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STATE OF CALIFORNIA 

STATE BOARD OF EQUALIZATION  MEMBER 
450 N STREET, SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA  First District
(P.O. BOX 942879, SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA	 94279-0001) 

 BRAD SHERMAN (916) 445-6496 
Second District, Los Angeles 

ERNEST J.  DRONENBURG, JR. 
Third District, San Diego 

MATTHEW  K. FONG 
Fourth District,  Los Angeles 

     October 15, 1993  GRAY DAVIS
 Controller, Sacramento 

BURTON W.  OLIVER
 Executive Director 

Mr. L--- M---

The M--- Company 

XXXX East --- Avenue 

---, CA XXXXX 


Dear Mr. M---: 

Re: Release and Re-Recording of State Tax Lien 

     SR --- XX-XXXXXX 


Gordon Adelman has requested that I respond to your letter to him dated September 7, 
1993. 

In your letter, you ask -

1. Is it legal to re-record a lien previously released or abated for the same time 
period? 

2. If the answer is yes, what is the statute of limitations in re-recording a lien and 
does that lien require the same lien number to be valid? 

California Revenue and Taxation Code section 6757 provides that if any person fails to 
pay any amount imposed under the California Sales and Use Tax Law at the time that it becomes 
due and payable, the amount thereof shall thereupon be a perfected and enforceable state tax 
lien. 

California Government Code section 7172 provides that a state tax lien continues in 
effect for 10 years from the date of its creation unless it is sooner released or otherwise 
discharged, and is extinguished 10 years from the date of its creation unless a Notice of State 
Tax Lien is recorded with a County Recorder's office where real property is located, or filed with 
the California Secretary of State's office.  When a Notice of State Tax Lien is recorded or filed, 
the lien continues in effect for 10 years from the date of filing or recording and the lien can be 
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extended for an additional 10 years if a new Notice of State Tax Lien is filed or recorded prior to 
the expiration of the 10-year period from the last filing or recording. 

It is our opinion that the statutory state tax lien provided by Revenue and Taxation Code 
section 6757 continues for a minimum 10-year period unless all tax, interest and penalties have 
been paid prior to the expiration of that period, or the statutory lien has been released by court 
order. 

It is also our opinion that any number of Notices of State Tax Lien may be filed or 
recorded and then "released" in that 10-year period and the statutory state tax lien is unaffected. 
If prior to the expiration of the initial 10-year period, a Notice of State Tax Lien has either been 
recorded in a County Recorder's office or has been filed in the California Secretary of State's 
office and that Notice has not been "released", the statutory lien is extended for an additional 
10-year period from the date of filing or recordation of that Notice pursuant to the terms of 
Government Code section 7172. 

A subsequent Notice of State Tax Lien filed or recorded may have a different lien 
number from the previously filed or recorded Notice of State Tax Lien. 

In your letter, you have cited Revenue and Taxation Code section 6736 et sec.  These 
sections permit the Board to obtain a court judgment for a tax liability.  Once a judgment has 
been obtained, a judgment lien may be imposed on a taxpayer's property.  The time limitations 
affecting judgment liens are not relevant in your particular case as no court judgment has been 
obtained for the tax liability of the M--- Company. 

Very truly yours, 

THOMAS COOKE 
Tax Counsel 

TJC:plh 


