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APPRAISER AND ASSESSMENT ANALYST CERTIFICATION 
AUTHORITATIVE CITATIONS 

 
The following provides the authoritative citations for the Appraiser and Assessment Analyst 
Certification Survey Topic. In general, citations include Constitutional provisions, sections of the 
Revenue and Taxation Code, other applicable statutes, court cases, Property Tax Rules, 
Assessors' Handbook Sections, Letters To Assessors, and legal annotations pertaining to the 
topic. 

CITATION DESCRIPTION 

Government Code 

§15606 The BOE has the duty to prescribe rules and regulations for assessors and local 
boards of equalization, to prescribe and enforce the use of property tax forms, and 
to prepare and issue instructions to assessors to promote uniformity throughout 
California. 

§15606.5 Training of assessors and their staff shall be provided by the BOE on a 
nonreimbursable basis. 

§15608 The BOE shall instruct, advise, and direct assessors as to their duties under the 
law. The BOE may also obtain the Attorney General's opinion on any questions of 
law relating to assessors' duties. 

§24002.5 Any assessor who assumes office after January 1, 1997, must obtain a valid 
appraiser's certificate issued by the BOE within 30 days of taking office. The 
assessor may acquire a temporary certificate that allows him or her to exercise the 
duties and powers of office for up to one year. 

Revenue and Taxation Code 

§670 No person shall perform the duties or exercise the authority of a property tax 
appraiser unless he or she has a valid appraiser's or advanced appraiser's certificate 
issued by the BOE. 
 

The BOE shall have an examination for applicants of appraisal certificates. The 
examination  shall be developed in consultation with the California Assessors' 
Association. 

No employee shall perform the duties of auditor or auditor appraiser under §469 of 
the Revenue and Taxation Code or §15624 of the Government Code unless he or 
she holds a degree with a specialization in accounting, is a licensed accountant, or 
has passed a civil service or merit system exam, or holds the office of assessor. 

 

§671 Holders of valid appraiser's certificates are subject to annual training requirements 
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in order to retain his/her certificate. Holders of an appraiser's certificate must 
complete 24 hours of BOE conducted or BOE approved training each year. 
Holders of an advanced appraiser's certificate must complete 12 hours of BOE 
conducted or BOE approved training each year. (Note: "Certified" appraisers are 
not mentioned in §671). 
 
An appraiser is eligible for an advanced appraiser's certificate after an appraiser's 
certificate is held for 3 years and the appraiser has met one of the following 
requirements: 1) completed a course of study prescribed by BOE, 2) has passed the 
advanced-level certification examination given by the BOE, or 3) holds a 
qualifying designation from a recognized professional appraisal organization.  
 
Failure to complete the required training shall constitute grounds for revocation of 
an appraiser's certificate. 

§672  Applicants for BOE certification must disclose financial interests in any 
corporation. .  (Note for survey reviewer – initial disclosure is done on form BOE-
121. Thereafter, each assessor annually certifies to the BOE that his/her appraisal 
staff has disclosed financial interests.) 

§673 The BOE may issue a temporary certificate to a person to afford them the 
opportunity to apply for and take the certification examination. 
 
A temporary certificate shall not be issued to exceed one year. 
 

A temporary certificate shall not be renewed. 

§674 Sections 674 through 680 apply only to participating counties. 
Requires any county assessor employee that makes change in ownership decisions 
or property tax exemption decisions to hold a BOE issued assessment analyst 
certificate.  

§675 In order to retain a valid certificate, every certified assessment analyst must 
complete at least 24 hours of training conducted or approved by the BOE in each 
one-year period.  

§676 Applicants for BOE certification must disclose financial interests in any legal 
entity. Thereafter, the form shall be completed annually.  

§677 The BOE may issue a temporary certificate to an employee hired in a county 
subsequent to January 1, 2016. The employee will have up to one year from the 
time the employee is granted temporary certification to successfully pass one of 
the certification examinations and earn a permanent analyst certification. 

§678 For employees working in counties prior to January 1, 2016, the BOE may issue 
an interim certification and the employee will have up to four years from the time 
the employee is granted interim certification to successfully pass one of the 
certification examinations and earn a permanent analyst designation.  

§679 Noncertificated staff may still prepare and work with exemptions applications and 

http://www.boe.ca.gov/lawguides/property/current/ptlg/rt/675.html
http://www.boe.ca.gov/lawguides/property/current/ptlg/rt/676.html
http://www.boe.ca.gov/lawguides/property/current/ptlg/rt/677.html
http://www.boe.ca.gov/lawguides/property/current/ptlg/rt/678.html
http://www.boe.ca.gov/lawguides/property/current/ptlg/rt/679.html
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change in ownership documents as long as they are not responsible for making 
exemption or change in ownership decisions. 
 

§680 The provisions in article only apply in counties or cities and counties that have 
passed a resolution upon the recommendation of the assessor. 
 

§681 Establishes requirements for the performance by contractors of appraisal work 
done for assessors. Includes provisions for competitive bidding, safeguarding 
confidential information, and using BOE-prescribed language in the appraisal 
services contract 

§1624.01 On or after January 1, 2001, assessment appeals board (AAB) members must 
complete training as a condition of service on the board. (Note for survey 
reviewer: this citation is provided for information purposes only. The BOE does 
not have jurisdiction over the AAB.) 

 
§1624.02 Training for assessment appeals board members may be conducted either by the 

BOE or by the county. Curricula prepared by either entity must be collaboration 
between county and the BOE, although BOE final approval is required for county-
sponsored training. The BOE will provide training at no charge. (Note for survey 
reviewer: this citation is provided for information purposes only. The BOE does 
not have jurisdiction over the AAB. Additionally, please note that the training 
referenced in this citation is available on-line on the BOE's website at 
http://www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/pttraining.htm.) 

Property Tax Rules 

Rule 281 An appraiser for property tax purposes is an employee of the state, a county, or a 
city and county who renders value judgments. Appraiser includes persons making 
building classification judgments for cost estimating purposes and auditors or 
auditor appraisers making value judgments. 

Rule 282 
 

A person shall not perform the duties of appraiser unless he or she has been issued 
a temporary or permanent certificate by the BOE. 
 
A temporary certificate shall be issued if the person is employed to perform the 
duties of an appraiser, and meets minimum qualifications outlined in Rule 283. 
The assessor shall submit the qualifications to the BOE on a form supplied by the 
BOE. (Note for survey reviewer – application is made on form BOE-740-A.) 
 
A newly elected or appointed assessor must apply for a temporary certificate 
within 30 days of his or her assuming office. Upon request, the BOE shall issue a 
temporary certificate to the assessor. 

Rule 283 Sets forth the criteria for permanent certification and outlines the minimum 
qualifications. In addition to meeting minimum education and/or experience 
requirements, the person must pass a BOE-prepared or approved certification 

http://www.boe.ca.gov/lawguides/property/current/ptlg/rt/680.html
http://www.boe.ca.gov/lawguides/property/current/ptlg/rt/681.html
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examination. 
 
A permanent certificate is suspended when a person terminates employment but is 
automatically reinstated when the person is employed again as an appraiser for tax 
purposes. 

Rule 284 Failure to maintain annual training requirements shall constitute grounds for 
revocation of certificates.  Guidelines are provided for calculating the number of 
training hours completed as well as for informal and formal revocation. Effective 
July 1, 2003, holders of certificates must report to the BOE the training and 
training hours completed annually. 
 

Letters To Assessors 

96/34 Contract appraisers working for assessors are subject to the same BOE 
certification requirements as appraisers employed on the assessor's staff. They may 
apply for temporary certification if their work period will not exceed one year; 
otherwise, they should seek permanent certification. 

2000/055 Describes the BOE's survey of county assessors' practices regarding contract 
appraisers. Highlights the provisions of legislation (section 674) controlling the 
contract bid process and the language of the contract itself. Offers examples of 
suggested contract language for confidentiality and alternative fee provisions. 
 

2000/076 Announces BOE's plans for training of members of local assessment appeals 
boards, as required by Ch. 942, Statutes of 1999 (amended §1624 - 1624.05 of the 
Revenue and Taxation Code). (Note for survey reviewer: this citation is provided 
for information purposes only. The BOE does not have jurisdiction over the AAB.) 

  2015/026 Explains the educational qualifications of an individual being considered for an 
appointment as an auditor-appraiser.  

2015/049 Guidelines for Appraiser Certification and Training. These Guidelines supercede 
those that were previously adopted on February 23, 2011 which were distributed in 
Letter To Assessors 2011/013. 

Annotations 

125.0005 
 

See LTA 96/34. 

125.0008 

Assessors who took office after January 1, 1997, or who hold valid appraiser's 
certificates and wish to maintain them must meet the annual training requirement. 
 

125.0010 

Failure to file a statement of financial interest is not grounds to revoke an appraiser 
certificate. 
 

http://www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/pdf/lta15026.pdf
http://www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/pdf/lta15049.pdf
http://www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/pdf/125_0005.pdf
http://www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/pdf/125_0005.pdf
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125.0020 

An outside expert hired by an assessor to value specialized properties must hold a 
valid appraiser's certificate. 

125.0030 BOE-approved training includes formal appraisal courses and workshops offered 
by recognized appraisal societies; UC extension, state college and university, and 
community college courses in appraisal; and locally conducted assessor's training 
programs. 

290.0020 The law allows the assessor to contract with an expert appraiser to value property 
for which special expertise is required. 
 

290.0021 Even with expert appraisal assistance, it is still the assessor's duty to enroll the 
property per §405 in accordance with applicable property tax statutes. 
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