
 
 
 
 

 

 

 
 
 
 

 
 

 
  
 

 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 

 

 

  

 

 

515.0033STATE OF CALIFORNIA 

STATE BOARD OF EQUALIZATION 
1020 N STREET, SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA 
(P.O. BOX 942879, SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA  94279-0001) 
(916) 324-8208 

  January 6, 1992 

Mr. W--- J. M---, Esq. 

S---, C---, M--- & M--- 

XXXX --- Avenue 

P.O. Box XXXX 

---, California XXXXX 


Re: S--- J--- D--- P--- S---, Inc. 

Dear Mr. M---: 

Your letter dated September 9, 1991, inquiring about Sales and Use Tax Law has been 
forwarded to me for a response.  You state in your letter that you represent S--- J--- D--- P--- S---, a 
successor corporation to an unincorporated association which existed for more than 10 years 
without obtaining a seller’s permit or paying sales tax.  You raise several issues concerning the 
activities of S--- J--- D--- which are raised below. 

A. Materials Distributed to Students in Yachting Classes 

With respect to this activity, you state as follows: 

“The corporation is (as was its unincorporated predecessor) a local unit of a 
national organization, the U--- S--- P--- S--- which is organized to promote skill 
and safety in the handling of small recreational boats through a system of formal 
education. All course text material is prepared by the national organization and 
distributed for a small fee to local S---s throughout the country for use in their 
classes. The local agency distributes the material, collects the fee from each 
student and forwards it to national. At the end of each course a student who 
desires credit must take and pass a written examination prepared and graded by 
national. A small charge is made for use of the test documents, which are 
immediately returned to national after each examination.   

“In addition to text materials and examinations, national also provides small 
drafting tools such as protractors, dividers, straight edges, etc. which the students 
use in piloting and navigation classes. There is a small charge for these items 
which we collect and forward to national. 
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“I believe the foregoing items are exempt under R&TC Sec. 6409 and 
Sec. 1570(e) of the Regulations as safety educational materials routinely sold by a 
national organization operated for charitable purposes and qualified for the 
welfare exemption which is engaged in the dissemination of health and safety 
information.   

“In addition, I believe the examination materials also qualify under the lease 
exception of R&TC Sec. 6006.3 and Section 1660(e) of the regulations because 
(a) the charge for the test materials is always less than $20, (b) the test lasts less 
than one day, (c) it is conducted in a classroom controlled by the S---, and (d) the 
test is handed out at the beginning of the test and collected at the end and then 
returned to national headquarters.” 

In answering your inquiry concerning instructional texts, tools, and tests, we assume that the 
national organization is located outside of California and its sales to S--- J--- D--- of these items 
occur out-of-state.   

Revenue and Taxation Code section 6051 imposes a sales tax on all retailers measured by 
their gross receipts from retail sales of tangible personal property.  Note that the sales tax is imposed 
upon the retailer, not the purchaser, but the retailer may collect sales tax reimbursement (usually 
itemized on the invoice as “sales tax”) from the purchaser if the contract of sale so provides. 
Civ. Code § 1656.1. 

Revenue and Taxation Code section 6201 imposes an excise tax, commonly referred to as 
the use tax, on the storage, use, or other consumption in this state of tangible personal property 
purchased from any retailer for storage, use or other consumption in this state.  The use tax 
complements the sales tax and is imposed upon out-of-state purchases of property used in California 

Sales tax is imposed upon gross receipts from the sale of tangible personal property, not 
upon charges for a service.  Regulation 1501, “Service Enterprises Generally,” sets forth the general 
rules governing taxation of tangible personal property provided with a service.  Persons engaged in 
the business of rendering services are consumers, not retailers, of tangible personal property which 
they use incidentally in rendering the service.  Tax, accordingly, applies to the sale of the property 
to the person who is a consumer, i.e., to the person rendering the service, not to his or her customer. 
If the sale to the consumer occurs in California, sales tax applies.  If the sale to the consumer occurs 
outside of California, use tax applies.   

The board’s staff has issued and published opinions on questions similar to yours 
concerning school materials and test fees in the Sales and Use Tax Annotations of the Business 
Taxes Law Guide.  Annotation 515.0015 provides as follows: 

“Schools which provide significant educational services, including classroom 
instruction, are consumers of printed instructional matter and special instructional 
sound recordings furnished to students where tuition charges made to student do 
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not separately state charges for such teaching aids.  If a separate charge is made 
for such teaching aids, tax applies to that charge.   

“‘Materials fees,” which are charges for consumable supplies and materials used 
in the classroom, are not subject to tax.  Schools are consumers of materials and 
supplies furnished to students for use in the classroom even though a separate 
“materials fee’ may be charged to the student.”   

The text materials and drafting tools provided by S--- J--- D--- are instructional matter, not 
consumable supplies and materials.  If S--- J--- D--- charges students a tuition fee and does not 
make a separate charge for the instructional items, the fee is not subject to sales tax.  In that case, 
S--- J--- D---’s purchases of such items will be subject to use tax measured by its costs of these 
items unless its purchases of such items come within the exemption under Revenue and Taxation 
Code section 6409 which is discussed below.   

If S--- J--- D--- separately charges students for the instructional items, such charges are 
subject to sales tax and cannot be exempt under section 6409 since this exemption is a use tax 
exemption, not a sales tax exemption.  

In Annotation 515.1160 the staff determined that an organization whose business was 
providing aptitude tests carried out by providing schools with test booklets and answer sheets which 
were returned to the organization marked, and the answer sheets only returned to the schools, 
rendered a service. However, the booklets and answer sheets were tangible personal property 
consumed in performing this service.  Therefore, the organization was subject to the use tax 
measured by the cost of the materials.   

In your case, the fees paid by the students for the tests are not subject to sales tax because 
the fees are paid for a service.  S--- J--- D---, however, must pay use tax on its costs for the test 
materials unless the section 6409 exemption applies. 

To qualify for the section 6409 exemption, an organization must qualify for the “welfare 
exemption” under Revenue and Taxation Code section 214.  The Board’s Assessment Standards 
Division, here in Sacramento, keeps a listing of organizations and locations holding the welfare 
exemption from property taxes.  We have checked with Assessment Standards and were unable to 
find a welfare exemption issued to S--- J--- D--- P--- S---. Therefore, we assume that you do not 
qualify for the welfare exemption and, consequently, do not qualify for the exemption under section 
6409. If you believe that S--- J--- D--- is eligible for the welfare exemption, we recommend that it 
immediately apply for the exemption with the local county assessor.  If S--- J--- D--- does not own 
the real property upon which it conducts its classes, it must receive the welfare exemption on its 
personal property, i.e., inventory, furnishings, and fixtures.   

B. Banquets for S--- Members 

With respect to this issue, you state: 
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“The S--- sponsors banquets for its members at Christmas, on the date when new 
officers are installed, and perhaps once or twice more during each year.  Each 
event is held either in the banquet room of a restaurant or, if elsewhere, food is 
supplied by an outside caterer. In either case payment to the supplier is made by 
the S---, which collects from the members attending.  Guest may attend such 
events, but all food or drink is paid for by members only.  We believe that under 
section 1603(h) and (i) of the regulations the restaurant or caterer (and not the 
S---) is responsible for the payment of any sales tax on such meals.”   

Regulation 1603(i) provides: 

“The tax applies to receipts from the furnishing of meals, food, and drink by 
social clubs and fraternal organization unless furnished: (1) exclusively to 
members; and also, (2) less frequently than once a week.  Both of these 
requirements must be met.  If the club or organization furnishes meals, food or 
drink to nonmembers, all receipts from the furnishing of meals, food or drink are 
subject to tax whether furnished to members or nonmembers, including receipts 
on occasions when furnished exclusively to members.  Meals, food or drink paid 
for by members are considered furnished to them even though consumed by 
guests who are not members.”   

With respect to your client, as long as the meals are paid for by members only and are 
served less frequently than once a week, the caterers and restaurants furnishing meals to your client 
are responsible for the payment of the sales tax.   

C. Sales of Yachting Paraphernalia 

With respect to this issue, you state: 

“The S--- also sells name tags, officers’ insignia, USPS flags and similar articles 
to its members, and these appear to be taxable under R&TC Sec. 6006(c).  During 
the past several years sales of these items have averaged $30 per month or $360 
per year.” 

Since name tags, insignia, USPS flags, etc. are tangible personal property and there is no 
statute which exempts retail sales of such items, your client must pay sales tax on these items.   

D. Sales Tax Liabilities Incurred by the Predecessor Organization 

From your letter we assume that the unincorporated predecessor to S--- J--- D--- P--- S--- 
was incurring sales and use tax liability by selling yachting paraphernalia and by consuming 
instructional aids. If that is the case, S--- J--- D--- is liable for those taxes under California 
Corporations Code section 5121(f) and should reconstruct the total sales and use tax liability for its 
predecessor, file sales and use tax returns for the last eight years, and remit payment to the Board 
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with the returns.  In addition, S--- J--- D--- may also be liable as a successor under Revenue and 
Taxation Code section 6811 and 6812 if its acquisition of its predecessor’s business is deemed a 
purchase.  If the predecessor organization paid sales or use tax on any items it purchased and 
subsequently resold in a transaction subject to sales tax, S--- J--- D--- may take a tax paid purchases 
resold deduction as explained in Regulation 1701, a copy of which is enclosed.   

If you have further questions regarding Sales and Use Tax Law, please do not hesitate to 
write again.   

Sincerely, 

Elizabeth Abreu 
Tax Counsel 

EA:cl 

0199e 


Enclosure 


