(Electrical) Energy Resources Surcharge

TABLE 34—ENERGY RESOURCES SURCHARGE REVENUE, 1974-75 TO 2001-02

(In thousands of dollars)



Fiscal year
Revenuea

1
2

2001-02 

$44,853 


2000-01 

47,931 


1999-00 

45,539 


1998-99 

43,191 


1997-98 

41,454 


1996-97 

42,542 


1995-96 

42,588 


1994-95 

41,296 


1993-94 

40,706 


1992-93 

41,349 


1991-92 

39,863 


1990-91 

40,246 


1989-90 

39,358 


1988-89 

38,086 


1987-88 

36,942 


1986-87 

35,142 


1985-86 

34,824 


1984-85 

34,432 


1983-84 

32,131 


1982-83 

30,729 


1981-82 

30,994 
b

1980-81 

23,817 
c

1979-80 

19,022 
d

1978-79 

18,066 
e

1977-78 

17,670 
f

1976-77 

13,989 


1975-76 

13,250 


1974-75 

1,885 
g

a.
This revenue includes self-assessments from tax returns on a cash basis and, therefore, differs from the figures on Table 2 which are on a modified accrual basis.

b.
Effective September 1, 1981, the tax rate was increased to $0.0002 per kilowatt hour, the maximum allowed under the law. The surcharge was permanently set at the maximum authorized rate in September 1982.

c.
Effective September 1, 1980, the tax rate was increased to $0.00016 per kilowatt hour from $0.00015. Effective March 1, 1981, the rate was increased to $0.00019.

d.
Effective September 1, 1979, the tax rate was increased to $0.00015 per kilowatt hour from $0.0001.

e.
Effective September 1, 1978, the tax rate was reduced to $0.0001 per kilowatt hour from $0.00014.

f.
Effective September 1, 1977, the tax rate was increased to $0.00015 per kilowatt hour from $0.0001. Effective March 1, 1978, the tax rate was reduced to $0.00014. Effective January 1, 1978, purchase of electrical energy from the United States government or its agencies used in California became subject to the surcharge.

g.
This tax became effective January 1, 1975, at a rate of $0.0001 per kilowatt hour on the consumption of electrical energy in California.
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