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CaliforniaTire Fee

Did you know that, in most cases, purchases of new tires are subject to the
California Tire Fee, which is currently $1.75 per tire?

Does the tire fee apply to tires on lawnmowers, snow
blowers, and golf carts?

No, when the vehicle is originally purchased. Yes, on the purchase of new replace-
ment tires. The California Integrated Waste Management Board (CIWMB) recently
determined that tires included with the purchase of riding lawnmowers, snow blow-
ers, go carts, and golf carts are not subject to the tire fee, but new tires purchased
separately for use with these items are subject to the fee.

Who pays the fee?

In the majority of cases, the California retailer will charge the purchaser the tire

fee and pay that amount to the State Board of Equalization (BOE). However, there
are times when the purchaser of the new tire is required to report and pay the fee
directly to the BOE. These situations include, but are not limited to, a purchase of
a new tire for resale that is used by the purchaser rather than resold and a purchase
of a new tire from an out-of-state seller that is not registered in California to collect
the California Tire Fee. In these circumstances, the purchaser—and not the seller—is
required to report and pay the tire fee directly to the BOE.

If you think you may owe the California Tire Fee or have questions about the fee,
please contact the BOE at 800-400-7115 or refer to publication 91 on our website at
www.boe.ca.gov/sptaxprog/spenvirofees.htm and select the heading, California Tire Fee.



Environmental Fees Newsletter = January 2009

Environmental Fees Division accounts
now have the option of making EFT
payments over the Internet

If you are interested in making payments through the
Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) process, please visit our
website at www.boe.ca.gov and click “Make a Payment” or
go directly to the data collection service at
www.govone.com/cd.

If you have additional questions specific to EFT payments,

please refer to publication 89, Electronic Funds Transfer
Information Guide, Special Taxes or call the Environmental
Fees Division at 916-323-9555, Monday through Friday
between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., Pacific time.

Marine Invasive Species Fee increase
effective August 1,2008

As of August 1, 2008, the Marine Invasive Species Fee
(commonly known as the Ballast Water Management Fee)
increased from $400 per vessel voyage to $625 per vessel
voyage. The fees collected are deposited in the Marine
Invasive Species Control Fund to support the state’s bal-
last water management and control program. The BOE
administers the fee in partnership with the State Lands
Commission (SLC) which sets the fees. For more infor-
mation about the Marine Invasive Species Act program,
please visit the SLC’s website at www.slc.ca.gov/Spec_Pub/
MFD/Ballast_Water/Ballast_Water_Default.html.

Annual Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights hearings
to begin

Do you have suggestions for improving our services? Do
you want us to look more closely at a tax or fee issue? If
you do, come share your ideas and concerns with our
Board Members at the annual Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights
hearings. You can present your proposal orally or in
writing.

The annual business and property taxes hearings for 2009
will be held in Sacramento and Culver City in the Spring
of 2009. The dates and times were not yet set when this
article went to press, but you may check the BOE’s web-
site or contact the Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate for details.

Although you are not required to make advance arrange-
ments to speak, it would help us to prepare if you contact
the Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate Office at 888-324-2798
beforehand to let us know your topic. If your proposal

is complex or extensive, we encourage you to submit it
in writing in advance and then summarize it in your oral
presentation.

For more details, please call the Taxpayers’ Rights Advo-
cate Office or visit us at www.boe.ca.gov (click on the tab
“Your Rights” and choose “Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate”),
where you can also view the office’s 2007-08 annual
report, which will be available soon.

Contact Information
Board of Equalization

More information about environmental fee programs
is available at our website, www.boe.ca.gov/sptaxprog/
spenvirofees.htm or you may call:

Environmental Fees Division: 916-323-9555

Environmental Fees Division, MIC:48
PO Box 942879
Sacramento, CA 94279-0048

Taxpayer Information Section: 800-400-7115
TDD/TTY: 800-735-2929

To speak to a customer service representative, call
between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. Pacific time,
Monday—Friday, except state holidays.

Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate: 888-324-2798

Call toll-free for help with problems you have not
been able to resolve through normal channels.

Tax Evasion Hotline: 888-334-3300

For Additional Information

Internet:
To access forms and publications:
Visit our website at www.boe.ca.gov and click on the
“Forms & Publications” tab.

To receive a publication by mail:

To order printed copies of publications online, again
please visit www.boe.ca.gov and click on the “Forms &
Publications” tab. Click on Overview and scroll down
to Online ordering system.

Or call our Taxpayer Information Section at
800-400-7115 at any time to leave a recorded request
for a specific form, publication, or regulation.

Department of Toxic Substances Control (DTSC):
800-61TOXIC (800-618-6942)

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (U.S. EPA):
415-495-8895




New eWaste recycling fees effective
January 1,2009

The California Integrated Waste Management Board

(CIWMB) approved an increase in the Electronic Waste
Recycling (eWaste) fees at their June 17, 2008 meeting.
The BOE is responsible for collection of the eWaste fee.

Effective January 1, 2009, the new fees are as follows:

SCREEN SIZE - MEASURED DIAGONALLY  FEE

More than 4 inches, less than 15 inches $8.00
15 inches or more, less than 35 inches $16.00
35 inches or more $25.00

If you would like to learn more about the eWaste program
or this fee increase, please visit the CIWMB website at
ciwmb.ca.gov or eRecycle.org or call 866-218-6103.

If you would like to learn more about the BOE and its
role in collection of the fee, please visit our website

at www.boe.ca.gov/sptaxprog/ewaste.htm or contact the
eWaste Program at 916-341-6906.

Civil behavior in trying times

Some observers have noted that civility is decreasing in
our society as our lives become more complex. We know
that you may find yourself frustrated with the difficul-
ties of the tax law or pressed for time when dealing with
our staff. Still, we ask that you treat our employees just
as you would like to be treated in a business situation.
Any statement or gesture made to a BOE employee that
seems remotely like a threat—even a statement made in
jest—will be referred to our Internal Security and Audit
Division for investigation.

Know your rights

As a taxpayer, you have many rights under the law,
including the right to:

* Receive information and assistance to help you
comply with the law.

* Be treated fairly and courteously, and receive prompt
service.

* Appeal a decision or claim a refund as allowed by
law.

Of course, along with those rights, you have certain
responsibilities, including:

* To stay informed about tax laws and regulations.
¢ To report and pay taxes and fees when due.
* To maintain adequate records.

For more information about your rights you may wish
to order publication 70, Understanding Your Rights as a
California Taxpayer.
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Treated wood waste

Effective July 1, 2007, treated wood waste (TWW) is
subject to the waste generator fee. TWW is wood that was
treated with preserving chemicals and has been removed
from service; for instance, fence posts, sill plates, pilings,
guardrails, decking, and landscaping timbers. Generators
may presume that TWW is hazardous waste and may ship
it without a hazardous waste manifest to specific non-
hazardous waste landfills. Generators of five or more tons
of manifested or nonmanifested hazardous waste at any
one site or location in a calendar year must register with
the BOE’s Environmental Fees Division and pay the annual
Hazardous Waste Generator Fees.

Occupational Lead Poisoning
Prevention Fee

The Occupational Lead Poisoning Prevention Fee provides
funds to the California Department of Public Health
(CDPH). The funds are used to identify lead toxicity in the
workplace, maintain an occupational lead registry, educate
employers, employees, and health professionals on lead
poisoning and safety, and provide recommendations on
measures that can be used to prevent lead poisoning. The
fee is paid by employers that are in an industry category
identified as having a potential for occupational lead
poisoning, has lead or lead-containing materials present
in the business operation, and has 10 or more people each
employed 160 hours or more during the previous calendar
year. The BOE administers this program in partnership
with the CDPH.

If you would like more information on the Occupational
Lead Poisoning Prevention Fee, please visit our website at:
www.boe.ca.gov/sptaxprog/spenvirofees.htm.

Water Rights Fee

Since 2004 the BOE has collected the California Water
Rights Fee on behalf of the State Water Resources Control
Board (SWRCB). The SWRCB assesses the Water Rights
Fee to property owners annually for certain types of water
appropriations and diversions. The funds are used to
establish and maintain a stable system of water rights in
California; to best develop, conserve, and utilize the water
resources of the state in the public interest; and to protect
vested rights, water quality, and the environment.

Questions regarding fee payments should be directed

to the BOE at 916-322-9534, while questions about
water rights licenses, permits, applications, and petitions
should be directed to the SWRCB at 916-341-5300.
More information about the Water Rights Fee is available
at www.waterrights.ca.gov.
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New hazardous waste fee rates—calendar year 2009

The Health and Safety Code provides for annual adjustment of the rates for the disposal fee, facility fee, generator fee,
environmental fee, and occupational lead poisoning prevention fee, based on changes in the cost of living as measured
by the California Consumer Price Index. The following tables show the hazardous waste fee rates that are in effect for

calendar year 2009.

2009 DISPOSAL FEE
(Base Rate $124.29)

2009 FACILITY FEE
(Base Rate $28,812.00)

FEE RATE RATE

CATEGORY (PER TON) CATEGORY (PER FACILITY)

Non-RCRA Waste Disposal $ 288,120.00
Non-RCRA hazardous waste $ 2027 Large Onsite Treatment 86,436.00
Non—RCRA ha;ardous waste, generated éﬂiﬁ_r?ef;stlrtﬁ;’teatment %23288
in a cleanup action >.72 Mini Treatment 14,406.00

RCRA Waste Large Storage 57,624.00
Hazardous waste not elsewhere classified Sm%” Storage 28,812.00
(RCRA waste) 500 Mini Storage 7,203.00
RCRA waste treated to be non-RCRA or Postclosure—less than 5 years*
non-hazardous 2027 Small 5,725.00 i
RCRA waste generated in a cleanup action [lid'um :;T;ggg %
and treated to be non-RCRA or non-hazardous 572 8¢ T

Postclosure—more than 5 years*

Other Waste Small 3,050.00 *
Mining waste [6.16 Medium 6,100.00 *
Extremely hazardous waste 248.58 Large 10,300.00 *
Restricted hazardous waste 248.58 Standardized
Solid waste residues resulting from Series A 1'1,730.00
incineration or dechlorination 6.21 Series B 5497.00

Series C 4,617.00
2009 GENERATOR FEE Series Small Quantity C 2,308.00
(Base Rate $4,007.00) *For postclosure fees, if the lead agency is someone other than

WASTE DTSC, the postclosure fees due would be 50% of the current

GENERATED FEE fees.

> = 249 tons $ 20000 2009 OCCUPATIONAL

250 — 499.9 tons 20,035.00 NUMBER

500 —999.9 tons 40,070.00 EMPLOYEES FEE

1,000 — 1,999.9 tons 60,105.00 Category A:

2,000 — more tons 80,140.00

Number of Employees:
2009 ENVIRONMENTAL FEE 1099 $ 29200

NUMBER OF 100 — 499 587.00

EMPLOYEES: FEE 500 or more 1,465.00

| —49 $ 0 Category B:

50-74 284.00 Number of Employees:

75-99 500.00 10—-99 420.00

100 — 249 998.00 100 — 499 [,172.00

250 — 499 2,139.00 500 or more 3,355.00

500 — 999 3,994.00

1,000 or more 13,556.00

How are we doing!?

We are committed to providing top-quality public service. Please let us know how we are doing by sending us your
comments or suggestions. Please go online to fill out a brief Customer Survey Form at www.boe.ca.gov/info/survey.htm.




