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Attached is the Excise Taxes and Fees Division’s recommendation for the establishment of calendar
year 2007 rates for the Hazardous Waste Fees and the Occupational Lead Poisoning Prevention Fee.
The applicable statutes requiring the setting of new rates are referenced below:

Health & Safety
Code Section
e 2007 Activity Fees 25205.7
e 2007 Environinental Fees 25205.6
e 2007 Facility Fees 25205.2
e 2007 Generator Fees 25205.5
e 2007 Disposal Fees 25174.2
¢ 2007 Permit-by-Rule and Conditional Authorization 25205.14
e 2007 Occupational Lead Poisoning Prevention Fee 105190

The rates for the fees stated above are adjusted annually based on increases or decreases in the cost
of living measured by the Consumer Price Index (CPI). We are proposing to increase these fees by
4.769 percent as measured by the increase in the CPI for California as issued by the Department of
Industrial Relations for the period July 1, 2005 to June 30, 2006.

Please place this item on the Board’s September 27, 2006 Administrative Consent Calendar for
approval.
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cc:  Mr. Gary Evans
Ms. Lynn Bartolo
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PROPOSAL FOR ADJUSTMENT OF RATES FOR THE
HAZARDOUS WASTE FEES AND OCCUPATIONAL LEAD POISONING
PREVENTION FEE

RATE ADJUSTMENTS

Health and Safety Code Sections 25205.7, 25205.6, 25205.2, 25205.5, 25174.2, 25205.14, and 105190
require the Board to adjust fee rates annually to reflect increases or decreases in the cost of living during
the prior fiscal year, as measured by the Consumer Price Index issued by the Department of Industrial
Relations for the State of California.

DESCRIPTION OF FEES PROPOSED TO BE ADJUSTED

ACTIVITY FEES

Section 25205.7 of the Health and Safety Code imposes a series of activity fees on applicants for new
hazardous waste facility permits and modification to existing hazardous waste facility permits. Currently,
these permit activity fees are collected by the Board.

ENVIRONMENTAL FEES

Section 25205.6 of the Health and Safety Code imposes a fee on corporations and other organizations as
defined, who; 1) employ 50 or more persons who each work more than 500 hours in California during the
calendar year and 2) belong to an industrial group that has been identified by the Department of Toxic
Substances Control as one that uses, generates, stores, or conducts activities related to hazardous material,
as defined in Section 25501, including, but not limited to, hazardous waste.

FACILITY FEES
Section 25205.2 of the Health and Safety Code imposes a fee on each operator of a facility for each
reporting period (calendar year), or portion thereof.

GENERATOR FEES
Section 25205.5 of the Health and Safety Code imposes a fee on each generator of hazardous waste for
each calendar year, or portion thereof.

DISPOSAL FEES

Section 25174.1, of the Health and Safety Code, imposes a fee on each person who disposes of hazardous
waste in the state. Each operator of an authorized hazardous waste facility, at which hazardous wastes are
disposed, shall collect a fee from persons submitting hazardous waste for disposal and shall transmit the
fees to the State Board of Equalization. Section 25174.2 provides the base rate and procedure for
adjustment.

PERMIT BY RULE

Section 25205.14 of the Health and Safety Code imposes a fee on generators of hazardous waste operating
pursuant to a permit-by-rule or under a grant of conditional authorization. The reporting period shall
begin January 1 of each year. On or before January 31 of each year, the department shall notify the Board
of all known generators operating pursuant to a permit-by-rule who are not exempted from this fee
pursuant to Section 25404.5.



PROPOSAL FOR ADJUSTMENT OF RATES FOR THE
HAZARDOUS WASTE FEES AND OCCUPATIONAL LEAD POISONING
PREVENTION FEE
(cont.)

OCCUPATIONAL LEAD POISONING PREVENTION FEE

Section 105190 of the Health and Safety Code imposes a fee on employers in industries with a four-digit
Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) identified to the Board by the Department of Health Services.
The rate paid by an employer is determined by the number of employees and the type of category.

COMPUTATION

The computations of the annual fee rates are based on increases or decreases in the cost of living during
the prior fiscal year, which was July 1, 2005 to June 30, 2006. The factors used are based on the CPI for
California. The CPI is a measure of the average change in prices over time in a fixed market basket of
goods and services. The CPI measures price change from a designated reference date, 1982-84, which
equals 100.0.

CPI @ June 30, 2006 2109

CPI @ June 30, 2005 201.3

Increase in CPI 9.6

Percentage Increase 4.769%
STAFF RECOMMENDATION

It is recommended that the 2007 rates for the Hazardous Waste Fees and the Occupational Lead Poisoning
Prevention Fee be established according to the attached schedules.

Submitted by: Excise Taxes and Fees Division



Proposed Adjustments

Activity Fees (§25205.7)
For the Period 01/01/2007 to 12/31/2007

PROPOSED
2006 PROPOSED 2007

ACTIVITY FEES: RATES INCREASE RATES
Land Disposal Facility Permit Application Fee

Large Facility: $490,520 $23,393 $513,913

Medium Facility: $285,600 $13,620 $299,220

Small Facility: $133,925 $6,387 $140,312
Incineration Facility Requiring a Permit

Large Facility: $293,668 $14,005 $307,673

Medium Facility: $171,037 $8,157 $179,194

Small Facility: $80,676 $3,847 $84,523
Storage or Treatment Facility Permit Application Fee

Large Facility: $96,814 $4,617 $101,431

Medium Facility: $50,021 $2,386 $52,407

Small Facility: $27.431 $1,308 $28,739
Standardized Permit Facility Application Fee

Series A: $41,203 $1,965 $43,168

Series B: $25,723 $1,227 $26,950

Series C: $6,854 $327 $7,181
Transportable Treatment Unit Permit Application Fee

Large Unit: $96,814 $4,617 $101,431

Medium Unit: $48,406 $2,308 $50,714

Small Unit: $20,978 $1,000 $21,978
Facility Postclosure Permit Application Fee

Large Facility: $48.406 $2,308 $50,714

Medium Facility: $29,045 $1,385 $30,430

Small Facility: $12,906 $615 $13,521



Proposed Adjustments
Environmental Fee (§25205.6)
For the Period 01/01/2007 to 12/31/2007

PROPOSED
2006 PROPOSED 2007

NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES: RATES INCREASE RATES
50 to 74 $250 $12 $262
75 to0 99 $441 $21 $462
100 to 249 $880 $42 $922
250 to 499 $1,886 $90 $1,976
500 to 999 $3,521 $168 $3,689
1,000 or more $11,952 $570 $12,522



Proposed Adjustments
Facility Fee, Generator Fee, Disposal Fee,
Permit By Rule, and Conditional Authorization
For the Periods 01/01/2007 to 12/31/2007

PROPOSED
PROPOSED 2007

HAZARDOUS WASTE FEE: 2006 RATES INCREASE RATES
FACILITY FEE BASE RATE (§25205.2) $25,402 $1,211 $26,613
GENERATOR FEE BASE RATE (§25205.5) $3,533 $168 $3,701
DISPOSAL FEE BASE RATE (§25174.2)* $109.58 $5.23 $114.81
PERMIT BY RULE (§25205.14) $1,232 $59 $1,291
CONDITIONAL AUTHORIZATION (§25205.14) $1,232 $59 $1,291

* Please note, in contrast to the other base rates, which are
rounded to the nearest dollar, the Disposal Fee base rate is
rounded to the nearest cent. This is a result of the Disposal Fee
being computed for each ton of hazardous waste.



Proposed Adjustments
Occupational Lead Poisoning Prevention Fee (§105190)
For the Period 01/01/2007 to 12/31/2007

PROPOSED
2006 PROPOSED 2007
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES: RATES INCREASE RATES
- Category A:
Number of Employees:
10 to 99 $258 $12 $270
100 to 499 $517 $25 $542
500 or more $1,291 $62 $1,353
Category B:
Number of Employees:
10to 99 $370 - %18 $388
100 to 499 $1,034 $49 $1,083

500 or more $2,958 $141 $3,099



