State Board of Equalization

Sales of
Cigarettes and Tobacco
Products in California

What All Retailers
Should Know




California Cigarette and Tobacco
Products Licensing Act

= All sellers are required by law
to be licensed—retailers,
wholesalers, distributors,
importers, manufacturers.

Note: As of January 1, 2017,
electronic smoking devices
such as e-cigarettes are
defined as “tobacco products”
for purposes of the state
tobacco license requirement.

California
Cigarette and
Tobacco
Producits

Licensing Act




LICENSE

= Apply for a license online
(www.boe.ca.gov/elecsrv/ereg)
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License - beginning June 9, 2016:

License Type Old Application Fee New Application Fee
(On or before June 8, 2016) (On or After June 9, 2016)

Retailer $100 per location $265 per location

Wholesaler/Distributor  $1,000 per location $1,200 per location

Annual Renewal Fee - beginning January 1, 2017:

License Type Old Renewal Fee New Renewal Fee
(On or before December 31, 2016) | (On or After January 1, 2017)

Retailer SO $265 per location

Wholesaler/Distributor  $1,000 per location $1,200 per location



= Annual fee is $265 per location.

= A separate license is required for
each location.

= New locations must be added to
your seller’s permit before a cigarette and tobacco product
license can be activated for that location.

= Valid for 12 months and must be renewed annually.
= Alicense is not assignable or transferable.

= BOE tobacco license is separate from a local city or county
tobacco license.



= To legally sell cigarettes and tobacco products to other
retailers or wholesalers, you must have a Distributor or
Wholesaler License ($1,200 annual fee).

= A Retailer’s cigarette and tobacco license allows you to
make only retail sales to legal-aged consumers.

= For more information on obtaining a Distributor or
Wholesaler License and its requirements, contact the

Special Taxes & Fees Division at 1-800-400-7115.
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