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LEGAL DIVISION (MIC:82) 
DEAN F. ANDAL450 N STREET, SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA Second District, Stockton

(PO BOX 942879, SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA 94279-0082) 

TELEPHONE (916) 324-2614 ERNEST J. DRONENBURG, JR. 

FAX (916) 323-3387 Third District, San Diego 


KATHLEEN CONNELL 
Controller, Sacramento 

April 30, 1997 JOHN CHIANG 
Acting Member 

Fourth District, Los Angeles 

E. L. SORENSEN, JR. 
Executive Director 

Ms. M--- G. K---

S--- L---

P.O. Box XXXX 

--- ---, CA XXXXX 


Re: 	S--- L--- 

Account No. SR --- XX-XXXXXX 


Dear Ms. K---: 

This is in response to your letter dated March 19, 1997, in which you request a legal 
opinion addressing the application of tax to certain charges made by S--- L--- in connection with 
its leases of vehicles. You state that in the following circumstances, lessees are charged fees 
which are not included in the lease agreement. 

“Sometimes clients call us and ask if they can change their due date.  They may 
for instance want to have their due date on the 15th of each month, instead of the 
1st of the month.  We usually agree to do this, which will also extend the ending 
date of the lease by the same number of days.  The first time they want to change 
the date, we will usually do it free of charge.  After that we charge a due date 
change fee. The amount of the fee will vary depending on the value of their car 
and the extension length. . . .” 

“Sometimes our lessees will want to get out of their leases, and will find someone 
to assume their leases.  We charge a $250 assumption fee to the new lessee to 
cover costs associated with pulling up a credit report, our credit approval process 
and that of our funding bank, correcting the title, etc. . . .” 

“If a lessee did not purchase an ‘Insurance Proceeds Deficiency Liability Release’ 
at lease signing (#7 on the lease), a couple months into the lease we may call the 
lessee and offer that they can sign an ‘Optional GAP Waiver Agreement’ for a fee 
of $400 to $500. . . .” 
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DISCUSSION 

Retail sales of tangible personal property in California are subject to sales tax, measured 
by the gross receipts, unless the sale is specifically exempt from taxation by statute.  (Rev. & 
Tax. Code § 6051.) When sales tax does not apply, use tax, measured by the sales price, applies 
to the use of tangible personal property purchased from a retailer for the storage, use, or other 
consumption in California, unless the use is exempt from taxation by statute.  (Rev. & Tax. 
Code §§ 6201, 6401.) 

As relevant here, a lease of tangible personal property in California is a continuing sale 
and purchase unless the lessor leases the property in substantially the same form as acquired and 
timely pays sales tax reimbursement or use tax measured by the purchase price of the property. 
(Rev. & Tax. Code §§ 6006(g)(5), 6006.1, 6010(e)(5), 6010.1; Reg. 1660, subds. (b)(1) and 
(c)(2).) When a lease is a continuing sale and purchase because either or both of the foregoing 
conditions have not been satisfied, the lease is subject to use tax measured by rentals payable. 
(Reg. 1660(c)(1).) Rentals payable include any payments required by the lease.  (Id.) The lessee 
owes the tax, which the lessor is required to collect from the lessee and pay to this board.  (Rev. 
& Tax. Code §§ 6202, 6203, 6204; Reg. 1660(c)(1).) 

Our understanding is that S--- L--- did not pay California sales tax reimbursement or use 
tax on its purchases of the vehicles it leases. Therefore, its lease of the vehicles is a continuing 
sale and purchase with respect to any period in which the vehicles are located in California, for 
which S--- L--- is required to collect use tax from the lessee measured by the rentals payable and 
pay it to this board. 

With regard to S--- L---’s charges to lessees to change the due date of the lease payments 
and the $250 assumption fee charged to a new lessee to assume an existing lease, such charges 
are payments required by the lease in order to lease the vehicle.  (See BTLG Annot. 330.3194 
(2/5/87).) Because the payment of the due date change fee and the assumption fee are required 
by the lease, and are not otherwise excludable from taxation, such payments are included in the 
rentals payable which are subject to tax.  Therefore, S--- L--- is required to collect use tax from 
the lessee on these charges. 

However, with regard to the payment made by lessees pursuant to the “Optional GAP 
Waiver Agreement,” our understanding is that subsequent to the lease of the vehicle, a lessee has 
the option to purchase a waiver of certain liabilities by entering into the Optional GAP Waiver 
Agreement.  The charge to purchase such a waiver is separately stated from the charges for the 
lease of the vehicle. Under these circumstances, we conclude that the payment required under 
the Optional Gap Waiver Agreement is not a payment required by the lease and is not part of the 
taxable rental receipts. Therefore, such payment is not subject to tax.  (See BTLG Annot. 
330.2840 (5/13/69).) 
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If you have any further questions, please write again. 

Sincerely, 

Sophia H. Chung 
Tax Counsel 

SHC:cl 

cc: San Francisco District Administrator (BH) 


