SALES OF CIGARETTES
AND TOBACCO PRODUCTS
IN CALIFORNIA

A Guide for Wholesalers and Distributors




THE LAW

The California Cigarette and
Tobacco Products Licensing Act
requires all sellers of cigarettes
and tobacco products to be
licensed with the State Board of
Equalization (BOE):

Retailers

Wholesalers

Distributors

Importers
Manufacturers

[,

......

California
Cigarette and
Tobacco
Products
Licensing Act
of 2003




Electronic Smoking Devices

As of January 1, 2017, electronic smoking or
“vaping” devices such as e-cigarettes are defined as
“tobacco products” for purposes of the state tobacco
license requirement.
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STATE LICENSE




STATE LICENSE

Apply for a license online at
www.boe.ca.gov/elecsrv/ereg. cnrcms e s

CIGARETTE AND TOBACCO PRODUCTS LICENSING ACT OF 2003
WHOLESALER'S LICENSE

LICENSE NUMBER

Pay all applicable license fees. !

BUSINESS MAILING ADDRESS:

EFFECTIVE DATE:

Must have and display license s

SECTION 22370} OF THE CALIFORMIA BUSINES'S
AND PROFESSIONS CODE.

before you can sell. R = e ntaa

CHGARETTES OR TORACCO PRODUCTS.
THIS LICEMSE IS VALID FOR THE EFFECTIVE DATE OR UNTIL SUSPENDED, REVOKED, OR CANCELED, AND 15 NOT TRAN
FOR GENERAL TAX QUESTIONS PLEASE TELEFHOME OUR TAXPAYER INFORMATION SECTION AT B00-400-7115 (TTY: 711).
FOR INFORMATION ON YOUR RIGHTS, CONTACT THE TAXPAYERS' DFFICE AT
BOEMZLW REV. 3311

Applications may take 7-10 st 1o e s e
days to process. 2ot e ettt e S 2

following informational sources:
+ The Cigarette and Tobaceo Products Licensing Act of 2003 found under Division £.6 (commencing with saction
22070) of the Califoria Business and Professions Code.
= Our website at www boe. @ gov

Upon approval of your o i

As & wholesales. you are expected to mantsin the normal books and records of a prudent businessperson. You are

required to maintain these books and records for o less than four years, and make them available for inspection by a

L] L] L] L]
Board of Equalization (BOE) representative when requested. In addiion, you must keep the records on fie at the location
y identified on your Beense for at least one year after the date of purchase. Spedfic reguirements are set forth in the

Cigarette and Tobacco Products Licensing Act of 2003

H H You must notfy us if you &re buying, seling. adding a location, or discontinuing your business, adding or dropping &

sent to vou wi our license ot s g s e e s s
type of ownarship and location specified on the license. A person wha obtains 2 licanse as a wholesaler who coases o

do business, o wha never commenced business, or whose license has been suspended or revoked, shall aisa notify the

L]
BOE immediately by writing to the State Board of Equalization, Special Taxes and Fees, P.0. Box 842070, Sacramento,
a n o e r I m p o r a n CA 94279-0088 in order to make armangements to sumender the license, or by giving the license to a BOE representative
IF you would Bke o know more about your rights 8s a taxpayer, or f you are unable to resolve an issue with the BOE,

L] L]
please contact the Taxpayers Rights Advocate office for help by caling, 8883242798 or 016-324-2798. Their fax
O numeer is 916-323-3310

STATE BOARD OF EQUALIZATION
Specidl Taxes and Fees

= There may be local tobacco
requirements/fees separate
from the BOE license.



Which license do you need?

= Retailer license (LRQ):
Allows you to sell only to legal-aged consumers.
Annual fee of $265 per location.

Valid for 12 months; renewed annually; renewal reminder sent 60 days in
advance.

®= Wholesaler license (LWQ):

Allows you to obtain and sell tax-paid tobacco products to retailers and
other wholesalers.

Annual fee of $1,200 per location.
Valid for a calendar year (Jan - Dec); renewal reminder emailed in October.

= Distributor license (LDQ):

Allows you to sell tax-paid tobacco products to retailers, wholesalers, and
other distributors.

Annual fee of $1,200 per location.
Valid for a calendar year (Jan - Dec); renewal reminder emailed in October.

Security deposit required.



License:

License Type Old Application Fee New Application Fee
(On or before June 8, 2016) (On or After June 9, 2016)

Retailer $100 per location $265 per location
Wholesaler/Distributor  $1,000 per location $1,200 per location
Renewal:

License Type Old Renewal Fee New Renewal Fee

(On or before December 31, (On or After January 1,
2016) 2017)

Retailer $0 $265 per location

Wholesaler/Distributor  $1,000 per location $1,200 per location



RETAILER

A tobacco Retailer is a person
who sells cigarettes or other
tobacco products (OTP)
directly to the public from a
retail location.

A retailer is not allowed to
sell cigarettes or other
tobacco products (OTP) to
other retailers, wholesalers
or distributors.




Retailer’s License

= A separate license is required for each location.

= New locations must be added to your seller’'s permit
(SR) before a cigarette and tobacco product license
(LRQ) can be activated for that location.

= A license is not assighable or transferable.

A BOE tobacco license is separate from a local city
or county tobacco license that may also be required.



= A Retailer can purchase tax-paid cigarette and OTP
inventory only from a BOE-licensed Distributor or
Wholesaler. A Retailer cannot purchase cigarettes
or OTP from other Retailers or unlicensed person.

=  Example: A mini-mart cannot purchase cigarettes or OTP from
the retail grocery store down the street.

= Exception: Retailers may purchase e-cigarettes or other electronic
smoking/vaping devices and their components, parts or accessories
from sellers without a tobacco license as excise tax does not apply to
such items.

= “Tax-paid” means that the California excise taxes
have been paid on the cigarettes and OTP.

= Cigarettes - .0435 cents per cigarette / 87 cents per pack of
20 cigarettes.

=  OTP - 27.3% excise tax rate for July 1, 2016 through June 30, 2017.



WHOLESALER

= A tobacco Wholesaler is anyone who sells for resale
cigarettes or OTP and is not a Distributor by
definition.

= A Wholesaler resells tax-stamped cigarettes and tax-
paid OTP.

= “Stamped” cigarette packs have a valid California tax
stamp applied, which represents 87 cents in excise
taxes.

= A Wholesaler cannot be in possession of untaxed
cigarettes or OTP and cannot purchase their
products directly from an importer or manufacturer.



Wholesaler’s License/Permits

As a Wholesaler you must obtain the following BOE permit/
license before you can make any cigarette or OTP sales:

SR - Seller’s permit

LWQ - Cigarette & Tobacco Products Licensing Act
of 2003—Wholesaler’s License

When you register for a Wholesaler cigarette and tobacco
license with the BOE, we will also assign you one or both of
the following accounts, depending on the type of products
you sell:

CW - Cigarette Wholesaler permit
TW - Tobacco Wholesaler permit



CW Permit -
= Wholesaler permit required if selling cigarettes.

= Requires you to report your beginning inventory of
stamped cigarettes, the amount purchased, and
the amount sold.

= The amounts are reported by carton and filed
monthly.

= These are informational reports only.

TW Permit -
* Wholesaler permit required if making sales of OTP.

= No reporting requirements.



LWQ License -

= Separate license for each location;
$1,200 per location.

= License not required for a storage location where
nho sales or shipments are being made; this type of
location is registered with the BOE as a sub-location
and no fee is charged.
= Valid for a calendar year and is not

transferrable.

= A BOE tobacco license is separate from a
local city or county tobacco license that may
also be required

= A Wholesaler’s license will not be issued
if the location is not registered with an
active seller’s permit (SR).

= |f you also want to make retail sales of
cigarettes and OTP, you must obtain a
Retailer’s license in addition to your
Wholesaler’s license.




DISTRIBUTOR

= A cigarette and tobacco Distributor is anyone who sells
or possesses for distribution cigarettes or OTP.

= A Distributor may possess untaxed cigarettes and OTP.
Products may be purchased directly from an importer or
manufacturer.

= A cigarette Distributor may purchase unstamped
cigarettes, affix them with California cigarette tax
stamps, and resell the stamped product to California
distributors, wholesalers and retailers.

= A tobacco Distributor may purchase untaxed OTP, pay the
excise tax, and resell the tax-paid OTP.

Note: although now defined as tobacco products, electronic smoking devices such as
e-cigarettes do not require payment of excise taxes.



Distributor’s License/Permits

As a Distributor you must obtain the following BOE permits/
license before you can make any cigarette or OTP sales:

= SR - Seller’s permit

" LDQ - Cigarette & Tobacco Products Licensing Act of
2003—Distributor’s License

When you register for a Distributor cigarette and tobacco
license with the BOE, we will also assign you one or both of
the following accounts, depending on the type of product
you sell:

" CR - Cigarette Distributor permit
" CP - Tobacco Distributor permit



CR Permit -
= Distributor permit required if selling cigarettes.

= Permit required to purchase California cigarette
tax stamps.

= Requires you to report your monthly levels of
stamped and unstamped cigarettes:
= pbeginning inventory,
= amount purchased during the month, and
= the end-of-month inventory.

= Amounts are reported in “sticks.”

" These are informational reports only, due on or
before the 25" day of the following month.



CP Permit -
= Distributor permit required if selling OTP.

= Requires you to report wholesale cost of all OTP:
= distributed,

= any exemptions (primarily interstate or foreign
commerce sales), and

= the total amount of tax due.

= Tax is due on or before the 25" day of the
following month in which the OTP is purchased
or when distributed (as selected by licensee
during registration).



LDQ License -

= Separate license for each location.
= $1,200 per location.

= License not required for a storage location where
ho sales or shipments are being made; this type of
location is registered with the BOE as a sub-location
and no fee is charged.

= Valid for a calendar year and is not
transferrable.

= A BOE tobacco license is separate from a
local city or county tobacco license that may
also be required.

= A Distributor’s license will not be issued if
the location is not registered with an active
seller’s permit (SR).

= |f you also want to sell cigarettes or OTP at
retail, you must obtain a Retailer’s license
in addition to your Distributor’s license.
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