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Diesel Fuel Tax and IFTA Information 
Tax rate change for 2011 under International Fuel Tax 
Agreement (IFTA) and interstate user diesel fuel credentials 
The tax you report and pay with your quarterly fuel tax return for 
diesel fuel that you purchase outside California and use in the state 
has been increased to 39.7 cents per gallon for the period  
January 1, 2011 through June 30, 2011. You may claim a credit 
of 39.7 cents per gallon for the gallons of tax-paid diesel fuel you 
purchase in California and use both inside and outside the state. 

The 39.7 cents per gallon reflects: 
• 18 cents per gallon of diesel fuel tax. 
• An additional excise tax of 21.7 cents per gallon. (This amount 

is equal to 8.25 percent of the average retail price per gallon of 
diesel fuel sold in California during the preceding 12 months. 
This amount is calculated each September for the subsequent 
calendar year.) 

Please note that, effective July 1, 2011, this rate will be reduced 
pursuant to the fuel tax swap legislation discussed on the next 
page. We will keep you informed. 

If you have any questions concerning the calculation of this tax, 
please call the Motor Carrier Office at 916-322-9669 or call our 
Taxpayer Information Section at 800-400-7115. 

Renew your IFTA credentials to avoid penalty charges 
If you have not yet applied for your 2011 IFTA credentials, be sure 
to do so soon. Your current credentials will expire on  
December 31, 2010 (unless your credentials are revoked, canceled, 
or suspended before then). As explained below, you are subject to 
a penalty charge if you enter California on or after January 1, 2011, 
without proper IFTA credentials (see grace period information) or 
a valid California Fuel Trip Permit. 

Grace period for carriers who have applied and paid for their 
2011 credentials 
You have until February 28, 2011, to display your 2011 decals if 
you have filed all of your IFTA returns, paid all amounts due, and 
filed and paid for your credential renewal on time. Many IFTA 
jurisdictions, including California, step up their IFTA credential 
enforcement beginning on March 1 each year. 

Penalty charge 
If you’re not covered by the grace period or otherwise do not have 
credentials, you will be assessed a penalty if you enter California 
without valid IFTA credentials or a valid California Fuel Trip 
Permit. The penalty may be calculated two different ways: 

• If we determine at the time that you owe tax, the penalty will be 
25 percent of the tax amount or $500, whichever is more. 

• If we do not determine at the time that you owe tax, the 
penalty is $100. For each subsequent violation, $100 will be 
added to the amount of the previous penalty until the penalty 
reaches the maximum of $500 per violation. For example, the 
minimum penalty is $200 for a second violation and $300 for 
a third violation. In addition to paying a penalty, you will also 
be required to purchase a California Fuel Trip Permit to travel 
in California. The current cost of a permit is $30 for a single 
vehicle for a consecutive four-day period. 

All tax, interest and penalty amounts you are assessed upon 
entering California, the California Fuel Trip Permit fee, and any 
other outstanding amounts due, must be paid before you will be 
allowed to proceed into the state. Failure to pay these amounts 
may result in your qualified motor vehicle being impounded, 
posted for sale, and sold to pay the indebtedness. 

IFTA audits 
IFTA audits are conducted to verify that you have correctly 
reported the fuel used and mileage driven on your quarterly 
IFTA tax returns. The BOE audits the records of California IFTA 
licensees on behalf of all member jurisdictions. 

You must maintain complete records for each of your qualified 
motor vehicles of the number of miles driven in California and 
out of California, and all of your related fuel purchases. For more 
information about recordkeeping requirements, see pages 14 and 
15 of publication 50, California IFTA—Guide to the International 
Fuel Tax Agreement, at www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/pub50.pdf. 

If your records are unacceptable for audit purposes, the audit staff 
will determine your liability. 
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The auditor may: 
• Estimate the number of gallons you used based on your driving 

history or by comparing your operations to similar operations. 
• Use a standard of 4.0 miles per gallon. 
• Not allow any claims for tax-paid fuel without supporting 

documentation. You have the burden of proving that your 
records and statements are correct. 

Generally, you must maintain records for a period of four years 
from the due date of your quarterly tax return or the date the 
return was filed, whichever is later. 

For more information on the BOE’s audit program, see publication 
76, Audits, at www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/pub76.pdf. 

For more information regarding special taxes and fees 
administered by the BOE, please visit our website at  
www.boe.ca.gov/index.htm or sign up online to receive the Special 
Taxes and Fees Newsletter at “Get BOE Updates.” 

Motor Vehicle Fuel and Diesel Fuel Tax 
Fuel Tax Swap 
The Fuel Tax Swap provisions were enacted by Assembly  
Bill x8 6 (Stats. 2010, Ch. 11) and Senate Bill 70 (Stats 2010, Ch. 9). 
Together, these bills provide for both a motor vehicle fuel excise 
tax rate increase and for a corresponding sales and use tax rate 
decrease on sales of motor vehicle fuel effective July 1, 2010. 

Effective July 1, 2010, purchases and sales of gasoline are exempt 
from the General Fund portion of the state sales and use tax rate 
(6 percent), and the excise tax rate on gasoline (excluding aviation 
gasoline) was increased by 17.3 cents per gallon to 35.3 cents per 
gallon. Sales and purchases of aviation gasoline continue to be 
exempt for the total sales and use tax. Additionally, the increase 
in excise tax by the fuel tax swap provisions does not apply to 
aviation gasoline. 

Each supplier, wholesaler, and retailer was required to file a return 
and pay a floor stock tax of 17.3 cents per gallon on 1,000 gallons 
or more of tax-paid gasoline (except aviation gasoline) in storage 
as of 12:01 a.m. on July 1, 2010. 

Beginning July 1, 2011, the diesel fuel tax rate is scheduled to 
decrease by 4.4 cents per gallon to 13.6 cents per gallon. The sales 
and use tax rate on sales of diesel fuel will increase by 1.75 percent 
to nine percent effective July 1, 2011. Additionally, the state-wide 
sales and use tax rate decreases by one percent as a result of prior 
legislation. Dyed diesel and clear diesel fuels that are exempt from 
the excise tax or receive a refund of the excise tax are exempt from 
the 1.75 percent sales and use tax rate increase. 

Fuel Tax Swap Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) are available on 
our website at www.boe.ca.gov/sutax/gasswapfaq.htm. 

General Interest 
Annual Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights Hearings to begin 
Do you have suggestions for improving our services? Do you want 
us to look more closely at a tax or fee issue? If you do, come share 
your ideas and concerns with our Board Members at the annual 
Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights hearings. You may present your proposal 
in person or in writing. 

The annual business and property taxes hearings for 2011 will be 

held in June in Culver City and in September in Sacramento. The 

dates and times were not yet set when this article went to press, 

but you may check our website or contact the Taxpayers’ Rights 

Advocate at 888-324-2798 for details.
�

Although you are not required to make advance arrangements to 

speak, it would help us to prepare if you contact the Taxpayers’ 

Rights Advocate Office beforehand to let us know your topic. 

If your proposal is complex or extensive, we encourage you 

to submit it in advance and then summarize it in your oral 

presentation.
�

For more details, please call the Advocate Office or visit us at  

www.boe.ca.gov (click on the tab “Your Rights” and choose 

“Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate”), where you can also view the office’s 

2009-10 annual report, available soon.
�

Know your rights 
As a taxpayer, you have many rights under the law, including the 
right to: 
• Receive information and assistance to help you comply with the 

law. 
• Be treated fairly and courteously, and receive prompt service. 
• Appeal a decision or claim a refund as allowed by law. 
Of course, along with those rights, you have certain 
responsibilities, including the responsibility to: 

• Keep informed about tax laws and regulations that affect your 
business. 

• Report and pay taxes and fees when due.
�
• Maintain adequate records.
�
For more information about your rights, you may wish to 

order publication 70, Understanding Your Rights as a California 
Taxpayer. 

Civil behavior in trying times 
We know that you may find yourself frustrated with the difficulties 
of the tax law or be pressed for time when dealing with our staff. 
Still, we ask that you treat our employees just as you would like 
to be treated in a business situation. Any statement or gesture 
made to a BOE employee that seems remotely like a threat—even 
a statement made in jest—will be referred to our Internal Security 
and Audit Division for investigation. 

Ethics at work—“thank you” is enough 
We would like to remind you that BOE policy prevents our 
employees from accepting gifts of any type. So if you are 
grateful to someone for going the extra mile to help you with a 
complicated issue, a simple “thank you” will do. You can also use 
our online Customer Service Survey form at www.boe.ca.gov/info/ 
survey.htm to express yourself. 

In our continuing efforts to go green, the Environmental Fees, 
Excise Taxes, and Fuel Taxes Newsletter have been combined into 
the Special Taxes and Fees Newsletter; which is only available 
online at www.boe.ca.gov. 
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