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Amend Revenue and Taxation Code Section 6452.1 of the Sales and Use Tax Law
to require California purchasers incurring a use tax liability that do not hold a
permit or license with the BOE to report use tax on their income tax return if they
failed to report the tax to the BOE.

Source: Sales and Use Tax Department

Existing Law. Under existing law, Chapter 3 (commencing with Section 6201) of Part 1
of Division 2 of the Revenue and Taxation Code imposes a use tax on the storage, use,
or other consumption in this state of tangible personal property purchased from any
retailer. The use tax is imposed on the purchaser, and unless that purchaser pays the
use tax to a retailer registered to collect the California use tax, the purchaser is liable for
the tax, unless the use of that property is specifically exempted or excluded from tax.
The use tax is the same rate as the sales tax and is generally required to be remitted to
the Board on or before the last day of the month following the quarterly period in which
the purchase was made. Generally, a use tax liability occurs when a California
consumer or business purchases tangible items for its own use from an out-of-state
retailer that is not registered with the BOE to collect the California use tax. Generally,
when a person is late in payment of his or her use tax obligations, the BOE imposes a
10 percent penalty, plus interest, currently at the rate of 6 percent (7 percent beginning
January 1, 2012).

In an effort to increase the public’'s awareness of the use tax and to encourage
voluntary compliance in reporting the use tax, legislation enacted in 2003 (SB 1009, Ch.
718), required the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) to revise the personal income tax and
corporations tax returns to add a separate line for use tax reporting. While the use tax
law was enacted in 1935, this was the first time a line to report use tax appeared on the
state’s income tax returns. This legislation allowed consumers to elect to report use tax
on their income tax returns for purchases made on or after January 1, 2003 as an
alternative to reporting the tax to the BOE (certain individual consumers, businesses,
and retailers already required to be registered with the BOE, however, may not use this
alternative).

To further simplify reporting of use tax on the income tax return, legislation enacted
during the 2011 Legislative Session, (SB 86, Ch. 14), allows eligible purchasers to use
a “look-up table” to calculate the use tax liability to report on the income tax return. The
table may only be used to report non-business purchases of less than $1,000. Use of
the look-up table to calculate the use tax liability is optional. However, if the taxpayer
properly uses the table, the BOE is precluded from assessing a liability against the
taxpayer for additional use tax.

This Proposal. This proposal would require every person that is not otherwise required
to file a sales or use tax return with the BOE to report qualified use tax on the income
tax return filed with FTB. The provisions of this proposal would not apply to any person
that is not otherwise required to file an income tax return with the FTB, such as
charitable organizations. Due to the fiduciary responsibility a paid tax preparer or CPA
has in accurately preparing a tax return, requiring the reporting of use tax on the income
tax return will also require a paid tax preparer or certified public accountant to make an
inquiry with their client as to whether or not that client has a use tax liability.
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Background. Data obtained from FTB indicated that professionally-prepared returns
accounted for about two-thirds of the returns filed with FTB, yet individual-prepared
returns were about three times more likely to report use tax. And, we learned that many
tax practitioners did not necessarily believe they had a fiduciary duty to their clients to
inquire about their clients’ use tax obligations when preparing their state income tax
returns, since payment of use tax on the state income tax return was merely a voluntary
option. In response, in 2007, 2008 and 2009, the BOE sponsored legislation to not only
eliminate the sunset date of these provisions (which has since been eliminated), but to
also require businesses and consumers who have failed to report use tax to the BOE on
their taxable purchases for the preceding year to report the use tax on the income tax
returns for the taxable year in which the liability for the qualified use tax was incurred.
However, none of these attempts were successful. The first and third attempts (AB 969,
2007, Eng and AB 469, 2009, Eng), were vetoed by the Governor, and the second
(AB 1957, 2008, Eng), failed passage in the Senate Revenue and Taxation Committee.

Section 6452.1 of the Revenue and Taxation Code is amended to read as follows:

6452.1. (a) Notwithstanding Section 6451, every person that purchases
tangible personal property, the storage, use, or other consumption of which is
subject to qualified use tax, as defined in subdivision (d), that is otherwise
required to report and remit that tax pursuant to this part, shall may-eleette report
and remit qualified use tax on an acceptable tax return.

(h) H-A-persen-thatreports—gualtied—usetax—on—-an-—-acceptable—tax—returnis
deemed to have made the election authorized by this section.

1) &3A) In the case of a married individual filing a separate California personal
income tax return, an election may be made to report either one-half of the
qualified use tax or the entire qualified use tax on his or her separate California
personal income tax return.

(2) (B} If an individual elects to report one-half of the qualified use tax, that
election will not be binding with respect to the remaining one-half of the qualified
use tax owed by that individual and that individual's spouse

(C) An—ale
irrevecable: An acceptable tax return that contams use tax shaII be conS|dered a
tax return for purposes of this part.

(d) For purposes of this section:

(1) "Acceptable tax return” means a timely filed original return that is filed
pursuant to Article 1 (commencing with Section 18501), Article 2 (commencing
with Section 18601), Section 18633, Section 18633.5 of Chapter 2 (commencing
with Section 18501) of Part 10.2, or Article 3 (commencing with Section 23771) of
Chapter 4 of Part 11.

(2) (A) Except as provided in subparagraph (B), "qualified use tax" means either
of the following:

(i) For one or more single nonbusiness purchases of individual items of tangible
personal property each with a sales price of less than one thousand dollars
($1,000), either of the following:

(I) The use tax imposed under this part, Article Xlll of the California Constitution,
in conformity with the Bradley-Burns Uniform Local Sales and Use Tax Law (Part
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1.5 (commencing with Section 7200)), or in accordance with the Transactions and
Use Tax Law (Part 1.6 (commencing with Section 7251)) that has not been paid to
a retailer holding a seller's permit or certificate of registration-use tax.

(I) The estimated amount of use tax as calculated by the board. The board
shall annually calculate the estimated amount of use tax due according to a
person's adjusted gross income and by July 30 of each calendar year make
available to Franchise Tax Board such amounts in the form of a use tax table as
part of the accompanying instructions of the acceptable tax return.

(if) For one or more single nonbusiness purchases of individual items of tangible
personal property each with a sales price of one thousand dollars ($1,000) or
more, or for any tangible personal property purchased for use in a trade or
business, the amount of use tax imposed under this part, Article Xlll of the
California Constitution, the Bradley-Burns Uniform Local Sales and Use Tax Law
(Part 1.5 (commencing with Section 7200)), or the Transactions and Use Tax Law
(Part 1.6 (commencing with Section 7251)) that has not been paid to a retailer
holding a seller's permit or certificate of registration-use tax.

(B) "Qualified use tax" does not include:

(i) Use tax imposed on the storage, use, or other consumption of a mobilehome
or a commercial coach that is required to be registered annually pursuant to the
Health and Safety Code or use tax imposed on the storage, use, or other
consumption of a vehicle subject to identification under Division 16.5
(commencing with Section 38000) of the Vehicle Code, or a vehicle that qualifies
under the permanent trailer identification plate program pursuant to subdivision (a)
of Section 5014.1 of the Vehicle Code.

(i) Use tax imposed on the storage, use, or other consumption of a vehicle,
vessel, or aircraft.

(i) Use tax imposed on a lease of tangible personal property.

(iv) Use tax imposed on the storage, use, or other consumption of cigarettes,
tobacco products, or cigarettes and tobacco products for which the purchaser is
registered with the board as a cigarette consumer, a tobacco products consumer,
or a cigarette and tobacco products consumer.

(e) (1) It a person elects to report qualified use tax on an acceptable tax return,
that A person shall report and remit the qualified use tax by reporting the amount
due based on all taxable purchases of tangible personal property made during the
taxable year for which the acceptable tax return is required to be filed. A person
that has made one or more single nonbusiness purchases of individual items of
tangible personal property each with a sales price of less than one thousand
dollars ($1,000) may satisfy his or her tax liability for those purchases by using the
use tax table shown in the accompanying instructions of the acceptable tax return.

(2) The qualified use tax shall be reported on and remitted with an acceptable
tax return that is required to be filed for the taxable year in which the liability for
the qualified use tax was incurred.

() (1) The penalties and interest imposed under this part, in conformity with the
Bradley-Burns Uniform Local Sales and Use Tax Law (Part 1.5 (commencing with
Section 7200)), or in accordance with the Transactions and Use Tax Law (Part 1.6
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(commencing with Section 7251)) shall apply to use tax reported as qualified use
tax on an acceptable return.

(2) Any claims for refunds or credits of any use tax reported as qualified use tax
on an acceptable tax return shall be made in accordance with Chapter 7
(commencing with Section 6901) of this part.

(3) Qualified use tax shall be considered to be timely reported and remitted for
purposes of this part, in conformity with the Bradley-Burns Uniform Local Sales
and Use Tax Law (Part 1.5 (commencing with Section 7200)), and in accordance
with the Transactions and Use Tax Law (Part 1.6 (commencing with Section
7251)), if the qualified use tax is timely reported on and remitted with an
acceptable tax return in accordance with the provisions of this section.

(g) Notwithstanding a person's payment of qualified use tax on an acceptable
tax return, the board is not precluded from making any determinations for
understatements of qualified use tax against that person in accordance with this
chapter. However, with respect to one or more single nonbusiness purchases of
individual items of tangible personal property each with a sales price of less than
one thousand dollars ($1,000), the board shall be precluded from making any
such determination against any person who uses the use tax table for purposes of
satisfying his or her use tax liability when the person uses that table in accordance
with the accompanying instructions.

(h) Any payments and credits shown on the return, together with any other
credits associated with that person's account, of a person that is required eleets to
report qualified use tax on an acceptable tax return shall be applied in the
following order:

(1) Taxes imposed under Part 10 (commencing with Section 17001) or Part 11
(commencing with Section 23001), including penalties and interest, if any,
imposed under Part 10.2 (commencing with Section 18401).

(2) Qualified use tax reported on the acceptable tax return in accordance with
this section.

() (1) This section does not apply to a person who is otherwise required to hold
a seller's permit or to register with the State Board of Equalization pursuant to
Part 1 (commencing with Section 6001) of this division.

(2) This section applies to purchases of tangible personal property made on or
after January 1, 2010, in taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2010.

(3) The amendments made by the act adding this paragraph shall apply to
purchases of tangible personal property made on or after January 1, 2011, in
taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2011.
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