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New Registration Requirements for  
Out-of-State Retailers

Governor Edmund G. Brown, Jr. signed budget trailer bill ABx1 28 on June 28, 2011. It 
is intended to clarify the obligations of out-of-state retailers to collect and remit use tax 
on sales of tangible personal property to California customers. The new provisions of 
the law added by ABx1 28 were effective immediately upon signing. 

The bill generally expands use tax registration requirements to large out-of-state 
 retailers that were previously not required to collect use tax on sales to California 
 customers. Such transactions are generally conducted either through mail order, 
 telephone orders, or via the Internet. 

Among other things, this bill specifically provides that a “retailer engaged in business 
in this state” includes: 

Any	retailer	that	is	a	member	of	a	commonly-controlled	group	and	is	a	
member of a combined r eporting group that includes another member of the 
r etailer’s commonly contr olled group that, pursuant to an agreement with or in 
cooperation with the r etailer, performs services in this state in connection with 
tangible personal pr operty to be sold by the retailer, including, but not limited 
to, design and development of tangible personal pr operty sold by the retailer, or 
the solicitation of sales of tangible personal property on behalf of the retailer.

Any	retailer	entering	into	an	agreement	under	which	a	person	in	this	state,	for	
a commission or other consideration, refers potential purchasers of tangible  
personal pr operty to the retailer, whether by an Internet-based link or an 
Internet website, or otherwise provided that both of the following conditions 
are met:

1. The retailer’s total sales of tangible personal property to California 
consumers that ar e referred pursuant to all of those agreements with a 
person(s) in California in the preceding 12 months must be in excess of 
$10,000.

 2. The retailer’s total sales of tangible personal property to California 
consumers in the pr eceding 12 months must be in excess of $500,000.

If your business meets the requirements listed above and is not already registered with 
the Board of Equalization, please fill out an application for a California Certificate of 
Registration—Use Tax. After completing the application please send it to:

State Board of Equalization 
Out-of-State Office  
PO Box 188268  
Sacramento, CA 95818-8268

If you have questions regarding the registration requirements, please call our out-of-
state office at 916-227-6600.

www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/boe400csc.pdf
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