STATE OF CALIFORNIA

STATE BOARD OF EQUALIZATION ‘ Fiet D, Hayvrd
Assessment Standards Division DEAN F. ANDAL
450 N Street, MIC: 64, Sacramento, California ' Second District, Stockton
(P.O. Box 842879, Sacramento, CA 94279-0064) ERNEST J. DRONENBURG, JR,
Telephone: (916) 4454982 ™ M;m
FAX: (916) 323-8765 Fourth District, Los Angeles
October 25, 1996 KATHLEEN CONNELL

TO COUNTY ASSESSORS:

PROPERTY STATEMENT FILING REQUIREMENTS - $100,000 THRESHOLD
REVISED PROPERTY STATEMENT INSTRUCTIONS

Revenue and Taxation Code Section 441 was amended by SB 1827 (Chapter 1087 of the Statutes
of 1996) to provide that each person owning taxable personal property, other than a mobilehome,
having an aggregate cost of $100,000 or more shall file a property statement with the assessor.
This change becomes effective January 1, 1997 for the 1997-98 and subsequent tax years.
Existing law provides a $30,000 threshold for the initial tax year or a $100,000 threshold for
subsequent years.

Enclosed are revised instructions for forms AH 571-F, Agricultural Property Statement,

AH 571-L, Business Property Statement, long form, and AH 571-S, Business Property Statement,
short form. The second paragraph on page 1 of the instructions for each of the forms has been
revised to implement SB 1827.

Other changes contained in SB 1827 will be discussed in a future Letter To Assessors. Questions
regarding the change to Section 441 should be directed to Assessment Standards Division’s
Technical Services, Personal Property Unit, at (916) 445-4982. Questions regarding forms
approval should be directed to Bill Minor at the same number.

Sincerely,

e

J. E. Speed

Deputy Director

Property Taxes Department
JES:rfs
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OFFICIAL REQUEST

California Revenue Laws prescribe a yearly ad valorem tax based on property as it exists at 12:01 a.m. on January 1 (tax lien date). This form constitutes
an official request that you declare all assessable agricultural property situated in this county which you owned, claimed, possessed, controlled, or managed
on the tax lien date, and that you sign (under penalty of perjury) and return the statement to the Assessor's office by the date cited on the face of the
form as required by law. Failure to file it during the time provided in Section 441 of the Revenue and Taxation Code will compel the Assessor to estimate
the value of your property from other information in the Assessor's possession and add a penalty of 10% of the assessed value as required by Section
463 of the Code.

If you own taxable personal property in any county whose aggregate cost is $100,000 or more for any assessment year, you must file a property statement
with the Assessor of that county whether or not you are requested to do so. The Assessor of the county will supply you with a form upon request.

Except for the “SIGNATURE" section, you may furnish attachments in lieu of entering the information on this property statement. However, such attachments
must contain all the information requested by the statement and these instructions, the attachments must be in a format acceptable to the Assessor,
and the property statement must contain appropriate references to the attachments and must be properly signed.

THIS THIS STATEMENT IS NOT IF ANY SITUATION EXISTS WHICH
STATEMENT A PUBLIC DOCUMENT. THE NECESSITATES A DEVIATION FROM
IS SUBJECT INFORMATION DECLARED WILL TOTAL COST PER BOOKS AND RECORDS
TO AUDIT. BE HELD SECRET BY THE ASSESSOR. FULLY EXPLAIN ALL ADJUSTMENTS.
INSTRUCTIONS

COMPLETE THE STATEMENT AS FOLLOWS:
NAME AND MAILING ADDRESS
INDIVIDUALS enter full name, surname first. PARTNERSHIPS enter at least two full names. CORPORATIONS report full corporate name. If the business
operates under a FICTITIOUS NAME, enter “DBA" and the fictitious name below the legal name. If the information has been preprinted by the Assessor,
make necessary corrections.

LOCATION OF THE PROPERTY

Enter the complete street address or location. If preprinted, make necessary corrections. Enter the Assessor's Parcel Number if known. Request additional
forms if you have agricultural personal property or fixtures at other locations. A listing may be attached to a single property statement for your equipment
leased or rented to others, when any such properties are situated at many locations within this county.

PART | GENERAL INFORMATION
Complete items (a) through (i) as requested.

OWNERSHIP OF LAND — (c). Check () either the YES or the NO box to indicate whether you own the land at the LOCATION OF THE PROPERTY
shown on this statement. If YES is checked, verify the official RECORDED NAME on your DEED. If it agrees with the name shown on this statement,
check () the second YES box. If it does not agree, check (¢#) the second NO box.

PROPERTY TRANSFER — (g). A property transfer includes all transfers of property through grant, gift, devise, inheritance, trust, contract of sale, addition
or deletion of an owner, or any other means. A property transfer also includes the creation, sub-lease, or assignment of a leasehold interest in real property
for a term of 35 years or more including options. A transfer also occurs when more than 50 percent of a corporation’s voting stock, or more than 50
percent of the ownership interest of a partnership or other legal entity, is acquired, in a single transaction or cumulatively, by another person or legal
entity. Not all property transfers are considered changes in ownership requiring reappraisal. The information is solicited herein for discovery purposes only.

REGISTERED OR SHOW HORSES — (h-1). If yes is checked, obtain Form No. AH 571-F-2, Registered and Show Horses Other than Racehorses, from
the Assessor and file with this retum.

RACEHORSES — (h-2). If yes is checked, obtain Form No. AH 571-J, Annual Racehorse Tax Retum, from the Assessor and file as required.

MOBILEHOMES — (i). A mobilehome is a transportable structure designed to be occupied as a residence, and it is either more than 40 feet long or
more than 8 feet wide. Report the number of mobilehomes on this property which are currently licensed (license is not delinquent or expired) and the
number of mobilehomes which are not licensed or for which the license is delinquent or expired. Do not report “travel trailers” which are not more than
40 feet long or more than 8 feet wide.
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SCHEDULE D — MOVABLE FARM EQUIPMENT )
Include items such as tractors, harvesters, plows, tools, hive boxes, bunkhouse furnishings (owned by the farmer), portable wind machines, temporary
pipes and sprinklers that are above ground, (not permanent) heaters, smudge pots, pallets, bins, shakers, saddles, bridles, tools, tractors, harvestors,

plows, etc.

List each item of machinery and equipment that you own. Equipment out on lease should not be included here; report such equipment, per instructions,
on Line 6. Include equipment acquired through a lease-purchase agreement at the selling price effective at the inception of the lease and report the year
of the lease as the year of acquisition (if final payment has not been made, report such equipment in PART IV). If you own machinery and equipment
at another location in this county and you did not receive a form for reporting equipment at that location, or if your equipment is temporarily outside the
county, attach a schedule to this statement showing the location of the equipment and provide the information requested in this schedule. Report all
machinery and equipment, whether fully depreciated or not, including implements of husbandry, special mobile equipment (SE Plates), and other vehicles
exempt from licensing and registration under Division 16 of the Vehicle Code. Do not include licensed vehicles designed primarily for the transportation
of persons or property on a highway.

The reported cost should include excise taxes, sales or use taxes, freight charges, and installation costs. If a trade-in was deducted, the amount to be
entered is the invoice price (adding back the trade-in). Deductions for investment credits allowable for federal income tax purposes may not be taken
and must be added back if deducted when the cost was entered on your books and records. Include expenses incurred immediately after purchase to
bring a machine up to operable condition. As mentioned in Schedule C, the value of self-construction must be included.

SCHEDULE E — OFFICE FURNITURE AND EQUIPMENT

Enter the total original installed cost by calendar year of acquisition. Include freight-in, excise taxes, sales or use taxes, and installation costs. Include
fully depreciated office equipment but DO NOT include items that were traded, retired, transferred, sold, or junked and removed physically from the premises.
If office equipment is located elsewhere in the county, attach a similar schedule and identify the location. ALL OFFICE EQUIPMENT MUST BE REPORTED
ON THIS STATEMENT. ! :

If necessary, attach additional schedules to this property statement.

SIGNATURE

This property statement must be signed by the assessee, a pariner, a duly appointed fiduciary, or an agent. When signed by an agent or employee other
than a member of the bar, a certified public accountant, a public accountant, enrolled agent, or a duly appointed fiduciary, the assessee’s written authorization
of the agent or employee to sign the statement on behalf of the assessee must be filed with the assessor. The assessor may at any time require a
person who signs a property statement and who is required to have written authorization to provide proof of authorization.

In the case of a corporate assessee, the property statement must be signed by an officer or by an employee or agent whom the board of directors has
designated in writing (other than those excepted above), by name or by title, to sign the statement on behalf of the corporation. The board of directors
may appoint a person or persons to designate such employee or agent. A record of the written authorization of the appointment and designation must
be retained by the assessee for a period of six years from the date of its execution.

Property statements, regardless of where executed, shall be certified or declared to be true and correct and shall be signed under penalty of perjury under
the laws of the State of California.

A property statement that is not signed in accordance with the foregoing instructions does not constitute a valid filing. The penalty imposed by Section
463 of the Revenue and Taxation Code for failure to file is applicable to unsigned property statements.
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OFFICIAL REQUEST

California Revenue Laws prescribe a yearly ad valorem tax based on property as it exists at 12:01 a.m. on January 1 (tax lien date). This form constitutes
an official request that you declare all assessable business property situated in this county which you owned, claimed, possessed, controlled, or managed
on the tax lien date, and that you sign (under penalty of perjury) and return the statement to the Assessor’s office by the date cited on the face of the
form as required by law. Failure to file it during the time provided in Section 441 of the Revenue and Taxation Code will compel the Assessor to estimate
the value of your property from other information in the Assessor's possession and add a penalty of 10% of the assessed value as required by Section
463 of the Code.

If you own taxable personal property in any county whose aggregate cost is $100,000 or more for any assessment year, you must file a property statement with
the Assessor of that county whether or not you are requested to do so. Any person not otherwise required to file a statement shall do so upon request of the Assessor
regardless of aggregate cost. The Assessor of the county will supply you with a form upon request.

Except for the “SIGNATURE" section, you may furnish attachments in lieu of entering the information on this property statement. However, such attachments must
contain all the information requested by the statement and these instructions, the attachments must be in a format acceptable to the Assessor, and the property
statement must contain appropriate references to the attachments and must be properly signed.

THIS THIS STATEMENT IS NOT IF ANY SITUATION EXISTS WHICH

STATEMENT A PUBLIC DOCUMENT, THE NECESSITATES A DEVIATION FROM

IS SUBJECT INFORMATION DECLARED WILL TOTAL COST PER BOOKS AND RECORDS

TO AUDIT. BE HELD SECRET BY THE ASSESSOR. FULLY EXPLAIN ALL ADJUSTMENTS.
INSTRUCTIONS

COMPLETE THE STATEMENT AS FOLLOWS:

NAME. INDIVIDUALS enter full name, surname first, PARTNERSHIPS enter at least two full names. CORPORATIONS report full corporate name. If the business
operates under a FICTITIOUS NAME, enter “DBA" and the fictitious name below the legal name.

LOCATION OF THE PROPERTY. Enter the complete street address. Forms for additional business or warehouse locations will be furnished upon request. Alisting
may be attached to a single property statement for your vending equipment leased or rented to others, when any such properties are situated at many locations
within this county. ?

~ Part | GENERAL INFORMATION
Complete items (a) through (g) as requested.

OWNERSHIP OF LAND — (c). Check (+) either the YES or the NO box to indicate whether you own the land at the LOCATION OF THE PROPERTY
shown on this statement. If YES is checked, verify the official RECORDED NAME on your DEED. If it agrees with the name shown on this statement,
check (v) the second YES box. If it does not agree, check (v) the second NO box.

LOCATION OF RECORDS — (e and f). If general ledger, journals and other related accounting records are not located as indicated under item e, you
may be required to bring said records to your principal place of business in California. Multiple locations of records should be indicated.

PROPERTY TRANSFER — (g). A property transfer includes all transfers of property through grant, gift, devise, inheritance, trust, contract of sale, addition
or deletion of an owner, or any other means. A propery transfer also includes the creation, sublease, or assignment of a leasehold interest in real property
for a term of 35 years or more including options. A transfer also occurs when more than 50 percent of a corporation’s voting stock, or more than 50
percent of the ownership interest of a partnership or other legal entity, is acquired, in a single transaction or cumulatively, by another person or legal
entity. Not all property transfers are considered changes in ownership requiring reappraisal. The information is solicited herein for discovery purposes only.

Part Il DECLARATION OF PROPERTY BELONGING TO YOU.

Report book cost (100 percent of actual cost). Include excise, sales, and use taxes, freight-in, installation charges, and all other relevant costs. Report
any additional information which will assist the Assessor in arriving at a fair market value. Include finance charges, for buildings and improvements that
are constructed or otherwise produced for an enterprise’s own use (including assets constructed or produced by others) for which deposits or progress
payments have been made. Do not include finance charges for purchased equipment.

LINE 1. SUPPLIES. Report supplies on hand, such as stationery and office supplies, chemicals used to produce a chemical or physical reaction, janitorial
and lavatory supplies, fuel, sandpaper, etc., at their current replacement costs. Include medical, legal, or accounting supplies held by a person in connection
with a profession that is primarily a service activity. Do Neot include supplies which will become a component part of the product you manufacture or sell.

LINE 2. EQUIPMENT. Enter total from Schedule A, Line 35. (See Instructions for Schedule A)
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LINE 3. EQUIPMENT OUT ON LEASE OR RENT TO OTHERS. Report cost on Line 3 and attach schedules showing the following (Equipment actually
out on lease or rent and equipment held for lease or rent which you have used or intend to use must be reported. Equipment held for lease or rent
and not otherwise used by you is exempt and should not be reported.):

Equipment out on lease or rent. (1) Name and address of party in possession, (2) location of the property, (3) quantity and description, (4) date of acquisition,
(5) your cost, selling price, and annual rent, (6) lease or identification number, (7) date and duration of lease, (8) how acquired (purchased, manufactured, or other
— explain). If the property is used by a free public library or a free museum or is used exclusively by a public school, community college, state college, state
university,church.oranonproiit college it may be exempt from property taxes, provided the lessors’ exemption claimis filed by March 15, or, where used by a church,
by March 31. Obtain Form AH 263, Lessors' Exemption Claim, from the Assessor, Also include equipment on your premises held for lease or rent which you
have used or intend to use. Report your cost and your selling price by year of acquisition.

LINE 4. BUILDINGS, BUILDING IMPROVEMENTS, AND/OR LEASEHOLD IMPROVEMENTS, LAND IMPROVEMENTS, LAND AND LAND
DEVELOPMENT. Enter total from Schedule B, Line 71. (See Instructions for Schedule B)

LINE5. CONSTRUCTION IN PROGRESS. If you have unallocated costs of construction in progress for improvements to land, machinery, equipment, furniture,
buildings or other improvements, or leasehold improvements, attach an itemized listing. Include all tangible property, even though not entered on your books and
records. Enter the total on Line 5, PART II. )

LINE6. ALTERNATE OR IN-LIEU SCHEDULE. If the Assessor enclosed an AH 571-L ALTERNATE SCHEDULE A with this property statement, complete the
alternate schedule as directed and report the total cost on Line 6.

LINES 7-8. OTHER. Describe and report the cost of tangible property not reported elsewhere on this form.
Part Il DECLARATION OF PROPERTY BELONGING TO OTHERS.

If property belonging to others, or their business entities, is Iocéled on your premises, report the owner’s name and mailing address. If it is leased equipment, read
your agreement carefully and enter A (Lessor) or B (Lessee), and whether lessor or lessee has the tax obligation. For assessment purposes, the Assessor will
consider, but is not bound to, the contractual agreement.

1. LEASED EQUIPMENT. Report the year of acquisition, the year of manufacture, description of the leased property, the lease contract number or
other identification number, the total installed cost to purchase (including sales tax), and the annual rent; do not include in Schedule A or B. (See
No. 3, below) . )

2. LEASE-PURCHASE OPTION EQUIPMENT. Report here all equipment acquired on lease-purchase option on which the final payment remains
to bemade. Enterthe year of acquisition, the year of manufacture, description of the leased property, the lease contract number or other identification
number, the total installed cost to purchase (including sales tax), and the annual rent. If final payment has been made, report full cost in Schedule
A or B. (See No. 3, below)

3. CAPITALIZED LEASED EQUIPMENT. Report here all leased equipment that has been capitalized at the present value of the minimum lease
payments on which a final payment remains to be made. Enter the year of acquisition, the year of manufacture, description of the leased property,
the lease contract number or other identification number, and the total installed cost to purchase (including sales tax). Do not include in Schedule
A or B unless final payment has been made.

4. VENDING EQUIPMENT. Report the model and description of the equipment; do not include in Schedule A.

5. OTHER BUSINESSES. Report other businesses on your premises.

6. GOVERNMENT-OWNED PROPERTY. If you possess or use government-owned land, improvements, or fixed equipment, or government-owned
property is located on your premises, report the name and address of the agency which owns the property, and a description of the property.

SCHEDULE A — COST DETAIL: EQUIPMENT
Do not include property already reported in Part |,

LINES 11-46. Enterin the appropriate column the cost of your equipment segregated by calendar year of acquisition, include short-lived or expensed equipment.
Total each column. Report full cost; do not deduct investment credits, rade-in allowances or depreciation. Include equipment acquired through a lease-purchase
agreement at the selling price effective at the inception of the lease and report the year of the lease as the year of acquisition (if final payment has not been made,
report such equipmentin PART Ill). Report self-constructed equipment used by you at the proper trade level in accordance with Title 18, Section 10, of the California
Code of Regulations. Exclude the cost of normal maintenance and repair that does not extend the life nor modity the use of the equipment. Exclude the cost of
equipment actually removed from the site. The cost of equipment retired but not removed from the site must be reported. Segregate and report on Line 3, PART
Il the cost of equipment out on lease or rent. p
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inciude special mobile equipment (SE Plates). Exclude motor vehicles licensed for operation on the highways. However, you must report overweight and oversized
rubber-tired vehicles, except licensed commercial vehicles and cranes, which require permits issued by the Department of Transportation to operate on the
highways. If you have paid a license fee prior to January 1 on these large vehicles, contact the Assessor for an “Application for Deduction of Vehicle License Fees
from Property Tax™ and file it with the Tax Collector. Report overweight and oversized vehicles in Column 3.

Computers used in any application directly related to manufacturing, or used to control or monitor machinery or equipment, should be reported in Column 1.
Non-production computer components and related equipment designed for general business purposes should be reported in Columns 5a, 5b, and 5¢. For reporting
purposes, a computer component is each asset separately stated in your books and records. Do not include application sofiware costs in accordance with Section
995.2 of the Califonia Revenue and Taxation Code. Report in Column 5a computer assets with a cost of $25,000 or less. Report in Column 5b computer assets

with a cost of $25,000.01-$500.000. Report in Column 5S¢ computer assets costing over $500,000 and attach a detailed schedule of such assets by year of
acquisition. :

:jf:f_enc:ussary. assettitles in Schedule Amay be changed o better fit your property holdings; however, the titles should be of such clarity that the property is adequately
I e

LINES 18,31, 33 and 42. For “prior” years acquisition, you must attach a separate schedule detailing the cost of such equipment by year(s) of acquisition. Enter
the total cost of all such acquisitions on Lines 18, 31, 33 and 42. i

LINE 35. Add totals on Lines 19, Column 4, Line 32, Column 5a, Line 34, Columns 1, 2, 3, Line 43, Column 5b, Line 46, Column 5c, and any additional schedules.
Enter the same figure on Line 2, PART II, PAGE 1 that you entered in the box.

SCHEDULE B — COST DETAIL: BUILDINGS, BUILDING IMPROVEMENTS, AND\OR LEASEHOLD IMPROVEMENTS.
LAND AND LAND DEVELOPMENT

LINES 47-71. Report by calendar year of acquisition the original or allocated costs (per your books and records) of buildings and building or leasehold
improvements; land improvements; land and land development owned by you at this location on January 1. Include finance charges for buildings or improvements
which have been constructed for an enterprise’s own use. If no finance charges were incurred because funding was supplied by the owner, then indicate so in the
remarks. In the appropriate column enter costs, including cost of fully depreciated items, by the calendar year of acquisition and total each column. Do not include
items that are reported in Schedule A.

If you had any additions or disposals reported in Columns 1, 2, 3, or 4 during the period of March 1, 1996 through December 31, 1996, attach a schedule showing
the month and year and description of each addition and disposal. Enclosed for this purpose is Form SBE-ASD AH 571-D, Supplemental Schedule for Reporting
Monthly Acquisitions and Disposals of Property Reported on Schedule B of the Business Property Statement. If additional forms are needed, photocopy the enclosed
Form AH 571-D.

Segregate the buildings and building or leasehold improvements into the two requested categories (items which have dual function will be classified according to
their primary function). Examples of some property items and their most common categorization are listed below:

STRUCTURE ITEMS, Column 1 FIXTURE ITEMS, Column 2

An improvement will be classified as a structure when its primary use An improvement will be classified as a fixture if its use or purpose
or purpose is for housing or accommodation of personnel, personalty, directly applies to or augments the process or function of a trade,
or fixtures and has no direct application to the process or function of industry, or profession.

the industry, trade, or profession.

Air conditioning (except process cooling). Air conditioning (process cooling).
Boilers (except manufacturing process). Boilers (manufacturing process).
Central heating & cooling plants. Burglar alarm systems.

Craneways. Conveyors (to move materials and products).

Elevators. Cranes — traveling.

Environmental control devices (if an integral part of the structure). Environmental control devices (used in production process).
Fans & ducts (part of an air circulation system for the building). Fans & ducts (used for processing).

Fire alarm systems. Floors, raised computer rooms.

Partitions (flaor to ceiling). Furnaces, process.

Pipelines, pipe supports & pumps used to operate the facilities of a building. Ice dispensers, coin operated.

Pits not used in the trade or process.

Railroad spurs.

Refrigeration systems (integral part of the building).

Refrigerators, walk-in (excluding operating equipment)
which are an integral part of the building.

Restaurants — rough plumbing to fixtures

Safes — imbedded.

Signs which are an integral part of the building excluding
sign cabinet (face & lettering).

Silos or tanks when primarily used for storage or distribution.

Sprinkler systems.
Store fronts.
Television & radio antenna towers.
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Machinery fdns. & pits (not part of normal fiooring fdns.).

Permanent Partitions (less than floor to ceiling).

Pipelines, pipe supports, pumps used in the production process.

Pits used as clarifiers, skimmers, sumps & for greasing in the trade
or manufacturing process.

Plumbing — special purpose.

Power wiring, switch gear & power panels used in mfg. process.

Refrigeration systems (not an integral part of the building).

Refrigerators, walk-in unitized, including operating equipment.

Restaurant equipment used in food & drink preparation or service
(plumbing fixtures, sinks, bars, soda fountains, booths &
counters, garbage disposals, dishwashers, hoods, etc.).

Scales including platform & pit.

Signs — all sign cabinets (face) & free standing signs including
supports.

Silos or tanks when primarily used for processing.

B



Disposals — Describe in detail and show the original year acquired and the acquisition cost of each Structure Item disposal made between March 1,
1996 and December 31, 1996. Enter the month and year the property was retired. Disposals include only facilities or portions of facilities physically
removed from the site. Items removed and replaced under normal maintenance and repair, such as replaced roof coverings, do not qualify as disposals

unless their replacement is reported as an addition.

LINE 34B, ADD TOTALS ON LINE 33, COLUMNS 4 & 5. Enter in the box and on Line 4, Part Il

SIGNATURE

This property statement must be signed by the assessee, a pariner, a duly appointed fiduciary, or an agent. When signed by an agent or employee other
than a member of the bar, a certified public accountant, a public accountant, enrolled agent, or a duly appointed fiduciary, the assessee's written
authorization of the agent or employee to sign the statement on behalf of the assessee must be filed with the Assessor. The Assessor may at any time
require a person who signs a property statement and who is required to have written authorization to provide proof of authorization.

In the case of a corporate assessee, the property statement must be signed by an officer or by an employee or agent whom the board of directors has
designated in writing (other than those excepted above), by name or by title, to sign the statement on behalf of the corporation. The board of directors
may appoint a person or persons to designate such employee or agent. A record of the written authorization of the appointment and designation must be

retained by the assessee for a period of six years from the date of its execution.

Property statements, regardless of where executed, shall be certified or declared to be true and correct and shall be signed under penalty of perjury
under the laws of the State of California.

A property statement that is not signed in accordance with the foregoing instructions does not constitute a valid filing. The penalty imposed by Section
463 of the Revenue and Taxation Code for failure to file is applicable to unsigned property statements.
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