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Commencing January 1, 2018, imposes a 15% fee on medical marijuana purchased from a 
retailer of medical marijuana.   

Summary of Amendments:  The amendments since the previous analysis replace references to 
“Marijuana Value Tax” with “Marijuana User Fee” throughout the bill and provide advance funding for 
BOE implementation and administration costs.   

Purpose:  According to the author, the purpose is “to provide needed revenue to make communities 
stronger by focusing on the impacts of cultivation and use of marijuana, including funding local law 
enforcement and neighborhood improvement programs, state parks, drug and alcohol treatment and 
environmental rehabilitation.” 

Fiscal Impact Summary:  Annual revenues range from $62.0 million to $251.0 million, depending 
on compliance rate. 

Existing Law:  Federal Law.  Existing federal law prohibits the manufacture, possession, sale, or 
distribution of marijuana.1 Congress enacted the Controlled Substances Act (CSA)2 as part of the 
Comprehensive Drug Abuse Prevention and Control Act of 1970.  The CSA establishes five “schedules” of 
certain drugs and other substances designated “controlled substances.”3 For a drug or other substance 
to be designated as a schedule I controlled substance, it must be found that the substance “has a high 
potential for abuse,“ has “no currently accepted medical use in treatment in the United States,” and 
“lack accepted safety for use of the drug or other substance under medical supervision.”4 Federal law 
lists marijuana as a schedule I controlled substance, deemed to have no accepted medical use.5 

California’s Medical Marijuana Program.  Under existing law, the California Uniform Controlled 
Substances Act6 prohibits, except as authorized by law, the possession, cultivation, transportation, and 
sale of marijuana and derivatives of marijuana.  Existing law authorizes, under The Compassionate Use 
Act of 1996 (Proposition 215 of 1996), a patient or the patient’s primary caregiver to cultivate or possess 
marijuana for the patient’s medical use when recommended by a physician, as specified.7    

California’s Sales and Use Tax Law.8 Existing law imposes the sales tax on all retailers for the privilege of 
selling tangible personal property at retail in this state or the use tax on the storage, use or consumption 
in this state of tangible personal property purchased from a retailer, except where the law specifies an 
exclusion or exemption.  Nothing in the sales and use tax law exempts or excludes the sale of illegal 
substances.  Therefore, under the law, sales and use tax apply to retail sales of marijuana, including 
medical marijuana, to the same extent as any other retail sale of tangible personal property.   
  

                                                           
1 21 U.S.C. § 841 et seq. 
2 21 U.S.C. § 801 et seq. 
3 21 U.S.C. §§802(6), 812(a). 
4 21 U.S.C. § 812 (b)(1). 
5 21 U.S.C. § 812:Schedule I(c)(10). 
6 Division 10 (commencing with Section 11000) of the Health and Safety Code (HSC). 
7 HSC Section 11362.5. 
8 Part 1 of Division 2 of the Revenue and Taxation Code (RTC) (commencing with Section 6001). 

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/15-16/bill/sen/sb_0951-1000/sb_987_bill_20160531_amended_sen_v97.pdf
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There is no specific exemption or exclusion for marijuana or medical marijuana.  For patient treatment, 
RTC Section 6369 exempts from the sales and use tax retail sales of medicines, as defined, when the 
medicines sold or furnished are: 

• prescribed by an authorized person and dispensed on a prescription filled by a pharmacist, 

• furnished by a licensed physician to his or her own patient, or 
• furnished by a health facility for treatment pursuant to a licensed physician’s order, or sold to a 

licensed physician.   

The sale of medical marijuana, however, is generally not made under conditions that would satisfy 
the elements of RTC Section 6369. 

Proposed Law:  This bill adds Part 17 (commencing with Section 37001) to Division 2 of the RTC to 
enact the Marijuana User Fee Act (Act).  The Act imposes, on and after January 1, 2018, a fee on the 
consumption or other use in this state of medical marijuana purchased from any retailer for 
consumption or other use in this state at the rate of 15% of the sales price of the medical marijuana. 

Fee Liability. The Act makes liable every purchaser consuming or otherwise using in this state medical 
marijuana purchased from a retailer. The retailer must collect the fee at the time of sale from the 
purchaser.  The Act requires the fee to be a charge separate from, and not included in, any other fee, 
charge, or other amount paid.  The Act requires the retailer to give a receipt to the purchaser in a 
manner and form prescribed by the BOE.  The purchaser remains liable for the fee until the fee is paid to 
the state, although a purchaser’s payment to a retailer relieves the purchaser for the fee amount 
specified on the receipt. 

The fee required to be collected by the retailer engaged in business in this state, any fee collected from 
a purchaser not remitted to the BOE, and any unreturned amounts the retailer represents and collects 
as the fee owed by the purchaser that are not actually owed constitute debts owed by the retailer to 
this state. 

Administration.  The Act requires the BOE to administer and collect the fee pursuant to the Fee 
Collection Procedures Law (FCPL),9 except that the provisions that require payments by electronic funds 
transfer do not apply.10  

The FCPL generally provides for the BOE’s administration of fee programs.  Among other things, the FCPL 
provides for collection, reporting, return, refund, and appeals procedures, as well as the BOE’s authority 
to adopt regulations related to the FCPL’s administration and enforcement.  

The Act authorizes the BOE to prescribe, adopt, and enforce regulations relating to administration and 
enforcement.  In addition, the Act authorizes the BOE to prescribe, adopt, and enforce any emergency 
regulations as necessary to implement the Act. 

Registration, Reporting, and Payment.  The Act requires every retailer required to collect the fee to 
register for a permit on a BOE-prescribed form.  That form shall include: (1) the name under which the 
applicant transacts or intends to transact business, (2) the location of the retailer’s place or places of 
business, and (3) any other information that the BOE may require.   

The BOE will grant and issue a separate permit for each business location within the state.  The Act 
prohibits assigning the permit.  A permit is valid only for the person to whom it is issued and at the 
designated location for business transactions. The Act requires the permit be conspicuously displayed at 
the location for which it is issued. 

The fee is due and payable to the BOE quarterly on or before the last day of the month succeeding each 
quarterly period.  The BOE may, however, require fee payments and the filing of returns for periods 
other than the period or periods specified in the tax and fee laws administered under the FCPL.11 

                                                           
9 Part 30 (commencing with Section 55001) of Division 2 of the RTC. 
10 Article 1.1 (commencing with Section 55050) of Chapter 3. 
11 RTC Section 55041.1. 
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In addition, a return for the preceding quarterly period must be filed with the BOE using electronic 
media. Returns must be authenticated in a form or pursuant to methods as may be prescribed by the 
BOE. 

Both the electronic application and fee return would be authenticated in a form or pursuant to a 
method the BOE may prescribe. 

Furthermore, the Act relieves a retailer’s liability to collect the fee represented by accounts that have 
been found worthless and charged off in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles. If a 
retailer subsequently collects any bad debt amounts claimed, those amounts must be reported and paid 
to the BOE on the next return filed.  The Act authorizes the BOE to promulgate regulations with respect 
to uncollected or worthless accounts. 

Miscellaneous Provisions.  The Act makes it unlawful for any retailer to advertise, hold out, or state to 
the public or purchaser, directly or indirectly, that the fee or any part thereof: 

• Will be assumed or absorbed by the retailer; or  
• Will not be added to the selling price of the medical marijuana sold, or  
• Will be refunded, in whole or in part.   

In addition, the Act requires the retailer to display the fee separately from the medical marijuana price 
on the sales check or other proof of sales.  Specifically, the fee shall be included in: 

• The list price;  
• The marked price; or  
• Any other advertised or quoted price provided or displayed.   

Any person violating these miscellaneous provisions is guilty of a misdemeanor. 

Suspension and Revocation.  The Act authorizes the BOE, upon hearing, to revoke or suspend a 
retailer’s permit whenever any retailer fails to comply with any provision of the Act or any rules or 
regulations adopted pursuant to the Act.  The BOE shall give the retailer at least 10 days’ notice in 
writing specifying the time and place of the hearing.  The retailer must show cause why the permit 
should not be revoked.  

The Act requires the BOE to serve a written suspension or revocation notice to the retailer personally or 
by mail, as described. The BOE is prohibited from issuing a new permit after revocation unless satisfied 
that the former permit holder will comply with the Act and the regulations adopted under the Act. 

Permit Refusal.  The Act authorizes the BOE to refuse to issue a permit to any person who has an 
outstanding final liability with the BOE for any amount due under the Act.  The BOE may also refuse to 
issue a permit to any person who is not a natural person or individual and any person controlling the 
applicant has an outstanding final liability with the BOE for any amount due under the Act.  “Controlling” 
has the same meaning as defined in Business and Professions Code (BPC) Section 22971. 

The Act deems a liability not outstanding if the person has entered into an installment payment 
agreement and fully complies with that agreement’s terms.  If the permit applicant enters into an 
installment payment agreement and fails to comply with the terms, the BOE may seek revocation of the 
person’s permit. 

The Act requires the BOE to give a written denial notice to a person denied a permit. The denial notice 
may be served personally, by mail, or by other appropriate means.  

The Act allows a person that is denied a permit to request reconsideration of the BOE’s denial. The 
person must submit a written reconsideration request within 30 days of the date of the denial notice. A 
timely submission affords the person a hearing. If a person fails to file a reconsideration request within 
the 30-day period, the denial becomes final at the end of the 30-day period. 

Also, the Act requires the BOE to consider offers in compromise when determining whether to issue a 
permit. 
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Deposit of Revenues.  The Act establishes the Marijuana User Fee Fund (Fund) in the State Treasury. 
The BOE must deposit all revenues, less refunds, into the Fund.  Except as provided, the Controller must 
annually allocate moneys in the Fund as follows: 
• 30% to the General Fund. 
• 30% to the Bureau for grant program administration to distribute grants to local agencies that 

oversee or are affected by the regulation of cultivating, processing, manufacturing, distributing, and 
selling of medical marijuana that undertake enforcement activities pertaining to the cultivation of 
marijuana in violation of state law or local ordinance, or that are involved in a fire suppression, 
emergency medical, or other “all-risk” response to a marijuana cultivation, processing, 
manufacturing, or distribution incident, upon appropriation by the Legislature.  

• 20% to the Department of Parks and Recreation for the stewardship, operation, maintenance, and 
preservation of state park units, including units operated on behalf of the state by local or regional 
agencies or by nonprofit organizations, upon appropriation by the Legislature. 

• 20% to counties, as defined, for drug and alcohol treatment programs, distributed based on the 
ratio of each county’s population to the total population of all counties, as set forth in the most 
recent E-1 Cities, Counties, and the State Population Estimates published by the Department of 
Finance, upon appropriation by the Legislature.  

The bill advances funds for the BOE’s implementation and administration of the Act to the Fund as a 
General Fund or special fund loan, and repaid by the initial revenues, less refunds, collected.  The 
Director of Finance may provide an initial operating loan from the General Fund to the Fund that does 
not exceed five million dollars ($5,000,000). 

Definitions.  The Act includes the following definitions: 
• “Medical marijuana” means medical cannabis as defined in BPC Section 19300.5, which provides: 

“Medical cannabis,” “medical cannabis product,” or “cannabis product” means a product 
containing cannabis, including, but not limited to, concentrates and extractions, intended to be 
sold for use by medical cannabis patients in California pursuant to the Compassionate Use Act of 
1996 (Proposition 215), found at Section 11362.5 of the Health and Safety Code. For the 
purposes of this chapter, “medical cannabis” does not include “industrial hemp” as defined by 
Section 81000 of the Food and Agricultural Code or Section 11018.5 of the Health and Safety 
Code. 

• “Person” means person as defined in RTC Section 55002, which provides: 
“Person” means an individual, trust firm, joint stock company, business concern, corporation, 
including, but not limited to, a government corporation, partnership, limited liability company, 
and association. “Person” also includes any city, county, city and county, district, commission, 
the state or any department, agency, or political subdivision thereof, any interstate body, and 
the United States and its agencies and instrumentalities to the extent permitted by law. 

• “Primary caregiver”12 means a person who is exempt from the licensure requirements of the 
Medical Marijuana Regulation and Safety Act (MMRSA)13 pursuant to BPC Section 19319(b). 

• “Purchaser” means a person that purchases medical marijuana for consumption or other use in this 
state. 

• “Qualified patient” means a person who is entitled to the protections of the Compassionate Use Act 
of 1996. 

• “Retail sale” or “sale at retail” means a sale for any purpose other than resale in the regular course 
of business in the form of medical marijuana. 

  

                                                           
12 HSC Section 11362.7 of the Medical Marijuana Program defines “primary caregiver.” 
13 Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section 19300) of Division 8 of the Business and Professions Code. 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=55002.
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=BPC&sectionNum=19319.
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=HSC&sectionNum=11362.7.
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• “Retailer” includes every person that makes any retail sale or sales of medical marijuana. It also 
includes a person holding a dispensary license issued pursuant to the MMRSA.14  Every person 
making more than two retail sales of medical marijuana during any 12-month period shall be 
considered a retailer within the provisions of the Act. 

•  “Retailer engaged in business in this state” means any retailer that has substantial nexus with this 
state for purposes of the commerce clause of the United States Constitution and any retailer upon 
whom federal law permits this state to impose a fee collection duty. 

• “Sale” or “purchase” means and includes any transfer of title or possession, exchange, or barter, 
conditional or otherwise, in any manner or by any means whatsoever, of medical marijuana for a 
consideration. “Transfer of possession” includes only transactions found by the BOE to be in lieu of a 
transfer of title, exchange, or barter.  “Sale” or “purchase” does not include the transfer of title or 
possession, exchange, or barter of medical marijuana for a consideration between a qualified 
patient and his or her primary caregiver. 

• “Sales price” means the total amount for which medical marijuana is sold, valued in money, whether 
paid in money or otherwise, without any deduction on account of the cost of any expenses. 

• “Use” includes the exercise of any right or power over medical marijuana incident to the ownership 
of that medical marijuana, except that it does not include the sale of that medical marijuana in the 
regular course of business. 

Legislative Analyst Report.  The bill requires the Legislative Analyst to review and evaluate the 
marijuana user fee and provide a report to the Senate Committees on Governance and Finance, 
Appropriations, and Budget and Fiscal Review, and to the Assembly Committees on Revenue and 
Taxation, Appropriations, and Budget.  The report shall include recommendations regarding the fee rate, 
revenue allocation, and any other adjustments to the fee, and the following: 
• Annual revenues. 
• Annual costs of implementing this part. 
• Annual allocation amounts by the Controller. 
• Fee compliance rates. 
• BOE recommendations to improve effective and efficient administration and enforcement of the 

Act. 

Local Tax and Fee Authority.  Nothing in the Act shall be interpreted to preclude a city, county, or city 
and county from enacting or continuing to enforce a local ordinance that imposes any fees, taxes, or 
other charges on the consumption or other use of medical marijuana, as may be otherwise authorized 
by law. 

Legislative Findings and Declarations.  This bill finds and declares that “edible cannabis products” are 
not considered a food product for purposes of the California Constitution.15  The bill defines “edible 
cannabis products” to have the same meaning as that term’s definition in the MMRSA.16 

Operative Date.  The bill becomes effective January 1, 2017, but the fee provisions are operative 
January 1, 2018.  However, the Act will only become operative if voters do not approve the Control, 
Regulate and Tax Adult Use of Marijuana Act17 at the November 8, 2016 statewide general election. 

Background:  Medical Marijuana Sellers – Sales Tax.  In 1996, California voters passed Proposition 
215, also known as the Compassionate Use Act of 1996, which allows patients and their primary 
caregivers to cultivate or possess marijuana for personal medical treatment with the recommendation 
of a physician, as specified.  

                                                           
14 Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section 19300) of Division 8 of the Business and Professions Code. 
15 Section 34 of Article XIII of the California Constitution. 
16 BPC Section 19300.5. 
17 Secretary of State Initiative Number 1762. 

http://www.oag.ca.gov/system/files/initiatives/pdfs/15-0103%20%28Marijuana%29_1.pdf?
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In 2003, Senate Bill 420 (Ch. 875, Stats. 2003, Vasconcellos) established statewide guidelines for 
Proposition 215 enforcement.  In particular, SB 420 allows nonprofit distribution in certain cases for 
patient cultivation cooperatives, small-scale caregiver gardens, and dispensing collectives.  However, 
despite the fact that numerous medical marijuana dispensaries currently do business in California, the 
sale of medical cannabis is illegal under federal law.  

On August 29, 2013, the U.S. Department of Justice issued guidance to federal prosecutors regarding 
cannabis enforcement under the CSA (referred to as the Cole Memo).18  The Cole Memo reiterated the 
Department’s commitment to enforcing the CSA consistent with Congress’ determination that cannabis 
is a dangerous drug that serves as a significant source of revenue to large-scale criminal enterprises, 
gangs, and cartels.  In furtherance of those objectives, the Cole Memo instructed the Department 
attorneys and law enforcement to focus on the following eight priorities in enforcing the CSA against 
cannabis-related conduct:  
• Preventing the distribution of marijuana to minors; 
• Preventing revenue from the sale of marijuana from going to criminal enterprises, gangs, and 

cartels; 
• Preventing the diversion of marijuana from states where it is legal under state law in some form to 

other states; 
• Preventing state-authorized marijuana activity from being used as a cover or pretext for the 

trafficking of other illegal drugs or other illegal activity; 
• Preventing violence and the use of firearms in the cultivation and distribution of marijuana; 
• Preventing drugged driving and the exacerbation of other adverse public health consequences 

associated with marijuana use; 
• Preventing the growing of marijuana on public lands and the attendant public safety and 

environmental dangers posed by marijuana production on public lands; and 
• Preventing marijuana possession or use on federal property. 

Under the Cole Memo, marijuana-related conduct that implicates one or more of these enforcement 
priorities should be the primary question when considering CSA prosecution.  Although the guidance 
was issued in response to recent marijuana legalization initiatives in certain states, it applies to all 
Department marijuana enforcement nationwide.   

Operative December 16, 2014, Public Law 113-23519 prohibits the United States Department of Justice 
from using funds to prevent specified states, including California, from implementing laws that authorize 
the use, distribution, possession, or cultivation of medical marijuana.   

Because the sale of medical marijuana20 is taxable, the BOE issues seller’s permits to those medical 
marijuana sellers and will issue seller’s permits to any other sellers making unlawful sales. 

In 2007, the BOE mailed a special notice to California sellers of medical marijuana to clarify the 
application of tax to medical marijuana sales and the requirement that they must hold a seller’s permit. 

Medical Marijuana Regulation and Safety Act. In 2015, the Legislature enacted the MMRSA, a package 
of legislation that establishes a comprehensive licensing and regulatory framework for medical 
marijuana, including cultivation, manufacturing, transportation, distribution, sale, and product. The 
MMRSA consists of three bills: SB 643 (Ch. 719, McGuire), AB 243 (Ch. 688, Wood), and AB 266 (Ch. 689, 
Bonta).  

  

                                                           
18 http://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/sourcefiles/cole-DOJ-memo-aug-2013.pdf 
19 H.R. 83 / Public Law 113-235, Consolidated and Further Continuing Appropriations Act, 2015, (Dec. 16, 2014; 128 
Stat. 2130; 701 pages). 
20 All retail sales, including illegal sales, are subject to tax unless otherwise exempt.    

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/03-04/bill/sen/sb_0401-0450/sb_420_bill_20031012_chaptered.pdf
http://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/sourcefiles/cole-DOJ-memo-aug-2013.pdf
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201520160SB643
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201520160AB243
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201520160AB266
https://www.congress.gov/bill/113th-congress/house-bill/83/text
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Among its provisions, the MMRSA establishes the Bureau of Medical Marijuana Regulation (Bureau) 
within the Department of Consumer Affairs to oversee and enforce the state’s medical marijuana 
regulations, in collaboration with the California Department of Public Health and the CDFA.  Additionally, 
it establishes categories of licenses for various medical marijuana activities, such as cultivation, 
manufacturing, distribution, transportation, and sale.   

AB 266 also added RTC Section 31020 to require the BOE, in consultation with the CDFA, to adopt a 
system to report commercial cannabis and cannabis product movement throughout the distribution 
chain (track and trace).  The adopted system must employ secure packaging and provide information to 
the BOE.  Section 31020 also requires the system to capture, at a minimum, all of the following: 

• The amount of tax due by the designated entity; 
• The name, address, and license number of the designated entity that remitted the tax; 
• The name, address, and license number of the succeeding entity receiving the product; 
• The transaction date; and 
• Any other information the BOE deems necessary for marijuana and marijuana taxation and 

regulation.  

Commentary:  
1. Summary of amendments.  The May 31, 2016 amendments replace references to “Marijuana Value 

Tax” with “Marijuana User Fee” throughout the bill and advance funds for BOE implementation and 
administration costs as a General Fund or special fund loan.  The March 15, 2016 amendments (1) 
defined “primary caregiver” and “qualified patient” and exclude from the definition of “sale” or 
“purchase” the transfer of title or possession, exchange, or barter of medical marijuana for a 
consideration between a qualified patient and primary caregiver; (2) revised the revenue allocation; 
(3) required the Legislative Analyst to review and evaluate the tax and prepare a report for specified 
legislative committees; (4) stated that this new part does not preclude a city, county, or city and 
county from enacting or continuing to enforce a local tax ordinance on the consumption or use of 
medical marijuana, and (5) only allowed the tax to become operative if Control, Regulate and Tax 
Adult Use of Marijuana Act is not approved by voters at the November 8, 2016, statewide general 
election. 

2. Marijuana User Fee not subject to sales tax.  Under existing Sales and Use Tax Law, RTC Section 
6012(a)(2) provides that taxable gross receipts include all amounts received with respect to the sale, 
with no deduction for the cost of the materials used, labor or service cost, or any other expense of 
the retailer passed on to the customer. 

This bill imposes the Marijuana User Fee on the purchasers of medical marijuana, not on the 
retailers who sell the item. When retailers separately state the Marijuana User Fee on the receipts 
they issue to purchasers, the retailers are not passing on expenses to the purchaser but are instead 
collecting the fee from the purchaser as required by statute. Therefore, the Marijuana User Fee is 
not included in gross receipts. 

3. This bill could complicate marijuana retailers’ records and reporting. Medical marijuana retailers 
already must collect and remit sales and use fee on the retail sale of medical marijuana in California. 
Medical marijuana retailers most likely sell other tangible personal property subject to sales and use 
tax. Adding an additional assessment that would be collected from purchasers would require 
retailers to keep track of marijuana product sales separately from other sales of tangible personal 
property.  

4. Bill could set precedent. Imposing varying taxes or fees on specific commodities complicates tax and 
fee administration and could set a precedent for establishing multiple taxes or fees on other classes 
of tangible personal property. This results in increasing BOE administrative costs and an increased 
record-keeping burden on taxpayers. 
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5. Point of fee imposition.  Typically, BOE staff recommends that excise taxes and fees be imposed as 
high in the distribution chain as possible since there are fewer taxpayers and therefore less potential 
for evasion.  This concern is magnified with respect to the cannabis industry, as historically it has 
been unregulated with low rates of tax compliance.  The industry is currently substantially non-
compliant. Increasing taxes or fees due at the retail level will likely increase diversion; however, that 
may be reduced due to the track-and-trace requirements set forth in the MMRSA.  Auditing will be 
more difficult at the retail level than at the distribution level.   

The highest point in the cannabis distribution chain would be the grower.  However, BOE staff 
understands that due to the high number of growers, imposing a fee at that level would be 
inefficient.  Therefore, the distributor level, similar to the taxation of cigarettes, may be a more 
appropriate point of fee imposition, as auditing is less difficult with fewer feepayers.  

6. Cash Payments.  Collecting cash payments from cannabis retailers currently is challenging both from 
a compliance and public safety standpoint. Under existing law, retailers must report sales taxes 
ranging from 7.50 percent to 10.00 percent.  Collecting cash payments from these retailers on sales 
taxes alone has created administrative and safety issues for BOE staff and retailers.  By imposing 
marijuana user fee at the retail level, retailers will be responsible for remitting up to three times 
their current payments.  This significant increase in the level of cash payments from cannabis 
retailers will lead to enhanced public safety concerns.  

7. Primary caregiver exemption.  This bill defines a “primary caregiver” as a person exempt from 
licensure under the MMRSA.  The MMRSA exempts a primary caregiver that has no more than five 
specified qualified patients for whom he or she is the primary caregiver within the meaning of the 
Medical Marijuana Program.21  The bill prohibits a primary caregiver from receiving payment for 
their activities, except for compensation for actual expenses, including reasonable compensation 
incurred for qualified patient services or for payment for out-of-pocket expenses in providing 
services.   

This bill makes clear that a “sale” or “purchase” does not include the transfer of title or possession, 
exchange, or barter of medical marijuana for a consideration between a qualified patient and his or 
her primary caregiver, as that is already limited to compensation for actual expenses. 

8. Ballot initiatives.  There are currently 15 marijuana-related initiatives cleared for circulation.  Only 
the Control, Regulate and Tax Adult Use of Marijuana Act has reached the 25% signature threshold 
requiring the proponents to immediately certify that the threshold has been met under penalty of 
perjury to the Secretary of State.  The circulation deadline for that initiative is July 5, 2016.  Similar 
to this bill, the Control, Regulate and Tax Adult Use of Marijuana Act imposes upon purchasers a 
15% excise tax on the gross receipts of any retail sale of marijuana or marijuana products. 

Costs: BOE administrative costs related to this bill are substantial.  These costs include: feepayer 
identification, notification, and registration; regulation development; manual and publication revisions; 
fee return design; computer programming; return, payment, and refund claim processing; audit and 
collection tasks; staff training; and public inquiry responses.  These costs are estimated to be $3.1 
million for Fiscal Year (FY) 2016-17; $5.4 million for FY 2017-18; $5.1 million for FY 2018-19; and $4.8 
million for 2019-20 and ongoing. 

Revenue Impact:  
Background, Methodology, and Assumptions.  Sales and use tax returns do not require medical 
marijuana to be specifically identified. From various external and internal sources, BOE staff identified 
1,623 accounts likely reporting medical marijuana sales in 2014. This figure may not include all active 
dispensaries; these are only the ones BOE staff identified as likely to be selling medical marijuana. 

                                                           
21 BPC Section 19319(b). 

http://www.oag.ca.gov/system/files/initiatives/pdfs/15-0103%20%28Marijuana%29_1.pdf?
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=BPC&sectionNum=19319.
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Given the infancy of this market, identifying reliable data is challenging; however, staff developed 
detailed assumptions, sources, and calculations that are shown in the Medical Marijuana Spending and 
Supply Sources table (page 9). Major assumptions are: 

• $220 per ounce is a typical price of medical marijuana (Line 3). 
• $1.3 billion is a reasonable estimate of the value of medical marijuana sales in 2014 (Line 6). 
• Extrapolating federal data on total U.S. recreational and medical marijuana prevalence rates, 

staff assumes the value of California medical marijuana sales will increase in the range of five to 
six percent per year from 2015 through 2019 (Line 7).22 

Revenue Summary.  Tax revenues associated with this bill are broken out based on various compliance 
rates: 

Excise Taxes   Revenues ($Millions) 
Compliance Assumption 100% 75% 50% 25% 
Estimated Medical Cannabis Sales (in billions)   $1.674  $1.674 $1.674 $1.674 
  Total (in billions) $0.251  $0.188  $0.126  $0.062  

Using the major assumptions above, staff estimates dispensaries to report sales of $1.674 billion of 
medical cannabis in fiscal year 2018-19. At a fee rate of 15%, revenues will range from $62.0 million to 
$251.0 million, depending on compliance rate. With an operative date of January 1, 2018, this revenue 
would be reduced by half to $31.0 million to $125.5 million in fiscal year 2018-19, depending on 
compliance rate. Revenues in following fiscal years are expected to range from $62.0 million to $251.0 
million, depending on compliance rate.  

Qualifying Remarks.  Extrapolating Colorado’s data based on a 2014 Congressional Research Service 
report implies that a 60% compliance rate would be a reasonable expectation.23 If compliance were 
60%, total excise tax revenues would be $151.0 million.  Using Washington State’s compliance rate of 
30%, total excise tax revenues would be $75.0 million. 

These estimates are highly uncertain and vary greatly depending on assumptions. Furthermore, staff 
continues to research the medical marijuana industry in California, and these estimates are subject to 
change to the extent that more accurate data is obtained. 

This revenue estimate does not account for any changes in economic activity that may or may not result 
from enactment of the proposed law. 

                                                           
22 Percentages vary for each year. They are based on statistical relationships using U.S. data from 2002 through 
2014 from the following publication: Behavioral health trends in the United States: Results from the 2014 National 
Survey on Drug Use and Health, Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality, HHS Publication No. SMA 15-
4927, NSDUH Series H-50. Retrieved from http://www.samhsa.gov/data/ 
23 Federal Proposals to Tax Marijuana: An Economic Analysis, Congressional Research Service, 2014. 
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This staff analysis is provided to address various administrative, cost, revenue and policy issues; it is not 
to be construed to reflect or suggest the BOE’s formal position. 

1   Total U.S. Marijuana Spending in 2014 ($ $47,489
Millions) What America’s Users Spend on Illegal 

Drugs: 2000-2010,  Office of National 
Drug Control Policy, 2014; projected to 
2014 using trend analysis by BOE staff

2   Total U.S. Marijuana Spending in 2014                    216 What America’s Users Spend on Illegal 
(Million Ounces) Drugs: 2000-2010; projected to 2014 

using trend analysis by BOE staff
3   Implied Average Price per Ounce $220 Line 1 / Line 2
4   Assumed California Percentage 13.9% The Effect of Medical Marijuana Laws 

on Marijuana, Alcohol, and Hard Drug 
Use,  National Bureau of Economic 
Research, Working Paper 20085, 2014; 
applied by BOE staff to CA population 
percentage of U.S.

5   Total CA Marijuana Spending in 2014 ($ 
Millions) $6,610 Line 1 x  Line 4

6 Medical Marijuana Spending in 2014 ($ $1,323 The State of Legal Marijuana Markets, 
Millions) 3rd edition, 2015, Arcview Market 

Research
7 Estimated Medical Marijuana Spending in Board staff estimates based on federal 

FY 2018-19 ($ Millions) $1,674 data 1/
8 Compliance Rate on Sales 100% Board staff estimates based on internal 

data
9 Estimated reported sales in FY 2018-19 ($ 

Millions) $1,674 Line 7 x Line 8
10 Fiscal Year 2018-19 Revenues            ($ 

Millions, Half-Year) $125.5 Line 9 x 0.15 x 0.50

1/ Percentages vary for each year. They are based on statistical relationships using U.S. data 
from 2002 through 2014 from the following publication: Behavioral health trends in the United
States: Results from the 2014 National Survey on Drug Use and Health,  Center for Behavioral
Health Statistics and Quality, HHS Publication No. SMA 15-4927, NSDUH Series H-50.
Retrieved from http://www.samhsa.gov/data/
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