State of California

Memorandum

To

From

Subject :

: Honorable Jerome E. Horton, Chairman Date : August 20, 2012

Honorable Michelle Steel, Vice Chair
Honorable Betty T. Yee, First District
Senator George Runner, Second District
Honorable John Chiang, State Controller

: David J. Gau, Deputy Director ;l;

Property and Special Taxes Department

Calendar Year 2013 Hazardous Substances Fees and Occupational Lead Poisoning Prevention
Fee Rates (September 2012 Administrative Consent Calendar)

In accordance with the Health and Safety Code Sections listed below, the tax and fees administered
under the Hazardous Substances Tax Law are adjusted each year by the incremental change in the
Consumer Price Index (CPI) published by the California Department of Industrial Relations. The
increase in the CP! from June 30, 2011 to June 30, 2012 is 1.927 percent and was calculated as
follows:

CP! @ June 30, 2012 | 237.781
' CPI@June 30,2011 233.285
Increase in Pl 4.496
Percentage Increase  1.927%
| recommend that the 2013 calendar year rates for the tax and fee programs administered under the

Hazardous Substances Tax Law be established according to the attached schedules identified as
Exhibits A - D:

Health & Safety Code Section Description of Fee Exhibit

25174.2 Disposal Base Fee A
25205.14 Permit-by-Rule or Conditional Authorization A
25205.4 Facility Base Fee A
25205.5 Generator Base Fee A
25205.6 Environmental Fees B
25208.7 Activity Fees C

105190 Occupational Lead Poisoning Prevention Fee D

Please place this item on the Board's September 2012 Administrative Consent Calendar for
approval.

DJG:da

Attachments

cc. Ms. Regina Evans Ms. Marcy Jo Mandel
Mr. Joei Angeles Ms. Joann Richmond
Mr. Alan LoFaso Ms. Lynn Bartolo
Mr. Sean Wallentine Ms. Debbie Kalfsbeek

Approved:
Cynthia Bridge$, Hxecutive Director
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Joarin Richmond, Chief
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Change
Consumer Price Index (CPI)
California Urban Consumers

June 2011 to June 2012
Line (L) Month Description Amount
1 Jun-12 CP1 237.781
2 Jun-11 CPI 233.285
3 <L1-L2>|Change 4.496
<L3/L2>|Percentage Change 1.927%

The California CPI is established by the Department of Industrial Relations

and is used to establish the fee structure for all programs per statute

Source:

State of California Department of Industrial Relations
Division of Labor Statistics and Research

Consumer Price Index-California dated 7/17/2012
http://www.dir.ca. gov/dlst/CPl/PresentCCPLPDF
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Proposed Adjustments Exhibit A
Disposal Fee, Permit by Rule,

Conditional Authorization,
Facility Fee, Generator Fee
2013 Calendar Year
PROPOSED
2012 PROPOSED FEE FEES
HAZARDOUS WASTE FEE: FEES ADJUSTMENT 2013
Disposal Base Fee (§25174.2)" $126.99 $2.45 $129.44
Permit by Rule (§25205.14) $1,429 $28 $1,457
Conditional Authorization (§25205.14) $1,429 $28 $1,457
Facility Base Fee (§25205.4) $29,438 $567 $30,005
Generator Base Fee (§25205.5) $4,094 $79 $4,173

' Please note, in contrast to the other base rates, which are
rounded to the nearest dollar, the Disposal Fee base rate is
rounded to the nearest cent as the Disposal Fee is computed for
each ton of hazardous waste.


http:25205.14
http:25205.14

Proposed Adjustments
Environmental Fee (§25205.6)
2013 Calendar Year

PROPOSED

2012 PROPOSED FEE FEES

NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES: FEES ADJUSTMENT 2013
50 to 74 $291 $6 $297
75 t0 99 $512 $10 $522
100 to 249 $1,019 $20 $1,039
250 to 499 $2,186 $42 $2,228
500 to 999 $4,081 $79 $4,160
1,000 or more $13,850 $267 $14,117

Exhibit B



Proposed Adjustments
Activity Fees (§25205.7)
2013 Calendar Year
PROPOSED
2012 PROPOSED FEE FEES

ACTIVITY FEES: FEES ADJUSTMENT 2013
Land Disposal Facility Permit Application Fee

Large Facility: $568,467 $10,954 $579,421

Medium Facility: $330,983 $6,378 $337,361

Small Facility: $155,206 $2,991 $158,197
Incineration Facility Requiring a Permit

Large Facility: $340,335 $6,558 $346,893

Medium Facility: $198,216 $3,820 $202,036

Small Facility: $93,496 $1,802 $95,298
Storage or Treatment Facility Permit Application Fee

Large Facility: $112,198 $2,162 $114,360

Medium Facility: $57,971 $1,117 $59,088

Small Facility: $31,789 $613 $32,402
Standardized Permit Facility Application Fee

Series A: $47,751 $920 $48,671

Series B: $29,811 $574 $30,385

Series C: $7,943 $153 $8,096
Transportable Treatment Unit Permit Application Fee

Large Unit: $112,198 $2,162 $114,360

Medium Unit: $56,097 $1,081 $57,178

Small Unit: $24311 $468 $24,779
Facility Postclosure Permit Application Fee

Large Facility: $56,097 $1,081 $57,178

Medium Facility: $33,661 $649 $34,310-

Small Facility: $14,957 $288 $15,245

Exhibit C



Proposed Adjustments
Occupational Lead Poisoning Prevention Fee (§105190)

2013 Calendar Year
PROPOSED
2012 PROPOSED FEE FEES
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES: FEES ADJUSTMENT 2013
Category A:
Number of Employees:
10 to 99 $299 $6 $305
100 to 499 $599 $12 $611
500 or more $1,498 $29 $1,527
Category B:
Number of Employees:
10t0 99 $429 $8 $437
100 to 499 $1,198 $23 $1,221
500 or more $3,428 $66 $3,494

Exhibit D



