

STATE BOARD OF EQUALIZATION

450 N STREET, SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA PO BOX 942879, SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA 94279-0073 916-327-4975• FAX 916-324-2586 www.boe.ca.gov SEN. GEORGE RUNNER (RET.) First District

> FIONA MA, CPA Second District

JEROME E. HORTON Third District

DIANE L. HARKEY

BETTY T. YEE State Controller

CYNTHIA BRIDGES Executive Director

October 16, 2015

## Dear Interested Party:

Enclosed is the Initial Discussion Paper regarding potential amendments to the Harris-Katz California Taxpayers' Bill of Rights and Special Taxes Bill of Rights Statutes. Before proposed amendments are presented to the Board's Legislative Committee for consideration, staff would like to invite you to discuss them and present any additional suggestions or comments. Accordingly, an interested parties meeting is scheduled as follows:

November 16, 2015 Room 122 at 10:00 a.m. 450 N Street, Sacramento, CA

If you would like to participate by teleconference, call 1-888-278-0296 and enter access code 7075409. You are also welcome to submit your comments to me at the address or fax number in this letterhead or via email at <a href="Michele.Pielsticker@boe.ca.gov">Michele.Pielsticker@boe.ca.gov</a> by December 1, 2015. Copies of the materials you submit may be provided to other interested parties, therefore, please ensure your comments do not contain confidential information. Please feel free to publish this information on your website or distribute it to others that may be interested in attending the meeting or presenting their comments.

If you are interested in other Legislative Committee topics, please refer to our webpage at http://www.boe.ca.gov/legdiv/legcont.htm.

Thank you for your consideration. We look forward to your comments and suggestions. Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact our Legislative Committee staff member Mr. Kevin Beile at 916-322-7169.

Sincerely,

/s/ Michele Pielsticker

Michele Pielsticker, Chief Legislative and Research Division

Enclosures

cc: (all with enclosures, via email and/or hardcopy as requested)

Honorable Jerome E. Horton, Chairman, Third District

Senator George Runner (Ret.), Vice Chair, First District

Honorable Fiona Ma, CPA, Member, Second District

Honorable Diane L. Harkey, Member, Fourth District

Honorable Betty T. Yee, State Controller, c/o Ms. Yvette Stowers (MIC 73)

Ms. Kari Hammond, Board Member's Office, Third District

Ms. Shellie Hughes, Board Member's Office, Third District

Mr. Sean Wallentine, Board Member's Office, First District

Mr. Lee Williams, Board Member's Office, First District

Mr. Brian Wiggins, Board Member's Office, First District

Mr. Jim Kuhl, Board Member's Office, Second District

Ms. Kathryn Asprey, Board Member's Office, Second District

Mr. John Vigna, Board Member's Office, Second District

Mr. Tim Morland, Board Member's Office, Second District

Ms. Lizette Mata, Board Member's Office, Second District

Mr. Russell Lowery, Board Member's Office, Fourth District

Mr. Ted Matthies, Board Member's Office, Fourth District

Ms. Lisa Renati, Board Member's Office, Fourth District

Mr. Clifford Oakes, Board Member's Office, Fourth District

Ms. Lynne Kinst, Board Member's Office, Fourth District

Mr. Ramon Salazar, State Controller's Office (MIC 73)

Ms. Cynthia Bridges (MIC 73)

Mr. Randy Ferris (MIC 83)

Mr. David Gau (MIC 101)

Ms. Lynn Bartolo (MIC 43)

Mr. Todd Gilman (MIC 70)

Mr. Wayne Mashihara (MIC 47)

Mr. Kevin Hanks (MIC 49)

Mr. Mark Durham (MIC 67)

Mr. Robert Tucker (MIC 82)

Mr. Jeff Vest (MIC 85)

Mr. Jeff Angeia (MIC 85)

Mr. John Thiella (MIC 73)

Mr. David Levine (MIC 85)

Mr. Bradley Heller (MIC 82)

Mr. Lawrence Mendel (MIC 82)

Ms. Christine Bisauta (MIC 82)

Ms. Kirsten Stark (MIC 50)

Mr. Marc Alviso (MIC 101)

Mr. Chris Lee (MIC 101)

Ms. Laureen Simpson (MIC 70)

Ms. Karina Magana (MIC 47)

Mr. Bradley Miller (MIC 92)

Mr. Bill Benson (MIC 67)

Mr. Robert Wilke (MIC 50)

Ms. Lynn Whitaker (MIC 50)