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Attached is the Excise Taxes and Fees Division’s recommendation for the establishment of calendar
year 2005 rates for the Hazardous Waste Fees and the Occupational Lead Poisoning Prevention Fee.
The applicable statutes requiring the setting of new rates are referenced below:

Health & Safety
Code Section
e Activity Fees 25205.7
e Environmental Fees 25205.6
e Facility Fees 25205.2
e Generator Fees 25205.5
e Disposal Fees 25174.2
e Permit-by-Rule and Conditional Authorization 25205.14
e Occupational Lead Poisoning Prevention Fee 105190

The rates for the fees stated above are adjusted annually based on increases or decreases in the cost
of living measured by the Consumer Price Index (CPI). We are proposing to increase these fees by
3.107 percent as measured by the increase in the CPI for California as issued by the Department of
Industrial Relations for the period July 1, 2003 to June 30, 2004.

Please place this item on the Board’s October 19, 2004 Administrative Consent Calendar for
approval.

DJG:es
Attachments
cc: Ms. Deborah Pellegrini % ,
Approved: / '
Ramon J. Hifsig
Executive Director
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At the Board Meeting

Deborah Pellegrini, Chief
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PROPOSAL FOR ADJUSTMENT OF RATES FOR THE
HAZARODUS WASTE FEES AND OCCUPATIONAL LEAD POISONING
PREVENTION FEE

RATE ADJUSTMENTS

Health and Safety Code Sections 25205.7, 25174.2, 25205.6, 25205.2, 25205.5, 25205.14, and
105190 require the Board to adjust fee rates annually to reflect increases or decreases in the cost of
living during the prior fiscal year, as measured by the Consumer Price Index issued by the
Department of Industrial Relations for the State of California.

DESCRIPTION OF FEES PROPOSED TO BE ADJUSTED

ACTIVITY FEES

Section 25205.7 of the Health and Safety Code imposes a series of activity fees on applicants for
new hazardous waste facility permits and modification to existing hazardous waste facility permits.
Currently, these permit activity fees are collected by the Board.

ENVIRONMENTAL FEES

Section 25205.6 of the Health and Safety Code imposes a fee on corporations who; 1) employ 50 or
more persons who each work more than 500 hours in California during the calendar year and 2)
belong to an industrial group that has been identified by the Department of Toxic Substances Control
as one that uses, generates, stores, or conducts activities related to hazardous material, as defined in
Section 25501, including, but not limited to, hazardous waste.

FACILITY FEES
Section 25205.2 of the Health and Safety Code imposes a fee on each operator of a facility for each
reporting period (calendar year), or portion thereof. :

GENERATOR FEES
Section 25205.5 of the Health and Safety Code imposes a fee on each generator of hazardous waste
for each calendar year, or portion thereof.

DISPOSAL FEES

Section 25174.1, of the Health and Safety Code, imposes a fee on each person who disposes of
hazardous waste in the state. Each operator of an authorized hazardous waste facility, at which
hazardous wastes are disposed, shall collect a fee from persons submitting hazardous waste for
disposal and shall transmit the fees to the State Board of Equalization. Section 25174.2 provides the
base rate and procedure for adjustment.

PERMIT BY RULE

Section 25205.14 of the Health and Safety Code imposes a fee on generators of hazardous waste
operating pursuant to a permit-by-rule or under a grant of conditional authorization. The reporting
period shall begin January 1 of each year. On or before January 31 of each year, the department shall
notify the Board of all known generators operating pursuant to a permit-by-rule who are not
exempted from this fee pursuant to Section 25404.5.



PROPOSAL FOR ADJUSTMENT OF RATES FOR THE
HAZARODUS WASTE FEES AND OCCUPATIONAL LEAD POISONING
PREVENTION FEE
(cont.)

OCCUPATIONAL LEAD POISONING PREVENTION FEE

Section 105190 of the Health and Safety Code imposes a fee on employers in industries with a four-
digit Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) identified to the Board by the Department of Health
Services. The rate paid by an employer is determined by the number of employees and the type of
category.

COMPUTATION

The computations of the annual fee rates are based on increases or decreases in the cost of living
during the prior fiscal year, which was July 1, 2003 to June 30, 2004. The factors used are based on
the CPI for California. The CPI is a measure of the average change in prices over time in a fixed
market basket of goods and services. The CPI measures price change from a designated reference
date, 1982-84, which equals 100.0.

CPI @ June 30, 2004 195.8

CPI @ June 30,2003 189.9

Increase in CPI 59

Percentage Increase 3.107%
STAFF RECOMMENDATION

It is recommended that the 2005 rates for the Hazardous Waste Fees and the Occupational Lead
Poisoning Prevention Fee be established according to the attached schedules.

Submitted by: Excise Taxes and Fees Division



Proposed Adjustments

Activity Fees (§25205.7)
For the Period 01/01/2005 to 12/31/2005

PROPOSED
2004 PROPOSED 2005

ACTIVITY FEES: RATES INCREASE RATES
Land Disposal Facility Permit Application Fee

Large Facility: $462,741 $14,377 $477,118

Medium Facility: $269,426 $8,371 $277,797

Small Facility: $126,341 $3,925 $130,266
Incineration Facility Requiring a Permit

Large Facility: $277,036 $8,608 $285,644

Medium Facility: $161,351 $5,013 $166,364

Small Facility: $76,107 $2,365 $78,472
Storage or Treatment Facility Permit Application Fee

Large Facility: $91,331 $2,838 $94,169

Medium Facility: $47,188 $1,466 $48,654

Small Facility: $25,878 $804 $26,682
Standardized Permit Facility Application Fee

Series A: $38,869 $1,208 $40,077

Series B: $24,266 $754 $25,020

Series C: $6,466 $201 $6,667
Transportable Treatment Unit Permit Application Fee

Large Unit: $91,331 $2,838 $94,169

Medium Unit: $45,664 $1,419 $47,083

Small Unit: $19,790 $615 $20,405
Facility Postclosure Permit Application Fee

Large Facility: $45,664 $1,419 $47,083

Medium Facility: $27,400 $851 $28,251

Small Facility: $12,175 $378 $12,553



Proposed Adjustments
Environmental Fee (§25205.6)
For the Period 01/01/2005 to 12/31/2005

PROPOSED
2004 PROPOSED 2005

NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES: RATES INCREASE RATES
50 to 74 $236 $7 $243
75 t0 99 $416 $13 $429
100 to 249 $830 $26 $856
250 to 499 $1,779 $55 $1,834
500 to 999 $3,322 $103 $3,425
1,000 or more $11,275 $350 $11,625



Proposed Adjustments
Facility Fee, Generator Fee, Disposal Fee,
Permit By Rule, and Conditional Authorization
For the Periods 01/01/2005 to 12/31/2005

PROPOSED
PROPOSED 2005

HAZARDOUS WASTE FEE: 2004 RATES INCREASE RATES

FACILITY FEE BASE RATE (§25205.2) $23,963 $745 $24,708
GENERATOR FEE BASE RATE (§25205.5) $3,332 $104 $3,436
DISPOSAL FEE BASE RATE (§25174.2)* $103.38 $3.21 $106.59
PERMIT BY RULE (§25205.14) $1,162 $36 $1,198
CONDITIONAL AUTHORIZATION (§25205.14) $1,162 $36 $1,198

* Please note, in contrast to the other base rates, which are
rounded to the nearest dollar, the Disposal Fee base rate is
rounded to the nearest cent. This is a result of the Disposal Fee
being computed for each ton of hazardous waste.



Proposed Adjustments
Occupational Lead Poisoning Prevention Fee (§105190)
For the Period 01/01/2005 to 12/31/2005

PROPOSED
2004 PROPOSED 2005

NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES: RATES INCREASE RATES
Category A:

Number of Employees:

10 to 99 $243 $8 $251

100 to 499 $488 $15 $503

500 or more $1,218 $38 $1,256
Category B:

Number of Employees:

10 to 99 $349 $11 $360

100 to 499 $976 $30 $1,006

500 or more $2,790 $87 $2,877



	
	
	
	
	
	
	
	


