News Release

Contact: Office of Public Affairs
For Immediate Release
June 29, 2017
NR 28-17-G

Los Angeles County's Sales Tax Rate to Increase
Measure M will Take Effect July 1

Sacramento – The half-cent sales tax increase approved by Los Angeles County voters in November 2016 – Measure M – will go into effect on July 1, 2017. The increase will apply to every city and unincorporated area of Los Angeles County, bringing the countywide sales and use tax rate to 9.25 percent.

Fifteen cities within Los Angeles County have special district taxes. The chart below lists the new tax rates for the cities of Avalon, Commerce, Compton, Culver City, Downey, El Monte, Inglewood, La Mirada, Long Beach, Lynwood, Pico Rivera, San Fernando, Santa Monica, South El Monte, and South Gate.

County/City with New Tax Rates as of July 1, 2017 Old Rate New Rate
Los Angeles County (the 9.25 percent tax rate applies to all unincorporated areas and cities* that do not have district taxes) 8.75% 9.25%
City of Avalon 9.25% 9.75%
City of Commerce 9.25% 9.75%
City of Compton 9.75% 10.25%
City of Culver City 9.25% 9.75%
City of Downey 9.25% 9.75%
City of El Monte 9.25% 9.75%
City of Inglewood 9.25% 9.75%
City of La Mirada 9.75% 10.25%
City of Long Beach 9.75% 10.25%
City of Lynwood 9.75% 10.25%
City of Pico Rivera 9.75% 10.25%
City of San Fernando 9.25% 9.75%
City of Santa Monica 9.75% 10.25%
City of South El Monte 9.25% 9.75%
City of South Gate 9.75% 10.25%

* Agoura Hills, Alhambra, Arcadia, Artesia, Azusa, Baldwin Park, Bell, Bell Gardens, Bellflower, Beverly Hills, Bradbury, Burbank, Calabasas, Carson, Cerritos, City of Industry, Claremont, Covina, Cudahy, Diamond Bar, Duarte, El Segundo, Gardena, Glendale, Glendora, Hawaiian Gardens, Hawthorne, Hermosa Beach, Hidden Hills, Huntington Park, Irwindale, La Canada-Flintridge, La Habra Heights, La Puente, La Verne, Lakewood, Lancaster, Lawndale, Lomita, Los Angeles, Malibu, Manhattan Beach, Maywood, Monrovia, Montebello, Monterey Park, Norwalk, Palmdale, Palos Verdes Estates, Paramount, Pasadena, Pomona, Rancho Palos Verdes, Redondo Beach, Rolling Hills, Rolling Hills Estates, Rosemead, San Dimas, San Gabriel, San Marino, Santa Clarita, Santa Fe Springs, Sierra Madre, Signal Hill, South Pasadena, Temple City, Torrance, Vernon, View Park, Walnut, West Covina, West Hollywood, Westlake Village, and Whittier

To find the correct tax rate for your area or business location, visit the BOE's website and click the Find a SALES TAX RATE by Address button, or visit the California City & County Sales and Use Tax Rates page. (Please note: This new rate will not be available on the website until July 1, 2017.) You can also call the Customer Service Center at 1-800-400-7115 (TTY:711). Customer service representatives are available to assist you weekdays from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Pacific time), except state holidays.

The five-member California State Board of Equalization (BOE) is a publicly elected tax board that serves a significant role in the assessment and administration of property taxes.

Note: This news release may discuss complex tax laws and concepts. It may not address every situation, and is not considered written advice under Revenue and Taxation Code section 6596. Changes in law or regulations may have occurred since the time this news release was written. If there is a conflict between the text of this news release and the law, decisions will be based upon the law and not this news release. For specific help, please contact the BOE at 1-800-400-7115.