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 March 16, 2007  
 
 
Mr. [B]  
[A]  
XXX --- ---  
--- ---, CA XXXXX  
MailStop: XXXXXX 
 
 Re: Tax Opinion Request 06-789  
 [A]  
 No Tax Account Number 
 
Dear Mr. [B]: 
 

This is in response to your November 8, 2006, letter in which you request information 
about the application of the Sales and Use Tax Law to five sales scenarios relating to your 
company’s business.  Based on the information contained in your letter, I was unable to confirm 
that you hold a seller’s permit.  Nor do you give enough information about the totality of your 
business operations for me to determine whether you should hold a seller’s permit.  Your letter 
suggests that you may purchase materials and supplies from out-of-state vendors that do not 
collect and remit use tax from California customers.  If such is the case, among other possible 
reasons, you should be registered with the Board to self-report the use tax due on these 
purchases.  If you are not the holder of a seller’s permit or otherwise registered to self-report use 
tax and you think you might need to be, please visit our Board’s Web site (www.boe.ca.gov) for 
more information.   

 
You write: 

 
 “I am writing to get [a] ruling on ‘data recovery services.’ The service is usually 
on disk drives, which lost data due to software issues or physical damage to the drive like 
fire, water, etc. I would like to know the taxability of the sales scenarios listed below along 
with the regulations and/or annotations to support the answers.   
 
 “Assumptions 
 
 “1. DVD/CD (cost $1.00) is purchased tax paid or tax is accrued on purchase. 
 
 “2. Refurbished disk drives are purchased tax paid or tax is accrued on purchase. 
 
 “3. Cost of refurbish[ed] dis[k] drive is $25.00 

 

http://www.boe.ca.gov/
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 “4. Average cost of data recover[y] services is $500 to $1000 depending on the 
severity of damage to the disk drive. 

 
“Sales Scenarios 

 
 “1. Customer sends their disk drive and we are able to [re]cover the data and put 

the data back on the disk drive. Customer is sent back the drive with data 
restored. Sales invoice $750.00. 

 
 “2. Customer sends their disk drive[;] it is damage[d] and unusable. We recover 

the data and put in on DVD/CD. Customer is sent the recovered data on a 
DVD/CD along with the broken drive. Sales invoice $750.00.  

 
 “3. Customer sends their disk drive[;] it[’]s damage[d] and unusable. We recover 

the data and put it on a website. The customer is sent back the broken drive 
and login/password to download the data from a website. Sales invoice 
$750.00. 

 
 “4. Customer sends their disk drive[;] it[’]s damage[d] and unusable. We recover 

the data and place it on a refurbish[ed] disk drive. The customer is sent back 
the data on the refurbish[ed] disk drive. We charge one fee with no break out 
of the refurbish[ed] drive. Sales invoice $750.00. 

 
 “5. Same as [4], but the sales invoice is broken out. Data recover[y] service is 

$725.00 and disk drive is $25.00.” 
 

Based on your letter, I understand you to ask how the California Sales and Use Tax Law 
applies to different means by which computer storage drive malfunctions are corrected to enable 
the customer to regain access to pre-existing, stored data.   

 
Discussion 

 
As a starting point, California imposes a sales tax on a retailer’s gross receipts from the 

retail sale of tangible personal property inside this state unless the sale is specifically exempted 
from taxation by statute.  (Rev. & Tax. Code, § 6051.)  This tax is imposed on the retailer who 
may collect reimbursement from its customer if the contract of sale so provides.  (Civ. Code, 
§ 1656.1; Cal. Code Regs., tit. 18, § (Regulation or Reg.) 1700.)  When sales tax does not apply, 
such as when the sale takes place outside the state, use tax is imposed, measured by the sales 
price of property purchased from a retailer for the storage, use, or other consumption of that 
property in California unless specifically exempted or excluded from taxation by statute.  
(Rev. & Tax. Code, §§ 6201, 6401.)  This tax is imposed on the person actually storing, using, 
or otherwise consuming the property.  (Rev. & Tax. Code, § 6202.)  Taxable gross receipts or 
sales price include all amounts received with respect to the sale, with no deduction for the cost of 
the materials, service, or expense of the retailer passed on to the purchaser unless there is a 
specific statutory exemption or exclusion.  (Rev. & Tax. Code, §§ 6011, 6012.)   
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Persons engaged in the business of rendering a service are consumers, not retailers, of the 
tangible personal property that they use incidentally in rendering the service.  (Reg. 1501.)  The 
“true object” of the contract determines whether a particular transaction involves the sale of 
tangible personal property or the transfer of tangible personal property incidental to the 
performance of a service.  Where the true object is the service, Regulation 1501 provides that the 
transfer of incidental tangible personal property by the person performing the service is a 
nontaxable event.  Thus, tax applies to the service provider’s acquisition of the property used in 
performing the service.   

 
Accordingly, the initial question is whether you are providing any tangible personal 

property to your customers.  The first and third sales scenarios do not include the transfer of 
tangible property to the customer.  With the exception of the return of the customer’s own 
storage drives, the customer receives nothing from you in tangible form under both scenarios.  
Under the first sales scenario, you return the customer’s storage drive after you remedy a 
malfunction that made the stored data inaccessible.  We assume that the first sales scenario arises 
from a hardware or software malfunction.  Regarding remedial measures that correct a hardware 
problem, such as repairing an inoperable part, we regard this activity as the providing of a 
service.   

 
However, even when a retailer makes no transfer of tangible personal property, under the 

Sales and Use Tax Law, “sale” includes the producing, fabricating, or processing of tangible 
personal property for a consideration for consumers who furnish either directly or indirectly the 
materials used in the producing, fabricating, or processing (hereafter, collectively, fabrication).  
(Rev. & Tax. Code, § 6006, subd. (b).)  In contrast to potentially taxable fabrication, work done 
on a used item furnished by the customer is nontaxable repair, reconditioning, or installation 
labor unless the work produces an item that is fit for a new and different purpose, as 
subdivision (b) of Regulation 1526 explains: 

 
“Producing, fabricating, and processing include any operation which results in the 
creation or production of tangible personal property or which is a step in a process or 
series of operations resulting in the creation or production of tangible personal property. 
The terms do not include operations which do not result in the creation or production of 
tangible personal property or which do not constitute a step in a process or series of 
operations resulting in the creation or production of tangible personal property, but which 
constitute merely the repair or reconditioning of tangible personal property to refit it for 
the use for which it was originally produced.”   

 
In the case of remedial measures to correct a software malfunction involving a corrupted 

file allocation table (FAT) that no longer records the location of the customer’s data on the 
storage device, we-regard this activity as processing consumer-furnished information, not 
fabrication of customer-furnished tangible personal property.  Charges for processing consumer-
furnished information are not subject to tax.  (Reg. 1502, subds. (c)(5), (d)(1) & (5).) 
“Processing consumer-furnished information” means developing original information from data 
furnished by the customer.  (Reg. 1502, subd. (d)(5)(A).)  Examples include summarizing, 
computing, extracting, sorting, and sequencing.  (Ibid.)  A newly created FAT will enable the 
customer to regain access to the data.  We regard your creation of original information in the 
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form of a new FAT as summarizing and sorting the customer’s existing data. Accordingly, 
creation of a FAT for the customer’s data is “processing consumer-furnished information” and 
sales tax will not apply to charges for this service.   
 

Under the third sales scenario, the damaged or malfunctioning storage drive is returned to 
the customer and the data is loaded to a Web site from where it may be downloaded by the 
customer.  We do not regard the transfer of information by remote telecommunications as the 
transfer of tangible personal property.  Thus, if your customers obtain their data only by 
accessing it and downloading it from your Web site, you would not be regarded as selling 
tangible personal property, and no tax would apply to your charges for such service.  (See, e.g., 
Reg. 1502, subd. (f)(1)(D); Reg. 1540, subd. (b)(2)(B).)   
 

The remaining three sales scenarios (scenarios 2, 4 and 5) involve the transfer of tangible 
personal property in the form of a storage medium that was not furnished by the customer and 
which contains the customer’s restored data.  Accordingly, the question to be resolved is whether 
you are selling tangible personal property or transferring the stored data in tangible form 
incidental to the providing of a service.  Regulation 1501 explains: 

 
“The basic distinction in determining whether a particular transaction involves a sale of 
tangible personal property or the transfer of tangible personal property incidental to the 
performance of a service is one of the true object of the contract; that is, is the real object 
sought by the buyer the service per se or the property produced by the service.”   
 
Regulation 1502 applies this general rule to computers, programs, and data processing.   

Generally, it provides that the transfer of title, for consideration, of tangible personal property, 
including property on which information has been recorded or incorporated (e.g., the conversion 
of customer-furnished tangible personal property from one physical form of recordation to 
another), is a sale subject to tax.  (Reg. 1502, subds. (c)(1) - (2), (d)(1) & (5)(B).)  For example, 
when a contract requires only the conversion (not processing) of customer-furnished data (i.e., 
putting the words or symbols on a disk, and not creating the words or symbols), the object of the 
contract is not the contractor’s ideas, analysis or data interpretation, but instead is the acquisition 
of a functionally usable piece of tangible personal property that is subject to tax.  (See, e.g., Sales 
and Use Tax Annot. 120.0118 [08/12/94].1)   
 

However, as indicated above, subdivisions (c)(5) and (d)(l) of Regulation 1502 provide 
that, under certain circumstances, charges for processing customer-furnished information are not 
subject to tax.  As previously discussed, processing of customer-furnished information means the 
developing of “original” information from data furnished by the customer, and processing of 
customer-furnished information includes summarizing, computing, extracting, sorting, and 
sequencing of data, and the updating of a continuous file of information maintained by the 
customer with the data processing firm.  (Reg. 1502, subd. (d)(5)(A).)  For example, where a 
data processing firm enters into a contract for the processing of customer-furnished information, 
the transfer of the original information to the customer is considered to be the rendition of a 

 
1 Sales and Use Tax Annotations are summaries of legal opinions by the lawyers of the State Board of Equalization’s Legal Department that 
address specific inquiries.  (See Reg. 5200 [discussing the effect and use of annotations].)   
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service.  (Reg. 1502, subd. (d)(5)(C).)  Tax does not apply to the charges made under contracts 
providing for the transfer of the original information regardless of the storage media used to 
transfer the original information.  (Reg. 1502, subd. (d)(5)(C).)   

 
We assume that these three remaining sales scenarios (2, 4 and 5) arise from an 

unrepairable storage device or corrupted data.  For purposes of Regulation 1502, we regard the 
data as no longer existing in its original form, and any recovered data constitutes “original 
information” derived from data furnished by the customer.  Accordingly, the “true object” of the 
contract is performance of a data recovery service.  The storage medium that you furnish the 
customer is merely incidental to providing this service.  Therefore, with the exception noted 
below, no sales tax applies to these sales scenarios.   
 

Finally, the last sales scenario (5) you describe provides for a separately stated $25 
charge for the refurbished disk drive transferred.  Although your company would generally be 
considered to be the consumer of all tangible personal property (e.g., refurbished disk drives, 
DVD/CD, etc.), when you make a separate charge for the property transferred, the charge is 
subject to tax.  (See, e.g., Reg. 1502, subd. (c)(8).)  However, you suggest that you may acquire 
the property transferred on a tax-paid basis.  If this is the case, you would appear to be entitled to 
take a tax-paid purchases resold deduction, which would, in effect, “net out” the tax 
consequences of making a separate charge for the refurbished disk drive.  (See Reg. 1701.)  You 
would definitely need to hold a seller’s permit to take a tax-paid purchases resold deduction.   
 

Our opinion is based on the facts, representations, and assumptions set forth above.  If the 
facts are different than those we describe and assume in this response, then our opinion might be 
different.  How tax applies in any “fact-based” situation ultimately depends on what actually 
transpires between the parties to the contract and would be subject to audit verification.  For your 
reference, we are also enclosing a copy of Regulation 1502.  If you have any further questions, 
please write again.   

 
Sincerely,  
 
 
 
Mike Llewellyn Tax Counsel 
 

ML/ef 
 
Enclosure: Regulation 1502 
 
cc: --- --- District Administrator (--)  


