
SALES AND USE TAX (2010) 
SUGGESTION NO. 3-1  

PAGE 1 OF 3 
 

Add Section 6225.1 to the Revenue and Taxation Code to allow the Board to 
register certain persons that incur a use tax liability on a regular basis, who 
are not otherwise required to be registered. 
Source:  Sales and Use Tax Department 
Existing Law 
During the 2009 Fourth Extraordinary Session, AB 18 (Chapter 16) added Section 
6225 to the California Use Tax Law to require businesses that have annual gross 
receipts of $100,000 or more and that are not already registered with the Board, to 
register with the Board and file an annual return to report their use tax liabilities on 
their taxable purchases (a use tax liability is primarily a result of a California 
purchaser making a purchase of tangible personal property for his or her own use 
from an out-of-state retailer that is not registered with the Board to collect the use 
tax).  
This Proposal 
This proposal would require those individuals and remaining businesses who 
regularly incur a use tax liability (at least $1,000 in liability each year consecutively 
over a three-year period) to register with the Board and file an annual use tax return. 
Unlike Section 6225, which requires use tax registration of businesses on the basis 
that the business receives $100,000 or more in gross receipts annually (and is not 
otherwise required to be registered with the Board), this proposal would require 
registration when those smaller businesses, as well as individuals, regularly incur a 
substantial amount of use tax liability. 
Currently, these unregistered purchasers have the alternative to voluntarily report 
their use tax liability directly to the Board or voluntarily on their state income tax 
return filed with the Franchise Tax Board.  However, the compliance rate is low.  By 
requiring these purchasers to register with the Board, we anticipate enhanced 
compliance with California’s Use Tax Law.  Once the Board registers these 
purchasers, they will be identified within the Board’s registration system, and will 
automatically be sent annual returns, and applicable notices and publications to 
assist them in correctly reporting the tax on their out-of-state purchases.   
Background 
Use tax is the complement to the state's sales tax and was enacted in 1935 to 
ensure California merchants are not operating at a competitive disadvantage to 
their out-of-state competitors with low sales tax rates or no sales tax.  Today, with 
the convenience of Internet shopping, and the states’ inability to require a use tax 
collection requirement on many out-of-state retailers, the competitive disadvantage 
many California retailers experience is exacerbated. 
ABx4 18 was enacted in an effort to minimize this competitive disadvantage and to 
increase the collection of use taxes owed by the larger California businesses that do 
not make sales of tangible personal property, but that may be incurring a use tax 
liability (such as real estate firms, law and accounting firms, and medical and dental 
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offices).  Use tax is the largest area of noncompliance under the Board’s sales and 
use tax program, and businesses that are not already registered with the Board 
share the largest portion of the use tax gap.   
The provisions of ABx4 18 that incorporate the $100,000 annual gross receipt 
requirement were added at the request of Board staff.  Staff was concerned that, 
without this limitation, the Board would incur significant administrative expenses 
related to registering approximately 1.3 million additional businesses and processing 
returns for many businesses that may have little or no use tax liability.  By limiting 
the bill to mandatory registration only for those businesses that have at least 
$100,000 in annual gross receipts, staff estimated that the number of businesses 
that would require registration would be reduced to about 200,000, which would 
capture the majority of the use tax gap of businesses.  
Beginning July 1, 2008 (before enactment of ABx4 18), the Board’s began a 
program to enforce the use tax law by identifying businesses in the service industry 
that have a high potential for making purchases subject to use tax.  Once identified, 
letters along with use tax returns were sent to those businesses informing them of 
the use tax requirements and instructing them to report their purchases subject to 
use tax over the last three-year period.   
Through this program, staff has identified nearly 4,300 California businesses that 
have incurred substantial amounts of use tax.  Most of these businesses will be 
required to register pursuant to the provisions of ABx4 18.  However, staff has 
estimated that about 165 of those accounts will not be required to register under 
ABx4 18, as they do not meet the minimum $100,000 annual gross receipts 
requirement.  However, staff determined that these 165 accounts are likely to 
regularly incur use tax of at least $1,000 each year over a three-year period.   
This proposal is therefore intended to capture a portion of the use tax gap that is not 
already captured under the provisions of ABx4 18, by requiring the registration of 
qualifying purchasers that regularly incur a substantial amount of use tax liability.   
Section 6225.1 is added to the Revenue and Taxation Code to read: 

  (a) Notwithstanding Section 6225, every person who regularly incurs a use 
tax liability by purchasing tangible personal property for the storage, use, or 
other consumption in this State shall register with the board on a form 
prescribed by the board and shall set forth the name and location of the 
person, and other information as the board may require. 
  (b), Article 1 (commencing with Section 6451) of Chapter 5 of this part shall 
apply to a person who regularly incurs a use tax liability, except that a return 
showing the total sales price of the tangible personal property purchased by 
the person who regularly incurs use tax, which became subject to the use tax 
during the preceding calendar year, and which was not paid to a retailer 
required to collect the use tax or which was not paid to a retailer the person 
who regularly incurred the use tax reasonably believed was required to collect 
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the tax, shall be filed, together with a remittance of the amount of tax due, 
with the board on or before April 15 for the previous calendar year. 
  (c) “Regularly” means the person incurs at least one thousand ($1,000) or 
more in use tax liability each calendar year consecutively for a period of three 
or more years. 
  (d) This section shall not apply to a person that meets any of the following 
conditions:  
  (1) The person is required to hold a seller's permit pursuant to this part. 
  (2) The person is required to be registered pursuant to Section 6226. 
  (3) The person is a holder of a use tax direct payment permit as described in 
Section 7051.3. 
  (4) The person is not otherwise registered with the board to report use tax. 
  (e) This section shall not apply to the purchase of a vehicle, vessel, or 
aircraft as defined in Article 1 (commencing with Section 6271) of Chapter 3.5 
of this part. 


