
Special Notice
Cigarette Distributors Cigarette Stamp Adjustment 

Tax Return Requirement

With the passage of Proposition 56, the excise tax rate on cigarettes increases, and there is a 
cigarette stamp adjustment tax requirement on distributors. Also, new products are added to 
the definition of “tobacco products” for excise tax purposes.

Cigarette excise tax rate increase 
On April 1, 2017, the excise tax rate on cigarettes will increase from $0.0435 to $0.1435 per cigarette. 
For example, the excise tax on a package of 20 cigarettes will increase from $0.87 to $2.87. 

Cigarette stamp adjustment tax return – distributors 
Distributors must take inventory of all cigarette tax stamps, both affixed and unaffixed, in their 
possession or under their control as of 12:01 a.m. on April 1, 2017, and pay the additional excise tax, 
referred to as a “stamp adjustment tax” on that inventory. Distributors are required to complete a 
BOE-501-Q3, Cigarette Distributor Stamp Adjustment Tax Return, which is due, along with payment 
of the additional stamp adjustment tax ($0.10 per cigarette), by July 1, 2017. Information regarding 
payment options may be found on the California State Board of Equalization’s (BOE) website 
under the “Make a Payment” tab at www.boe.ca.gov/elecsrv/payment.htm on the BOE homepage at 
www.boe.ca.gov. 

Distributors should keep records of their inventory of affixed and unaffixed cigarette stamps 
in their possession or under their control as of 12:01 a.m. on April 1, 2017, to substantiate their 
stamp adjustment tax return and payment.

Little or small cigars to be classified as “tobacco products” 
Beginning April 1, 2017, little or small cigars will be considered tobacco products. Prior to the 
passage of Proposition 56, products labeled as little or small cigars under federal regulation and 
the Federal Cigarette Labeling and Advertising Act were classified as cigarettes and required 
a cigarette tax stamp. Proposition 56 expanded the definition of “tobacco products” under the 
California Cigarette and Tobacco Products Tax Law to include little or small cigars. Therefore, 
distributors must not include excess unaffixed tax stamps denominated as 10s and stamped 
packages of little or small cigars in their inventory count on their BOE-501-CD, Cigarette 
Distributor’s Tax Report (www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/boe501cd.pdf) and their Cigarette Distributor Stamp 
Adjustment Tax Return.

Distributors with inventories of unaffixed tax stamps denominated as 10s intended for 
application on packages of little cigars are advised to file a claim for refund and return the 
stamps to the BOE. Distributors may send their claim for refund by mail to the Appeals and 
Data Analysis Branch, P.O. Box 942879, Sacramento, CA 94279-0033, or fax to 1-916-323-9497, or 
email to adab@boe.ca.gov. BOE staff will contact the distributor and provide instructions on how 
to return the unused stamps.

On and after April 1, 2017, the state excise tax will apply to the distribution (www.boe.ca.gov/
lawguides/business/current/btlg/vol3/ctptl/ctptl-30008.html) of little or small cigars at the same 
excise tax rate as other tobacco products. Currently, the excise tax rate on the distribution 
of tobacco products is 27.30 percent of the wholesale cost of the tobacco product. Effective 
April 1, 2017, distributors of little or small cigars will be responsible for remitting the tobacco 
products excise tax on their distributions of these products. Distributors with stamped packages 
of little or small cigars in their inventory on and after April 1, 2017, may distribute the stamped 
packages of little or small cigars as “tax paid” tobacco products to licensed wholesalers and 
retailers until their inventories of stamped packages of little or small cigars are exhausted. Any 
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unstamped packages of little or small cigars within a distributor’s inventory that are distributed 
on and after April 1, 2017, should remain unstamped. Their subsequent distribution to licensed 
wholesalers and retailers must be substantiated by a licensed distributor’s sales invoice that 
indicates the amount of excise taxes due by the distributor on the sale or distribution of the 
tobacco products listed on the sales invoice or a statement indicating that all California excise 
taxes are included in the total amount of the invoice. Tobacco distributors are required to report 
the sale or distribution of these products as taxable distributions on their BOE 501-CT, Tobacco 
Products Distributor Tax Return (www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/boe501ct.pdf), and pay the excise taxes due.

New tobacco products subject to the tobacco products excise tax 
Proposition 56 expands the definition of “tobacco products” for excise tax purposes to include, 
but not be limited to, the products listed below. Beginning April 1, 2017, the distribution of these 
products will be subject to the tobacco products excise tax at the current rate of 27.30 percent of 
the wholesale cost of the tobacco product.

• Little or small cigars

• Any type of product for human consumption that contains tobacco or nicotine 

• Electronic cigarettes sold in combination with nicotine for a single price 

• Any component, part, or accessory of an electronic cigarette that is used during the 
operation of the device, when sold in combination with nicotine for a single price 

Entities that currently hold a Tobacco Products Distributor Account and a Cigarette and Tobacco 
Products Distributor License will require no additional registration. Beginning April 1, 2017, 
tobacco products distributors are required to report the sale or distribution of the above-
mentioned products as taxable distributions on their BOE 501-CT, Tobacco Products Distributor 
Tax Return (www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/boe501ct.pdf).

Cigarette stamps purchased on or after April 1, 2017 
Distributors will be able to purchase the existing version of cigarette tax stamps at the pre-
Proposition 56 tax rate through March 30, 2017, at 10:00 a.m. (Pacific time). On April 1, 2017, 
the process for ordering cigarette tax stamps will not change. The new cigarette tax stamp, 
which will have a different background color than the current tax stamp, will be available for 
purchase on April 3, 2017, at 5:00 a.m. (Pacific time). Distributors that purchase stamps by the 
deferred payment option are advised to contact the BOE’s Stamp Desk at 1-916-341-6923 for 
information regarding payment options, security requirements, and/or increases in the amount 
that may be deferred. Additional information may also be found in publication 63, Cigarette 
Distributor Licensing and Tax Stamp Guide (www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/pub63.pdf). The cost of a roll of 
cigarette tax stamps will increase at a rate of the equivalent to $0.10 per individual cigarette 
in accordance with Proposition 56 for all denominations of cigarette tax stamps, regardless 
of the size of the stamp roll. Additionally, Proposition 56 caps the 0.85 percent discount for 
cigarette tax stamps and meter readings to the first one dollar ($1.00) in denominated value 
of the stamp or meter reading (Revenue and Taxation Code section 30166). These updates 
will be noted on the revised BOE 663-ACTS, California Cigarette Tax Stamp Purchase Order form 
(www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/boe663acts.pdf).

Registration to distribute tobacco products after April 1, 2017 
Entities that currently hold a Cigarette and Tobacco Products Distributor License for each of 
their licensed distribution locations will not need to obtain a new license for their existing 
licensed distribution locations. Entities that are currently registered with a Cigarette Distributor 
Account that also wish to distribute little or small cigars or any other tobacco products on or 
after April 1, 2017, will need to obtain a Tobacco Products Distributor Account and may apply 
using the BOE’s online registration (https://efile.boe.ca.gov/ereg/index.boe). Online registration is the 
most convenient way to register and is available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Applicants 
may visit the BOE homepage at www.boe.ca.gov, and select “New Registration” to begin. The BOE’s 
“Information to Get Started” webpage at www.boe.ca.gov/elecsrv/ings.htm contains a checklist of 
general information applicants may need for the registration process. 

http://www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/boe501ct.pdf
http://www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/boe501ct.pdf
http://www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/boe501ct.pdf
http://www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/boe501ct.pdf
http://www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/pub63.pdf
http://www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/pub63.pdf
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=30166
https://www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/boe663acts.pdf
http://www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/boe663acts.pdf
https://efile.boe.ca.gov/ereg/index.boe
http://www.boe.ca.gov
http://www.boe.ca.gov/elecsrv/ings.htm


STATE BOARD

OF EQUALIZATION

Cigarette 
Distributors 
Cigarette Stamp 
Adjustment 
Tax Return 
Requirement

Page 3
MARCH 2017

L-494

For additional information 
Additional information regarding the provisions of Proposition 56 is available online at 
http://voterguide.sos.ca.gov/en/propositions/56/. Distributors may also view the BOE’s online “Cigarette 
and Tobacco Products Tax Guide” at www.boe.ca.gov/industry/cigarettes_tobacco_products.html. 

For more information regarding the tax increase or any provisions of Proposition 56, please 
visit the BOE’s website at www.boe.ca.gov as it will be continuously updated. Distributors may 
call the Customer Service Center at 1-800-400-7115 (TTY:711) to speak with a customer service 
representative. From the main menu, select the option Special Taxes and Fees. Assistance is 
available weekdays from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Pacific time), except state holidays.  
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