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TIRE RECYCLING FEE
This pamphlet is designed to provide basic information on California’s Tire Recycling Fee.
If you have questions that are not answered in this publication and would like to talk to a
Board representative, please call the telephone number shown on the left.

the Board for advice on how to file if they do
not receive a return.

How is the tire recycling fee used?
The fees are used to
• Operate a tire recycling program
• Administer a waste tire hauler

registration program
• Pay for cleanups related to the disposal

of used whole tires
• Conduct research directed at

promoting and developing alternatives
to landfill disposal of used whole tires

• Operate a statewide tire shredding
program

• Cover the regulation of the storage of
waste tires

The above programs are administered by
the California Integrated Waste Manage-
ment Board.

What is a new tire?
A new tire is a solid or pneumatic tire
intended for use with on-road or off-road
motor vehicles, motorized equipment, con-
struction equipment, or farm equipment,
and that is sold separately from the vehicle
or equipment. The term “new tire” does not
include retreaded or recycled tires or tires
that are mounted on wheels and sold as
part of a vehicle or equipment.

Can sellers be compensated for
their costs?
Yes. Effective January 1, 1997, sellers of
new tires can retain 10 percent of the recy-
cling fee as reimbursement for their costs
for collecting the fee. The balance of the fee
must be paid to the Board.

What is the tire recycling fee?
The tire recycling fee is collected from cus-
tomers who purchase new tires from Cali-
fornia retailers. The fee pays for programs
that provide alternatives to the landfill dis-
posal of used tires.

Who pays the fee?
As noted above, customers are required to
pay the fee when they purchases a new tire
from a California retailer (at the rate of 25
cents per tire). The retailer, in turn, pays the
fee to the Board of Equalization on a quar-
terly basis, and the Board deposits the fees
in the California Tire Recycling Fee Man-
agement Fund.

Who must register?
California new tire retailers must be regis-
tered with the Board of Equalization. Busi-
nesses that do not register and file returns
are subject to fines and penalties. If you are
a qualified retailer and have not registered,
please contact the Excise Taxes Division
immediately (see reverse).

When are returns due?
Retail sellers of new tires are required to file
a return each calendar quarter—even if no
fees are due for the quarter (that is, no new
tires were sold during the quarter). The
return, along with payment of the fee, is
due on or before the 15th of the month
following the end of each quarter.

Late payments are subject to interest charges
and a penalty of 10 percent of the amount
that is overdue. Sellers who do not receive
a return (for example, it is lost in the mail)
are still required to file a return by the due
date for the quarter. Sellers should contact
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For general information or to register . . .
Call 800-400-7115

For TDD assistance (telephone device for the deaf), call
From TDD phones From voice phones

800-735-2929 800-735-2922
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Excise Taxes Division
Call 800-400-7115 or write to:

State Board of Equalization
Excise Taxes Division MIC: 56

P.O. Box 942879
Sacramento, CA 94279-0056

▼

Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate
If you are unable to resolve a disagreement with the Board, or if you would like to

 know more about your rights under the Tire Recycling Fee Law,
please contact the Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate office for help.

Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate MIC: 70
State Board of Equalization

P.O. Box 942879
Sacramento, CA 94279-0070

Telephone: 888-324-2798 or 916-324-2798
Fax: 916-323-3319


