State of California

Memorandum

To : Mr. Ramon J. Hirsig
Executive Director

: David J. Gau, Deputy Director ;l; :

Property and Special Taxes Departme {

From

Subject:
Prevention Fee
(September 2010 Administrative Consent Calendar)

Board of Equalization

Property and Special Taxes Department

Date : August 30, 2010

2011 Hazardous Substances Program Fees And Occupational Lead Poisoning

In accordance with the Health and Safety Code Sections listed below, the Hazardous Substances
Program Fees and the Occupational Lead Poisoning Prevention Fee are adjusted each year by the
incremental change in the Consumer Price Index (CPI) published by the California Department of
Industrial Relations. The increase in the CPI from June 30, 2009 to June 30, 2010 is 0.942 percent

and was calculated as follows:

CPI @ June 30, 2010 227.113

CPl @ June 30 2009 224.994
Increase in CPI 2119
Percentage Increase - 0.942%

| recommend that the 2011 fees for the Hazardous Waste Programs and the Occupational Lead
Poisoning Prevention Program be established according to the attached schedules identified as

Exhibits A—D:
Health & Safety
Code Section Description of Fee Exhibit

25174.2 Disposal Base Fee A
25205.14 Permit-by-Rule A
25205.14 Conditional Authorization A
25205.4 Facility Base Fee A
25205.5 Generator Base Fee A
25205.6 Environmental Fees B
25205.7 Activity Fees C
105190 ‘| Occupational Lead Poisoning Prevention Fee D

Please place this item on the Board’s September 2011 Administrative Consent Calendar for

approval.

DJG:sm
Attachments

cc: Ms. Diane Olson
Ms. Lynn Bartolo
Mr. Lou Feletto

Approved:

7%/ \

Ramon J. Hirsig, Executive Director

BOARD APPROVED
At the

Board Meeting

Diane Olson, Chief

Board Proceedings Division



Change
Consumer Price Index (CPI)
California Urban Consumers

June 2009 to June 2010
Line (L) Month Description Amount
1 Jun-10 CPI 227.113
2 Jun-09 CPI 224.994
3 <L1-L2>|Change 2.119
4
5 <L3/L2>|Percentage Change 0.942%

The California CPI is established by the Department of Industrial Relations

and is used to establish the fee structure for all programs per statute

Source:

State of California Department of Industrial Relations
Division of Labor Statistics and Research

Consumer Price Index-California dated 8/13/10
http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlst/CPl/PresentCCPI.PDF




Proposed Adjustments Exhibit A
Disposal Fee, Permit by Rule,
Conditional Authorization,
Facility Fee, Generator Fee

2011 Calendar Year
PROPOSED
2010 PROPOSED FEE FEES
HAZARDOUS WASTE FEE: FEES ADJUSTMENT 2011
Disposal Base Fee (§25174.2)" $122.48 $1.15 $123.63
Permit by Rule (§25205.14) $1,378 $13 $1,391
Conditional Authorization (§25205.14) $1,378 $13 $1,391
Facility Base Fee (§25205.4) $28,392 $267 $28,659
Generator Base Fee (§25205.5)2 $3,949 $37 $3,986

" Please note, in contrast to the other base rates, which are
rounded to the nearest dollar, the Disposal Fee base rate is
rounded to the nearest cent as the Disposal Fee is computed for
each ton of hazardous waste.

2 Please note, Senate Bill 231 (SB 231), if chaptered, would
transfer the responsibility for annually adjusting the Generator Fee
from the Board of Equalization to the Department of Toxic
Substances Control. As of the date this item was submitted to the
Members of the Board of Equalization for consideration, SB 231
had not received approval from both houses of the legislature.



Proposed Adjustments
Environmental Fee (§25205.6)
2011 Calendar Year

PROPOSED
2010 PROPOSED FEE FEES

NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES: FEES ADJUSTMENT 2011

50 to 74 $280 $3 $283
75 t0 99 $493 $5 $498
100 to 249 $983 $9 $992
250 to 499 $2,108 $20 $2,128
500 to 999 $3,936 $37 $3,973
1,000 or more $13,358 $126 $13,484

Exhibit B



Proposed Adjustments

Activity Fees (§25205.7)
2011 Calendar Year
PROPOSED
2010 PROPOSED FEE FEES

ACTIVITY FEES: FEES ADJUSTMENT 2011
Land Disposal Facility Permit Application Fee

Large Facility: $548,260 $5,165 $553,425

Medium Facility: $319,218 $3,007 $322,225

Small Facility: $149,689 $1,410 $151,099
Incineration Facility Requiring a Permit

Large Facility: $328,237 $3,092 $331,329

Medium Facility: $191,170 $1,801 $192,971

Small Facility: $90,173 $849 $91,022
Storage or Treatment Facility Permit Application Fee

Large Facility: $108,210 $1,019 $109,229

Medium Facility: $55,910 $527 $56,437

Small Facility: : $30,659 $289 $30,948
Standardized Permit Facility Application Fee

Series A: $46,053 $434 $46,487

Series B: $28,751 $271 $29,022

Series C: $7,661 $72 $7,733
Transportable Treatment Unit Permit Application Fee

Large Unit: $108,210 $1,019 $109,229

Medium Unit: $54,103 $510 $54,613

Small Unit: $23,447 $221 $23,668
Facility Postclosure Permit Application Fee

Large Facility: $54,103 $510 $54,613

Medium Facility: $32,464 $306 $32,770

Small Facility: $14,425 $136 $14,561

Exhibit C



Proposed Adjustments

Occupational Lead Poisoning Prevention Fee (§105190)

2011 Calendar Year

PROPOSED
. 2010 PROPOSED FEE FEES

NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES: FEES ADJUSTMENT 2011
Category A:

Number of Employees:

10to 99 $288 $3 $291

100 to 499 $578 $5 $583

500 or more $1,444 $14 $1,458
Category B:

Number of Employees:

10to 99 $414 $4 $418

100 to 499 $1,155 $11 $1,166

500 or more $3,306 $31 $3,337

Exhibit D



