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Taxpayers on a Quarterly Prepayment 
Reporting Basis are required to make 
prepayments based on one of two 
options 
California Revenue and Taxation Code section 6471 
requires taxpayers who average $17,000 or more in tax-
able measure per month to make two prepayments each 
quarter. Generally, taxpayers on a quarterly prepay-
ment basis may use one of two options to calculate their 
prepayments: 

1. 90 percent of the tax liability for the current 
prepayment period, or 

2. A calculation based on prior periods. 

For details, please refer to BOE-367-SUT, Filing Instructions 
for Sales and Use Tax Accounts on a Quarterly and Prepayment 
Filing Basis. 

Failure to make the required prepayment by the due date 
will subject you to a penalty of 6 percent of the tax due. If 
the failure to make payment by the due date is found to be 
due to negligence or intentional disregard of the sales and 
use tax law or authorized rules and regulations, you will 
be subject to a penalty of 10 percent instead of 6 percent. 
If there is any deficiency in the amount of this payment 
that is found to be due to negligence or intentional disre-
gard of the Sales and Use Tax Law or authorized rules and 
regulations, you will be subject to a penalty of 10 percent 
of the deficiency. 

To avoid these penalties, be sure to file your prepay-
ments by their due dates. To find out if you are on a quar-
terly prepayment reporting basis, contact our Taxpayer 
Information Section. 

Businesses that make drop shipments 
for out-of-state sellers owe the sales 
tax 
Please note: This article does not apply to deliveries of 
vehicles, vessels, and aircraft. For information on those 
deliveries, see publication 34, Motor Vehicle Dealers, 
Regulation 1610, Vehicles, Vessels, and Aircraft, and 
Regulation 1620, Interstate and Foreign Commerce. 

It’s not uncommon for out-of-state retailers to ask 
California suppliers to ship products to the retailers’ 
California customers. This article discusses how sales tax 
applies to those kinds of “drop shipment” transactions. 

Basic information, drop shipments and tax liability 

In general, drop shipment transactions involve one con-
sumer, two sales, and two businesses: 

• The consumer in California who buys and receives the 
product. 

• The “true retailer,” a business located outside the state 
and not registered to collect California tax, which sells 
the product to the California consumer. 

• The “drop shipper” who sells the product to the true 
retailer, but ships the product directly to the California 
consumer on behalf of the retailer. 

When you drop ship products directly to California con-
sumers on behalf of true retailers, you are liable for sales 
tax on the transaction. 

Example 

A Modesto resident orders a doghouse from Yankee Pets, 
a company in Maine, and pays the company for the order. 
Yankee Pets is not registered to collect and pay California 
use tax. Its doghouse supplier, California MegaPets, is 
located in California. Yankee Pets buys the doghouse 
from California MegaPets, who ships it directly to the 
Modesto resident. California MegaPets owes sales tax on 
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the transaction. There are two options for calculating the 
taxable amount of the sale, as explained below.

Options for calculating sales tax due

As a drop shipper, you generally owe tax on the retail 
selling price the consumer paid the true retailer. However, 
if you don’t know that amount, you may calculate the 
tax based on your selling price to the true retailer plus a 
markup of 10 percent.

Using the example above, if California MegaPets, the drop 
shipper, knows that the consumer paid the retail price 
of $300 for the dog house, tax would be due on a $300 
sale. But if California MegaPets charged the true retailer 
$200 and doesn’t know how much the consumer paid, 
they could report and pay tax on a $220 sale ($200 + 10% 
markup of $20 = $220).

If you have any questions, please contact our Taxpayer 
Information Section or refer to Regulation 1706, Drop 
Shipments.

Flavored cigarettes banned in U.S.
Effective September 22, 2009, cigarettes that contain cer-
tain characterizing flavors are considered adulterated and 
the manufacture, import, and sale of these products are 
banned in the United States as authorized by the Family 
Smoking Prevention and Tobacco Control Act (FSPTCA). 
The FSPTCA provides the Food and Drug Administration 
(FDA) with regulatory authority over the manufac-
ture, marketing, and distribution of tobacco products. 
According to the Act:

“. . . a cigarette or any of its component parts (including 
the tobacco, filter, or paper) shall not contain, as a con-
stituent (including a smoke constituent) or additive, an 
artificial or natural flavor (other than tobacco or menthol) 
or an herb or spice, including strawberry, grape, orange, 
clove, cinnamon, pineapple, vanilla, coconut, licorice, 
cocoa, chocolate, cherry, or coffee, that is a characterizing 
flavor of the tobacco product or tobacco smoke.”

These products can no longer be manufactured, 
imported, or sold in the United States

For general information regarding the FDA’s Tobacco 
Program and the ban on flavored cigarettes, please refer to the 
FDA’s website atwww.fda.gov/TobaccoProducts/default.htm.  

In compliance with the new federal law, flavored 
cigar ettes banned by the FSPTCA have been removed and 
may continue to be removed from the California Tobacco 
Directory by California’s Attorney General. Cigarette and 
tobacco products licensees should refer regularly to the 
California Tobacco Directory provided at ag.ca.gov/tobacco/
directory.php for a product list of cigarette manufactur ers 

and brand families that are authorized for sale in 
California.

It is illegal for distributors to affix a California tax stamp 
on packages of cigarettes or pay the tax on roll-your-own 
product unless the manufacturer and the brand family 
are listed in the California Tobacco Directory. Sales of 
cigarettes and roll-your-own products that are not listed 
in the California Tobacco Directory are prohibited and 
could be seized by federal, state, or local law enforcement 
authorities.

If you have any questions regarding this notice, please call 
our Taxpayer Information Section.

Electronic Waste Recycling Fees and 
Covered Electronic Devices
The Electronic Waste Recycling Fee (eWaste fee) is a fee 
imposed on the purchase of a new or refurbished Covered 
Electronic Device (CED). A CED is a video display device 
that has a screen greater than 4 inches, measured diago-
nally, which is identified as a CED by the Department of 
Toxic Substances Control (DTSC). Currently the DTSC has 
identified the following types of video display devices as 
CEDs:

• Cathode ray tube (CRT) and CRT containing devices
• Computer monitors and televisions containing CRTs
• Laptop computers containing Liquid Crystal Display 

(LCD)
• Desktop monitors containing LCDs
• Televisions containing LCDs (excluding LCD projection 

televisions)
• Plasma televisions (excluding plasma projection 

televisions)
• Portable DVD players with LCD screens

If a video display device is not listed above (for example; 
a cell phone, MP3 player, GPS, non portable DVD player) 
then the video display device is not a CED and is not 
subject to the eWaste fee.

In addition, the following video display devices are 
specifically excluded fr om being CEDs:

• A video display device that is a part of a motor vehicle, 
as defined in section 415 of the Vehicle Code, or any 
component part of a motor vehicle assembled by, or for, 
a vehicle manufacturer or franchised dealer, including 
replacement parts for use in a motor vehicle.

• A video display device that is contained within or a 
part of a piece of industrial, commercial, or medical 
equipment, including monitoring or control equipment.

• A video display device that is contained within a 
clothes washer, clothes dryer, refrigerator, refrigerator 
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and freezer, microwave oven, conventional oven or 
range, dishwasher, room air conditioner, dehumidifier, 
or air purifier. 

• An electronic device, on and after the date that it ceases 
to be a covered electronic device. 

CalRecycle Reduces Electronic Waste Recycling Fee 
Rates Beginning January 1, 2011 

On July 26, 2010, the Director of the Department of 
Resources, Recycling and Recovery (CalRecycle) approved 
a decrease for all CEDs effective January 1, 2011. The new 
eWaste fee rates are as follows: 

Screen size - measured diagonally Fee 

More than 4 inches, less than 15 inches $ 6.00 

15 inches or more, less than 35 inches $ 8.00 

35 inches or more $10.00 

The BOE is responsible for collection of the eWaste fee. 

If you have any questions regarding CEDs, please visit 
www.dtsc.ca.gov, or call 800-728-6942. If you would like 
to learn more about the eWaste program, please visit 
CalRecycle or call CalRecycle at 916-341-6000. 

For more information about the BOE’s role in the 
collection of the fee, see publication 95, Electronic Waste 
Recycling Fee, eWaste, or call our Taxpayer Information 
Section. 

New cigarette tax stamps 
A multi-year contract for encrypted cigarette tax stamps 
was awarded to SICPA Product Security, LLC, by the 
Department of General Services on July 23, 2010. The 
contract provides for encrypted cigarette tax stamps, 
stamping machinery, stamp validation equipment, and 
necessary services to support the administration of the 
California Cigarette and Tobacco Products Tax Law 
(Revenue and Taxation Code section 30161), see publica-
tion 4, California Cigarette and Tobacco Products Tax Law. 

As a result of an enhanced contract, a new counterfeit-
resistant cigarette tax stamp was due to be released in 
November. In addition to the minimum requirements, the 
new stamp has: 

• A color shifting effect visible to the human eye 

• A visible serial number unique to each stamp 

• Tamper evident surface cuts 

• Expanded data encryption and other security features 

Additionally, a low cost validation device that can authen-
ticate the new stamp will be available for purchase at a 
nominal price. 

The BOE is working with the vendor, SICPA, to roll-
out these improvements and system software upgrades 
that are called for in the contract. Further details will be 
provided as information becomes available. Please visit 
Cigarette Tax Stamp Contract at www.boe.ca.gov for the 
latest information. 

Cigarettes are subject to the cigarette tax and cigarette 
distributors must attach a tax stamp to each package of 
cigarettes before distributing it to wholesalers and retail-
ers. The stamp indicates that cigarette tax has been paid. 

Thinking of purchasing an existing 
business? Here is a piece of useful 
information to consider 
The purchaser of a business can be held liable for taxes 
owed by the previous owner that includes current liabili-
ties such as sales taxes payable to the state. The purchaser 
buying the entire business or stock of goods can be held 
liable to pay all taxes, penalties ,and interest determined 
and unpaid at the time of the sale, to the purchase price of 
the business. 

What can purchasers do to avoid having to pay someone 
else’s sales tax liability? You can withhold a sufficient 
amount from the purchase price and pay the tax liability, 
or purchasers can obtain a Certificate of Tax Clearance. 
This certificate is an official document issued to a pur-
chaser of a business by the BOE. Receiving this certificate 
relieves the purchaser of the responsibility for taxes, inter-
est and penalty owed by the seller that may be unknown 
to the purchaser at the time of sale or transfer. Without a 
Certificate of Tax Clearance, the purchaser may be issued 
a notice of successor’s liability within three years after the 
date the BOE receives written notice of the purchase of the 
business or stock of goods. 

For additional information, see Regulation 1702, 
Successor’s Liability, or call our Taxpayer Information 
Section. 

New regulation for audit procedures 
New Regulation 1698.5, Audit Procedures, describes the 
general procedures followed in BOE audits. The regula-
tion explains the purpose of audits, the expected time-
frame for completing audits, and the duties of BOE 
staff and taxpayers during an audit. The regulation also 
explains the general rules regarding the time and location 
of audits, requests to change locations, audit conferences, 
audit plans, record requests, and the presentation of audit 
findings. 

www.dtsc.ca.gov
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If your business has been selected for audit, 
Regulation 1698.5 will give you informa-
tion about what to expect during the audit 
process. You may also download a copy of 
publication 76, Audits, for additional infor-
mation including what to do if you disagree 
with the findings. 

Annual Taxpayers’ Bill of 
Rights Hearings to begin 
Do you have suggestions for improving 
our services? Do you want us to look more 
closely at a tax or fee issue? If you do, come 
share your ideas and concerns with our 
Board Members at the annual Taxpayers’ 
Bill of Rights hearings. You can present 
your proposal verbally or in writing. 

The annual business and property taxes 
hearings for 2011 will be held in June 
in Culver City and in September in 
Sacramento. The dates and times were not 
yet set when this article went to press, but 
you may check our website or contact the 
Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate for details. 

Although you are not required to make 
advance arrangements to speak, it will help 
us to prepare if you contact the Taxpayers’ 
Rights Advocate Office at 888-324-2798 
beforehand to let us know your topic. If 
your proposal is complex or extensive, we 
encourage you to submit it in advance and 
then summarize it in your oral presentation. 

For more details, please call the Advocate 
Office or visit us at www.boe.ca.gov (click 
on the tab “Your Rights” and choose 
“Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate”), where you 
can also view the office’s 2009-10 annual 
report, which will be available soon. 

Be sure BOE has your current 
email address 
In BOE’s efforts to be greener and more cost 
effective, information like tax rate changes, 
newsletters, tax and fee updates, public 
meeting agendas, and announcements, will 
only be available electronically. 

If the BOE does not have your account’s 
email address, then you may not receive 
important information that could affect 
your business. 

If you are a registered eClient, you can 
make changes to your email by logging 
in with your user ID and password. You 
can also fill out a BOE-345-WEB, Notice 
of Business Change, to add or update an 
email address. Subscribe to our email BOE 
Updates and receive all the latest BOE 
news, on a monthly basis. 

BOE’s online educational 
seminars 
The BOE announced the expansion of its 
online seminars to include numerous topics 
such as: 

• Introduction to Basic Sales and Use Tax 
• Sales and Use Tax for Nonprofit 

Organizations 
• Property Tax Exemptions for Nonprofit 

Organizations 
• How to Avoid Common Sales and Use 

Tax Mistakes 
• eFile Demonstration 
• How to eFile Your Use Tax Return 

Please view them at www.boe.ca.gov/info/ 
VirtualSeminars. 

Civil behavior in trying times 
We know that you may find yourself frus-
trated with the difficulties of the tax law 
or pressed for time when dealing with 
our staff. Still, we ask that you treat our 
employees just as you would like to be 
treated in a business situation. Any state-
ment or gesture made to a BOE employee 
that seems remotely like a threat—even a 
statement made in jest—will be referred to 
our Internal Security and Audit Division for 
investigation. 

Ethics at work—“thank you” 
is enough 
We’d like to remind you that BOE policy 
prevents our employees from accepting 
gifts of any type. So if you’re grateful to 
someone for going the extra mile to help 
you with a complicated issue, a simple 
“thank you” will do. You can also use our 
online Customer Service Survey form at 
www.boe.ca.gov/info/survey.htm to express 
yourself. 

For More Information 
All telephone numbers are 
toll-free. 

Internet 
www.boe.ca.gov 
www.taxes.ca.gov 

Taxpayer Information 
Section 
800-400-7115 

TTY: 711 

Requests for Fax 
Copies 
800-400-7115 

(Choose automated 

services)
�

Seller’s Permit 
Verification 
888-225-5263 
www.boe.ca.gov 

Taxpayers’ Rights 
Advocate 
888-324-2798 
www.boe.ca.gov 

Tax Evasion Hotline 
888-334-3300 

State Legislation 
www.leginfo.ca.gov/ 
bilinfo.html 

California State 
Board of Equalization 
PO Box 942879 
Sacramento, CA 94279-0001 
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