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Amend Revenue and Taxation Code Section 6248 of the Sales and Use Tax 
Law to make a technical clarification to the repair, retrofit and modification 
exception related to the 12-month rebuttable presumption for vessels 
purchased outside this state. (Technical) 
Source:  Legislative Section 
Current Law 
Under existing law, Revenue and Taxation Code Section 6248 of the Sales and 
Use Tax Law provides a rebuttable presumption that any vehicle, vessel, or 
aircraft purchased outside California that is brought into this state within 12 
months of purchase, was acquired for storage, use, or other consumption in this 
state and is subject to use tax.  The law provides an exception, however, for 
vehicles, vessels and aircraft brought back into California within the first 12 
months of ownership for the purpose of repair, retrofit, or modification (RRM).  If 
the RRM meets specified criteria, the vehicle, vessel or aircraft will not become 
subject to use tax solely on the basis that it was brought into California within the 
first 12 months of ownership.  One of these criteria is that, for vessels, the RRM 
be conducted by a repair facility that holds an appropriate permit issued by the 
Board of Equalization (BOE) and is licensed to do business by the county in 
which it is located.  (This criteria was added by BOE-sponsored AB 1547 (Ch. 
545, Stats. 2009) in order to clarify that the RRM must be performed by a 
legitimate repair facility, otherwise taxpayers could regularly purchase minor 
parts or accessories and make their own repairs or modifications over an 
extended period of time while storing the vessel in California and avoiding 
California use tax).   
Most local jurisdictions in California require businesses to hold a business 
license.  However, when a business is located within the city’s jurisdiction, 
generally, if a business license is required, the city, rather than the county, 
licenses the business.  Also, in some instances, a business located within an 
unincorporated area of a county, is not required to hold a business license at all 
(such as in Shasta County, Santa Clara County, and San Diego County).  
Consequently, the specific wording of the statute requiring that the repair facility 
be licensed to do business by the county in which it is located is not always 
fitting.  This could inadvertently subject a purchaser to use tax when the 
purchaser brings a vessel purchased outside this state back into California within 
the first 12 months of ownership and uses a repair facility that either is not 
required to hold a business license, or has an appropriate business license, but 
not one issued by a county. 
This Proposal 
This proposal would clarify that as long as the repair facility has a permit with the 
BOE and is licensed by the city, county, or city and county, if so required, the 
taxpayer’s vessel purchase would meet the criteria for the exception related to 
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the 12-month rebuttable presumption, and would not be subject to use tax 
(assuming all other requirements not pertinent to this discussion are met). 
Section 6248 of the Revenue and Taxation Code is amended to read: 

6248.  (a) There shall be a rebuttable presumption that any vehicle, 
vessel, or aircraft bought outside of this state on or after the effective date 
of this section, and which is brought into California within 12 months from 
the date of its purchase, was acquired for storage, use, or other 
consumption in this state and is subject to use tax if any of the following 
occurs: 
   (1) The vehicle, vessel, or aircraft was purchased by a California 
resident as defined in Section 516 of the Vehicle Code. For purposes of 
this section, a closely held corporation or limited liability company shall 
also be considered a California resident if 50 percent or more of the 
shares or membership interests are held by shareholders or members 
who are residents of California as defined in Section 516 of the Vehicle 
Code. 
   (2) In the case of a vehicle, the vehicle was subject to registration under 
Chapter 1 (commencing with Section 4000) of Division 3 of the Vehicle 
Code during the first 12 months of ownership. 
   (3) In the case of a vessel or aircraft, that vessel or aircraft was subject 
to property tax in this state during the first 12 months of ownership. 
   (4) If purchased by a nonresident of California, the vehicle, vessel, or 
aircraft is used or stored in this state more than one-half of the time during 
the first 12 months of ownership. 
   (b) This presumption may be controverted by documentary evidence 
that the vehicle, vessel, or aircraft was purchased for use outside of this 
state during the first 12 months of ownership. This evidence may include, 
but is not limited to, evidence of registration of that vehicle, vessel, or 
aircraft, with the proper authority, outside of this state. 
   (c) This section shall not apply to any vehicle, vessel, or aircraft used in 
interstate or foreign commerce pursuant to regulations prescribed by the 
board. 
   (d) The amendments made to this section by the act adding this 
subdivision shall not apply to any vehicle, vessel, or aircraft that is either 
purchased, or is the subject of a binding purchase contract that is entered 
into, on or before the operative date of this subdivision. 
   (e) Notwithstanding subdivision (a), any aircraft or vessel brought into 
this state exclusively for the purpose of repair, retrofit, or modification shall 
not be deemed to be acquired for storage, use, or other consumption in 
this state if the repair, retrofit, or modification is, in the case of a vessel, 
performed by a repair facility that holds an appropriate permit issued by 
the board and, is licensed to do business by the city, county, or city and 
county  in which it is located if the city, county, or city and county so 
requires, or, in the case of an aircraft, performed by a repair station 
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certified by the Federal Aviation Administration or a manufacturer's 
maintenance facility. 
   (f) The presumption set forth in subdivision (a) may be controverted by 
documentary evidence that the vehicle was brought into this state for the 
exclusive purpose of warranty or repair service and was used or stored in 
this state for that purpose for 30 days or less. The 30-day period begins 
when the vehicle enters this state, includes any time of travel to and from 
the warranty or repair facility, and ends when the vehicle is returned to a 
point outside the state. The documentary evidence shall include a work 
order stating the dates that the vehicle is in the possession of the warranty 
or repair facility and a statement by the owner of the vehicle specifying 
dates of travel to and from the warranty or repair facility. 
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