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move directly to, an article of interest. Click on the BOE
icon in the top left corner of the page to return to the table
of contents. Links within the articles will take you to our
website where you can find more information on the topic
referenced.
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This newsletter is published each December. Back issues
of Environmental Fees, Excise Taxes, and Fuel Taxes
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For more information regarding special taxes and
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New legislation

The following is a summary of law changes enacted

during the 2012 California legislative session that affect
several BOE special taxes and fee programs. The changes
described in this article are effective January 1, 2013,
unless otherwise noted. For copies of these bills, please
write to the Legislative Bill Room, 1303 10th Street, Room
B32, Sacramento, CA 95814, or view and download them
at www.leginfo.ca.gov/bilinfo.html.

» Assembly Bill (AB) 1301 (Stats. 2012, Ch. 335),
as related to the Cigarette and Tobacco Products
Licensing Act of 2003 (Licensing Act), amends
Business and Professions (B&P) Code section
22958 of the STAKE (Stop Tobacco Access to Kids
Enforcement) Act that requires the BOE to take action
against a cigarette or other tobacco products retailer
who violates laws related to sales of cigarettes or
tobacco products to minors. AB 1301 also repeals
B&P Code section 22974.8 and replaces it with a
new section 22974.8 to require the BOE to suspend
or revoke the license of a retailer as directed by the
California Department of Public Health pursuant to
the schedule set forth in subdivision (b) of B&P code
section 22958. Subdivision (b) of section 22958 also
adds a two hundred fifty dollar ($250) civil penalty
to be imposed by the BOE, in addition to the civil
penalties to be imposed according to the schedule
set forth in subdivision (a). The licensee would be
provided with at least ten days written notice of a
pending suspension or revocation and an opportunity
to appeal the suspension or revocation and the two
hundred fifty dollar ($250) penalty; however, the
grounds for appeal can only be to correct a mistake or
clerical error. The BOE is prohibited from accepting or
considering an appeal founded upon the grounds of
whether a retailer violated the STAKE Act.

* AB 1812 (Stats. 2012, Ch. 96) revises the definition
of “beer” in B&P Code section 23006, for purposes
of the Alcoholic Beverages Control Act, to include
beer aged in empty wood barrels previously used to
contain wine or distilled spirits.

» AB 2679 (Stats. 2012, Ch. 769) amends Revenue
and Taxation Code (R&TC) section 60116 of the
Diesel Fuel Tax Law to adjust the date for setting
the Interstate User Rate from January 1 of each
year to July 1 of each year beginning July 1, 2013,
to coincide with the date excise tax rates are set
for diesel fuel and motor vehicle fuel pursuant to
provisions of the Fuel Tax Swap. This legislation
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eases the reporting burden on International Fuel Tax
Agreement participants and Interstate Users of diesel
fuel by requiring a change in the rates only once
each year.

» Senate Bill (SB) 35 (Stats. 2012, Ch. 505), among
other things, requires various state agencies,
including the BOE, to allow a taxpayer when
performing an electronic transaction with the BOE to
submit an affidavit of voter registration electronically
on the Internet website of the Secretary of State.

+ SB 1015 (Stats. 2012, Ch. 37), among other
things, authorizes the BOE and the Employment
Development Department (EDD) to provide the
Franchise Tax Board (FTB) with information relating
to delinquent tax debtors and allows that information
to be used in the collection of delinquent amounts
under the Financial Institution Record Match (FIRM)
program administered by the FTB. This law took
effect June 27, 2012.

» SB 1485 (Stats. 2012, Ch. 493) amends R&TC
section 8101 of the Motor Vehicle Fuel (MVF)
Tax Law to allow a refund of the MVF excise tax
to any person who buys tax-paid gasoline for the
purpose of producing a blended fuel that is used to
operate a motor vehicle on the state’s highways,
when that blended fuel is taxed as a use fuel, but
only to the extent that a refund claim has been filed
on or after January 1, 2011. Refunds of the MVF
tax are handled by the State Controller. See “Are
you producing E85 with tax-paid MVF?” below,
in the Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax section for further
information. This law took effect September 23,
2012.

Alcoholic Beverage Tax

Final Rulemaking Action to repeal distilled
spirits regulations

On November 15, 2012, the BOE authorized the repeal

of Regulations 2558, 2558.1, 2559, 2559.1, 2559.3, and
2559.5. These regulations, adopted in 2008 and 2011,
taxed beer and wine drinks flavored with distilled spirits at
the higher distilled spirits tax rates. This regulatory action
(California Code of Regulations, title 1, section 100 [code])
will ensure that we are in compliance with the California


www.leginfo.ca.gov/bilinfo.html
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Third District Court of Appeal’s ruling in Diageo — Guinness
USA, Inc., et al v. State Board of Equalization.

Manufacturers, wine growers and importers of these beer
and wine products were advised of the Court of Appeal’s
ruling in June 2012. Alcoholic beverage tax returns were
also updated at that time for tax reporting purposes.

The June 2012 Special Notice mailed to registrants is
available on our website: http.//www.boe.ca.gov/sptaxprog/
pdf/1317.pdf.

Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) license
suspension - procedural changes for posting
notice

Effective September 1, 2012, licensees whose ABC
license has been suspended due to failure to pay taxes or
penalties owed to the BOE will be responsible for posting
“Notice of Suspension” signage on their licensed premises.
These suspension signs must remain conspicuously
posted on the premises until the licensee is advised by
ABC to remove them. Failure to keep the notices properly
posted can result in further disciplinary actions leading to
the revocation of the license.

Did you know that if you import beer and
wine into California you may be responsible
for reporting and paying the California excise
tax?

An import is any shipment into California from outside this
state. The California excise tax on beer and wine is due
from the importer. An importer is the first person to receive
the product in California or the manufacturer that removes
the product from Internal Revenue bond in California

(for a complete definition see B&P Code section 23017).
This definition includes beer and wine manufacturers and
vendors located outside California if they import beer or
wine into California warehouses for temporary storage
before it is sold to distributors or removed from Internal
Revenue bond. Every person who receives beer or wine in
California, as discussed above, must hold a Beer and Wine
Importer’s license.

The California excise tax is due on beer and wine imports
by a beer manufacturer, winegrower, or importer unless it
is substantiated to the satisfaction of the BOE that the beer
or wine is in the possession of the beer manufacturer or
winegrower, in Internal Revenue bond within the state, or
was exported from this state by the licensee making the
report, or was sold for export and actually exported from
this state. Reminder — beer and wine importers cannot
claim export credit for wine purchased tax paid within
California.
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Each importation of beer or wine into California must be
recorded on BOE-269-A, Beer and Wine Imported into
California, which must be included with the tax return for
the period.

Winegrowers - Imported shipments of wine received

by a winegrower in Internal Revenue bond must also

be reported on BOE-269-A and on BOE-501-WG,
Winegrower Tax Return, in the reporting period for which
the shipments are received. However, such imports are not
taxable at the time of receipt. Rather, a deduction should
be taken on line 6 of the Winegrower Tax Return for the
gallons received in Internal Revenue bond.

Business agreements that attempt to shift responsibility
for the California excise tax from the importer to the
distributor are not allowed by statute. Such agreements
are not binding to the state and do not relieve the
importer from liability under the California Alcoholic
Beverage Tax Law.

If you are interested in learning more about the California
excise tax on beer and wine imports or about other taxes
and fees collected by the BOE, please visit our website at:
www.boe.ca.gov/sptaxprog/tax_and_fee_programs.htm.

Cigarette and Tobacco Products
Taxes

View online articles from our Cigarette and Tobacco
Products Taxes Newsletter by clicking here.

Diesel Fuel Tax

View online articles from our Motor Carrier Office
Newsletter by clicking here.

Biodiesel reporting tips

Terminal operators’ reporting of product reclassifications
Terminal operators often receive products in a terminal that
they blend with other products for distribution. For example,
diesel (product code 167) and biodiesel (product code 284)
may be received by a terminal, blended, and distributed as
blended biodiesel (product code 170). In addition, biodiesel
(product code 284) may have dye added and then be
distributed as dyed biodiesel fuel (product code 290).

In both of these examples, the product received by the
terminal and reported on the Terminal Receipts Schedule


http://www.boe.ca.gov/sptaxprog/pdf/l317.pdf
http://www.boe.ca.gov/sptaxprog/pdf/l317.pdf
http://www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/boe269a.pdf
http://www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/boe269a.pdf
http://www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/boe501wg.pdf
www.boe.ca.gov/sptaxprog/tax_and_fee_programs.htm
www.boe.ca.gov/sptaxprog/newsletters.htm#page-3&page=page-3
www.boe.ca.gov/sptaxprog/newsletters.htm#page-3&page=page-2
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is different than the product distributed across the rack and
reported on the Terminal Disbursements Schedule.

Proper reporting of the product reclassification is simple.
For example, if you receive diesel (product code 167) and
biodiesel (product code 284), blend them, and distribute
the resulting product as blended biodiesel (product code
170), you would report the transaction as follows:

1. Report all terminal receipts (15A Schedule) of product
code 167 and product code 284;

2. Report a terminal disbursement (15B Schedule) book
adjustment (BA mode code) for the total gallons of
product code 167 blended into product code 170;

3. Report a terminal disbursement (15B Schedule) book
adjustment (BA mode code) for the total gallons of
product code 284 blended into product code 170;

4. Report a terminal receipt (15A Schedule) book
adjustment (BA mode code) for the total gallons of
product code 170; and

5. Report all terminal disbursements (15B Schedule) of
product code 170.

You may use this method to summarize all transactions
during a period or on a transaction-by-transaction basis for
each disbursement of the reclassified product.

Petroleum carriers

Train Operators — If delivering biodiesel to a terminal
location, provide the Internal Revenue Service (IRS)-
assigned terminal control number (TCN) in the Destination
TCN field. A list of current IRS-assigned TCNs can be
found on the IRS website at www.irs.gov. If delivering
biodiesel to a fuel production facility, provide the
CA-assigned TCN in the Destination TCN field. The
CA-assigned TCN can be obtained by contacting the
fuel production facility where the fuel was delivered. If
delivering biodiesel to a refinery location, provide the city
where the refinery is located in the Destination City field.
For all other deliveries that are not to a terminal, fuel
production facility, or refinery location, provide the city to
which the product was delivered in the Destination City
field.

Use correct product codes to identify products containing
biodiesel

Use product code 170, Biodiesel, for any product received,
disbursed, or imported that contains any blend of biodiesel
(B99-B01). Use product code 284, Biodiesel (B100),

for pure biodiesel products (B100). You should not use
product code 167, Diesel Fuel #2 low sulfur undyed, to
report transactions involving fuel containing any blend of
biodiesel.
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Tax-paid credits

If a supplier wants to claim a credit for tax-paid biodiesel on
schedule 13M, Tax-Paid Fuel Removed from a Terminal,
they must report the biodiesel product codes as indicated
above.

Tax-paid fuel inventory above the rack

If you receive or purchase tax-paid fuel above the rack,
you should pass the tax along until a supplier removes the
fuel from the rack. The supplier that removes the fuel may
at that point take a credit against taxable removals when
the incidence of the second tax has occurred. The person
paying the second tax can assert a credit but it must be
supported by a “First Taxpayer’s Report.” This report
identifies the person that paid the first incidence of the tax
on the fuel. The “First Taxpayer’s Report” is the method the
IRS uses to document fuel on which tax was paid twice.
The BOE has adopted this method to be used in the same
manner.

Refunds are not allowed for tax-paid biodiesel fuel
converted to dyed biodiesel fuel

In the situation where tax-paid biodiesel is brought into

the terminal rack and subsequently dyed, no refund or
credit would be allowed because, although there is a first
instance of the tax, there is no second incidence of the tax.
A supplier or vendor that converts tax-paid diesel products
into dyed fuel will not be allowed to claim a credit or refund
of the taxes paid on the clear diesel or biodiesel fuel
because no second tax on the fuel would result from the
removal of the fuel from the rack.

Electronic Waste Recycling (eWaste)
Fee

Are the Amazon Kindle devices subject to
the electronic waste recycling (eWaste) Fee?

The eWaste Fee is imposed on the purchase of a new or

refurbished Covered Electronic Device (CED). ACED is

a video display device that has a screen greater than four
inches, measured diagonally, which is identified as a CED
by the California Department of Toxic Substances Control
(DTSC).

DTSC has determined that the Kindle Fire is a CED
because it is a video display device that contains a LCD
screen and falls into the “LCD containing laptop computers”
category, as does the iPad and other similar devices.


www.irs.gov
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Therefore, a retailer is required to collect the eWaste

fee from the consumer on the retail sale of a new or
refurbished Kindle Fire device. However, the same is not
true of the Amazon Kindle, Kindle DX, Kindle Keyboard,
and Kindle Touch as it was determined that these are
not CEDs because these devices are not video display
devices capable of displaying moving graphical images
and do not contain LCD displays, but rather contain E-ink
displays. Therefore, a retailer is not required to collect the
eWaste Fee from the consumer on the sale of any of these
devices.

For further information regarding the eWaste Fee, see our
website at www.boe.ca.gov/sptaxprog/electronic_waste
recycling_fee.htm#.

New eWaste recycling fees effective January
1,2013

Pursuant to Public Resources Code section 42460 et seq.,
CalRecycle approved a reduction in the eWaste Fees. The
BOE is responsible for the collection of the eWaste Fee.

Effective January 1, 2013, the new fees are as follows for
retail sales of CEDs made on and after that date:

Screen Size — Measured Diagonally Fee

More than 4 inches, less than 15 inches $3.00
15 inches but less than 35 inches $4.00
35 inches or more $5.00

Emergency Telephone Users
Surcharge

Surcharge rate information

The California Technology Agency (CTA) determines the
annual rate of the Emergency Telephone Users Surcharge.
CTA has determined that the current surcharge rate of

0.50 percent (.0050%) will remain in effect for the next
surcharge rate period beginning January 1, 2013. The BOE
fixed this rate for the next rate period at its October 24,
2012, meeting.
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Fire Prevention Fee

Assembly Bill (AB)x1 29 (stats 2011, Ch. 8) authorized a
new State Responsibility Area Fire Prevention Fee (fee) to
be assessed on owners of habitable structures on property
located within a State Responsibility Area (SRA).

Each year, the California Department of Forestry and

Fire Protection (CAL FIRE) provides BOE a list of owners
of habitable structures required to pay and the amount

of fee(s) to be assessed. The list of feepayers includes

the owners of habitable structures as recorded on the
County Assessor rolls or as recorded by the Department of
Housing and Community Development’s records on July 1
of the fiscal year for which the fee is due. The BOE issues
the billings from this list and collects the fees due.

The BOE began issuing billings on behalf of CAL FIRE for
the fiscal year 2011/12 in early August 2012. The billings
were processed by county in alphabetical order, beginning
with Alameda County.

If a person receiving a bill believes he or she has been
billed in error or the fee amount calculated is incorrect, they
may submit an appeal to CAL FIRE after receiving the bill
from BOE.

» The appeal must be submitted within 30 days from
the date printed on the bill.

» The appeal (Fire Prevention Fee Petition for
Redetermination) must be in writing and describe the
specific grounds upon which the appeal is based.
The form and mailing instructions can be found at the
Fire Prevention Fee Website.

* CAL FIRE will review the appeal and reach a
decision within 60 days. The BOE will also be notified
and will send a revised billing or issue a refund if
payments made were determined not to be due,
based on the CAL FIRE decision.

Petition forms should be mailed to:

Fire Prevention Fee Service Center
PO Box 2254
Suisun City, CA 94585

You may look up your address at: CAL FIRE - Fire
Prevention Fee SRA Parcel Map to see if your property
falls under the SRA.

If you have questions regarding the Fire Prevention Fee
program, please contact the Fire Prevention Fee Service
Center at the following address or telephone number:


www.boe.ca.gov/sptaxprog/electronic_waste_recycling_fee.htm#
www.boe.ca.gov/sptaxprog/electronic_waste_recycling_fee.htm#
www.firepreventionfee.org/PetitionForm.pdf
www.firepreventionfee.org/PetitionForm.pdf
www.firepreventionfee.org
www.firepreventionfee.org/sraviewer.php
www.firepreventionfee.org/sraviewer.php
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Fire Prevention Fee Service Center
PO Box 2254

Suisun City, CA 94585
1-888-310-6447

Fire Prevention Fee Website

If you have questions regarding the collection process of
this fee, please contact us at the following address or call
the BOE Taxpayer Information Center at 1-800-400-7115
(TTY: 711)

Special Taxes and Fees, MIC: 88
State Board of Equalization

PO Box 942879

Sacramento, CA 94279-0088

Hazardous Substances Tax/Fee

Determining the number of employees under
the environmental fee

Once a person is hired as an employee, the employer

has control over how that employee spends the hours of
the workday. This includes whether or not the employee
will be paid for time off taken during those workday hours
for vacation, illness, and holidays, and whether or not

the employee must work his or her assigned hours on

a particular workday. Therefore, for the purposes of the
Environmental Fee statute and calculation of the number
of employees “employed in California for more than 500
hours,” the term “employed” includes the hours for which
an employee is paid, even when the employee is absent
due to vacation, illness, or holidays, for the duration of his
or her employment. If a person terminates employment,

the employer no longer controls the former employee’s
work activities. Any hours included in the calculation of a
terminated employee’s severance pay, sick pay, or vacation
time is not included when calculating the number of hours a
person was employed during a calendar year for purposes
of determining the environmental fee owed for that year.

Are Professional Employment Organizations
(PEO) employers?

Both the DTSC and the Employment Development
Department (EDD) recognize PEOs as employers. PEOs
are responsible for paying the environmental fee as long
as the PEO has a valid contract with its client. The PEO
should include its clients’ qualified employees in its total
employee count in order to determine the correct fee

due to the BOE. PEOs are listed as qualifying entities in
Publication 90, Environmental Fee.
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If a PEO chooses to report each of its clients’ employees
separately using the client's own EDD number to establish
that company’s State Unemployment Insurance (SUI) rate,
that client will need to have its own BOE account number
since it is now reporting those employees under its own
EDD number.

New hazardous waste and occupational lead
poisoning prevention fee rates

The Hazardous Waste fees and the Occupational Lead
Poisoning Prevention fee are adjusted each year by the
incremental change in the Consumer Price Index (CPI)
published by the California Department of Industrial
Relations. Visit our website at www.boe.ca.gov/sptaxprog/
tax_rates_stfd.htm#10 for the new rates that are in effect
for these fees as of January 1, 2013.

Generator fee refunds

As required by Health and Safety (H&S) Code section
25205.9, the DTSC has determined that it does not

have surplus funds within the meaning of H&S Code
section 25205.9, subdivision (e). Therefore, funds are not
available to pay the refunds specified in sections 25205.5,
subdivisions (h) and (i), and 25205.9 of the H&S Code.

Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax

Are you producing E85 with tax-paid MVF?

Senate Bill 1485 (Stats. 2012, Ch. 493) amends Revenue
and Taxation Code (R&TC) section 8101 of the Motor
Vehicle Fuel (MVF) Tax Law to allow a refund of the MVF
excise tax to any person who buys gasoline for the purpose
of producing a blended fuel used to operate a motor
vehicle on the state’s highways. To qualify, the blended fuel
must have been taxed as a use fuel and your refund claim
must have been filed on or after January 1, 2011. Refunds
of the MVF tax are handled by the State Controller.

In lieu of filing a refund with the State Controller, a licensed
supplier may claim a credit for tax-paid MVF used to
produce a blended fuel that is taxed as a use fuel, for
example, E85. Use Schedule 13N, Tax-Paid Fuel Used to
Manufacture Other Products, to claim gallons of tax-paid
fuel used to manufacture other products. Transactions may
be reported as summarized daily, weekly, or monthly totals.
If summarizing, the document date should be the last day
of the summarized period.


www.firepreventionfee.org/index.php
http://www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/pub90.pdf
www.boe.ca.gov/sptaxprog/tax_rates_stfd.htm#10
www.boe.ca.gov/sptaxprog/tax_rates_stfd.htm#10
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General Interest

eReg is here!

Greg

Electronic Registration (eReg) is a secure, convenient, and
fast way to register online for an account, license, or permit
with the BOE.

eReg was implemented on June 18, 2012, and may be
used to register for most BOE tax and fee programs.

With eReg you can register your business easily, quickly,
and accurately. You can obtain the license/account or
permit required for your business using just one online
application. You can register at any time using a computer
with Internet access or at one of our field offices using the
computer kiosks that are available for your use.

Once registered, you can view and print the registration
information packet which includes the permit and/or
license, and you have access to related publications,
statues, and regulations.

To begin the eReg process, simply visit the BOE website
at www.boe.ca.gov; click on the eServices tab, and begin
the process to register your business.

Electronic payment of taxes received one
day late

Effective January 1, 2011, Senate Bill 1028 allows that,
until January 1, 2016, if your electronic tax payment
associated with filing a return or prepayment is late by
only one business day, you may be eligible for a reduction
in the interest charged on the late payment. Interest is
generally imposed on a monthly basis when a tax payment
is late, therefore, if payment is made one day late, interest
is imposed for an entire month. If the Board, meeting as

a public body, finds, that it is inequitable to compute the
interest on a monthly basis, then it can instead assess
interest on a daily basis from the date on which the tax or
prepayment was due until the date of payment. To qualify,
all of the following conditions must be met:

» The payment of the tax or prepayment was made
electronically;

» The payment of the tax or prepayment was made no
more than one business day after the due date;

» The taxpayer was granted relief from all penalties that
applied to that payment of tax or prepayment; and

» The taxpayer files a request for an oral hearing before
the Board.
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Taxpayers may request an oral hearing by completing
BOE-734, Request For Oral Hearing Electronic
Payments—One Day Late.

Note: This does not apply to payments made pursuant
to deficiency determinations, determinations where
no return has been filed, jeopardy determinations, or
deferred payments for cigarette tax stamps.

Online relief requests now available

Our new eRelief Requests system is now available. This
new service provides you the ability to electronically
request the BOE cancel your penalties, interest or
collection fees. You can submit your request for the
following:

* Declaration of Timely Mailing

« Extension of Time in which to File a Tax/Fee Return
* Relief from Penalty

* Relief from Interest

* Relief from Penalty and Interest due to a Disaster

* Relief from Collection Cost Recovery Fee

For more information, please visit our website at www.
boe.ca.gov.

Tax and fee payers: Remember to maintain
your records

You may be contacted by an auditor if you hold a special
tax or fee account with the BOE. In general, accounts

are subject to audit at three-year intervals, at the time an
account is closed out, or in connection with an audit of
another BOE account, permit, or license you may hold.
Audits may also be initiated as a result of information
received from outside sources. It is important to understand
our audit process and why our auditors may ask to review
certain books and records, including electronic records
maintained on your computer. To learn more about what
you should expect from an audit and how you can prepare
to make it easier for you and the auditor, please see
publication 76, Audits.

“No Cash” pilot program

The No Cash Program, a pilot where several BOE offices
have stopped accepting cash payments, began June 1,
2011, in our Oakland, San Diego, Ventura, San Marcos, El
Centro and Bakersfield offices. The pilot was scheduled to
run for 90 days; however, it was so successful that it has
been extended indefinitely. On May 7, 2012, Culver City,
Irvine, Norwalk, Riverside, San Francisco, and Van Nuys
offices transitioned to the program.


http://www.boe.ca.gov/elecsrv/eServices.htm
www.boe.ca.gov
http://www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/boe734.pdf
http://boe.ca.gov
http://boe.ca.gov
http://www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/pub76.pdf
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With BOE'’s ePay services available and conveniently
accessible, taxpayers who bring cash to those offices

are asked to pay via an alternate method. The offices
participating in the pilot will continue to accept the following
forms of payment: checks (personal, business, and
cashier’s), money order, credit cards, Automated Clearing
House (ACH) Debit, and ACH Credit. This policy allows
the BOE to reduce its costs and ensure the safety of its
employees.

Do you pay by paper check? Same day
check processing is here!

Beginning September 2012, the BOE scans and deposits
paper checks the day they are received, immediately
withdrawing the funds from your bank account. This new
check processing system streamlines the BOE'’s paper
check process and improves efficiency. The new system
has no affect on your ability to file returns or your payment
options.

For your convenience, BOE also offers several easy ways
to make electronic payments. These methods are available
at www.boe.ca.gov/elecsrv/esrvcont.htm.

For more information, contact our Taxpayer Information
Section at 1-800-400-7115 (TTY:711), Monday through
Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Pacific time), excluding state
holidays.

Annual Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights hearings to
begin

Do you have suggestions for improving our services? Do
you want us to look more closely at a tax or fee issue? We
invite you to share your ideas and concerns with our Board
Members at the annual Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights hearings.
You may present your proposal orally or in writing.

The annual business and property taxes hearings for 2013
are scheduled for May 22 in Sacramento and July 17 in
Culver City, both starting at approximatey 1:30 p.m.

Although you are not required to make advance
arrangements to speak, it will help us to prepare if you
contact the Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate Office at 1-888
324-2798 beforehand to let us know your topic. If your
proposal is complex or extensive, we encourage you to
submit it in advance and then summarize it in your oral
presentation.
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For more details, please call the Advocate Office or visit
them at www.boe.ca.gov (click on the tab “Your Rights”
and choose “Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate”), where you may
also view the office’s latest annual report.

Know your rights

As a taxpayer, you have many rights under the law,
including the right to:

* Receive information and assistance to help you
comply with the law;

* Be treated fairly and courteously, and receive prompt
service; and

» Appeal a decision or claim a refund as allowed by
law.

Of course, along with those rights, you have certain
responsibilities, including the responsibility to:

» Keep informed about tax laws and regulations that
affect your business;

* Report and pay taxes and fees when due; and
* Maintain adequate records.

For more information you may order publication 70,
Understanding Your Rights as a California Taxpayer.

Civil behavior in trying times

Some observers have noted that civility is decreasing in
our society as our lives become more complex. We know
that you may find yourself frustrated with the difficulties of
the tax law or pressed for time when dealing with our staff.
Still, we ask that you treat our employees just as you would
like to be treated in a business situation. Any statement or
gesture made to a BOE employee that seems remotely like
a threat—even a statement made in jest—will be referred
to our Internal Affairs Section for investigation.

Ethics at work —“Thank you” is enough

We would like to remind you that BOE policy prevents our
employees from accepting gifts of any type. So if you are
grateful to someone for going the extra mile to help you
with a complicated issue, a simple “thank you” will do. You
may also use our online Customer Service Survey form

at How Are We Doing Survey - California State Board of
Equalization to express yourself.
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Need more information?

Special Taxes and Fees Division
State Board of Equalization, MIC:88
PO Box 942879
Sacramento, CA 94279-0088

Internet Mail
www.boe.ca.gov/info/email.html

Taxpayer Information Section:
1-800-400-7115 (TTY:711)
Customer service representatives are available to help you
from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Pacific time,
Monday through Friday, except state holidays.

Tax Evasion Hotline
1-888-334-3300

Legislation
www.leginfo.ca.gov

Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate
www.boe.ca.gov/tra/tra.htm
1-888-324-2798

Board Member contact and website
Visit our website www.boe.ca.gov for Board Member information, legislative summaries,
regulations, forms and publications, translated publications, and more.

Check out eFile

Find out how flexible online filing can be.

eFile is fast, secure and simple to use. It allows you to file your return early and, with
electronic funds transfer, schedule your payment for the due date.

eFile Board of Equalization: www.boe.ca.gov/elecsrv/eServices.htm
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