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EXEMPTIONS AND EXCLUSIONS: 
VEHICLES, VESSELS, AND AIRCRAFT  820.000 

GENERAL 820.001 
Purchases of vehicles, vessels, and aircraft for use in California are subject to either the sales 
or use tax unless a specific exemption or exclusion applies.  Under certain circumstances 
purchases of vehicles, vessels, and aircraft may be exempted or excluded from tax.  Any 
exemption from use tax or claim that the purchase of the tangible personal property is not 
subject to the use tax must be supported by satisfactory documentarytion evidence. Even 
though the evidence may vary considerably from case toin each case, each claimthere must 
havebe sufficient documentation to substantiate the claim. The following section explains the 
exemptions and exclusions most common to consumer use tax CUTS programs.  General 
provisions for use tax can be found under RTC sections 6202 and 6241.  For specific 
exemptions, see the applicable law or regulation cited within the specific section. 
 
PRESUMPTION OF PURCHASE FOR USE IN CALIFORNIA 820.005  
NOT PURCHASED FOR USE IN CALIFORNIA 
A vehicle, vessel, or aircraft purchased outside of California which is subsequently brought into 
California is regarded as having been purchased for use in this state if the first functional use of 
the vehicle, vessel, or aircraft is in California. 
 
“Functional use” means use for the purposes for which the property was designed.  Vehicles, 
vessels, and aircraft designed for personal use are “functionally used” when merely driven, 
sailed, or flown.  Vehicles, vessels, and aircraft designed for a commercial or other special 
purpose are not “functionally used” until used for the purposes for which they were designed. 
 
For vehicles, vessels and aircraft purchased outside of California, first functionally used outside 
of California, and then brought into California, Regulation 1620, Interstate and Foreign 
Commerce,RTC section 6248 contains the presumptions for application of the use tax. to 
vehicles, vessels and aircraft purchased outside the state and brought into California for use in 
this state.For periods prior to October 2, 2004 and from July 1, 2007 to September 29, 2008, the 
90-day/6-month test below is applicable to these transactions.  When a California retailer 
delivers and transfers title to a purchaser out of state and does not charge tax, the use tax may 
still be due from the purchaser. 
 
Due to changes in the law, there are two different tests established for determining whether a 
vehicle, vessel, or aircraft purchased and first functionally used outside California is considered 
to have been purchased for use in this state. 
 
A vehicle, vessel, or aircraft purchased and first functionally used outside of California will be 
subject to either the “90-Day and Six-Month Principal Use Test,” or the “12-Month Test” 
depending upon the purchase date.  The following table illustrates the application of each of the 
two test periods based on the purchase date: 
 
Purchase Date Test Period 
October 2, 2004 – June 30, 2007 12-Month Test 
July 1, 2007 – September 30, 2008 90-Day Test 
On or after October 1, 2008 12-Month Test 
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Note: If a binding purchase agreement was completed prior to October 2, 2004, or between July 
1, 2007, and September 30, 2008, the purchase will be subject to the “90-day test.”  The test 
period will commence on the date of purchase, generally the date of out-of-state delivery. 
 
APPLICATION OF TEST PERIODS 

 
1.  Purchase Date Prior to October 2, 2004 and from July 1, 2007 to September 29, 

2008. 
a.  90-Day Presumption and Six-Month Principal Use Test 
When a vehicle, vessel, or aircraft is purchased and first functionally used outside of California, 
the vehicle, vessel, or aircraft will be presumed to have been purchased for use in California if it 
is brought into California within 90 days after its purchase, exclusive of any time of shipment to 
California or time of storage for shipment to California, unless the vehicle, vessel, or aircraft is 
used or stored outside of California one-half or more of the time during the six-month period 
immediately following its entry into California.  If a vehicle, vessel, or aircraft is purchased and 
used outside of California for more than 90 days before entering this State, the purchase qualifies 
for the out-of-state exemption from use tax.  Shipping time or time of storage prior to shipment 
into California is excluded from the 90-day period. 
b.  6-Month Test 
If the vehicle, vessel, or aircraft enters California within 90 days from the date of purchase, it is 
presumed to have been purchased for use in California, unless it was first functionally used 
outside California prior to its entry and was used, stored or both used and stored outside 
California one-half or more of the time during the six-month period immediately following its first 
entry into this state. The six-month period can be viewed as the equivalent to a “half year,” or the 
actual number of days that range from 181 to184 days depending on which month the test period 
starts, or 182 days under the rule of the Government Code. 
 

Taxpayers should be allowed to rebut the presumption under all reasonable 
interpretations of what “six months” may mean as described above. 

 
2. From October 2, 2004 through June 30, 2007 (excludes a binding purchase contract 

entered into on or before October 1, 2004) and after September 30, 2008, a 12-
month test period is applicable to these transactions as follows: 

a.  12-mMonth Test [Regulation 1620(b)(5)(A)] 
When a vehicle, vessel, or aircraft is purchased and first functionally used outside of California 
and is brought into California within 12 months from the date of its purchase, it is rebuttably 
presumed that it was acquired for storage, use, or other consumption in California, and subject 
to use tax if any of the following occur: 
A vehicle, vessel, or aircraft purchased outside of California and brought into this state is 
regarded as having been purchased for use in this state if the first functional use is in 
California.  When a vehicle, vessel, or aircraft is purchased outside of California, is first 
functionally used outside of California, and is brought into California within 12 months from the 
date of its purchase; it is rebuttably presumed to be purchased for use in California and is subject to 
use tax if any of the following occurs: 
 

• 1.   The vehicle, vessel, or aircraft was purchased by a California resident, as defined 
in Vehicle Code section 516, as that section now reads or is hereinafter amended. 

Vehicle Code section 516 (2006) defines resident as follows: 
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“Resident means any person, including a natural person, firm, partnership, association, limited 
liability company, or corporation, who shows intent to live or be located in this state on more 
than a temporary basis. A person’s presence in the state for six months or more in any 12-
month period creates a rebuttable presumption of residency. The following are evidence of 
residency for purposes of vehicle registration: 

a.  Address where registered to vote. 

b.  Location of employment or place of business. 

c.   Payment of resident tuition at a public institution of higher education. d.  Attendance of 
dependents at a primary or secondary school. 

e.   Filing a homeowner’s property tax exemption. 

f. Renting or leasing a home for use as a residence. 

g.  Declaration of residency to obtain a license or any other privilege or benefit not ordinarily 
extended to a non-resident. 

h.  Possession of a California driver’s license. 

• i. Other acts, occurrences, or events that indicate presence in the state is more 
than temporary or transient.”The vehicle, vessel, or aircraft was purchased by a 
California resident as defined in section 516 of the California Vehicle Code (effective 
January 1, 2010, a California resident is defined to include a closely held corporation if 
50 percent or more of the shares are held by shareholders who are California residents, 
and effective January 1, 2011, to include, but is not limited to, a closely held limited 
liability company if 50 percent or more of the membership interests are held by members 
who are California residents), or 

 

• 2.   In the case of a vehicle, the vehicle was subject to registration in California under 
Chapter 1 (commencing with section 4000) of Division 3 of the Vehicle Code during the 
first 12 months of ownership., or 

 

• 3.   In the case of a vessel or aircraft, the vessel or aircraft is subject to property tax 
in this state during the first 12 months of ownership, or. 

• 4.   TheIf purchased by a nonresident of California, the vehicle, vessel, or aircraft is 
used or stored in this state more than one-half of the time during the first 12 months of 
ownership. (This is applicable only to non- California residents at the time of purchase.) 

b.  Repair, retrofit, or modification of vessels or aircraft are exempt from use tax 
unless the following occurs: [Regulation 1620(b)(5)(D)] 
1.   During the period following the time the aircraft or vessel is brought into this 

state and ending when the repair, retrofit, or modification of the aircraft or 
vessel is complete, more than 25 hours of airtime in the case of an aircraft or 
25 hours of sailing time in the case of a vessel are logged on the aircraft or 
vessel by the registered owner of that aircraft or vessel or by any authorized 
agent operating the aircraft or vessel on behalf of the registered owner of the 
aircraft or vessel. 

2.   The calculation of airtime or sailing time logged on the aircraft or vessel does not 
include airtime or sailing time following the completion of the repair, retrofit, or 

Rev1 03/20/14



COMPLIANCE POLICY AND PROCEDURES MANUAL  

modification of the aircraft or vessel that is logged for the sole purpose of 
returning or delivering the aircraft or vessel to a point outside of this state. 

 
This presumption may be rebutted if the purchaser can provide satisfactory documentary 
evidence that the vehicle, vessel, or aircraft was purchased for use outside California during the 
first 12 months of ownership.  This evidence may include, but is not limited to, proof of 
registration of the vehicle, vessel, or aircraft with the proper out-of-state authority.  In 
determining whether the presumption has been rebutted, all relevant evidence should be 
considered in its entirety.  Other possible evidence that may indicate that the property was not 
purchased for use in California may include, but is not limited to: 
 

• Proof of payment of property tax to another state, 

• Apartment lease, rental agreement, or other evidence showing residence in another 
state, 

• Proof of change in employment status, or 

• Anything else that will reasonably establish that at the time of purchase, the purchaser 
did not intend to use the vehicle, vessel, or aircraft in California. 

 
In some instances, the purchaser may claim that at the time of purchase, the intent was not to 
use the vehicle, vessel, or aircraft in California, but subsequent circumstances changed the 
purchaser’s original intent (e.g. change in job assignment).  To overcome the presumption that 
the vehicle, vessel, or aircraft was purchased for storage, use or other consumption in this state, 
the following two factors must be present: (1) at the time of purchase, the purchaser did not 
contemplate bringing the property to California for use in the state, and (2) the subsequent 
change of intent was beyond the control of the purchaser. 
 
In addition, a vessel or aircraft the purchase of which is subject to the 12-month test that is 
brought into California for the exclusive purpose of repair, retrofit, or modification shall not be 
deemed to have been acquired for storage, use, or other consumption in this state provided 
either of the following apply: 
  

• In the case of a vessel, the work is performed by a repair facility that holds an 
appropriate permit issued by the board and is licensed to do business by the city, 
county, or city and county in which it is located if the city, county, or city and county so 
requires, or  

• In the case of an aircraft, the work is performed by a repair station certified by the 
Federal Aviation Administration or a manufacturer's maintenance facility.  

 
Under RTC section 6248(f), tThe presumption for vehicles that a vehicle was purchased for use 
in this state may be controverted by documentary evidence that itthe vehicle was brought into this 
state for the exclusive purpose of warranty or repair service and was used or stored in this state 
for that purpose for 30 days or less.  The 30-day period begins when the vehicle enters this 
state, includes any time of travel to and from the warranty or repair facility and ends when the 
vehicle is returned to a point outside the state.  The documentary evidence shall include a work 
order stating the dates that the vehicle is in the possession of the warranty or repair facility and a 
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statement by the owner of the vehicle specifying the dates of travel to and from the warranty or 
repair facility. 
 
Generally, when a taxpayer claims that a vehicle or undocumented vessel was not purchased 
for use in California and the applicable test period has not yet expired, it is Board of Equalization 
(BOE) policy to permit registration with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) without the 
payment of California use tax.  In this situation, the BOE issues a BOE-111, Certificate of 
Vehicle, Mobilehome or Commercial Coach Use Tax Clearance, or BOE-111-B, Certificate of 
Vessel Use Tax Clearance.  Clearance certificates are issued subject to certain documentary 
requirements, with the understanding that the taxpayer is required to provide additional 
documentation to the BOE to support his or her claim at the end of the test period. See CPPM 
section 825.000. 
 
For more informationquestions regarding the qualifying period for “Not Purchased for Use in 
California”claims, contact CUTS. 
 
USE IN INTERSTATE OR FOREIGN COMMERCE 820.010 
An exception from the use tax applies to tangible personal property that is purchased for use and 
is used in interstate and foreign commerce prior to its first entry into California and is thereafter 
used continuously in interstate or foreign commerce both within and without California. Generally, 
property (except vehicles and aircraft) used exclusively within California does not qualify for the 
exemption. This means that the property must travel to destinations outside California and cannot 
operate solely between destinations within California. (See Regulation 1620(b)(2)(B).) 

 

To qualify for the exception for property purchased for use and used in interstate or foreign 
commerce, the property must have been delivered to the purchaser out of state and first functionally 
used in interstate or foreign commerce outside California before entering this state.  If the first 
functional use occurs in California, the purchase or use of the property is subject to tax. In addition, 
property brought into California within 90 days from the date of purchase is presumed to have 
been purchased for use in this state unless documentation is provided to show the following: 

1.  For tangible personal property in general (including vessels): The property was used or stored 
outside California one-half or more of the time during the six-month period immediately 
following its first entry into this state. However, vehicles and aircraft purchased for use in 
interstate or foreign commerce may be exclusively used in California and still qualify for the 
exception from the use tax, provided the purchaser can prove that the vehicle or aircraft was 
not purchased for use in California.  For vehicles and aircraft, use in interstate commerce 
means that at least one package or passenger has its origin in one state or country and 
its destination in another. As such, vehicles or aircraft operating entirely within the 
boundaries of California that carry at least one package or passenger with an origin or 
destination outside California are considered to be used in interstate or foreign commerce 
for that trip or flight. 

2.  For vehicles and aircraft: To determine if a vehicle or aircraft qualifies for the exception from 
tax for use in interstate commerce, the property must be first functionally used in interstate 
or foreign commerce outside California before entering this state, then apply the six-month 
principal use test as stated in Regulation 1620(b)(4). 

a.  For vehicles: One-half or more of the miles traveled by the vehicle during the six- 
month period immediately following its entry into this state are commercial miles 
traveled in interstate commerce. 

b.  For aircraft: One-half or more of the flight time traveled during the six-month period 
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immediately following its entry into this state is commercial flight time traveled in 
interstate commerce. 

Under certain conditions, the purchase of a vehicle, vessel, or aircraft used in interstate or 
foreign commerce may be exempt from the use tax.  Regulation 1620, Interstate and Foreign 
Commerce, provides that use tax does not apply to the use of property purchased for use and 
used in interstate or foreign commerce prior to its entry into this state, and thereafter used 
continuously in interstate or foreign commerce both within and outside California and not 
exclusively in California. 
 
In addition, if a vehicle, vessel, or aircraft is presumed to have been purchased for use in 
California based on either of the tests discussed in CPPM section 820.005, the purchaser may 
rebut the presumption by providing satisfactory documentary evidence that the vehicle, vessel, 
or aircraft was first functionally used outside of California and was primarily used in interstate or 
foreign commerce during the six-month period immediately following its entry into the state. The 
following are the criteria that must be met to establish this exclusion for use tax:  
 

• If the property is a vehicle, the use tax will not apply if one-half or more of the miles 
traveled by the vehicle during the six-month period immediately following its entry into 
this state are commercial miles traveled in interstate or foreign commerce.  

• If the property is a vessel, the use tax will not apply if one-half or more of the nautical 
miles traveled by the vessel during the six-month period immediately following its entry 
into the state are commercial miles traveled in interstate or foreign commerce. 

• If the property is an aircraft, the use tax will not apply if one-half or more of the flight time 
traveled by the aircraft during the six-month period immediately following its entry into 
the state is commercial flight time traveled in interstate or foreign commerce.  

 
For the purposes of the regulation, the term “commercial” applies to business uses and 
excludes personal use.  The term is not limited to for-profit businesses.  To establish that a 
particular trip was for a business purpose, the taxpayer must show that the principal purpose of 
the trip was business rather than personal.  For examples of what constitutes interstate 
commerce for vehicles, vessels, and aircraft, see Regulation 1620(b) (7) examples 1 to 13. 
 
WATERCRAFT 820.011 
Watercraft used principally (more than one-half of the time) for the purpose of transporting 
persons or property for hire in interstate or foreign commerce are exempt from the use tax.  The 
test period is the 12-month period following the first operational use of the watercraft.  If the 
purchaser does not own the watercraft for 12 consecutive months commencing with the first 
operational use, then the period of time commencing with the first operational use that the 
purchaser owns the watercraft will be considered.  “Operational use” means the actual time 
during which the watercraft is operated and does not include storage, modification, repair, or 
replacement.  
 
It is presumed that the watercraft is not regularly used in the transportation for hire of property or 
persons if the annual gross receipts from such use of the watercraft, or gross receipts from the 
lease of the watercraft used in this manner, do not exceed ten percent (10%) of the cost of the 
watercraft to the person using or leasing it, or twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000), whichever 
is less.  This presumption may be rebutted by contrary, verifiable evidence that the watercraft is 
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regularly used in the transportation for hire of property or persons. 
  
The exemption may also apply to barges and ferry boats that operate entirely within the state 
and are principally used to transport passengers or cargos moving in interstate or foreign 
commerce, or tugs that operate entirely within the state and are principally used to convoy or aid 
the departure or arrival of vessels to or from points outside the state, or water-taxis that are 
engaged in the transportation of harbor pilots to or from vessels for the purpose of navigating or 
aiding those vessels in the completion or commencement of their voyages to or from points 
outside of California.  
 
For examples of what constitutes interstate commerce for vehicles and aircraft, see Regulation 
1620(b) (4) examples 1 to 12. 

COMMERCIAL DEEP SEA FISHING 820.015 
The storage, use, or other consumption in this state of Tax does not apply to watercraft principally 
used in commercial deep sea fishing operations outside the territorial waters of California by 
persons who are regularly engaged in commercial deep sea fishing are exempt from the use 
tax.  Regulation 1594 establishes a two-step test to determine if the exemption applies. 
 
First, the watercraft must be used by persons who are regularly engaged in commercial deep 
sea fishing.  Second, the watercraft itself must actually be used principally in commercial deep 
sea fishing operations outside the territorial waters of this state, using a test period of 12 
consecutive months beginning with the first operational use of the watercraft. If the purchaser 
does not own the watercraft for 12 consecutive months commencing with the first operational 
use, then the period of time commencing with the first operational use that the purchaser owns 
the watercraft will be considered.  “Principal use” means that over 50 percent of the time spent 
in total operation must involve commercial fishing outside the territorial waters of this state.   It 
There is a shall be rebuttabley presumptioned that a “persons is  not regularly engaged in 
the business of commercial deep- sea fishing  operations”if the person has gross receipts from 
commercial deep sea fishing operations that total do not earn less than $20,000 in gross 
receipts pera year from their fishing activities. 
 
 Note: It is not material to the application of tax whether a vessel is documented with the USCG 
or undocumented and registered with DMV. (RTC section 6368 and Regulation 1594.) 
 
TRANSPORTING PERSON OR PROPERTY TO OFFSHORE 
DRILLING PLATFORMS 820.016 
Watercraft used in transporting for hire persons or property to vessels or offshore drilling 
platforms located outside the territorial waters of this state may be exempt from the use tax,  
provided the watercraft is functionally used 80 percent or more of the time in such transportation 
activities.  Only the functional use of the watercraft during the first 12 months commencing with 
the first operational use of the watercraft will be considered.  If the purchaser does not own the 
watercraft for 12 consecutive months commencing with the first operational use, then the period 
of time commencing with the first operational use that the purchaser owns the watercraft will be 
considered.  
 
AIRCRAFT SOLD TO COMMON CARRIERS 820.020 
Generally, tax does not apply to aircraft sold to persons who use the aircraft in operation as a 
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common carrier of persons or property, or who lease the aircraft to a lessee who will use the 
aircraft in operation as a common carrier under authority of the laws of this state, of the United 
States, or any foreign government,  provided the aircraft is used as a common carrier for more 
than one half of the operational use during the first twelve consecutive months commencing with 
the first operational use of the aircraft (see Regulation 1593, Aircraft and Aircraft Parts).during 
the first twelve (12) months of operational use.  This also extends to aircraft that are leased to 
common carriers. The use tax law provides a rebuttable presumption that a person is not engaged 
in business as a common carrier with regard to aircraft purchased after January 1, 1997 unless 
the yearly gross receipts from such activity exceed 20% of the purchase price of the aircraft, or 
$50,000, whichever is less. 
 
The term “common carrier” is defined as any person who engages in the business of 
transporting persons or property for hire or compensation and who offers the services 
indiscriminately to the public or to some portion of the public.   Documentation must establish 
that the principal use of the aircraft was as a common carrier during the first twelve months of 
operational use. 
 
There is a rebuttable presumption that a person is not engaged in business as a common 
carrier, unless the yearly gross receipts from such activity exceed 20 percent of the purchase 
price of the aircraft, or $50,000, whichever is less.  This presumption may be rebutted by 
contrary evidence satisfactory to the Board showing that the aircraft is used principally as a 
common carrier of persons or property for hire. 
 
If the first twelve months have not expired by the due date of the use tax return, any available 
documentation should be submitted and the remaining required documentation submitted once 
the test period has expired.  If the purchaser does not own the aircraft for twelve consecutive 
months commencing with the first operational use, then the period of time commencing with the 
first operational use that the purchaser owns the aircraft will be considered. 
(RTC 6366 and 6366.1 and Regulation 1593.) 
 
FAMILY TRANSFERS 820.025 
RTC section 6285 providesThere is an exemption from the use tax when the person selling the 
propertya mobilehome, commercial coach, vehicle, vessel, or aircraft is a parent, grandparent, 
grandchild, child, or spouse of the purchaser or, on or after January 1, 2005, is the registered 
domestic partner of the purchaser as defined in Family Code section 297, or the brother or sister 
of the purchaser if both are minors (under the age of 18) and related by blood or adoption; and 
the seller is not engaged in the business of selling the type of property for which the exemption 
is claimed. 
 
This exemption does not extend to stepparents, step-grandparents, step-grandchildren, 
stepsiblings, or stepchildren.  There must be a legal adoption for these relations to fall under this 
specific tax exemption.  Claimants must provide documentation to show proof of the relationship 
and age, (if the transfer is between minors). 
 
Department of Housing and Community Development (HCD) or DMV  and HCD may allow the 
transfer of vehicles, mobilehomes, or vessels, or aircraft between qualified family members 
without requiring a use tax clearance from the BOE. (See CPPM section 825.035 RTC section 
6285, Regulation 1610.2(b)(1)(B)1, and Publication 52.). 
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GIFT 820.030 
The gift of a vehicle, vessel, or aircraft is not subject to use tax.  To qualify as a gift, the transfer of 
a vehicle, vessel, or aircraft must be made without any consideration being exchanged in order to 
obtain the vehicle, vessel, or aircraft.  Examples of consideration include cash, credits, receipts, 
the fair market value of any trade, including trades of equal value, or the assumption of any 
liability. A Form BOE-111, Certificate of Use Tax Clearance, must be obtained from the BOE in 
order to effect registration at the DMV of vehicles and undocumented vessels obtained by gift.  
All relevant evidence supporting the gift should be considered.  Although not determinative, the 
applicant's statement that it was a gift should be supported by a signed statement from the 
previous owner, or, in the case of a corporation, corporate minutes. 
 
Under certain circumstances, an individual may wish to transfer registration of a vehicle or 
vessel from a company or corporate name to his or her own.  The individual may or may not 
own the entity in question.  Fully depreciated vehicles no longer needed by the company or 
transfers for insurance purposes are among the most common reasons for transfer.  In all 
cases, these transfers must meet the criteria of a transfer without consideration before an 
exemption can be granted. 
 
OTHER EXEMPTIONS 820.035 
 

In addition to the above, there are other types of exemptions not listed on the various Consumer 
Use Tax returns that can be claimed with the required documentation. The exemption claimed 
should be explained upon registration at DMV or HCD or on the use tax return under “Other 
exemptions.” 

PURCHASES FOR RESALE 820.040 
Property purchased for resale may be purchased without payment of tax or tax reimbursement, 
provided the purchaser makes no use of the property except retention, demonstration, andor 
display while holding it for sale in the regular course of businessoffering the property for sale.  
When the purchase is made from a licensed retailer, the burden of proving that a sale of 
tangible personal property is a sale for resale is upon the person who makes the sale unless the 
retailer timely accepts, in good faith, a valid resale certificate from the purchaser.  Where a 
retailer is unable to produce a timely, valid resale certificate, the retailer will be relieved of 
liability for the tax only where the retailer proves the sale was in fact a sale for resale by 
submitting evidence to establish that the property was resold by the purchaser without 
intervening use, that the purchaser still holds the property for resale without intervening use, or 
that the purchaser paid the applicable tax to BOE. 
 
When a vehicle, vessel, or aircraft is purchased from a private party not required to hold a 
seller’s permit by reason of the number, scope, and character of its sales, the applicable tax is 
the use tax, imposed on the purchaser.  Therefore, the purchaser has the burden of proving the 
purchase was for resale.  This does not apply to sales of vessels and aircraft when a broker 
arranges the sale and collects the applicable tax.  
 
MILITARY PERSONNEL 820.045 
A member of the armed forces on active duty who purchases a vehicle prior to the effective date 
of his or her discharge, shall not be deemed to have purchased the vehicle for use in this State 
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unless, at the time of purchase, he or she intended to use it in this State (see Regulation 1610). 
 
Additionally, Wwhen a member of the armed forces on active duty, or the spouse of a member 
on active duty, contracts to purchase a vehicle outside California before the member receives 
orders transferring such memberhim or her to California, no use tax is due based upon 
registration of the vehicle in California pursuant to the transfer. 
 
However, the member will be considered to have made the independent determination to use the 
vehicle in California if he or she contracts to purchase the vehicle after receipt of official orders 
transferring him or her to California. Unless the use is otherwise not subject to tax, the use tax 
will apply. 
 
The member will be considered to have made the independent determination to use the vehicle 
in California without regard to the time of receipt of official orders of transfer, if at the time he or 
she contracts to purchase the vehicle, arrangements are made to take receipt of the vehicle in 
California. This applies when purchase arrangements are made any time during a scheduled 
deployment, regardless of the date of orders to return to California. 
 
“Date of Contract to Purchase” applies to service personnel and their spouses only, 
whereas the actual date of delivery governs purchases made by non-service personnel. 
 
All the foregoing has have no application to mobilehomes and commercial coaches, as they 
are not included in RTC section 6249 covered in Regulation 1610.2, Mobilehomes and 
Commercial Coaches. Mobilehomes located on military bases or installations are required to be 
annually registered, and the purchase by resident or non-resident military is subject to tax. 
 
PURCHASES BY AMERICAN INDIANS RESERVATIONS 820.050 
In general, except as provided below, use tax applies to the use in this state by an Indian 
purchaser of tangible personal property (including vehicles, vessels, and aircraft) from an off-
reservation retailer for use in this state. 
 
Use tax does not apply to sales purchases of tangible personal propertyvehicles, vessels, and 
aircraft made toby Indians purchasers who reside on an Indian reservation, if 
 

•  the property is delivered and ownership transfers to the Indian purchaser and 
ownership to the property transfers to the Indian purchaser on the reservation, and  

• the property is thereafter used on the reservation 50% percent or more of the time during 
the first 12 months after the purchase. 

 
This exemption also applies similarly to sales purchases to by partnerships where all of the 
partners are Indians. In those instances involving purchases by a husband and wife, and both 
parties claim to be Indians, evidence to support the full exemption is required from both 
spouses.“Indian organizations” and “Indian couples” as defined below. 
 
If the property is sold to and delivered to a husband and wife on the reservation, but only one of 
the purchasing spouses is an Indian, a one-half interest in the property is exempt from tax. The 
half interest in the property attributable to the non-Indian is subject to use tax. The exemption 
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will be prorated exactly 50/50 regardless of the degree of Indian blood of the Indian spouse.  A 
certificate of use tax clearance will only be issued in the name of the Indian spouse and the other 
spouse must pay the use tax directly to the BOE. 
“Indian organization” includes Indian tribes and tribal organizations, including tribes that 
incorporate pursuant to section 17 of the Indian Reorganization Act of 1934 (25 U.S.C. § 477). 
Partnerships qualify as “Indian organizations” for California sales and use tax purposes only 
when all of the partners are Indians. Corporations and limited liability companies qualify as 
Indian organizations only if they are organized under tribal authority and wholly owned by 
Indians. If an organization does not meet these criteria, it does not qualify, even when owned or 
operated by Indians. 
 
“Indian couples” includes a married couple or a registered domestic partnership for exemption 
purposes when it consists of two Indians or of an Indian and a non-Indian that have entered into 
officially recognized family relationships under California law or tribal law. This generally 
includes a married couple or a domestic partnership entered into under the Domestic Partner 
Rights and Responsibilities Act of 2003. Tribes have the authority to establish their own laws 
and regulations regarding such unions. Tribal laws include not only written laws, but may also 
include tribal customs and practices. However, such customs and practices must be that of the 
tribe, not of an individual tribal member. Therefore, if either California law or tribal law 
recognizes the family relationship, and at least one member of the couple is an Indian, the 
couple qualifies as an Indian couple 
 
For property purchased for use in tribal self-governance, the sale will not be subject to sales or 
use tax if: 
 

• The tribal government does not have a reservation, or the principal place the tribal 
government conducts tribal business cannot be on the reservation because it lacks a 
building or lacks one or more essential utility services, such as water, electricity, gas, 
sewage, telephone service, or mail service from the US Postal Service; 

• The property is purchased by the tribal government for use in tribal self-governance, 
including governance of tribal members, the conduct of inter-governmental relationships, 
and the acquisition of trust land; and 

• The property is delivered to the tribal government and ownership of the property 
transfers to the tribal government at the principal place where tribal business is 
conducted. 

 
The purchase will not be subject to the above exemption if the property is used for purposes 
other than tribal self-governance more than it is used for tribal self-governance within the first 12 
months following delivery. 
 
For more information see Regulation 1616, Federal Areas, and publication 146, Sales to 
American Indians & Sales in Indian Country. 
 
PURCHASES FROM U.S. GOVERNMENT 820.055 
All purchases of tangible personal property from any unincorporated agency or instrumentality of 
the U.S. Government are exempt from the use tax, except purchases from the Surplus 
Property Board or its successor agency and property included in any contractor’s inventory. 
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As such, the following types of transactions are not subject to the use tax:. 
 

• A purchase of property from a U.S. Marshal pursuant to an order of a Federal Court. 
(See Sales and Use Tax Annotation 560.0260) 

• A purchase of property in accordance with the provisions of Title 40 U.S.C.A. section 
481(c) from any executive agency authorized by the Office of Federal Procurement 
Policy.  Any transaction carried out under the authority of this section must be evidenced 
in writing by the Office of Federal Procurement Policy. 

• Surplus property from the U.S. Government transferred to any state, county or 
local government entity without consideration, except for what is called a “nominal 
service charge.” 

 
Note: Sales made under the authority of Title 40 U.S.C.A. section 484 or IRC section 
6335 are taxable (See RTC section 6402 and Business Taxes Law GuideSales and Use Tax 
Annotations 560.0174 and 560.0170). 
 
FOREIGN CONSULS AND CONSULAR OFFICERS 820.060 
In general, neither sales nor use tax applies to the sale or use of tangible personal property sold 
to foreign consular officers, employees, or members of their families identified by a U.S. 
Department of State Tax Exemption Card.  Tax applies to sales of property to foreign consular 
officers, employees, or members of their families who do not hold a Tax Exemption Card.  In 
addition to the exemption provided, the purchase or lease of a vehicle by a foreign consular 
officer, employee, or member of their family, on or after the date of assumption of duties, who 
does not hold a Tax Exemption Card will be exempted from the sales and use taxes if an 
identification letter is furnished directly to the retailer by the Office of Foreign Missions, U.S. 
Department of State.  (Regulation 1619, Foreign Consuls) 
 
INVOLUNTARY TRANSFERS 820.065 
Tax does not apply to a repossession of property by a seller from a purchaser who has not 
completed repayment.  In order to receive the exemption, the applicant must provide 
documentation, such as a certificate of repossession.  
 
CORPORATE, PARTNERSHIP, AND LLC DISSOLUTION 820.070 
Receiving property as part of the final distribution of corporate, LLC, or partnership assets is 
normally a nontaxable transfer if the distribution is in proportion to the individual's ownership 
interest in that entity and the entity receives no consideration.  The entity will be deemed to 
have received consideration when the individual assumes the outstanding liability still owed on 
the property.  The amount of the assumption would be the measure of tax.  The taxpayer should 
provide a statement from the lender which identifies the outstanding balance at the time of 
assumption.  As proof of ownership interest, supporting evidence in the form of partnership 
agreements or corporate dissolution papers should be provided.   
 
TRANSFERS TO COMMENCING CORPORATIONS, LLC’s, 
OR PARTNERSHIPS 820.080 
The contribution of property to a commencing corporation, LLC, or partnership solely in 
exchange for an interest in the LLC, partnership or corporate stock is not a sale and not subject 

Rev1 03/20/14

http://www.boe.ca.gov/lawguides/business/current/btlg/vol1/sutr/1619.html


CONSUMER USE TAX  

to tax.  If consideration is received in the form of another asset in exchange, or the assumption 
of indebtedness, the transfer would be subject to tax.  Evidence in the form of partnership 
agreements or articles of incorporation will be needed to verify the exemption. 
 
CAPITAL CONTRIBUTIONS 820.085 
The contribution of property to a corporation by a shareholder is exempt if the corporation 
merely credits a donated capital or other capital account.  The transfer is regarded as a 
contribution of capital and it is immaterial that the value of the shares held by the person 
contributing the property may be enhanced.  Copies of the corporation's journal entries should 
be provided to verify that a capital account is credited. 
 
TRANSFERS TO TRUSTS 820.090 
Transfers of vehicles, vessels, aircraft, or mobilehomes to revocable trusts are exempt under 
certain circumstances.  The majority of living trusts are revocable and the following rules would 
apply.  In order to qualify for this exemption, all of the following must occur: 
 

1. The seller has an unrestricted power to revoke the trust. 
2. The sale does not result in any change in the beneficial ownership of the property. 
3. The trust provides that upon revocation the property will revert wholly to the seller. 
4. The only consideration for the sale is the assumption by the trust of an existing loan for 

which the tangible personal property being transferred is the sole collateral for the 
assumed loan. 

 
For those trusts that are not revocable or if the transfer does not meet the above criteria, there 
is no special exemption for property transferred merely because the transferor (settlor) is both 
the creator of the trust (trustor) and administrator of the trust (trustee).  A trust is a "person" 
under the Sales and Use Tax Law and any transfer to the trust for a consideration would 
normally be subject to tax.  
 
To properly document transfers to a trust, you will need to obtain copies of the trust agreement 
which identify: 
 

• the parties involved and their signatures. 

• the property being transferred.  If the property is not clearly identified in the trust 
agreement, a statement (including the I.D. number) should be obtained that describes 
the property included in the transfer. 

• the assumption of liabilities. 

• whether or not the trust is revocable. 

 
OTHER EXEMPTIONS 820.09535 
In addition to the above, there are other types of exemptions or exclusions not listed on the 
various Consumer Use Tax returns that can be claimed with the required documentation. The 
exemption or exclusion claimed should be explained upon registration at DMV or HCD or on the 
use tax return under “Other exemptions.” 
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INTERVENING OWNERS 820.100 
A vehicle may change ownership or possession from the original user in whose name it is 
registered to several subsequent owners before a request is made for clearance and transfer of 
registration.  Whenever this occurs, the tax liability of each person having subsequent 
ownership of the vehicle, other than the person to whom the vehicle is to be transferred, must 
be determined. 
 
If any person other than the registered owner had ownership of the vehicle prior to the time of 
transfer, obtain information concerning the names and addresses of the intervening owners and 
determine whether or not a tax liability has been incurred.  If there were sales of vehicles 
between private parties and use tax would be applicable, sufficient information should be 
obtained so the proper amount of tax can be assessed against and collected from each 
purchaser. 
 
A memo, along with any supporting documentation obtained, should be sent to CUTS to 
investigate possible intervening owners.  The following information should be included: 
 

• Owner(s) name, address, and telephone number, 
• Purchase date, 
• Purchase price, 
• Registration number (vehicle license plate number, vessel CF number), and 
• Make, model, and year. 

 
REFINANCING OF VEHICLES 820.105 
The addition or change of a legal owner or filing of a chattel mortgage on a vehicle does not 
constitute a transfer of registration, and consequently, the DMV does not require a tax clearance 
certificate for such transactions. 
 
The BOE will not furnish tax clearance certificates for the purpose of refinancing equipment.  
Should any finance company having an interest in a vehicle of the user insist upon assurance 
that the user is not delinquent in the payment of the tax, the finance company should be 
informed by letter with respect to the taxes due from the user. 
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CERTIFICATE OF USE TAX CLEARANCE 
(BOE-111 AND BOE-111-B) 825.000 

BOE–111 (VEHICLES/MOBILEHOMES/COMMERCIAL COACHES)  
AND BOE–111–B (VESSELS) 825.005 
When a registrant claims exemption from the use tax on a transfer of a vehicle/mobile home/ 
commercial coach or undocumented vessel, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) or 
Department of Housing and Community Development (HCD) may require a Form BOE–
111/111–B, Certificate of Use Tax Clearance, to complete registration without payment of the 
use tax.  The Form BOE–111/111–B is issued by the BOE in the following situations: 
 

• 1.  The registrant claims an exemption and provides sufficient documentation to confirm 
that 

• use tax is not due. 

• 2.  The registrant claims an exemption that may qualify, but the qualifying period for 
the exemption has not expired. The registrant must provide documentation that shows 
delivery/ possession took place out of state to proceed with this claim. 

• 3.  The registrant pays the use tax to the BOE. 

• 4.  The registrant has requested an Installment Payment Agreement and will be paying 
the use tax under that agreement. 

 
A Form BOE–111/111–B is never issued for a documented vessel or an aircraft because their 
registration is handled by either the U. S. Coast Guard or the Federal Aviation Administration, 
respectively and neither federal entity acts as an agent of the BOE to collect use tax. 
 
DMV/HCD PROCESSING 825.010 
Initial contact with the taxpayer may occurs when the taxpayer presents the application for 
registration of a vehicle/mobilehome or undocumented vessel to DMV/HCD.  Sales tax 
transactions are recognized by the presence in the registration documents of a vehicle dealer’s 
Report of Sale or a Vessel Dealer or Manufacturer’s Sales Tax Certification (DMV form 
BOAT110).  On non-dealer transactions, the DMV/HCD interviewer must make a decision as to 
the applicability of the use tax. If the DMV/HCD interviewer determines the use tax is due and 
the taxpayer disagrees, the taxpayer is instructed to request a Certificate of Use Tax Clearance 
from the BOE.  Requests of this type are filed using Forma BOE–106, Vehicle/Vessel Use Tax 
Clearance Request.  This is a fill-in form available on the BOE’s web site to persons making 
claims.  The form is also available in publication 52, Vehicles and Vessels: How to Request a 
Use Tax Clearance for DMV Registration. 
 
If the registrant has purchased a vessel/trailer combination and does not have a breakdown of the 
purchase price for each item, DMV will allocate $1.00 in use tax to the trailer with the balance 
applied to the vessel. 
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CUTS PROCESSING 825.015 
Requests for a Certificate of Use Tax Clearance received by CUTS are assigned a source 
information file (SIF) number in pending registration for review and recommendation.   
 
All requests claiming exemption for the principal use test are monitored by CUTS at the end of 
the 6-month test period.  .  If there is insufficient documentation to substantiate the claim, CUTS 
will set up the taxable activity registration (TAR) and issue a notice of determination for the use 
tax due.For each “Test Period Not Yet Expired” BOE-111/111-B packet received in CUTS, a 
Taxable Activity Registration (TAR) account will be created.  CUTS assigns each TAR account 
a status code that will prompt further action at the end of the “12-month Test” period or at the 
end of the “90-Day or 6-Month Principal Use Test” period.   
 
If the documentation provided by the taxpayer at the end of the test period supports the claimed 
exemption, the taxpayer will be notified that his or her claim has been granted.  If the taxpayer 
fails to provide sufficient documentation, or the documentation indicates the taxpayer has not 
qualified for the exemption from use tax, a Notice of Determination will be issued. 
 
DISTRICT OFFICE PROCESSING 825.020 
Requests by mail, /fax, or walk-insin person for a Certificate of Use Tax Clearance should be 
resolved in the district office and should not be forwarded to CUTS for a decision. If necessary, 
district staff may obtain assistance from CUTS by phone or email. 
 
If the taxability cannot be determined at the time of the request (e.g. test period not yet expired 
or pending receipt of additional documentation), staff should encourage the taxpayer to pay the 
use tax. The use tax due may be paid either directly to the BOE to obtain a Form BOE–111/111–
B, or to DMV to complete the registration process.  However, Iif a claim for exemption iswill be 
pursued by the taxpayer at the end of the test period, a request for refund of the tax can be 
made through the BOEthe taxpayer should be informed to file a timely claim for refund on the 
payment.  Under RTC section 6902, tTaxpayers who pay the use tax have six months from the 
date of overpayment, or three years from the due date of the tax return (when use tax is paid 
with the tax return) in which to file a claim for refund. 
 
If the transaction is taxable and payment is made in the district office, please refer to CPPM section 
840.005, Voluntary Payments, for processing instructions. 
 
District Responsibilities under 90-Day Presumption and 6-Month Principal Use Test: 
District office staff must require the registrant to provide documentation that shows 
delivery/possession took place out of state (i.e., copy of purchase agreement, an out-of-state 
delivery statement, and any additional supporting documentation) and that the vehicle or vessel 
was first functionally used out of state to proceed with the claim.  If the applicable test period 
has expired, it is the responsibility of the district to review the appropriate documentation and 
make the determination as to the taxability of the transaction before issuing a use tax clearance. 
 
If the applicable test period has not yet expired, a copy of the BOE-111/111-B and the entire 
packet, clearly flagged “Test Period Not Yet Expired” should be forwarded to the CUTS with the 
district contact’s name and phone number included.  District office staff should continue to follow 
established procedures with regard to security and retention of the BOE-106, BOE-111/111-B, 
and supporting documentation. 
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District Responsibilities under 12-Month Test: 
District office responsibilities for issuance of a use tax clearance under the 12-Month Test are 
generally the same as for purchases subject to the 90-Day Test, with one major exception: Do 
not issue a BOE-111 for a “Test Period Not Yet Expired” request if: (1) the claimant is a 
California resident, and (2) the vehicle has entered California within the first 12 months of 
ownership (unless it is a claim for the interstate and foreign commerce exemption, e.g., semi-
trailer).  If the vehicle or undocumented vessel has been brought into the state, the taxpayer 
should be advised the transaction is taxable and the use tax should be remitted to the DMV at 
the time of registration. 
 
For claims of “Not Purchased for Use in California” under the 12-month test period, if the 
taxpayer is a California resident, the BOE-106 should include the taxpayer’s statement that the 
vehicle/undocumented vessel will not enter California during the first 12 months of ownership.  If 
the taxpayer is not a California resident, the request should include the reason the 
vehicle/undocumented vessel is being registered in California (since registration in California 
presumes the vehicle/undocumented vessel is for use in California and subject to the use tax) 
and a statement that the vehicle/undocumented vessel will not be used in California more than 
one-half of the time during the first 12 months of ownership.  Exemption claims for 
vehicles/undocumented vessels “not purchased for use in California” by a taxpayer that is not a 
California resident, even if approved by the district office, should be forwarded to CUTS for 
referral to the appropriate state in which the vehicle was claimed for use. 
 
If the BOE-111 is issued for a “Test Period Not Yet Expired” for a 12-month test period, the 
district office staff must provide to the taxpayer a BOE-111-AT (vehicle cover letter) or BOE-
111-AT-B (undocumented vessel cover letter).  These letters are available on eBOE and advise 
taxpayers that they will be required to provide documentation to support their claim for exclusion 
at the end of the 12-month test period.  A copy of the BOE-111 and the entire packet, clearly 
flagged “Test Period Not Yet Expired” should be forwarded to CUTS with the district contact 
person’s name and phone number included.  District office staff should continue to follow 
established procedures with regard to security and retention of forms BOE-106 and BOE-111, 
and supporting documentation. 
 
PREPARATION OF THEFORM BOE–106, 
VEHICLE/VESSEL USE TAX CLEARANCE REQUESTINFORMATION 825.025 
When a request for a certificate of use tax exemption is received, a Form BOE–106, Vehicle/ 
Vessel Use Tax Clearance Request, should be prepared for each request. The front of the form 
is completed by the taxpayer.  The back of the form is to be completed by staff and approved 
by a supervisor or designee. 
 
The completed form should indicate that the documentation required to verify the exemption has 
been provided, and copies of the documentation should be attached to the request. 
 
For “Test period Not Yet Expired” clearance requests, the designated checklist on the back of 
the BOE-106 must be completed.  The issuance of this clearance is to allow registration at 
DMV, and does not grant an exemption or exclusion or relieve the taxpayer of any tax that may 
later be found due.  
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REFERRALS TO CUTS 825.030 
Taxpayers should not be told to contact CUTS directly unless a CUTS account number (SA, SB, 
SP, or SI indicator) has been assigned.  Districts should refer BOE–111 packets to CUTS under 
the following circumstances: 
 

• 1. A BOE–111 or BOE-111-B was issued for registration purposes, but tax was not 
collected because taxpayer was adamant about qualifying for the 6-month principal use 
exemptionthe test period has not yet expired. CUTS will follow- up at the end of the 6-
month test period to obtain documentation to support the claim.  In these circumstances, 
the taxpayer must be provided with BOE-111-AT, Certificate of Use Tax Clearance 
Cover Letter or BOE-111-AT-B, Certificate of Use Tax Clearance Cover Letter for 
Vessel, along with the BOE-111 or BOE-111-B. (See CPPM 820.005) 

• 2. Information from a request discloses a multiple transfer in which the prior owner did 
not register the vehicle or vessel after a prior sale (intervening owner). Copies of 
documentation on all parties involved should be forwarded to CUTS. 

• 3. A Certificate of Use Tax Clearance was issued pursuant to an installment payment 
agreement. 

 
Referrals should include a complete copy of the BOE–111/111-B packet, along with a brief 
explanation and the district contact’s name and phone number. The packet should also contain 
copies of any documentation submitted by the taxpayer. 
 
EXEMPTIONS NOT REQUIRING A CERTIFICATE OF CLEARANCE  825.035 
DMV may complete the transfer and registration of vehicles and undocumented vessels without 
payment of use tax or presentation of a Form BOE–111/111-B in certain circumstances, such 
as: 
 

• 1.  Family transfers-.These types of registration transactions should not be forwarded 
by DMV to BOE.  If the family transfer is between members that are not exempt (e.g., 
siblings over the age of 18), DMV will collect the tax. 

• 2.  Gift transactions.-Gift transfers between individuals do not require an exemption 
form.  The word “gift” entered on the back of the title or Statement of Facts (REG-256) is 
acceptable. 

• Deceased – An Affidavit for Transfer Without Probate (REG-5) is used by DMV when 
the transfer is to the next of kin upon the owner’s death. 

• Questionable bill of sale – Regardless of the purchase amount stated on the bill of 
sale, DMV will accept these at face value and complete the registration.  A partial 
safeguard is already in place that allows the seller to report the proper sales price. 

• Transfers to revocable trusts – An exemption form is not required when the current 
registered owner transfers a vehicle/vessel into his/her own trust, regardless of whether 
there is a lienholder.  A transfer out of a trust, as long as there is no consideration, will 
also not require an exemption form. 

• Tax paid to another state – DMV policy is to give credit for tax paid to another state 
and complete the registration process. 
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• 3.  Special taxing jurisdictions. -  In cases where a zip code may be both within and 
outside of a special taxing jurisdiction, DMV has been authorized to accept a statement of 
facts that the address of the registrant is outside of the jurisdiction’s boundaries. 

 
Each claim for exemption should be well documented, with the understanding thatalthough the 
evidence submitted to substantiate a claim maymight vary.   Please refer to CPPM section 
820.000 for specific information on exemptions. 
 
If DMV is unsure of the taxability of the transaction, that agency will refer the applicant to the 
local BOE office to request a Certificate of Use Tax Clearance.  There will also be times when a 
customer comes directly to the BOE, or is erroneously referred to a BOE office by DMV staff.  In 
providing good customer service, staff will not send the customer back to DMV; a clearance 
should be issued if the transaction is exempt.  If there is a consistent pattern of misdirected 
customers, staff should provide the customer and vehicle information to CUTS staff who will 
contact the DMV field office. 
 
PREPARATION OF FORMTHE BOE–111 OR FORM BOE–111–B 825.040 
Forms The BOE–111 and BOE–111–B are press-numbered for control purposes.  Voided forms 
will be retained for three years. The forms should be maintained and accessible only to the 
Receipts Custodian and the District Administrator or CUTS Supervisor. 
 
The use tax clearance certificate is prepared only in original and is delivered to the person 
requesting the clearance.  The certificate is to be typewritten.  If an error is made, a new form 
must be prepared.  Any alteration or erasure voids the certificate. 
 
The Certificate of Use Tax Clearance is completed to show the following: 
 

1. Name of the applicant as it will appear on the vehicle/vessel, mobilehome or 
commercial coach registration records. 

2. Make/year and model of the vehicle or vessel. 

3. License/decal or CF number. 

4. Vehicle/hull identification number or serial number. 

5. Date of issuance. 

6. Issuing office. 

FormsThe BOE–111 and BOE–111–B are issued by the district, branchfield office staff or staff in 
CUTS by an employee authorized by the District Administrator or CUTS sSupervisor.  A list of 
employees authorized to sign and issue certificates must be maintained in each office.  The 
person who approves the Form BOE–106 is also authorized to sign the Form BOE–111. 
However, if an authorized person prepares and approves the Form BOE–106, a different 
authorized person must sign the Form BOE–111. Rubber stamp signatures will not be used. 
 
A single BOE–111/111–B may be issued for bulk transfers.  The following should be noted 
on the BOE–111/111–B (under year model and VIN areas): “See Attached Schedule” and attach 
the schedule to the BOE–111/111–B. 
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After the Form BOE–111/111–B is issued, the press-number of the form and the name of the 
employee who signs the form are entered on the respective lines of the Form BOE–106. 
 
In those situations where the use tax is collected when the Form BOE–111 or BOE–111–B is 
issued, the certificate press-number should be entered on the tax return below the name and 
address of the taxpayer. 
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