the
original property at the time of sale or
within two years of the purchase or new
construction of the replacement property.

e The original property must have been
eligible for the homeowners’ or disabled
veterans’ exemption and the replacement
property must be eligible for one of these
exemptions.

e The original property must be sold, and
the replacement property purchased for
consideration. Consideration is defined
as something of value such as payment of
cash, creation or cancellation of debt, or
exchange of other property.

Value Comparison Test and
Calculation for Replacement
Property’s Base Year Value

A claimant may purchase or newly construct

a replacement property of any value; however,
any value in excess of the original property’s
market value is added to the original property’s
transferred base year value. If the replacement
property is purchased or newly constructed
after the original property is sold, the
replacement’s market value can exceed the
original’s market value up to 105 percent of the
original’s market value if the replacement is
purchased within the first year after the sale of
the original, or 110 percent within the second
year, with no excess added to the transferred
taxable value.
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If the replacement property is of equal or lesser
value as compared to the original property,
then the factored base year value of the original
property, plus any applicable annual inflationary
adjustments that occurred between the date
the original property was sold and date that

the replacement property was purchased or
new construction completed, becomes the new
base year value of the replacement property.

“Equal or lesser value” means that the full cash
value (commonly referred to as market value) of
the replacement property does not exceed one
of the following:

¢ 100 percent of the original property’s
market value if the replacement property is
purchased or new construction completed
before the sale of the original property,

¢ 105 percent of the original property’s
market value if the replacement property is
purchased or new construction completed
within the first year after the sale of the
original property,

¢ 110 percent of the original property’s
market value if the replacement property is
purchased or new construction completed
within the second year after the sale of the
original property.

If the replacement property’s market value

is greater than the original property’s market
value, then the amount above the “equal or
lesser value” of the original property’s market
value is added to the transferred factored base
year value.

Therefore, in cases where the replacement
property is purchased or newly constructed
before the sale of the original property, and
the replacement’s market value exceeds the
original’s market value, then the difference
(excess) will be added to the transferred base
year value. If the replacement is purchased or
newly constructed after the sale of the original
property, depending on the time period when
the replacement is purchased, the amount
above 5% or 10% over the original property’s
market value is added to the transferred base
year value.

Example 1- Replacement Purchased Before
Sale of Original

The market value of the replacement property at
the time of purchase in July 2021 was $730,000.
The market value of the original property at
the time of its sale in September 2021 was

$700,000 and its assessed value (factored
base year value) was $225,738. Since the
replacement was purchased before the sale

of the original, then 100 percent of the original
property’s market value would be compared

to the replacement property’s market value.
Since the replacement’s market value is greater
than that of the original property, the difference
of $30,000 ($730,000 - $700,000) is added

to the original property’s factored base year
value of $225,738. The new base year value of
the replacement property would therefore be
$255,738 ($225,738 + $30,000).

Example 2- Replacement Purchased After
Sale of Original

The market value of the replacement property
at the time of purchase in September 2021
was $730,000. The market value of the original
property at the time of its sale in July 2021
was $700,000 and its assessed value (factored
base year value) was $225,738. Since the
replacement was purchased within the first
year after the sale of the original property,

105 percent of the original property’s market
value ($700,000 x 105% = $735,000) would

be compared to the replacement property’s
market value ($730,000). The difference that
exceeds 105 percent of the original’s market
value would then be added to the original’s
factored base year value. In this case, there

is no excess value to be added because the
original property’s adjusted market value of
$735,000 is greater than the replacement
property’s market value of $730,000. Therefore,
the original property’s factored base year value
of $225,738 would transfer to the replacement
property without any excess added.

However, if the market value of the replacement
property was $800,000 instead of $730,000,
$65,000 in excess value would be added to

the $225,738 transferred value. The excess

is calculated as follows: $800,000 minus the
original’s adjusted market value of $735,000
($700,000 x 105%) = $65,000. The new base
year value of the replacement property would
then be $290,738 ($225,738 + $65,000).

Potential for Tax Savings

Property taxes are based on the assessed
value of your property. For purposes of
California property taxation, real property
is reassessed at market value when sold
or transferred, or upon completion of new
construction. As a result of purchasing a
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different home or building a new one, the
property’s assessed value can sometimes
increase significantly, resulting in higher
property taxes due each year.

If the original property’s factored base year
value is less than the market value of the
replacement property, then receiving a base
year value transfer will result in savings.

Tax savings of Example 1 from above: The
market value of the replacement property at
the time of purchase was $730,000; normally
the change in ownership would result in the
property being reassessed at its market value,
which establishes its new base year. However,
because the owner applied and qualified for

a base year value transfer, the new base year
value of the replacement property is $255,738.
This results in lower property taxes because the
assessed value of the replacement property is
$474,262 lower than its market value ($730,000
- $255,738 = $474,262). Given the one percent
statewide tax rate, this would save over $4,742
in property taxes per year.

Tax savings of Example 2 (scenario 2) from
above: The market value of the replacement
property at the time of purchase was $800,000;
normally the change in ownership would result
in the property being reassessed at its market
value, which establishes its new base year.
However, because the owner applied and
qualified for a base year value transfer, the new
base year value of the replacement property is
$290,738. This results in lower property taxes
because the assessed value of the replacement
property is $509,262 lower than its market
value ($800,000 - $290,738 = $509,262). Given
the one percent statewide tax rate, this would
save over $5,092 in property taxes per year.

When to File Your Claim

To qualify for this base year value transfer, the
claim must be filed with the County Assessor
within three years of the date you purchased
or completed construction on the replacement
home.

The base year value transfer is still available
for claims filed after the three-year period;
however, the transfer will be granted beginning
with the year that the claim is filed.

How to Apply for the Base Year
Value Transfer Exclusion

Complete form BOE-19-B, Claim for Transfer
of Base Year Value to Replacement Primary
Residence for Persons at Least Age 55

Years. Obtain the claim form from the County
Assessor’s office where the replacement
property is located. Submit the completed form
to the same office.

Helpful Hints

e The original property must be your principal
residence at the time of sale or within two
years of buying or completing construction
on your replacement home; it cannot be
your vacation home.

¢ The replacement property can be
purchased within two years (before or after)
of the sale of the original property.

® You must be at least age 55 when you sell
your original property; but you can be under
55 when you purchase the replacement
property.

e |[f married, only one spouse needs to be at
least age 55.

¢ You can transfer your base year value up to
three times under Proposition 19, regardless
of whether you already received a base year
value transfer prior to April 1, 2021, under
Proposition 60 or 90.

¢ |f you buy a replacement property with a
market value lower than that of the original
property, any new construction completed
on the replacement within two years of
the sale of the original can be included in
the transferred base year value, up to the
amount of the original property’s market
value.

® You cannot benefit from this exclusion if you
transfer your original property to your child
and your child claims the parent to child
exclusion.

e |f the market value of the replacement
property is less than the factored base year
value of the original property at the time of
the transfer, then claiming the exclusion is
not beneficial.
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e If you did not receive the homeowners’
or disabled veterans’ exemption on the
original property, you can still qualify for a
base year value transfer if you were eligible
for one of these exemptions at the time of
sale or within two years of the replacement
property’s purchase or new construction.

e Property owned by a legal entity (for
example, corporation) is not eligible for a
base year value transfer.

Where to Find Additional
Information

Visit the State Board of Equalization’s (BOE)
website at www.boe.ca.gov for property tax
information. For comprehensive information on
Proposition 19, visit www.boe.ca.gov/prop19.

Refer to LTA 2022/009, Implementation of
Proposition 19: Base Year Value Transfers
and Property Tax Rule 462.540, Change in
Ownership — Base Year Value Transfers.

Visit the County Assessor’s website where the
property is located. The BOE’s website has
contact information for each County Assessor
in California, available at
www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/countycontacts.htm.
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