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790.0105 Historic Property. Revenue and Taxation Code section 50 requires county assessors
to establish new base year values for enforceably restricted historical property upon a
change in ownership. However, the establishment of those new base year values merely
enables the assessor to perform the three-way value comparison prescribed by Revenue
and Taxation Code section 439.2(d) and to calculate the assessed values of historical
property should the Mills Act contract enter nonrenewal status. (section 439.3), Since the
assessments of enforceably restricted historical properties are governed by article XIII,
section 8 of the California Constitution, Revenue and Taxation Code section 75.14
precludes assessors from enrolling supplemental assessments for enforceably restricted
historical properties upon a change in ownership. C 11/13/2003. (2004-1).
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This letter is in response to your inquiry addressed to Assistant Chief Counsel Kristine
Cazadd, regarding the proper treatment of property for change in ownership purposes, subject to
historic preservation contracts under the Mills Act Program located in County.

As discussed in more detail below, it is our opinion that the County Assessor
should not enroll supplemental assessments for property in the Mills Act Program when that
property experiences a change in ownership.

Factual Background

- Our analysis is based upon the following background facts provided in your letter dated
August 12, 2003 and the letter from Mr. ' , dated August 11, 2003:

1. Atthetime of Mr. R 'letter, he was in the process of purchasing real property subject
to a Mills Act Contract, and located in

2. Mr.R  reported his purchase price of that property at $691,500.

3. Responding to an inquiry from Mr. R, the County Assessor's Office
indicated that the sale of the property would result in a reappraisable change in
ownership.

4. Following that change in ownership, the assessor's office indicated to Mr. R that it
would enroll a supplemental assessment reflecting the difference between the property's
current assessed value ($119,070) and the market value of the property on the date of the
change in ownership ($691,500).
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5. Mr.R  believes that the assessor plans to appraise the property for supplemental
assessment using the "market" approach to value instead of the income value indicator
prescribed by Revenue and Taxation Code section 439.2.

6. Accordingto Mr. R, the County Assessor's Office indicated that it would
not apply the valuation approach prescribed by section 439.2 until the first lien date after
the change in ownership.

Based upon these facts, you have posed the following question on behalf of the Office of
Historic Preservation (OHP): Does the County Assessor have the authority to issue
supplemental assessments on propertics subject to Mills Act Contracts?

Analysis
May the County Assessor issue supplemental assessments for property subject

to a Mills Act Contract upon a change in ownership of that property?

No. While section 50 of the Revenue and Taxation Code requires the assessor to establish a new
base year value following a change in ownership, properties encumbered by Mills Act Contracts
are not subject to supplemental assessments since those properties are subject to valuation
pursuant to section 8 of article XIII of the California Constitution.

As you may be aware, article XHIA generally limits annual increases in the assessed
value of unrestricted real property to no more than 2 percent, except when property changes
ownership or undergoes new construction. Revenue and Taxation Code section 50, the statute
that implements the change in ownership provisions of article XIITA, requires the assessor to
establish a new base year value for a property upon a change in ownership.

However, enforceably restricted historical properties are subject assessment pursuant to
article XIII, section 8 of the California Constitution. Section 8 of article XIII provides as
follows:

Assessment of open space lands and property of historical significance . .
To promote the preservation of property of historical significance, the Legislature
may define such property and shall provide that when it is enforceably restricted,
in a manner specified by the Legislature, it shall be valued for property tax
purposes only on a basis that is consistent with its restrictions and uses.

To provide for the valuation of property of historical significance for property taxation,
the Legislature added sections 52 and 439 et. seq. to the Revenue and Taxation Code.
Subdivision (a) of Revenue and Taxation Cede Section 52 requires the assessor to use the
valuation approaches prescribed in Revenue and Taxation Code section 439 et. seq. when
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appraising historical property that is enforceably restricted pursuant to article XIII, section 8
(Mills Act Contracts).

Section 439.2 prescribes the valuation approach for enforceably restricted historical
property, and provides for an optional method of placing a ceiling upon the value to be enrolled.
Under the value limitations of subdivision (d), the section 439.2 value cannot exceed the lesser
of the property's (1) current fair market value calculated pursuant to section 110; or (2) the base
year or factored base year value calculated pursuant to section 110.1 as if the property was not
subject to an enforceable restriction in the base year, unless a party to the contract expressly
prohibits such a valuation.

When enrolling an assessment for enforceably restricted properties, the assessor is
required to annually compare the base year or factored base year value of each such property
with the property's restricted and current market values, enrolling the lowest of the three as the
assessed value. Therefore, in practice, county assessors are required to track the base year value
of enforceably restricted historical properties.

Each year the assessor performs the comparison described above in order to determine
the correct value to enroll. If a property changes ownership, such as the property purchased by
Mr. R, the assessor must determine the fair market value of the property upon that change in
ownership. That value will become the new base year value for purposes of the three-way value
comparison on each lien date following the change in ownership.

Even though the assessor is required to establish a new base year value for property
subject to enforceable restriction, it is our position that supplemental assessment procedures do
not apply to enforceably restricted property. Revenue and Taxation Code section 75.14 provides:

Supplemental assessment; limitation. A supplemental assessment pursuant to
this chapter shall not be made for any property not subject to the assessment
limitations of Article XIII A of the California Constitution. All propetty subject
to the assessment limitations of Article XIII A of the California Constitution shall
be subject to the provisions of this chapter, except as otherwise provided in this
article.

As mentioned above, the assessment of enforceably restricted historical property is
subject to the provisions of article XIII, section 8 of the California Constitution, and not
article XTIIA. Thus, section 75.14 precludes the assessor from enrolling supplemental
assessments for enforceably restricted historical propetty.

By comparison, if Mr. R ' property were not enforceably restricted, there would be a
supplemental assessment in the amount of $572,430 upon the change in ownership ($691,500
current market value less the $119,070 current roll value on the property).
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Conclusion

Since Mr. R ' property experienced a change in ownership, section 50 requires the
county assessor to establish new base year values for his property upon that change in ownership.
However, since the assessments of enforceably restricted historical properties are governed by
article X111, section 8 of the California Constitution, assessors ate precluded from enrolling
supplemental assessments upon a change in ownership by section 75.14 of the Revenue and
Taxation Code. Establishment of new base year values merely enables the assessor to perform
the three-way value comparison prescribed by subdivision (d) of section 439.2 and to calculate
the assessed values should the Mills Act contract enter nonrenewal status (section 439.3).

The views expressed in this letter are advisory in nature only; they represent the analysis
of the legal staff of the Board of Equalization based on present law and the facts set forth herein.

Sincerely,
/s/ Michael Lebeau

Michael Lebeau
Tax Counsel
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cc:  Mr. David Gau, MIC:63
Mr, Dean Kinnee, MIC:64
Ms. Mickie Stuckey, MIC:62
Ms. Jennifer Willis, MIC:70




