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1. EFT payments now
mandatory for certain
accounts

If your average monthly liability for a
Board of Equalization-administered
fee is at least $20,000, you are now
required to make your fee payments
by electronic funds transfer (EFT).
You must use EFT for every return
payment or prepayment due on or 
after February 1, 2001. Businesses not
required to pay by EFT can still
choose to do so.

We have mailed notices to businesses
we have identified as mandatory EFT
accounts. If you believe you fall under
the new requirement and you did not
receive a notice, or if you have any
questions regarding EFT payments,
please contact our Environmental
Fees Division (see page 3).

2. Who counts as an
employee for the
environmental fee?

Corporations must pay the environ-
mental fee if they have 50 or more em-
ployees who each worked more than
500 hours in California during the

year. The fee amount is based on the
number of qualifying employees.

But who is considered the employer
for purposes of calculating the envi-
ronmental fee? While there is no spe-
cific definition of “employer” or
“employee” in the Hazardous Sub-
stances Tax Law or Health and Safety
Code, we refer to the California Labor
Code and common law to determine
if an employment relationship exists
between your corporation and an in-
dividual who performs work for you.

The Labor Code defines employment
as a contract under which one party
(the employer) engages another party
(the employee) to do something for
the benefit of the employer or a third
person. This contract can be a written
or oral agreement.

Under common law, several factors are
considered in determining whether you
are the employer of a person who per-
forms work for you. Two significant
factors that support the existence of an
employer-employee relationship are
(1) you can hire and fire the person,
and (2) you can control how the work is
performed.

If you have questions regarding how
many of the people who worked for
you in 2000 will be considered your
employees for purposes of calculating
the environmental fee, please contact
our Environmental Fees Division. Gen-
eral information on the fee is found in
publication 90, Environmental Fee, avail-
able from our Information Center and
on our Internet site (see page 3).

3. Ballast water management
fee update

Last January, the Board of Equaliza-
tion was charged with collecting a
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For copies of
legislative bills . . .

. . . please write:

Department
of General

Services,
Legislative Bill

Room
State Capitol,

Room B-32
Sacramento,

CA  95814

. . . or check the
Internet:

www.leginfo.ca.gov

Be sure to download
the final, chaptered
version of the bill.

from that person’s pay but failed to
remit the amounts to the Board.

• Provides penalty relief when a
feepayer complies with an installment
payment agreement.

• Prohibits tax preparers from disclosing
confidential taxpayer information.

• Changes the effective date for reim-
bursement of fees and expenses to the
issue date of the notice of determina-
tion, jeopardy determination, or denial
of claim for refund.

• Suspends the statute of limitations on
filing refund claims during periods of
feepayer disability.

• Requires the Board to issue annual
statements to feepayers who have
installment payment agreements.

5. Generator fee applies to used
oils; recycled used motor oils
may be exempt

The generator fee applies to used industrial
oils and certain other hazardous waste flu-
ids. Certain used motor oils are exempt
from the fee when removed from a vehicle
and recycled (see next page).

Oils and other fluids subject to the
generator fee

Used industrial oils
• Hydraulic oils
• Compressor oils
• Turbine oils
• Gear oils
• Bearing oils
• Electrical oils
• Refrigeration oils
• Metalworking oils
• Railroad oils

Other used fluids, oils, and related waste
• Antifreeze
• Brake fluid

new ballast water management fee from
owners and operators of certain oceangoing
vessels (see July 2000 issue of this newslet-
ter). On July 7, the governor signed Assem-
bly Bill 2380, which provides us with the
fee collection and administrative authority
to fully implement the fee.

 AB 2380 provides that

• The ballast water management fee will
be due and payable 30 days from the
date of assessment.

• Penalty and interest charges will apply
to late payments.

• The Board has the authority to collect
on delinquent accounts.

• The Ballast Water Management Fee
Program includes all of the provisions
of the Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights.

• The Board has the authority to refund
amounts overpaid or paid in error.

• A feepayer who disagrees with a bill-
ing may appeal the assessment.

4. New legislation takes effect

In addition to AB 2830, discussed in the
previous article, the following legislation
went into effect on January 1, 2001.

AB 2894 (Stats. 2000, ch. 923).  This bill

• Requires feepayers whose estimated
monthly fee liability averages $20,000
or more to pay fees by EFT.

• Adds a provision for a 10 percent pen-
alty for failure to file a return or pre-
payment by the due date.

AB 2898 (Stats. 2000, ch. 1052).  Among
other things, this bill

• Authorizes the Board to establish crite-
ria to more efficiently provide penalty
relief.

• Provides relief to a feepayer when an
employer withheld delinquent fees
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• Other automotive wastes
• Fuels
• Grease
• Solvents
• Wastewater
• Oils mixed with hazardous waste
• Oils with a flash point below 100° F
• Oils containing at least 5 ppm PCBs
• Used oil processing bottoms
• Tank bottoms
• Used oil-refining distillation bottoms
• Oily wastes that are not used oil
• Oil containing more than 1,000 ppm

total halogens, unless it can be shown
that the oil does not contain hazardous
wastes

Exemption for recycled used motor oil

The recycled used motor oil exemption ap-
plies to oil removed from automobiles, mo-
torcycles, trucks and similar vehicles,
locomotives, boats, and self-propelled, off-
road equipment (used on or off road). To
qualify for the exemption, the oil must be
recycled by an oil recycler who holds a per-
mit issued by the Department of Toxic Sub-
stances Control (DTSC).

Used motor oils exempt from the generator
fee when recycled include:

• Vehicle crankcase oils
• Engine lubricating oils
• Transmission fluids
• Gearbox and differential oils

Please note: Other oils may be exempt. For
more information, contact the DTSC.

If you wish to claim a generator fee exemp-
tion for qualifying used motor oil you will
need to provide documentation with your
generator fee return. Please include the
written description of the used oil that
appears on the hazardous waste manifest.
Be sure to retain any other documents that
support the exemption. You may be asked
to provide them to validate your claim.

Contact Information

Board of Equalization
Environmental Fees Division

Environmental Fees Division, MIC: 57
State Board of Equalization
P.O. Box 942879
Sacramento, CA  94279-0057

916-323-9555

Internet: www.boe.ca.gov

Information Center
Call anytime to use our automated
faxback service or to order a form,
regulation, or publication. Center staff
can help you weekdays from 8-5 (ex-
cept State holidays):

1-800-400-7115

TDD assistance for the hearing impaired

1-800-735-2929 (from TDD phone)
1-800-735-2922 (from voice phone)

Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate
Call the Board of Equalization’s Tax-
payers’ Rights Advocate’s office if
you need help with a problem that
you have been unable to resolve at
other levels:

1-888-324-2798 (toll-free)

Tax Evasion Hotline
1-888-334-3300 (toll-free)

Department of Toxic Substances
Control (DTSC)
Telephone: 1-800-61TOXIC

(1-800-618-6942)

Internet: www.dtsc.ca.gov

US Environmental Protection
Agency (EPA)
Telephone: 415-495-8895

Remember:
Be sure to put
your name and
account number
on your check
so we can credit
your payment
to the proper
account.
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6. Hazardous Substances Fee Rates — January 1, 2001

The Health and Safety Code provides for annual adjustment of the rates for the disposal
fee, tiered permit fee, facility fee, generator fee, environmental fee, and occupational lead
poisoning prevention fee. The adjustments are based on changes in the cost of living as
measured by the California Consumer Price Index. The following tables show adjusted
hazardous substances fee rates for calendar year 2001 and the 2000 rates for the occupa-
tional lead poisoning prevention fee.

DISPOSAL FEE
Rate Per Ton

2001 FEE
CATEGORY RATE

Non-RCRA waste
Non-RCRA hazardous waste $   15.45
Non-RCRA hazardous waste, generated in

a cleanup action 5.72
RCRA waste

Hazardous waste not elsewhere classified
(RCRA waste) 38.27

RCRA waste treated to be non-RCRA or
nonhazardous 15.45

RCRA waste generated in a cleanup action
and treated to be non-RCRA or nonhazardous 5.72

Other waste
Mining waste 12.31
Extremely hazardous waste 189.44
Restricted hazardous waste 189.44
Solid waste residues resulting

from incineration or dechlorination 4.74

GENERATOR FEE
Base rate $3,054

WASTE TONNAGE 2001 FEE
GENERATED RATE

5 – 24.9 tons $ 153
25 – 49.9 tons 1,222
50 – 249.9 tons 3,054
250 – 499.9 tons 15,270
500 – 999.9 tons 30,540
1,000 – 1,999.9 tons 45,810
2,000 or more tons 61,080

ENVIRONMENTAL FEE

NUMBER OF
EMPLOYEES 2001 FEE

1 – 49 $ 0
50 – 74 217
75 – 99 381
100 – 249 761
250 – 499 1,631
500 – 999 3,044
1,000 or more 10,331

FACILITY FEE
Base rate $21,956

CATEGORY 2001 FEE

Disposal $ 219,560
Large Onsite Treatment 65,868
Large Offsite Treatment 65,868
Small Treatment 43,912
Mini Treatment 10,978
Large Storage 43,912
Small Storage 21,956
Mini Storage 5,489
Postclosure < 5 years

Small 5,725*
Medium 11,450*
Large 17,175*

Postclosure > 5 years
Small 3,050*
Medium 6,100*
Large 10,300*

Standardized
Series A 11,730
Series B 5,497
Series C 4,617
Series C small quantity 2,308

* Postclosure fees due are 50% of those shown if lead
agency is not DTSC

TIERED PERMIT FEE
PERMIT TYPE 2001 FEE

Permit-by-Rule (Facility and TTU) $ 1,065
Conditional Authorization 1,065
Conditional Exemption 38
Commercial Laundry 38

OCCUPATIONAL LEAD POISONING
PREVENTION FEE

2000 FEE 2000 FEE
NUMBER OF CATEGORY CATEGORY
EMPLOYEES  A  B

10 – 99 $ 220 $ 315
100 – 499 441 880
500 or more 1,100 2,519
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