
State or California Board or Equalization 
Property and Special Tax .. Department 

Memorandum 

To : Honorable Jerome E. Horton, Chairman 
Honorable Michelle Steel, Vice Chair 
Honorable Betty T. Yee, First District 
Senator George Runner, Second District 
Honorable John Chiang, State contr~lI~r 

Date: August 31, 2011 

From : David J. Gau, Deputy Director ~ 
Property and Special Taxes Department 

Subject : 	Calendar Yea,2012 Hazardous Substances Fees and Occupational Lead Poisoning Prevention 
Fee Rates (September 2011 Administrative Consent Calendar) 

In accordance with the Health and Safety Code Sections listed below, the tax and fees administered 
under the Hazardous Substances Tax Law are adjusted each year by the incremental change in the 
Consumer Price Index (CPI) published by the California Department of Industrial Relations. The 
increase in the CPI from June 30, 2010 to June 30, 2011 is 2.718 percent and was calculated as 
follows: 

CPI @ June 30, 2011 I 233.285 

CPI @ June 30, 2010 I 227.113 
Increase in CPI L 6.172 

Percentage IncreaSE! I 2.718% 

I recommend that the 2012 calendar year rates for the tax and fee programs administered under the 
Hazardous Substances Tax Law be established according to the attached schedules identified as 
Exhibits A - 0: 

Health & Safety Code SectIon Description of F.. Exhibit 
25174.2 Disposal Base Fee A 

25205.14 Permit-by-Rule or Conditional Authorization A 
25205.4 Facility Base Fee A 
25205.5 Generator Base Fee A 
25205.6 Environmental Fees B 
25205.7 Activity Fees C 
105190 Occupational Lead Poisoning Prevention Fee D 

Please place this item on the Board's September 2011 Administrative Consent Calendar for 
approval. 

DJG:sm 
Attachments 

cc: 	 Ms. Regina Evans Ms. Marcy Jo Mandel 
Mr. Louis Barnett Ms. Diane Olson 
Mr. Alan LoFaso Ms. Lynn Bartolo 
Mr. Sean Wallentine Mr. Lou Feletto 

APproved:~C~ 
Kristine Cazadd, Interim Executive Dir tor 

Diana Olson, iet 
Board Proceedings Division 

Item N6 
09-21-11 



Change 

Consumer Price Index (CPI) 

CaHfornia Urban Consumen 


June lOll to June lOU 


Line (1) Month Description Amount 
1 Jun-ll CPI 233.285 
2 Jun-l0 CPI 227.113 
3 <L1-L2> Change 6.172 

<L31L2> Percentage Change 2.718% 

The California CPI is established by the Department of Industrial Relations 
and is used to establish the fee structure for all programs per statute. 

Source: 
State of California Department of Industrial Relations 
Division ofLabor Statistics and Research 
Consumer Price Index-California dated 8/22/11 
http;lIwww.dir.ca.gov/dlsr/CPIIPresentCCPI.PDF 



Proposed AdjUltDlents Exhibit A 
Disposal Fee, Permit by Rule, 

Conditional Autllorizadon, 
Facility Fee, Generator Fee 

lOU Calendar Year 

PROPOSED 
1011 PROPOSED FEE FEES 

HAZARDOUS WASTE FEE: FEES ADJUSTMENT lOU 

Disposal Base Fee (§25174.2)1 


Permit by Rule (§25205.14) 


Conditional Authorization (§25205.14) 


Facility Base Fee (§25205.4) 


Generator Base Fee (§25205.5) 


, Please note, in contrast to the other base rates. which are 
rounlkd to the nearest dollar, the Disposal Fee base rate is 
rounlkd to the nearest cent as the Disposal Fee is computedlor 
each ton olhazardous waste. 

$123.63 

$1,391 

$1,391 

$28,659 

$3,986 

$3.36 

$38 

$38 

$779 

$108 

$126.99 

$1,429 

$1,429 

$29,438 

$4,094 

http:25205.14
http:25205.14


Proposed AdJustmel1b ExhibitB 
El1virollDlel1ta1 Fee (§25205.6) 

2012 Cafel1dar Year 

PROPOSED 
2011 PROPOSED FEE FEES 

NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES: FEES ADJUSTMENT 2012 

50 to 14 $283 
15 to 99 $498 
100 to 249 $992 
250 to 499 $2,128 
500 to 999 $3,913 
1,000 or more $13,484 

$8 
$14 
$21 
$58 

$108 
$366 

$291 
$512 

$1,019 
$2,186 
$4,081 

$13,850 



Proposed Adjultmenu ExhibitC 
Ac:tlvity Feet (§lSlOS.7) 

lOll Calendar Year 

PROPOSED 
lOll PROPOSED FEE FEES 

ACTIVITY FEES: FEES ADJUSTMENT lOll 

Land Disposal Facility Permit Application Fee 
Large Facility: $553,425 
Medium Facility: $322,225 
Small Facility: $151,099 

Incineration Facility Requiring a Permit 
Large Facility: $331,329 
Medium Facility: $192,971 
Small Facility: $91,022 

Storage or Treatment Facility Permit Application Fee 
Large Facility: $109,229 
Medium Facility: $56,437 
Small Facility: $30,948 

Standardized Permit Facility Application Fee 
Series A: $46,487 
Series B: $29,022 
Series C: $7,733 

Transportable Treatment Unit Permit Application Fee 
Large Unit: $109,229 
Medium Unit: $54,613 
Small Unit: $23,668 

Facility Postclosure Permit Application Fee 
Large Facility: $54,613 
Medium Facility: $32,770 
Small Facility: $14,561 

$15,042 
$8,758 
$4,107 

$9,006 
$5,245 
$2,474 

$2,969 
$1,534 

$841 

$1,264 
$789 
$210 

$2,969 
$1,484 

$643 

$1,484 
$891 
$396 

$568,467 
$330,983 
$155,206 

$340,335 
$198,216 

$93,496 

$112,198 
$57,971 
$31,789 

$47,751 
$29,811 

$7,943 

$112,198 
$56,097 
$24,311 

$56,097 
$33,661 
$14,957 



Proposed Adjustments ExhibitD 
Occupational Lead Poisoninl Prevention Fee (§10519O) 

2012 Calendar Year 

PROPOSED 
2011 PROPOSED FEE FEES 

NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES: FEES ADJUSTMENT 2012 

Category A: 

Number ofEmployees: 
10 to 99 
100 to 499 
500 or more 

CategoryB: 

Number of Employees: 
10 to 99 
100 to 499 
SOOormore 

$291 
$583 

$1,458 

$418 
$1,166 
$3,337 

$8 
$16 
$40 

$11 
$32 
$91 

$299 
$S99 

$1,498 

$429 
$1,198 
$3,428 


