State Board of Equalization

Retail Sales of
Cigarettes and Tobacco Products
in California

What All Retailers Should Know
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Welcome to the Board of Equalization’s presentation on Retail Sales of Cigarettes
and Tobacco Products. This presentation is designed to help retailers understand
the requirements for selling cigarettes and tobacco products in California. Although
focused on the retail sales aspect, some of this information also applies to
wholesalers and distributors.



California Cigarette and Tobacco

Products Licensing Act &

California
Cigarette and
Tobacco
Products
Licensing Act
of 2003

Effective January 1, 2004.

Main Act requirements for
sellers:

= |icense
= |nvoice retention

Increased the Board of Equalization’s (BOE)
administrative responsibilities.

Effective January 1, 2004, the Cigarette and Tobacco Products Licensing Act was
established. This was in response to the decline of tax revenues by hundreds of
millions of dollars per year. This decline was due, in part, to unlawful distributions
and untaxed sales of cigarettes and tobacco products. The Act established certain
license and invoice requirements while also increasing the Board of Equalization’s
role in administering the cigarette and tobacco tax laws.



Licensing

You must have a Cigarette and o
Tobacco Products Retailer’s ‘
License for each location.

EFFECTIVE DATE:

$100 per location.

State license is separate from
local tobacco license.

You can get an application when
you apply for your seller’s permit,
call Special Taxes & Fees Division
at 800-400-7115 or from the BOE
website.

The law requires all sellers of cigarette and tobacco products to register with the
Board of Equalization and obtain a Cigarette and Tobacco Products license for each
location from which sales are made. The cost of the retail license is a one-time fee
of $100 per location. The license issued by the BOE is separate from any city or
county license. It is best to check with your local jurisdiction to find out if a local
license is required.



Licensing

Valid for 12 months

Must be renewed annually.

If not renewed timely, a $100
reinstatement fee is required.

A Cigarette and Tobacco Products
License will not be issued if the
location is not registered with an
active seller’s permit.

The Cigarette and Tobacco Products License is issued by the Board’s Special
Taxes and Fees Division. A separate license is required for each retail location
where cigarettes and tobacco products are sold, and is valid for a 12-month period.
You will be required to renew your license prior to its expiration date. There is no
additional cost to renew your license; but if you do not timely renew your license
and it expires, a reinstatement fee will be due.

If you operate multiple retail locations, each location must already have an active
seller's permit or have been added to your existing seller’'s permit before a cigarette
and tobacco license can be issued. A cigarette and tobacco license from one
location cannot be used or transferred to your other location.



Licensing

You must have and display your
license before you can start
selling cigarettes or tobacco
products.

It can take 2 to 4 weeks to
receive your license.

A license is not assignable or transferable.

It is important to understand that simply submitting your application and fee does
not mean you can begin making sales of cigarettes or tobacco. You must have
received your license and display it at your place of business before you make any
sale of cigarettes or tobacco products. Although applications are promptly
processed by the Special Taxes and Fees Division, it may take 2 to 4 weeks before
you receive your license. Any questions you have about the license, or to check the
status of your application, please contact the Special Taxes and Fees Division by
calling the toll-free number 800-400-7115.



Licensing

Wholesaler or Distributor License

A Retailer’s license lets you make retail sales
only to end consumers.

You need a Distributor or Wholesaler license to
sell to wholesalers or other retailers.

Contact the Special Taxes & Fees Division for
more information regarding these licenses.

A retailer’s cigarette and tobacco license allows you to make retail sales to legal-
aged consumers. If you want to engage in sales of cigarette and tobacco products
to other retailers or wholesalers, then you are required to obtain a separate
wholesaler or distributor license. Sales to other retailers, wholesalers, or distributors
are illegal if you are not properly licensed. For more information on obtaining a
distributor or wholesaler license, please contact the Special Taxes and Fees
Division of the Board of Equalization.



