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New Legislation Takes Effect—Tax Amnesty and E-Waste Recycling Fee

The following summaries reflect 
legislative changes enacted in 2004 
affecting some of the tax programs 
administered by the Board. The 
changes are effective January 1, 
2005, unless otherwise indicated. 
For copies of bills, please write to 
the Legislative Bill Room, State 
Capitol, Room B-32, Sacramento, 
CA 95814, or log on to http:// 
www.leginfo.ca.gov/bilinfo.html. 

��Sales and Use Taxes 
Tax Penalty Amnesty Program. 
Senate Bill 1100 (Stats. 2004, Ch. 
226, effective August 16, 2004) 
requires the Board to administer a 
sales and use tax penalty amnesty 
program for the period beginning 
on February 1, 2005 and ending 
March 31, 2005. The amnesty pro­
gram applies to sales and use tax 
liabilities due and payable for tax 
reporting periods before 
January 1, 2003. 

Vehicles, Vessels and Aircraft 
Purchased Outside California. 
Senate Bill 1100 (Stats. 2004, Ch. 
226, effective August 16, 2004) 
provides that, for the period Octo­
ber 1, 2004 through July 1, 2006, it 
shall be presumed, unless proven 
otherwise, that, a vehicle, vessel, 

or aircraft purchased outside this 
state and brought into California 
within 12 months from the date of 
purchase is purchased for use in 
California and is subject to Cali­
fornia use tax, if any of the 
following occur: 
• The vehicle, vessel, or aircraft 

was purchased by a California 
resident. 

• The vehicle was subject to Califor­
nia registration or the vessel or 
aircraft was subject to property 
tax in this state at any time during 
the first 12 months of ownership. 

• The vehicle, vessel, or aircraft 
was used or stored in this state 
more than one-half of the time 
during the first 12 months of 
ownership. 

See the September 2004 Tax Infor­
mation Bulletin for a related article. 

tire. In addition, a retail seller’s 
reimbursement for any costs asso­
ciated with the collection of the fee 
will decrease on January 1, 2005, 
from 3 percent to 1.5 percent, until 
December 31, 2014. 

Board to Collect Covered 
Electronic Waste Recycling Fee. 
In 2003, Senate Bill 20 (Stats. 2003, 
Ch. 526) established the Electronic 
Waste Recycling Act of 2003, 
which, in part, imposes a covered 
e-waste recycling fee. Senate Bill 50 
(Stats. 2004, Ch. 863) makes a num­
ber of clarifying changes to that 
Act, such as requiring the Board to 
administer and collect the covered 
e-waste recycling fee, revising the 
start date for the e-waste fee to 

Continued on page 3 

��Special Taxes 
California Tire Fee Increase. 
Assembly Bill 923 (Stats. 2004, 
Ch. 707) increases the California 
tire fee on January 1, 2005, from 
$1.00 to $1.75 per tire, until 
December 31, 2006, and decreases 
the fee after that date to $1.50 per 
tire. Beginning January 1, 2015, 
the fee will decrease to $0.75 per 

Be sure to read the inserts. 

We have included inserts with 
your tax return mailing that 
explain more about tax amnesty 
and the new e-waste recycling 
fee. 
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Checks are clearing 
faster—don’t count on 
float time! 
On October 28, 2004, the new fed­
eral Check Clearing for the 21st 
Century Act (Check 21) became 
effective. Designed to allow banks 
to handle more checks electronical­
ly, the new law makes check 
processing faster. Check 21 effec­
tively eliminates “float” time—the 
period between the time a check is 
given and the time the funds are 
actually removed from the check 
writer’s account. 

What happens if the 
check I sent with my 
return “bounces” for 
insufficient funds? 
If replacement funds are not sent 
before the due date of the return, 
you will be liable for a 10 percent 
late payment penalty and interest 
on the unpaid tax amount. Of 
course, your financial institution 
may also charge you fees for 
returned checks. 
Example: Your tax liability is 
$2,500 due on or before January 
31, 2005. You timely mail your 
return and a check for the full 
amount of tax on January 24, 
2005; however, the check is re­
turned for non-sufficient funds. 
Unless you send replacement 
funds on or before January 31st, 
you will owe an additional 
$264.58 [$250 in penalty ($2,500 x 
10%) + $14.58 in interest ($2,500 x 
.00583 current 7% adjusted 
interest rate)]. 

To avoid bouncing checks, always 
make sure you have enough mon­
ey in your account to cover the 
checks you write at the time that 
you write them. For more informa­
tion about Check 21 visit the 
Federal Reserve Board website at 
www.federalreserve.gov. 

Sales and use tax rates to increase 
in the cities of Fort Bragg and Sonora 
Voters have approved new taxes in the cities of Fort Bragg and Sonora. 
Beginning January 1, 2005, the new sales and use tax rates are 

City of Fort Bragg: 7.75% 
Increases the tax rate within the city limits from 7.25% to 7.75%. The 
tax rate in Mendocino County outside the city of Fort Bragg (and the 
cities of Willits and Point Arena, which also have a 7.75% tax rate) 
will remain 7.25%. 

City of Sonora: 7.75% 
Increases the tax rate within the city limits from 7.25% to 7.75%. The 
tax rate in Tuolumne County outside the city of Sonora will remain 
7.25%. 

Who must collect tax at the new rate? 
You must apply the new tax rate if you 
• Are a retailer in the city of Fort Bragg or Sonora and your merchandise 

is sold and delivered within the city. 
• Engage in business in the city and you sell merchandise for use in the 

city. You are considered to be engaged in business in the city if you (1) 
have any type of business location there, (2) deliver into the city using 
your own vehicles, or (3) have an agent or representative in the city for 
the purpose of taking orders, delivering, installing, selling, or assem­
bling. 

• Are a dealer of vehicles, vessels, or aircraft and sell those items to 
persons who will register or license them to an address located in the 
city of Fort Bragg or Sonora. 

• Collect tax on lease payments you receive for leased property used by 
the lessee in the city of Fort Bragg or Sonora. 

Is there an exemption from the tax rate increase? 
In general, fixed-price contracts and fixed-price lease agreements entered 
into prior to January 1, 2005, are subject to the tax rates in effect at the 
time you and your customer entered into the contract or lease agreement. 
To qualify as “fixed-price,” neither party can have the unconditional right 
to adjust the price for an increase in costs or terminate the contract or 
lease [Revenue and Taxation Code sections 7261(g) or 7262(f)]. In addi­
tion, the tax amount or rate must be specifically stated in the contract or 
lease agreement. If the contract or lease qualifies as fixed-price, you 
should continue to report and remit the specified tax rate—that is, the rate 
in effect at the time you entered into the contract. 

Civil behavior in trying times 
Some observers have noted that civility is decreasing in our society as our 
lives become more complex. We know that you may find yourself frus­
trated with the difficulties of the tax law or pressed for time when you’re 
dealing with our staff. Still, we ask that you treat our employees just as 
you would like to be treated in a business situation. If a statement made 
to a Board employee seems like a threat—even if made in jest—it will be 
referred to our Internal Security and Audit Division for investigation. 
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California to introduce a new and improved cigarette tax stamp

with state-of-the-art anti-counterfeiting features


Cigarette tax evasion is a national 
problem. Recognizing this prob­
lem in California, the State 
Legislature passed Senate Bill 
1701 (Stats. 2002, Ch. 881), which 
requires the Board of Equalization 
to replace the current cigarette tax 
stamp with a high-tech counter-
feit-resistant stamp by January 1, 
2005. 

The new stamp will look very 
different from the stamps used in 
the past. To enhance the security 
of the stamps, they will be pro­
duced on tamper-evident label 
stock and will contain new secure 
features, which can only be 
authenticated by authorized 
scanning devices. Cigarette 
retailers will be able to purchase a 

New legislation... 
Continued from page 1 

January 1, 2005, and clarifying the 
imposition of the fee. 

Specifically, the bill requires a con­
sumer to pay, on and after January 
1, 2005, a covered electronic waste 
recycling fee upon the purchase of 
new or refurbished covered elec­
tronic devices (such as television 
sets and computer monitors). A 
retailer selling a covered electronic 
device to a consumer is required to 
collect a covered e-waste recycling 
fee from the consumer, unless 
otherwise specified. A covered 
electronic device is defined to 
mean, in part, a video display 
device containing a screen greater 
than four inches, measured diago­
nally, that is identified in the 
regulations adopted by the Depart­
ment of Toxic Substances Control. 
Depending on the screen size, the 
fee ranges from $6 to $10 per 
device. 

scanner to authenticate the new 
stamp. 

California will be the first state to 
use cigarette tax stamps with 
these technologically advanced 
features, and the Board is looking 
forward to putting these stamps to 
the test to combat cigarette tax 
evasion. 

You should begin seeing the new 
tax stamps on the bottom of 
cigarette packs by January 1, 2005. 
We encourage you to sell your old 
product as quickly as possible, 
since the current stamp may be 
phased out in the near future. 

If you have questions, please call 
the Excise Taxes and Fees 
Division at 800-400-7115 (TDD/ 

TTY: 800-735-2929). Select the 
“Timber, Property Tax and Other 
Taxes” option, and then “Ciga­
rette and Alcohol Taxes.” Staff are 
available to help you weekdays 
from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., except 
state holidays. You may also visit 
our website at www.boe.ca.gov. 

In addition, if you have questions 
about purchasing scanning 
devices, you may call Mr. Stephen 
Wass, SICPA Project Management 
Director, at 703-440-7766. 

Small Business Fairs 

We invite current and potential business owners to 
attend one of our upcoming Small Business Fairs, 
which offer informative workshops on federal, state, 
and local tax and business requirements. These fairs are 
free, but reservations are recommended. 

Upcoming Fairs 

San Francisco, May 13, 2005 
Hiram Johnson State Building 
For more information call our San Francisco Office 
415-356-6113 

Riverside, June 17, 2005 
Riverside Convention Center 
For more information call our Riverside Office 
951-680-6705 

To check for other upcoming fairs, please visit our 
website at www.boe.ca.gov/sutax/tpsched.htm. 
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Vehicle dealers—when 
can you accept a farm 
equipment exemption? 
Occasionally you may have 
customers request the partial 
tax exemption for farm equip­
ment and machinery when they 
purchase an on-road vehicle 
such as a car or truck. Please 
note that you may not give this 
exemption unless the Depart­
ment of Motor Vehicles, Special 
Processing Unit (SPU) classifies 
the vehicle being purchased as 
an implement of husbandry. To 
apply for this classification, you 
or your customer must file a 
request with the SPU and 
provide any documentation 
requested. 

Until an on-road vehicle is 
classified as an implement of 
husbandry, you must collect 
and report the full rate of tax on 
the selling price. If the SPU 
determines the vehicle qualifies 
as an implement of husbandry, 
you may refund the state por­
tion of the sales and use tax to 
your customer, provided the 
customer gives you a completed 
and signed farm equipment 
partial exemption certificate. 

For more information, down­
load a copy of publication 66, 
Tax Tips for the Agricultural 
Industry, from our website at 
http://www.boe.ca. gov/pdf/ 
pub66.pdf or call our 
Information Center for a copy. 

Are your warranty charges taxable? 

Many products—appliances, 
vehicles, computers, and so 
forth— are sold with warranties. 
Sometimes the warranty is always 

warranty is optional, the warranty 
charges are generally not taxable. 

For more information about how 
tax applies to warranties, or to

sold with the product (a “manda- learn how tax applies to parts sold
tory” warranty) and sometimes or used on warranty repair work
the customer has the choice to please see publication 119, Sales 
purchase a warranty separately Tax and Warranties. To get your
(an “optional” warranty). In gen- copy of this publication, visit our
eral, if the sale of the product is website at www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/
taxable, then the related mandato- pub119.pdf, or call our Information 
ry warranty is also taxable. If the Center. 

New or revised reference material 
Sales and Use Tax Publications 

100 Shipping and Delivery Charges (8-04) 
110 California Use Tax Basics (8-04) 
116 Sales and Use Tax Records (8-04) 

Special Taxes 
50-A Introduction to the International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) (8-04) 

88 Underground Storage Tank Maintenance Fee (7-04) 

Sales and Use Tax Regulation Revisions 
1525.7 Rural Investment Tax Exemption (effective August 19, 2004) 
1533.1 Farm Equipment and Machinery (effective August 19, 2004) 
1533.2 Diesel Fuel Used in Farming Activities or Food Processing 

(effective August 17, 2004) 
1534 Timber Harvesting Equipment and Machinery 

(effective August 18, 2004)

1535 Racehorse Breeding Stock (effective August 18, 2004)

1584 Membership Fees (effective August 26, 2004)


Translated Publications 
109-S Are Your Internet Sales Taxable? (May 2004) Spanish 

For More Information 
All telephone numbers are toll-free 

Internet www.boe.ca.gov n www.taxes.ca.gov 

Information Center 800-400-7115 n TDD/TTY: 800-735-2929 

Requests for Fax Copies 800-400-7115 (Choose automated services) 

Seller’s Permit Verification 888-225-5263 n www.boe.ca.gov 

Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate 888-324-2798 n www.boe.ca.gov 

Tax Evasion Hotline 888-334-3300 

State Legislation www.leginfo.ca.gov/bilinfo.html 
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