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Section 1533.2. Diesel Fuel Used in Farming Activities or Food Processing. 
 
(a) General. Commencing on and after September 1, 2001, Section 6357.1 of the 
Revenue and Taxation Code partially exempts from sales and use tax the sale of, and the 
storage, use, or other consumption in this state, of diesel fuel used in farming activities or 
food processing. The terms “farming activities” and “food processing” are defined below. 
 
For the period commencing on September 1, 2001, and ending on December 31, 2001, 
the partial exemption applies to the taxes imposed by Sections 6051 and 6201 of the 
Revenue and Taxation Code (4.75%), but does not apply to the taxes imposed pursuant to 
Sections 6051.2 and 6201.2 of the Revenue and Taxation Code, the Bradley-Burns 
Uniform Local Sales and Use Tax Law, the Transactions and Use Tax Law, or Section 35 
of article XIII of the California Constitution. 
 
For the period commencing on January 1, 2002, and ending on June 30, 2004, the partial 
exemption applies to the taxes imposed by Sections 6051, 6051.3, 6201, and 6201.3 of 
the Revenue and Taxation Code (5%), but does not apply to the taxes imposed pursuant 
to Sections 6051.2 and 6201.2 of the Revenue and Taxation Code, the Bradley-Burns 
Uniform Local Sales and Use Tax Law, the Transactions and Use Tax Law, or Section 35 
of article XIII of the California Constitution. 
 
For the period commencing on July 1, 2004, and ending on March 31, 2009, the partial 
exemption applies to the taxes imposed by Sections 6051, 6051.3, 6051.5, 6201, 6201.3, 
and 6201.5 of the Revenue and Taxation Code (5.25%), but does not apply to the taxes 
imposed or administered pursuant to Sections 6051.2 and 6201.2 of the Revenue and 
Taxation Code, the Bradley-Burns Uniform Local Sales and Use Tax Law, the 
Transactions and Use Tax Law, or Section 35 of article XIII of the California 
Constitution. 
 
For the period commencing on April 1, 2009, and ending on June 30, 2011when sections 
6051.7 and 6201.7 of the Revenue and Taxation Code cease to be operative, the partial 
exemption applies to the taxes imposed by sections 6051, 6051.3, 6051.5, 6051.7, 6201, 
6201.3, 6201.5, and 6201.7 of the Revenue and Taxation Code (6.25%), but does not 
apply to the taxes imposed or administered pursuant to sections 6051.2 and 6201.2 of the 
Revenue and Taxation Code, the Bradley-Burns Uniform Local Sales and Use Tax Law, 
the Transactions and Use Tax Law, or section 35 of article XIII of the California 
Constitution. 
 
For the period commencing on July 1, 2011, the partial exemption applies to the taxes 
imposed by sections 6051, 6051.3, 6051.5, 6051.8, 6201, 6201.3, 6201.5, and 6201.8 of 
the Revenue and Taxation Code (7.00%), but does not apply to the taxes imposed or 
administered pursuant to sections 6051.2 and 6201.2 of the Revenue and Taxation Code, 
the Bradley-Burns Uniform Local Sales and Use Tax Law, the Transactions and Use Tax 
Law, or section 35 of article XIII of the California Constitution. Given the varying rates 
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of the taxes imposed by sections 6051.8 and 6201.8, the partial exemption applies to the 
following cumulative sales and use tax rates: 
 

(1)  7.12 percent for the period July 1, 2011, through June 30, 2012; 

 
(2)  7.42 percent for the period July 1, 2012, through June 30, 2013; 

 
(3)  7.19 percent for the period July 1, 2013, through June 30, 2014; and 

 
(4)  7.00 percent on or after July 1, 2014. 

 
(b) Definitions. For purposes of this regulation: 
 

(1) “Farming activities” mean a trade or business involving the cultivation of land or 
the raising or harvesting of any agricultural or horticultural commodity that may be 
legally sold to or offered for sale to others. These include the trade or business of 
operating a nursery or sod farm; the raising or harvesting of trees bearing fruit or nuts, 
or of other crops (e.g., grains, vegetables, or cotton); the raising of ornamental trees 
(other than evergreen trees that are more than six years old at the time they are 
severed from their roots); and the raising, shearing, feeding, caring for, training, and 
management of animals. The raising of animals includes the delivery of feed to the 
animal feeding operation, whether by the owner or the supplier of the feed. Operating 
a garden plot, orchard, or farm for the purpose of growing plants or animals for a 
person's own use shall not be considered a farming activity. Harvesting involves the 
gathering of any agricultural or horticultural commodity and includes activities such 
as crop drying, cotton ginning, and fruit ripening. Harvesting an agricultural 
commodity also includes the washing of the agricultural commodity, the inspection 
and grading of the agricultural commodity or livestock, and the packaging of the 
agricultural commodity for shipment as well as those activities delineated in Codes 
0723 and 0724 of the Standard Industrial Classification Manual published by the 
United States Office of Management and Budget, 1987 edition (hereafter SIC 
Manual). For purposes of this regulation, merely buying and reselling plants or 
animals grown or raised entirely by another is not raising an agricultural or 
horticultural commodity. A person is engaged in raising a plant or animal, rather than 
the mere selling of a plant or animal, if the plant or animal is held for further 
cultivation and development prior to sale. In determining whether a plant or animal is 
held for further cultivation and development prior to sale, consideration will be given 
to all of the facts and circumstances, including: the value added by a person to the 
plant or animal through agricultural or horticultural processes; the length of time 
between the person's acquisition of the plant or animal and the time that the person 
makes the plant or animal available for sale; and in the case of a plant, whether the 
plant is kept in the container in which purchased, replanted in the ground, or replanted 
in a series of larger containers as it is grown to a larger size. 
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Farming activities also include the transportation and delivery of the agricultural or 
horticultural commodity, as described herein, from the trade or business that 
cultivated, raised or harvested the commodity to the marketplace, as described in 
subdivision (b)(5), and any empty haul related to the transportation of that 
agricultural or horticultural commodity. 
 
Farming activities do not include food processing or transportation and delivery of 
processed food products to the marketplace. 
 
Example A: A commercial hauler travels from its company yard to Grower A's field 
to pick up a load of tomatoes. The tomatoes are hauled to a processing plant. The 
hauler returns to the field with empty trailers. The sale of diesel fuel to the 
commercial hauler for use in this activity is partially exempt from tax. 
 
Example B: A commercial hauler travels from its company yard to Grower A's field 
to pick up a load of fresh bell peppers. The bell peppers are sold to a grocery store 
and are delivered to the grocery store's distribution center. At the distribution center, 
the hauler picks up a load of pallets to deliver to another customer. The sale of diesel 
fuel to the commercial hauler for use from the yard the field and to the grocery store's 
distribution center is partially exempt from tax. The sale of diesel fuel to the 
commercial hauler for use in delivering the pallets is not partially exempt from tax. 
 
Example C: A nursery owner transports its horticultural products to a distribution 
center. After delivering the product, the nursery owner makes two stops. The first 
stop is to pick up fertilizer for use at the nursery. The second stop is personal business 
unrelated to the nursery operation. The sale of diesel fuel to the nursery owner for use 
in this example is partially exempt from tax up to and including the first stop. 
 
(2) “Plants” mean an agricultural or horticultural commodity produced in a farming 
activity which includes, but is not limited to, trees bearing fruit or nuts, other crops, 
an ornamental tree, a vine, a bush, or sod. Sea plants are produced in a farming 
activity if they are tended and cultivated as opposed to merely harvested. 
 
(3) “Animals” mean a life form produced in a farming activity which includes, but is 
not limited to, any livestock, poultry or other bird, and fish or other sea life. Fish and 
other sea life are produced in a farming activity if they are raised on a fish farm. A 
fish farm is an area where fish or other sea life are grown or raised as opposed to 
merely caught or harvested. 
 
(4) “Food processing” means the activities described in Industry Groups 201, 202, 
203, 204, and 207, or Codes 2068 and 2084 of the SIC Manual. Food processing 
activities also includes transporting raw product, supplies and materials to the 
processing facility, transporting partially processed food products between various 
divisions of the same food processing entity for further processing operations, and 
any empty hauls related to the transportation of that product. Food processing does 
not include transportation and delivery of processed food products to the marketplace. 
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A food processor is not required to be engaged 50 percent or more of the time in such 
activities as described herein. 
 
Example A: A for-hire carrier, contracted for by a cheese plant, transports 
unprocessed milk from a dairy farm to the cheese plant for processing and then 
returns to the carrier's truck yard. The diesel used in this example is eligible for the 
partial sales tax exemption. 
 
Example B: A flour mill transports flour sacks from a bag manufacturer to the mill's 
facility, and then transports those sacks to other flour mills owned by the same entity. 
The diesel used to transport the sacks in this example is eligible for the partial sales 
tax exemption, but the transportation of flour is not. 
 
Example C: Cannery A and Cannery B are different divisions of the same food 
processing entity. Cannery A processes unprocessed tomatoes into tomato paste and 
then transports the paste to Cannery B for further processing. Cannery B processes 
the paste into tomato soup which is then transported to a grocery distribution 
warehouse. From the distribution warehouse the processed product is transported by 
the buyer to individual grocery stores and other distribution warehouses. Only the 
movement of paste from Cannery A to Cannery B is eligible for the partial sales tax 
exemption. The subsequent movement of product to the first distribution center and to 
retail stores and other warehouses is not eligible for the exemption. 
 
(5) “Marketplace” means the place where a commodity is sold for resale, at retail or 
for consumption at an animal feeding operation, notwithstanding any intervening 
activities to prepare the product for sale in the marketplace. Such preparation 
activities include, but are not limited to, cooling, sorting, inspection, grading, drying, 
packing, handling, washing, slaughtering and butchering (except as otherwise 
described in Codes 2011 and 2015 of the SIC Manual), candling, sterilizing, freezing, 
pasteurizing, homogenizing, and packaging. Producers of agricultural or horticultural 
products may prepare and market their products through a cooperative, joint venture, 
corporation or partnership in which they have a financial interest, or other such 
enterprises, and the diesel used in these enterprises to transport products to the 
marketplace is eligible for the sales tax exemption. 
 
(6) “Diesel fuel” means, for purposes of this regulation only, any fuel that is 
commonly or commercially known, sold or represented as diesel fuel No. 1-D or No. 
2-D, pursuant to the specifications in American Society for Testing and Materials 
Standard Specification for Diesel Fuel Oils ( “ASTM”) D 975-81, which is 
incorporated herein by reference. Diesel fuel, for purposes of this regulation only, 
also includes Environmental Protection Agency rated diesel fuel commonly known as 
“federal fuel” sold for use in locomotives, or which is used in generators, pumps, 
dehydrators and any other equipment used in the conduct of farming and food 
processing activities. “Diesel fuel” does not include gasoline, kerosene, liquefied 
petroleum gas, natural gas in liquid or gaseous form, alcohol, aviation fuel, except 
diesel fuel sold for use in aircraft designed for agricultural aerial applications that 
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meets the specifications of ASTM D 1655, jet fuel, bunker fuel, or other like 
substance used as a fuel. Qualifying diesel fuel shall be identified accordingly on the 
invoice of sale. 
 
(7) “Qualified activity” means farming activities as defined in subdivision (b)(1) or 
food processing, as defined in subdivision (b)(4). 

 
(c) Partial Exemption Certificates. 
 

(1) In General. A person who purchases diesel fuel for use in a qualified activity from 
an in-state retailer, or an out-of state retailer obligated to collect use tax, must provide 
the retailer with a partial exemption certificate in order for the retailer to claim the 
partial exemption. If the retailer takes a partial exemption certificate timely and in 
good faith, as defined in subdivision (c)(5), from a person who purchases diesel fuel 
for use in a qualified activity, the partial exemption certificate relieves the retailer 
from the liability for the sales tax subject to partial exemption under this regulation or 
the duty of collecting the use tax subject to partial exemption under this regulation. A 
partial exemption certificate will be considered timely if it is taken any time before 
the retailer bills the purchaser for the diesel fuel, any time within the retailer's normal 
billing or payment cycle, any time at or prior to delivery of the diesel fuel to the 
purchaser, or no later than 15 days after the date of purchase. A partial exemption 
certificate which is not taken timely will not relieve the retailer of the liability for tax 
excluded by the partial exemption; however the retailer may present satisfactory 
evidence to the Board that the retailer sold the diesel fuel to a person that used it in a 
qualified activity. A partial exemption from the sales and use tax under this part shall 
not be allowed unless the retailer claims the partial exemption on its sales and use tax 
return for the reporting period during which the transaction subject to the partial 
exemption occurred. Where the retailer fails to claim the partial exemption as set 
forth above, the retailer may file a claim for refund as set forth in subdivision (e). 
 
The partial exemption certificate form set forth in Appendix A may be used to claim 
the partial exemption. 
 
(2) Blanket Partial Exemption Certificates. In lieu of requiring a partial exemption 
certificate for each transaction, a person who purchases diesel fuel for use in a 
qualified activity may issue a blanket partial exemption certificate. The partial 
exemption certificate form set forth in Appendix A may be used as a blanket partial 
exemption certificate. Appendix A may also be used as a specific partial exemption 
certificate if the purchaser provides the purchase order or sales invoice number and a 
precise description of the property being purchased. A person who purchases diesel 
fuel for use in a qualified activity must include in the partial exemption certificate 
how much or what percentage of the diesel fuel purchased will be used in a qualified 
activity. If purchasing diesel fuel not qualifying for the partial exemption, the 
purchaser must clearly state in documents such as a written purchase order, sales 
agreement, or contract that the sale or purchase is not subject to the blanket partial 
exemption certificate. 
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(3) Form of Partial Exemption Certificate. Any document, such as a letter or purchase 
order, timely provided by the purchaser to the seller will be regarded as a partial 
exemption certificate with respect to the sale or purchase of diesel fuel if it contains 
all of the following essential elements: 

 
(A) The signature of the purchaser, purchaser's employee, or authorized 
representative of the purchaser. 
 
(B) The name, address and telephone number of the purchaser. 
 
(C) The number of the seller's permit held by the purchaser. If the purchaser is not 
required to hold a permit because the purchaser sells only property of a kind the 
retail sale of which is not taxable, e.g., food products for human consumption, or 
because the purchaser makes no sales in this state, the purchaser must include on 
the certificate a sufficient explanation as to the reason the purchaser is not 
required to hold a California seller's permit in lieu of a seller's permit number. 
 
(D) A statement of how much or what percentage of the diesel fuel purchased will 
be used in a qualified farming or food processing activity. 
 
(E) Date of execution of document. 

 
(4) Retention and Availability of Partial Exemption Certificates. A retailer must retain 
each partial exemption certificate received from a person who purchases diesel fuel 
for use in a qualified activity for a period of not less than four years from the date on 
which the retailer claims a partial exemption based on the partial exemption 
certificate. 
 
While the Board will not normally require the filing of the partial exemption 
certificate with a sales and use tax return, when necessary for the efficient 
administration of the Sales and Use Tax Law, the Board may, on 30 days' written 
notice, require a retailer to commence filing with its sales and use tax returns copies 
of all partial exemption certificates. The Board may also require, within 45 days of 
the Board's request, retailers provide the Board access to any and all partial 
exemption certificates, or copies thereof, accepted for the purposes of supporting the 
partial exemption. 
 
(5) Good Faith. A seller will be presumed to have taken a partial exemption 
certificate in good faith in the absence of evidence to the contrary. A seller, without 
knowledge to the contrary, may accept a partial exemption certificate in good faith 
where the purchaser states that a certain percentage of the diesel fuel purchased will 
be used in farming activities or food processing. However, a partial exemption 
certificate cannot be accepted in good faith where the seller has knowledge that the 
diesel fuel is not subject to a partial exemption, or will not be otherwise used in a 
partially exempt manner. 
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(d) Partial Exemption Certificate for Use Tax. The partial exemption certificate must be 
completed by a person who purchases diesel fuel for use in a qualified activity to claim a 
partial exemption from use tax from an out-of-state retailer not obligated to collect the 
use tax. A partial exemption from the use tax shall not be allowed unless the purchaser or 
retailer claims the partial exemption on its individual use tax return, sales and use tax 
return, or consumer use tax return for the reporting period during which the transaction 
subject to the partial exemption occurred. Where the purchaser or retailer fails to claim 
the partial exemption as set forth above, the purchaser or retailer may file a claim for 
refund as set forth in subdivision (e). 
 
The purchaser who files an individual use tax return must attach a completed partial 
exemption certificate to the return. The purchaser who is registered with the Board as a 
retailer or consumer and files a sales and use tax return or consumer use tax return must, 
within 45 days of the Board's request, provide the Board access to any and all documents 
that support the claimed partial exemption. 
 
The partial exemption certificate form set forth in Appendix A may be used to claim the 
partial exemption. 
 
(e) Refund of Partial Exemption. 
 

(1) For the period commencing on September 1, 2001, and ending on April 30, 2002, 
a person who purchases diesel fuel for use in a qualified activity may claim the partial 
exemption on qualified purchases from an in-state retailer or an out-of-state retailer 
obligated to collect the use tax by furnishing the retailer with a partial exemption 
certificate on or before July 31, 2002. The retailer must refund the tax or tax 
reimbursement directly to a purchaser of diesel fuel for use in a qualified activity or, 
at the purchaser's sole option, the purchaser may be credited with such amount. 
 
(2) A retailer who paid sales tax on a qualified sale or a person who paid use tax on a 
qualified purchase and who failed to claim the partial exemption as provided by this 
regulation may file a claim for refund equal to the amount of the partial exemption 
that he or she could have claimed pursuant to this regulation. The procedure for filing 
a claim shall be the same as for other claims for refund filed pursuant to Revenue and 
Taxation Code section 6901. For transactions subject to use tax, a person who 
purchases diesel fuel for use in a qualified activity filing a claim for refund of the 
partial exemption has the burden of establishing that he or she was entitled to claim 
the partial exemption with respect to the amount of refund claimed under this part. 
For transactions subject to sales tax, a person filing a claim for refund of the partial 
exemption has the burden of establishing that the purchaser of the diesel fuel 
otherwise met all the requirements of a person who purchases diesel fuel for use in a 
qualified activity at the time of the purchase subject to the refund claimed under this 
part. 
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(f) Improper Use of Partial Exemption. Notwithstanding subdivision (a), tax applies to 
any sale of, and the storage, use, or other consumption in this state of diesel fuel that is 
used in a manner not qualifying for the partial exemption under this regulation. 
 
(g) Purchaser's Liability for the Payment of Sales Tax. 
 

(1) If a purchaser timely submits a copy of a partial exemption certificate to the 
retailer or partial exemption certificate for use tax to the Board, and then uses the 
diesel fuel in a manner not qualifying for the partial exemption, the purchaser shall be 
liable for payment of the sales tax, with applicable interest, to the same extent as if 
the purchaser were a retailer making a retail sale of the diesel fuel at the time the 
diesel fuel was so removed, converted, or used. 
 
(2) A purchaser providing a partial exemption certificate accepted in good faith by the 
retailer or a partial exemption certificate for use tax to the Board for diesel fuel that 
does not qualify for the partial exemption is liable for payment of the sales tax, with 
applicable interest, to the same extent as if the purchaser were a retailer making a 
retail sale of the diesel fuel at the time the diesel fuel was purchased. 

 
(h) Records. Adequate and complete records must be maintained by the person who 
purchases diesel fuel for use in a qualified activity as evidence that the diesel fuel 
purchased was used in a qualified activity. 
 
(i) Operative Date. This regulation is operative as of September 1, 2001. 
 
Note: Authority cited: Section 7051, Revenue and Taxation Code. Reference: Section 
6357.1, Revenue and Taxation Code.  
 


