
State of ~alifornia 

M e m o r a n d u m  

To : Mr. Ed King, Chief 
Fuel Taxes Division (MIC: 33) 

From : M. Judith Nelson 
Senior Tax Counse 

Date: September 9,2003 

Telephone: (9 16) 324-2641 

Board of Equalization 
Legal Department-MIC: 82 

CalNet: 8-454-2641 

Subject: Diesel Fuel Tax Law-Application of Penalty Under Section 6036 1 (b) 

This is in response to your memorandum to Ms. Janice L. Thurston dated July 2 1,2003, 
in which you requested advice as to the correct application of Revenue and Taxation Code 
section 6036 l(b). In your memorandum you stated, in part: 

"Section 60361(b) of the Diesel Fuel Tax Law allows the board to assess a penalty of 
$100 to an unlicensed carrier entering California in those instances where we do not determine an 
amount of tax due. The section also provides that the penalty increases by $100 for each 
subsequent violation up to a maximum penalty of $500. . . . 

"At some point in the past, an informal policy was implemented that allowed staff to 
assess only one penalty per day against an unlicensed carrier that entered California. An example 
is a bus company carrying passengers from Las Vegas to Los Angeles. It is not uncommon for a 
bus company to carry three or four bus loads of passengers on a daily basis.. . . 

[W]e believe the correct application of Section 6036 1 (b) is to assess a penalty of $100 
and sell a CFTP [California Fuel Trip Permit] to the first bus, assess a penalty of $200 and sell a 
CFTP to the second bus, assess a penalty of $300 and sell a trip permit to the third bus, etc. 

"Please let us know if this is the correct application of Section 60361(b). . . ." 

This is to advise you that we concur in your interpretation of Revenue and Taxation Code 
section 6036 1 (b) aid in your plan to notify industry groups of the proper application of the 
penalty provision. 

MJN: bb 

cc: Mr. Doug Shepherd 
Mr. Tim Ford 


