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California State Board of 
Equalization 

Welcome to the Board of Equalization’s presentation on Retail Sales of Cigarettes 
and Tobacco Products. 
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Retail Sales of 
Cigarettes and Tobacco Products 

in California 

What All Retailers Should Know 

This presentation is designed to help retailers understand the requirements for 
selling cigarettes and tobacco products in California.  Although focused on the retail 
sales aspect, some of this information also applies to wholesalers and distributors. 
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California Cigarette and Tobacco 

Products Licensing Act 

 Effective January 1, 2004. 

 For sellers of cigarette and tobacco                   
products in California, the Act 
established, among other things: 

 Licensing requirement 

 Invoice requirements 

 Increased the Board of Equalization’s (BOE) 
administrative responsibilities regarding cigarette 
and tobacco tax laws. 

Effective January 1, 2004 the Cigarette and Tobacco Products Licensing Act was 
established. This was in response to the decline of tax revenues by hundreds of 
millions of dollars per year. This decline was due, in part, to unlawful distributions 
and untaxed sales of cigarettes and tobacco products.  The Act established certain 
license and invoice requirements while also increasing the Board of Equalization’s 
role in administering the cigarette and tobacco tax laws. 
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Licensing 

 To sell cigarettes or tobacco
products at retail, you must apply 
for a Cigarette and Tobacco 
Products Retailer’s License for each 

location.
 

 This state license is separate from any local city 
tobacco licenses required. 

 You will receive an application for a license when 
you apply for your seller’s permit or you may call the 
Excise Taxes Division at 800-400-7115. 

 The current one-time fee is $100 per location. 

The law requires all sellers of cigarette and tobacco products to register with the 
Board of Equalization and obtain a Cigarette and Tobacco Products license for each 
location from which sales are made.  The cost of the retail license is a one-time fee 
of $100. The license issued by the Board is separate from any city or county 
license. It is best to check with your local jurisdiction to find out if a local license is 
required. 
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Licensing 

 The license is valid for a 12-month                     
period and required to be renewed                
annually. 

 A reinstatement fee of $100 is                        
required if a license is not renewed timely. 

 If adding a location, the new location must be added 
to the seller’s permit before a cigarette and tobacco 
product license can be activated for the new location. 

The Cigarette and Tobacco Products License is issued by the Board’s Excise Taxes 
Division.  A separate license is required for each retail location where cigarettes and 
tobacco products are sold, and is valid for a 12-month period.  You will be required 
to renew your license prior to its expiration date.  There is no additional cost to 
renew your license; but if you do not timely renew your license and it expires, a 
reinstatement fee will be due. 

If you operate multiple retail locations, each location must already have an active 
seller’s permit or have been added to your existing seller’s permit before a cigarette 
and tobacco license can be issued. A cigarette and tobacco license from one 
location cannot be used or transferred to your other location. 
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Licensing 

 Submitting an application and fee                            
does not mean sales of cigarettes                      
or tobacco products can begin. The                  
retailer must be in possession of the 

license and it must be displayed.
 

 Applications are promptly processed but may take 
2 to 4 weeks for a license to be issued.  

 A license is not assignable or transferable. 

It is important to understand that simply submitting your application and fee does 
not mean you can begin making sales of cigarettes or tobacco. You must have 
received your license and display it at your place of business before you make any 
sale of cigarettes or tobacco products.   Although applications are promptly 
processed by the Excise Taxes Division, it may take 2 to 4 weeks before you 
receive your license. Any questions you have about the license, or to check the 
status of your application, please contact the Excise Taxes Division by calling the 
toll-free number 800-400-7115. 
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Licensing 

Wholesaler or Distributor License 

 A Retailer’s cigarette and tobacco license allows you
to make retail sales only to legal-aged consumers.  

 To engage in sales of cigarette and tobacco 
products to other retailers or wholesalers, you must
obtain a separate Distributor or Wholesaler License.
Sales to other retailers, wholesalers, or distributors 
are illegal if you are not properly licensed.  

 For more information on obtaining a Distributor or 
Wholesaler License, contact the Excise Taxes 
Division. 

A Retailer’s cigarette and tobacco license allows you to make retail sales to legal-
aged consumers. If you want to engage in sales of cigarette and tobacco products 
to other retailers or wholesalers, then you are required to obtain a separate 
Wholesaler or Distributor License.  Sales to other retailers, wholesalers, or 
distributors are illegal if you are not properly licensed.  For more information on 
obtaining a Distributor or Wholesaler License, please contact the Excise Taxes 
Division of the Board of Equalization. 
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Inspections 

 BOE routinely conducts                     
inspections of all businesses                       
selling cigarettes and/or
                        
tobacco products.
 

 Inspections are unscheduled but are conducted
during normal business hours. 

 Inspections are conducted by the Investigations 
Division staff of the BOE. 

As a retailer of cigarette and tobacco products, you can expect the Board of 
Equalization to stop in for a routine inspection of your store. The law allows 
inspections to take place anywhere cigarettes or tobacco products are sold, 
produced, or stored. The inspections are not scheduled but will be conducted 
during normal business operating hours.  These inspections are completed by the 
Board’s Investigations Division. The inspection will be performed in a reasonable 
manner and time, taking into consideration your business’s operating hours, service 
to customers, or other retail functions. 
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Inspections 

Inspectors will: 

 Identify themselves, show their BOE 
identification, and give their business card. 

 Explain why they are there and what they will 
be inspecting. 

 Ask the person behind the counter for 
identification and their relation to the business 
(i.e., owner, relative, employee, etc.). 

Upon arrival at your location, the Inspectors will introduce themselves, show their 
Board of Equalization identification, provide their business cards, and explain the 
purpose of the inspection.  The inspectors will ask the on-site person in control of 
your business, if they are an owner, manager, or employee and will also request 
identification. 
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Inspections 

Inspectors will also: 

 Ask where cigarette and tobacco
products are stored and request
permission to inspect these areas. 

 Request access to any secured
cigarette/tobacco storage areas. 

 Check to see that the cigarette/tobacco retailer’s 
license (LRQ) and seller’s permit are posted. 

 Verify that registration information for the business
is accurate. 

Inspectors will ask where the cigarette and tobacco products are stored and request 
permission to inspect these areas.  Inspectors will also ask for access to any 
secured storage areas. They will check to see if the cigarette and tobacco license 
and the seller’s permit are posted.  During the course of the inspection, the 
inspectors will also verify and update your registration information. 
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Inspections 

 Verify the STAKE Act sign is posted. 

If not visible, they will provide a sign.
 

 Check to see that single sticks of

cigarettes are not being sold.
 

 Check that all cigarette packs are

stamped and scan the stamps to 

verify that the tax stamps are valid.
 

 Verify all cigarettes are listed on the California Tobacco
Directory. Note: as of 9/22/09 flavored cigarettes are 
banned from sale in the U.S. and are subject to seizure. 

A STAKE Act sign (which warns about sales to minors) is required to be posted by 

retailers selling cigarette and tobacco products. If one is not visible or the one you 

have is worn, the inspector will provide you with a new sign.
 

Be aware that it is illegal to sell single sticks of cigarettes.
 

During the course of the inspection, cigarettes will be visually inspected to make 

certain all cigarette packs are stamped with a California tax stamp.  Cigarettes will 

also be scanned to verify that the tax stamps are valid.
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California Tobacco 
Directory 

Only cigarette brands and roll-
your-own tobacco products listed 
in the Attorney General's California
Tobacco Directory may be: 
 sold 

 offered for sale, or 

 possessed for sale in California 

For the current list of tobacco product manufacturers 
and brand families that are certified as being in 
compliance with California law, go to the Attorney 
General’s website at: 

http://ag.ca.gov/tobacco/directory.htm 

Only cigarette brands and roll-your-own tobacco products listed on the Attorney 
General’s California Tobacco Directory may be sold, offered for sale, or possessed 
for sale in California. The Directory lists both the brand name and manufacturer’s 
name. Inspectors will verify that cigarette and tobacco products at your retail 
location are on the Directory, making them legal to sell.  Please note that a federal 
ban on all flavored cigarettes and roll-your-own tobacco products went into effect 
September 22, 2009, and are subject to seizure.  These flavored products have 
been removed from the California Tobacco Directory and can no longer be legally 
sold. You can obtain a copy of the Directory by visiting the Attorney General’s 
website. 

http://ag.ca.gov/tobacco/directory.htm
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We will also: 

 Verify that all cigarettes 
comply with AB 178 – the 

California Cigarette Fire

Safety and Firefighter 

Protection Act.
 

 As of January 1, 2007, only cigarettes certified by
the manufacturer and approved by the Office of
the State Fire Marshall as self-extinguishing may 
be sold in California. 

Inspections 

Inspectors will also verify all cigarettes comply with the California Cigarette 
Fire Safety and Firefighter Protection Act (also known as AB 178).  
Cigarettes purchased and sold after January 1, 2007, are required to be 
certified by the manufacture and approved by the State Fire Marshal as self-
extinguishing.  Cigarettes listed on the California Tobacco Directory have 
been certified and approved by the State Fire Marshal. 
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Inspections 

You can also expect us to: 

 Ask for the last 12 months of purchase            
invoices for cigarette and tobacco products. 

 Verify that excise tax is paid on all tobacco 
products. 

Note: All tobacco products are  considered untaxed unless 
proof of excise taxes paid is provided. 

During the inspection, you will be asked to provide the last 12 months of your 
cigarette and tobacco purchase invoices.  In part, the invoices are used to make 
sure the excise tax has been paid on all tobacco products.  By statute, all tobacco 
products are considered untaxed unless proof is provided that the excise tax has 
been paid. A valid purchase invoice will confirm the payment of excise taxes. 
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Inspections 

The inspectors will also: 

 Reconcile your purchase invoices 
with the cigarette and tobacco
inventory on hand. 

 Verify invoices are valid and are from a licensed 
distributor/wholesaler. 

Note: You can determine if a distributor’s or wholesaler’s 
license is valid on the BOE’s website at: 

www.boe.ca.gov 

Your purchase invoices will also be used to reconcile your cigarette and tobacco 
inventory on hand. While reviewing your invoices, Inspectors will check to see if 
they are valid and purchased from a licensed wholesaler or distributor.  Cigarette 
and Tobacco Product License numbers can be validated by checking the Board’s 
website. 

http:www.boe.ca.gov
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Invoices 

A valid cigarette or tobacco product purchase 

invoice must be legible and contain:
 

 The name, address, telephone number, and license 
number of the wholesaler/distributor from whom the 
cigarettes and/or tobacco products were purchased. 

 Retailer’s name, address, and license number. 

 The amount of CA excise taxes paid. 

 An itemized list of products purchased. 

 Date of purchase. 

Purchases invoices for cigarette and tobacco products must be legible, include the 
date of the purchase, an itemized list of products purchased and the name, 
address, telephone number, and license number of the wholesaler or distributor.  It 
must also contain your name, address and license number.  The amount of excise 
taxes paid or a statement that excise taxes have been paid must also be included 
on the invoice.  Purchase invoices that do not include all the required information 
may be considered invalid. 
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of a Valid 
Purchase 
Invoice 

 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 
  

 
                    
 
         
 

 
 

  
 
 
  

 

 

  
  

 
  
 

 
 

           
   
  

   
   

   
  

 
       
   
 
  

        
 
             

MELISSA’S WHOLESALE 
123 Wholesale Avenue 
Anytown, CA 95000 
(222) 555-1234 
LD Q ET 90-000000 

Bill To: 

 Joanna Shopkeeper 
Linda’s Smoke Shop

 456 Smokey Drive 
Anycity, CA 96000 
LR Q ET 91-999999 

Description 

COPENHAGEN
COPENHAGEN LONGCUT 
COPENHAGEN POUCH 
SKOAL STRAIGHT 
SKOAL WINTERGREEN 
SKOAL MINT 
SKOAL FINECUT 

Invoice 
Number 1066 

   Date: June 1, 2008 

Ship To: 

 Joanna Shopkeeper 
Linda’s Smoke Shop 
456 Smokey Drive 
Anycity, CA 96000 
LR Q ET 91-999999 

Quantity Price Each Amount 

 81.00   41.99 3,401.19 
63.00 20.99 1,322.37 
10.00 20.99 209.90 
9.00 41.99 377.91 
9.00 41.99 377.91 
9.00 41.99 377.91 
9.00 41.99 377.91 

6,445.10 Subtotoal 
Excise Tax 2,908.68

TOTAL $ 9,353.78 

0 – 30 days 31 – 60 days 61 – 90 days > 90 days Total 

$9,353.78 $9,353.78 

   

This is an example of a valid purchase invoice.  It contains all the necessary 
information previously mentioned and clearly shows that excise taxes have been 
paid on the purchase. 

http:9,353.78
http:9,353.78
http:9,353.78
http:2,908.68
http:6,445.10
http:1,322.37
http:3,401.19
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Invalid Invoice 

Reasons this invoice is 
not valid: 

 Missing distributor or 
wholesaler information 
from whom the cigarettes 
and/or tobacco products 
were purchased. 

 Missing the retailer’s 
address and license 
number. 

 The amount of excise  
tax paid is not listed on 
the invoice. 

This is an example of an invalid invoice.  It is missing much of the required invoice 
information. Invalid invoices will not be accepted as proof of excise taxes paid and 
may result in the seizure of your product.  As a prudent business person, you 
should ensure your supplier provides you with a valid invoice. 
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Seizures 
Seizures of cigarettes or tobacco   
can occur for many reasons,           
including: 

       

 Counterfeit, counterfeit-stamped,        
unstamped, or out-of-state stamped
cigarettes. 

 Cigarettes “Not for Sale in U.S.” 

 Cigarettes not listed in the Attorney 
General’s CA Tobacco Directory. 

 Untaxed Tobacco: 
 Products purchased from an unlicensed 


out-of-state supplier.
 

 Products not supported by valid purchase invoices. 

The Cigarette and Tobacco Products Licensing Act provides broad authorities to the 
Board of Equalization, including the seizure of untaxed cigarette and tobacco 
products. 
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Seizures 

Products will also be seized if: 

 Cigarettes or tobacco products 
are sold while a cigarette and 
tobacco license is suspended or 
revoked. 

 There is continued unlicensed sales of 
cigarettes or tobacco. 

Note: Products seized for continued unlicensed sales or during a 
period of suspension or revocation are deemed forfeited to  the State. 

The Act also authorizes the Board to seize cigarette and tobacco products from 
retailers who make unlicensed sales or sales while their license is suspended or 
revoked. 
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Top Two Reasons for Cigarette 
Seizures in FY 2008-09 

 Unstamped cigarettes. 

 Cigarettes not listed on 
the California Tobacco 
Directory. 

The top two reasons the Board seized cigarettes in fiscal year 2008-2009 were for 
possession of unstamped cigarettes and for possession of cigarettes not listed on 
the California Tobacco Directory. 
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Seizures 

What happens if products are
   
subject to seizure?
 

 The BOE inspector will take a physical 
inventory of what is to be seized and list
the products seized on the Receipt for 
Property Seized form. The form includes: 

 Date and time of seizure 

 Name and signature of BOE inspector seizing the 
product 

 Name of the owner of items seized (i.e., sole 
proprietor, LLC, corporation, etc.) and business 
address where seizure occurred 

If a seizure of product is necessary, the Board will physically take control of the 
product and provide you with a Receipt for Property Seized.  The receipt will include 
the date and time of seizure, a list of the items seized, the name and signature of 
the Board inspector, and the owner’s name. 
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Seizures 

The Receipt also includes: 

 Name  of the person in control 
of the property (may be ow  ner 
or employee), their address 
and signature. 

Note: Signing the Receipt does  not  
waive any petition rights; it only  
confirms that what is listed on the 
seizure form is accurate. 

 Details of items seized; this will 
include a description of the 
product, quantities of each, 
and the reason for the seizure. 

 A copy of the  Receipt will be 
provided at the time of the 
seizure. 

Inspectors will review the receipt with you or your on-site representative at the time 
of inspection and provide an explanation of why the product is being seized.  You or 
your representative will be given the opportunity to verify the receipt and then be 
asked to sign the receipt.  A copy of the receipt will be left at the inspection site.  
Signing the receipt does not waive your petition rights or admit guilt; it simply 
confirms the items seized. 
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Seizures 

When inspectors seize 

cigarette or tobacco
  
products, the BOE is required to notify business

owners in writing:
 

 That their product was seized. 

 What was seized. 

 When it occurred. 

 Their petition rights. 

This information is mailed to the business owner(s) 
with the Notice of Seizure and Forfeiture. 

When a seizure is made, the Board of Equalization is required to notify the business 
owner in writing. A “Notice of Seizure and Forfeiture” letter will be mailed to notify 
the owner a seizure occurred, the date of the seizure, a description of the products 
seized, and an explanation of their right to petition for the release of the product. 
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Seizures 

The Notice will be mailed to: 

 The business mailing address      
for sole proprietors. 

 The business mailing address and             
personal residence of each partner in a     
partnership. 

 The business mailing address and agent of service as 
listed with the Secretary of State for a corporation or LLC. 

A petition form for the release of property seized is 
included with the Notice. 

             
        

If your business is a sole proprietorship, the Notice will be mailed to your business 
mailing address. If your business is a partnership, it will be mailed to your business 
mailing address and personal residence of each partner.  For corporations, the 
Notice is mailed to the corporation’s business mailing address and the agent of 
service as recorded with the Secretary of State.  Included in the Notice is a petition 
form for the release of the property seized. 
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Seizures 

To request the return of 
property seized, a Verified 
Petition for Release or 
Recovery of Property must be 
filed in writing within 20 days 
from the date of the Notice of 
Seizure and Forfeiture. 

Note: The Board of Equalization is not legally 
permitted to return seized cigarettes or tobacco 
products unless they were erroneously or illegally 
seized. 

To request the return of property seized, you must file a Verified Petition for 
Release or Recovery of Property in writing within 20 days from the date of the 
Notice of Seizure and Forfeiture.  It is important that you read and understand all 
seizure-related correspondence sent to you by the Board of Equalization. If you 
have any questions, please don’t hesitate to get in touch with a Board 
representative. 
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Seizures 

 If cigarettes or tobacco products are 
seized due to continued “unlicensed” 
sales or sales during a period of 
suspension or revocation, a BOE-881, 

Property Receipt is issued. 


 The inspector will fully explain the reason for this 
type of seizure. 

Note: Products seized under these circumstances are deemed 
forfeited to the State and may not be petitioned for their return. 
Products legally forfeited to the State are not returnable. 

If your products are seized due to continued unlicensed sales or sales made while 
your license is suspended or revoked, you will receive a Property Receipt listing the 
items seized. Products seized under these circumstances are deemed forfeited to 
the State. Products legally forfeited to the State are not returnable. 
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Public Notice of Seizure 

The BOE is required to publicly notice the seizure 
of cigarette or tobacco products when: 

 The seizure is 61 or more cartons of cigarettes, 

 The wholesale cost of tobacco products seized is
equivalent to 61 cartons of cigarettes, or 

 The combined value of cigarettes and tobacco products 
seized is equivalent to 61 cartons of cigarettes. 

Notice of Seizure Website: 
www.boe.ca.gov/news/seizurecigtoboprod.htm 

The Board is required to provide a public notice of seizure of cigarettes or tobacco 

products
 

- when the seizure of cigarettes is more than 60 cartons,
 

- when the wholesale cost of tobacco products seized is equivalent to 61 cartons of
 
cigarettes,
 

- or when the combined value of cigarettes and tobacco products is equal to 61 

cartons of cigarettes.
 

This public notice is posted on the Board’s website.
 

www.boe.ca.gov/news/seizurecigtoboprod.htm
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What happens to seized
product? 

 

 Seized property is stored in a
secured area as evidence. 

 When the petition process is complete and 
no further action is necessary, the evidence
custodian will destroy forfeited products. 

 The time between seizure and destruction of 
property seized will vary depending on the
circumstances of the seizure and/or length of
petition process. 

When product is seized, it is stored in a secured area as evidence.  Once the 
petition process is complete and no further action is necessary, the product will be 
destroyed to a point it is no longer marketable.  The product is not resold or 
reintroduced into the marketplace. 
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Citations 

If violations of the cigarette and 
tobacco tax laws are found during 
an inspection, a citation may be 
issued by the inspector. 

If violations of the cigarette and tobacco tax laws are identified during an inspection, 
a citation may be issued by the inspector. A citation is a notice of a violation of the 
law. 
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What is a citation? 

 A citation is a “civil” or a “criminal” 
notice for violations of the law. 

 Citations may be issued for violation              
of the: 

 Cigarette and Tobacco Licensing Act 

 California Cigarette and Tobacco Tax Laws 

 Sales and Use Tax Laws 

Citations may be issued for violations of the Cigarette and Tobacco Licensing Act, 
the California Cigarette and Tobacco Tax Law, or Sales and Use Tax Laws.  
Inspectors may issue either a civil citation or a criminal citation. 
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Civil Citation 
Form 

A Civil Citation is handled by the Board’s Excise Taxes Division.  A Criminal 
Citation, also referred to as a Notice to Appear, is a criminal misdemeanor citation 
and will be forwarded to the local District Attorney’s Office.  If you receive a criminal 
citation, the citation will include the date, time, and place where you are required to 
appear in court.  The criminal citation you receive from the inspector may be your 
only notice for court appearance; the court may or may not send you a separate 
notice before your scheduled court date. 
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Top Three Violations 

Cited in FY 2008-09
 

 Purchase invoices for 1 year not
available at retail location. 

 Sale or possession of untaxed
tobacco products. 

 Sale or possession of unstamped
cigarettes. 

The top three violations cited in 2008-2009 were for
 

- lack of 12 months of “valid” purchase invoices at the business location,
 

- sale or possession of untaxed tobacco products, and 


- sale or possession of unstamped cigarettes. 
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How can violations be avoided?
 

 Make sure your cigarette/tobacco 

license is displayed. 

 Keep 12 months of valid purchase 

invoices on the premises. Invoices 

should show excise taxes paid. 

 Buy from licensed distributors/ 

wholesalers. 

 Sell only cigarettes and roll-your-

own tobacco products that are 

listed on the California Tobacco 

Directory. 

The most common violation can be avoided by keeping 12 months of valid purchase 
invoices on the premises. The purchase invoices validate that excise taxes have 
been paid on the tobacco products and substantiates purchases have been made 
from a licensed person.  Keep your active valid license posted and routinely check 
your cigarette and roll-your-own tobacco inventory against the California Tobacco 
Directory to avoid some of the other most commonly cited violations. 
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What happens when a
citation is issued? 

 The BOE inspector will fully explain  
why the citation is issued and the       
specific section(s) of law violated. 

 Civil citations are handled by the        
BOE Excise Taxes Division. 

 Criminal citations are processed through the Courts. 

 The inspector will explain the citation process to you,
including your right to appeal. 

In the event you are issued a citation, the inspector will explain why you were 
issued the citation and the section of the law that was violated.  You will be asked to 
sign the citation. Please note that your signature on the citation is not an admission 
of guilt, only an acknowledgment that a copy of the citation was given to you.  As 
previously mentioned, civil citations are handled by the Board’s Excise Taxes 
Division and criminal citations are processed through the courts. 
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Penalties and Fines 

Depending on the violations cited, penalties may 
include but are not limited to: 

 A Warning Notice. 

 Suspension or revocation of license. 

 Fines up to $50,000. 

 Imprisonment not to exceed 1 year. 

 Both fines and imprisonment. 

The level of penalty imposed as a result of a civil or 
criminal citation will depend on type of violation and 
frequency of offense. 

A citation could result in fines, penalties and restrictions on your license.  Depending 

on the violations, penalties may include 


- a warning notice, 


- a suspension or revocation of your license, 


- a fine of up to $50,000 and/or imprisonment of up to 1 year.  


The level of the fines, penalties and restrictions on your license will depend on the
 
type of violation and the frequency of the offenses. 
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Penalties and Fines 

In the case of criminal citations: 

 Additional civil penalties may be
assessed by the BOE in addition 
to penalties imposed by the court. 

 These additional penalties may include suspension or 
revocation of the cigarette and tobacco license and
possible fines. 

 Civil fines assessed by the BOE will be reduced by any
court fines imposed. 

Fines and penalties imposed as a result of a criminal citation are assessed by the 
Courts.  However, additional civil penalties may also be imposed by the Board of 
Equalization.  These additional civil penalties may include added fines and 
suspension or revocation of your license. Civil fines assessed by the Board will be 
offset and reduced by any fines imposed by the Court. 
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Suspended License 

 A suspended cigarette and tobacco license 
prohibits the sale of cigarettes or tobacco products 
at the business location cited. 

 Suspensions may range from 10 to 30 days. 

 The BOE website lists businesses with suspended 
Cigarette and Tobacco Product Licenses. 

www.boe.ca.gov/sptaxprog/spexcise.htm 

If your license is suspended as a result of a citation or seizure, the period of 
suspension can range from 10 to 30 days.  The Board’s website maintains a list of 
all businesses with a suspended Cigarette and Tobacco Product License. 

www.boe.ca.gov/sptaxprog/spexcise.htm
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Revoked License 

Selling cigarettes or            
tobacco products while a 
cigarette and tobacco 
license is suspended will 
result in the revocation of 
the license. 

 Revocations are: 

 Location specific. 

 For a minimum of 6 months. 

If you sell cigarettes or tobacco products during your suspension period, all the 
cigarettes and tobacco products at that business location may be seized, additional 
fines or penalties imposed, and your license revoked.  At a minimum, your license 
will be revoked for 6 months. The revocation of your cigarette and tobacco license 
does not affect your seller’s permit or your ability to make other sales. 
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Revoked License 

Revocation of a cigarette and tobacco product 
license will also occur: 

 When a seller’s permit becomes revoked. 

 For a felony conviction.
 

Example:
 
 Counterfeiting tax stamps.  

 Tax evasion of $25,000 or more in tax in 12 
consecutive months. 

 Any permit revoked under any provisions of the 
Revenue and Taxation Code. 

The revocation of a cigarette and tobacco product license will also occur when a 
seller’s permit becomes revoked or when an individual has a felony conviction.  
Examples of felony convictions can include a person convicted for counterfeiting tax 
stamps or evasion of $25,000 or more in tax in 12 consecutive months.  A license 
may also be revoked if any other permit required by the Board of Equalization is 
revoked under provisions of the Revenue and Taxation Code. 
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Appeals 

 If a citation is issued, a Warning 
Notice or a Notice of Violation is 
mailed by the Excise Taxes Division. 

 Taxpayer appeal rights are
described in the Notice. 

 A written request to appeal must be received
within 10 days from the date of the Notice. 

 If the request is not received timely, the appeal may
not be granted and the violation will remain on record. 

If you are issued a citation, you will receive a Warning Notice or a Notice of 
Violation from the Excise Taxes Division.  The Notice is sent to provide you with an 
explanation of your rights to appeal the citation.  A form to file an appeal is included 
in the mailing.  The appeal form or any written request to appeal must be received 
within 10 days from the date of the Notice.  If the request is not received timely, the 
appeal may not be granted and the violation will remain on record and penalties 
imposed. 
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 There are two levels of 
appeals. 

 The first level of appeal is a
conference conducted by a 
Hearing Officer of the Excise Taxes Division. 

 A representative of the Investigations Division is 
included in these conferences. 

 All appeal conferences are conducted by telephone. 

Appeals 

If you submit a written appeal, you will be contacted by the Excises Taxes Division 
to schedule an appeal conference.  All appeal conferences are conducted by 
telephone. There are two levels of appeal; the first is conducted by a Hearing 
Officer of the Excise Taxes Division.  A representative of the Investigations Division 
is included at this first level appeal conference in support of the citation issued. 
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Appeals 

A Notice of Decision is mailed by
the Excise Taxes Division within 
4 to 6 weeks after the first level 
appeal conference. 

 If there is disagreement with the outcome
of the first level decision, the decision may
be appealed within 10 days from the date
of the Notice for a second level conference. 

 The second level conference is held by the Appeals
Division of the BOE. 

After the first level appeal conference is completed, you will receive a Notice of 
Decision within 4 to 6 weeks from the Excise Taxes Division.  If you disagree with 
the decision, you may appeal for a second level conference.  Your request must be 
received within 10 days from the date of the Notice of Decision. 
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Appeals 

 The Appeals Division will issue a Notice of Decision 
of the outcome of the second level appeal
conference.  

 The decision of this appeal conference is final unless 
the outcome is a revocation or a fine over $2,500. 

 Revocations and fines over $2,500 may be appealed
for a hearing before the BOE’s elected Board. 

 The Board Hearing is the final step of the appeal 
process with the BOE. 

The Board’s Appeals Division will conduct the second level appeal conference and 
will issue its Notice of Decision.  The decision from this appeal conference is final 
unless the outcome of the second level appeal results in a revocation of your 
license or a fine of over $2,500. Decisions resulting in a revocation or a fine over 
$2,500 may be appealed for a hearing before the Board of Equalization’s elected 
Board. A Board Hearing is the final step of the appeal process with the Board of 
Equalization. 
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Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate 

If you have been unable to 
resolve an issue with the 
Board, or if you would like 
to know more about your 
rights under the law, 
contact the Taxpayers’ 
Rights Advocate at: 

888-324-2798 

www.boe.ca.gov/tra/tra.htm 

When you have exhausted all other avenues, the Taxpayers’ Rights Advocates 
office is available to step in and help you. They can also explain more about your 
rights under the law. 

www.boe.ca.gov/tra/tra.htm
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For more information… 

The following publications are available on the BOE website: 

www.boe.ca.gov 

 BOE-400-LR, Application for Retailer’s Cigarette and Tobacco 
Products License 

 Pub 78, Sales of Cigarettes and Tobacco Products in California 

 Pub 93, Cigarette and Tobacco Product Taxes 

 Pub 152, Cigarette and Tobacco Product Inspections 

 Pub 161, Criminal Citations Include a Civil Administration 
Process 

Note: Some publications are available in multiple languages. 

The Board has several publications related to the sale of cigarette and tobacco 
products in California and can be viewed on the Board’s website.  Some of these 
publications are also available in multiple languages. 

http:www.boe.ca.gov
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Get it in Writing 
A person must make a request in writing for advice from 
the Board whether an activity or transaction is subject to 
tax, and the request must fully describe the specific facts 
and circumstances of the activity or transaction. 

Board of Equalization
 
Audit and Information Section
 

450 N Street; MIC 44
 
Sacramento, CA 95814
 

Revenue and Taxation code section 6596 – “Excusable Delay-Reliance 
on Advice”, states: 

“If the Board finds that a person’s failure to make a timely return or 
payment is due to the person’s reasonable reliance on written advice 
from the Board, the person may be relieved of taxes imposed by §6051 
and §6201 and any penalty or interest added thereto…” 

Your specific situation may not have been covered in this presentation. If you need 
additional information, please send us your detailed request in writing to: 

Board of Equalization 

Audit and Information Section 

450 N Street, MIC:44 

Sacramento, CA 95814 
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E-mail Notifications 

To get the latest information on 

changes or updates related to 

the sales of cigarette and tobacco products, 

you can register for E-mail notification at 

the BOE website listed below.  As information 
becomes available, notices will be automatically 
e-mailed to you. 

http://www.boe.ca.gov/sptaxprog/etfd/index.htm 

To receive notices with the latest tax information related to the sales of cigarette 
and tobacco products in California, you can register for E-Mail Notifications through 
the Board’s website. Once registered, notices will be automatically e-mailed to you 
with new information such as tobacco tax rate changes, reinstatement fee 
requirements, or other related information. 

http://www.boe.ca.gov/sptaxprog/etfd/index.htm
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Contact information… 

 For information regarding licenses, civil citations,
petitions, or appeals: 

Excise Taxes Division, MIC:56 
State Board of Equalization 
PO Box 942879 Phone: 800-400-7115 
Sacramento, CA 94279-0056 Fax: 916-323-9297 

 For information regarding inspections, seizures, or
criminal citations: 

Investigations Division, MIC:42 
State Board of Equalization 
PO Box 942879 Phone: 916-324-0105 
Sacramento, CA 94279-0042 Fax: 916-324-1578 

For more information or questions regarding licensing, civil citation status, petitions 
for recovery of property seized, or appeals, you may contact the Excise Taxes 
Division. 

For additional information or questions regarding inspections, seizures, or criminal 
citations, you may contact the Investigations Division. 

Thank you for taking the time to review this online information. We hope the 
presentation has been both useful and informative for you.  If you wish to attend an 
instructor-led class on this same topic, please check the Board’s Free Tax Seminar 
website for currently scheduled classes. 


