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Amend Revenue and Taxation Code Section 480.4 to authorize the Board to
prescribe the content and form of the preliminary change of ownership report,
after consultation with the California Assessors' Association. (Housekeeping)

Source: Property and Special Taxes Department and Legal Department

Existing Law:

Existing law requires a “Preliminary Change in Ownership Report” (PCOR) to be filed
whenever any document affecting a change in ownership is recorded with the county
recorder. Taxpayers, however, do not have to file the form if they pay a $20 fee. The
form provides the assessor with the necessary information to determine if a change in
ownership occurred, or if the transfer may be eligible for an exclusion from
reassessment. It also provides information needed to value the property for tax
purposes. If a taxpayer does not file a PCOR the assessor may subsequently request
that the taxpayer file a Change in Ownership Statement (COS) pursuant to Section 480.

Under current law, the form of the report is embedded in the statute, therefore any
significant modification to the form requires legislation.

This Proposal:

This proposal would instead allow the Board of Equalization (Board) to prescribe the
form, after consultation with the California Assessors’ Association, consistent with the
provisions for most other forms. The Change in Ownership Statement is prescribed by
the Board but its specific form is not detailed in statute. The Board could therefore more
easily make modifications and improvements to the Preliminary Change of Ownership
Report to create a more user-friendly form, for taxpayers and assessors, without the
necessity of seeking legislation to modify the form.

Section 480.4 of the Revenue and Taxation Code is amended to read:

480.4. (a) The preliminary change of ownership report referred to in Section 480.3
shall be_declared to be true under penalty of perjury and shall give that information
relative to the transfer. The information shall include, but not be limited to, a
description of the property, the parties to the transaction, the date of acquisition, the
amount, if any, of the consideration paid for the property, whether paid in money or
otherwise, and the terms of the transaction. The preliminary change in ownership
report shall not include any question that is not germane to the assessment function.

in substantially the following form:
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c. to a trust from which the property reverts to the grantor within 12 years? a. () YES
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11. Was any personal property involved in a. () YES b. () NO purchase other than a
manufactured home c. AMOUNT real property?

Preliminary Change of Ownership Report ~ Page
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(NOTE: The Assessor may contact you for further information.)

(b) The State Board of Equalization-may-revise shall prescribe, after consultation
with the California Assessors' Association, the preliminary change of ownership
report, as necessary, for the purpose of maintaining statewide uniformity in the
contents of the report.




