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Amend Section 63.1 of the Revenue and Taxation Code to clarify that a property 
need only be eligible for the homeowners’ exemption, and not actually receiving 
the exemption, to qualify for the change in ownership exclusion for principal 
residences between parents and children.   
 
Source:  Property and Special Taxes Department 
 
Existing Law 
Under existing property tax law, real property is reassessed to its current fair market 
value whenever there is a “change in ownership.” (Article XIIIA, Sec. 2; Revenue and 
Taxation Code Sections 60 - 69.7) 
 
Proposition 58, which was passed by the voters of California on November 4, 1986, 
added subdivision (h) to section 2 of Article XIII A of the California Constitution, and 
provides, in part, that the term "change in ownership" shall not include the purchase or 
transfer between parents and their children of: 
• a principal residence,  
• or the first $1 million of the full cash value of all other real property.  
 
Proposition 193 on the March 1996 ballot amended this section to apply the exclusion to 
transfers of real property from grandparents to grandchildren when all the parents of the 
grandchildren who qualify as children of the grandparents are deceased as of the date 
of transfer.  By avoiding reassessment to current market value, children or 
grandchildren can preserve the Proposition 13 protected value of property acquired 
from their parents (or vice versa) and the property taxes on the property will remain the 
same. 
 
Principal Residence.  Revenue and Taxation Code Section 63.1 provides the statutory 
implementation for Propositions 58 and 193.  There is no value limitation on a property 
that qualifies as a principal residence and its value does not count towards the $1 
million cap on the amount of the exclusion available to properties transferred between 
parents and children.  Any property transferred after the $1 million assessed value 
ceiling is reached is subject to reassessment at current market value. 
 
Relevant to this proposal, subdivision (b) of Section 63.1 defines a “principal residence” 
as a dwelling for which a homeowners' exemption (or a disabled veterans' residence 
exemption) has been granted in the name of the eligible transferor.  To get the 
exemption, the homeowner files a claim with the county assessor.  Circumstances 
occur, however, where a homeowner may never have filed a claim for the homeowners' 
exemption even if the property was their principal residence.  This can occur because 
the homeowner is unaware of the exemption, misses a deadline, or moves from one 
home to another home that they previously owned without changing the homeowners’ 
exemption to the new home.  In some instances, a homeowner may choose not to file 
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for the exemption as the benefit is relatively minimal at $70 per year and requires the 
disclosure of social security numbers.  
 
Generally, the current administrative practice is that if the transferor, which is typically 
the parent, was not receiving the homeowners' exemption on their principal residence, 
but the taxpayer provides proper documentation that the property was nonetheless the 
transferor’s principal place of residence, the assessor will grant the parent-child 
exclusion on the property as a principal residence.  The benefit of receiving the 
exemption as the basis of it being a principal residence is that its value is not counted 
towards the $1 million limitation, in the event that there are other real property holdings 
to be transferred between the parents and children.   
 
Furthermore, Section 69.5, which provides the statutory implementation for Proposition 
60 (passed by the voters at the same time as the parent-child exclusion) and was 
enacted in the same year as Section 63.1, requires that the original and replacement 
properties be eligible for the homeowners' or disabled veterans' exemption based on the 
ownership and occupation by the claimant as their principal residence.  It is inconsistent 
to require that the homeowners’ exemption to be granted in Section 63.1 yet only 
require “eligibility” for the exemption in Section 69.5, which is a similar statute.  
 
Technical Change.  Under the terms of Section 2(h)(2)(B) of Article XIII A of the 
California Constitution, the grandparent-grandchild exclusion is a one-way exclusion—
from grandparents to grandchildren.  Therefore, a grandparent is not an eligible 
transferee.  (Also see definition of "eligible transferee" in Section 63.1(c)(7).) 
 
This Proposal 
This proposal changes the definition of "principal residence" to reflect eligibility for the 
homeowners’ exemption (i.e., ownership and occupation) rather than the actual granting 
of the exemption.  Requiring that the property be “eligible” for the homeowners’ 
exemption ensures that property owners receive the full benefit of the parent-child 
change in ownership exclusion to which they are entitled, makes the statute consistent 
with current administrative practice, and makes the provisions of Section 63.1 
consistent with those of Section 69.5.   
 
This proposal also strikes the first "grandparent" from Section 63.1(d)(1)(A) for technical 
precision.   
 
 
Section 63.1 of the Revenue and Taxation Code is amended to read: 
 

   (b) (1) For purposes of paragraph (1) of subdivision (a), "principal residence" 
means a dwelling for which that is eligible for a homeowners' exemption or a 
disabled veterans' residence exemption has been granted in the name of the eligible 
transferor as a result of the transferor's ownership and occupation of the dwelling as 
a principal residence. "Principal residence" includes only that portion of the land 
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underlying the principal residence that consists of an area of reasonable size that is 
used as a site for the residence.  
 
*** 
 
   (d)(1) The exclusions provided for in subdivision (a) shall not be allowed unless the 
eligible transferee, the transferee's legal representative, or the executor or 
administrator of the transferee's estate files a claim with the assessor for the 
exclusion sought and furnishes to the assessor each of the following: 
   (A) A written certification by the transferee, the transferee's legal representative, or 
the executor or administrator of the transferee's estate, signed and made under 
penalty of perjury that the transferee is a grandparent, parent, child, or grandchild of 
the transferor and that the transferor is his or her parent, child, or grandparent. In the 
case of a grandparent-grandchild transfer, the written certification shall also include 
a certification that all the parents of the grandchild or grandchildren who qualify as 
children of the grandparents were deceased as of the date of the purchase or 
transfer and that the grandchild or grandchildren did or did not receive a principal 
residence excludable under paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) from the deceased 
parents, and that the grandchild or grandchildren did or did not receive real property 
other than a principal residence excludable under paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) 
from the deceased parents. The claimant shall provide legal substantiation of any 
matter certified pursuant to this subparagraph at the request of the county assessor. 
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