
Special Notice to Farmers

Federal Excise Tax Will Apply to Your Clear Diesel
Fuel Purchases Starting October 1, 2005CALIFORNIA

STATE BOARD
OF EQUALIZATION

We are sending you this notice to inform you of a change in the federal fuel tax law that
will take effect October 1, 2005. Only the federal law will change. The change is part of
the Safe, Accountable, Flexible and Efficient Transportation Equity Act (SAFETEA)
passed by Congress in August 2005. California diesel fuel tax law that applies to
farmers is not affected by this change.
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Does the change in the federal law affect my purchases of clear diesel fuel?

Yes. Current law allows you to buy clear diesel fuel without paying state or federal
excise taxes by giving an exemption certificate to your fuel vendor. Starting 
October 1, 2005, you must pay the federal excise tax of 24.4 cents per gallon when
you buy clear diesel fuel. If you use the tax-paid clear diesel fuel in a nontaxable way
(off-highway), you may file a claim for refund with the Internal Revenue Service. For
more information, visit the IRS website at www.irs.gov.

BILL LEONARD
Second District
Sacramento/Ontario

CLAUDE PARRISH
Third District
Long Beach

JOHN CHIANG
Fourth District
Los Angeles You may continue to purchase clear diesel fuel without paying California excise tax by

giving your vendor a Certificate of Farming Use (Form BOE-608). If you purchase clear
diesel fuel in this way, you must use it on a farm for farming purposes. You must pay
tax to your vendor for any fuel you use on the road.
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Can I buy dyed diesel fuel without paying federal excise tax?

Yes. You may buy dyed diesel fuel for use on your farm without paying federal or state
excise tax. However, you may not place dyed diesel fuel in any registered vehicle or
use it on a road. The penalty for illegal use of dyed diesel fuel is $10 per gallon, or
$1,000 multiplied by the number of violations, whichever is greater. The penalty is
imposed by both state and federal law.

Board website and 
Member contact
information:
www.boe.ca.gov

Taxpayer's Rights
Advocate: 888-324-2798 For more information

If you have questions about this notice, please call our Fuel Taxes Division at
916-322-9669 or toll-free at 800-400-7115 (follow the prompts to fuel taxes). Staff are
available to help you weekdays from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., except state holidays.
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