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Amend Sections 6452.1, 6487.3, and 18510 of the Revenue and Taxation 
Code to require persons who have failed to report their use tax obligations 
to the Board to report their use tax liability on their tax returns filed with the 
Franchise Tax Board. 
Source: Legislative and Research Division 
 Sales and Use Tax Department 
 
Existing Law 
Under existing law, Chapter 3 (commencing with Section 6201) of Part 1 of 
Division 2 of the Revenue and Taxation Code imposes a use tax on the storage, 
use, or other consumption in this state of tangible personal property purchased 
from any retailer.  The use tax is imposed on the purchaser, and unless that 
purchaser pays the use tax to a retailer registered to collect the California use 
tax, the purchaser is liable for the tax, unless the use of that property is 
specifically exempted or excluded from tax.  The use tax is the same rate as the 
sales tax and is required to be remitted to the Board of Equalization (Board) on or 
before the last day of the month following the quarterly period in which the 
purchase was made.  Generally, a use tax liability occurs when a California 
consumer or business purchases tangible items for their own use from an out-of-
state retailer that is not registered with the Board to collect the California use tax.   
In an effort to increase the public’s awareness of the use tax and to encourage 
voluntary compliance in reporting the use tax, legislation enacted in 2003 (SB 
1009, Ch. 718), required the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) to revise the personal 
income tax and corporations tax returns to add a separate line for use tax 
reporting.  This legislation allowed consumers to elect to report use tax on their 
income tax returns for purchases made on or after January 1, 2003, and through 
December 31, 2009, as an alternative to reporting the tax to the Board (retailers 
and certain consumers already registered with the Board, however, may not use 
this alternative). 
This Proposal 
This proposal would require consumers who have failed to report use tax to the 
Board on their taxable purchases for the preceding year to report the use tax on 
the income tax returns for the taxable year in which the liability for the qualified 
use tax was incurred.  This proposal would also eliminate the January 1, 2009 
sunset date of the provisions which provide for the separate line on the FTB 
returns for use tax reporting. 
In an FTB analysis of individual returns from tax year 2003, it found that 
taxpayers who self-prepared their returns were nearly eight times more likely to 
declare use tax than those who used a tax practitioner. Nearly 63 percent of all 
individual returns FTB received were practitioner-prepared. Yet, only 16.6 
percent of all use tax declarations were made on practitioner-prepared returns.   
While the dollar amount of use tax reported on the FTB returns is increasing (in 
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2004, use tax of $2.8 million was reported, in 2005, $4.6 million, and in 2006, 
$5.5 million was reported), voluntary compliance is still very low.  The Board has 
estimated that the total dollar amount of unreported use tax by consumers is over 
$400 million. 
One of the reasons that practitioner-prepared returns do not reflect use tax is that 
some tax practitioners believe that they can disregard their ethical obligation to 
inquire about a client’s use tax obligation when preparing a client’s income tax 
returns, since the income tax return form and instructions simply provide for an 
election to report the tax.  This proposal is seeking to dispel this misconception 
by eliminating the election to report on the FTB return.  Instead, the proposal 
would specify that the tax is required to be reported on that return if the 
purchaser failed to already report the tax to the Board. These provisions would 
not, however, preclude the Board from making any determinations for qualified 
use tax against any persons in accordance with the current provisions of the 
Sales and Use Tax Law. 
It is anticipated that these proposed changes would enable both tax practitioners 
and consumers to have a better understanding of their obligation to properly 
report use tax liabilities.  In return, the competitive disadvantage in-state retailers 
have compared to out-of-state retailers that are not required to collect the 
California use tax may be improved.     
Section 6452.1 of the Revenue and Taxation Code is amended to read: 
 

   6452.1. (a) Notwithstanding Section 6451, every person that purchases 
tangible personal property, the storage, use, or other consumption of which is 
subject to qualified use tax, as defined in subdivision (b)(d), that is otherwise 
required to report and remit that tax pursuant to this part and fails to do so, 
may elect to shall report and remit  qualified use tax on an acceptable tax 
return. 
   (b) (1) A person that reports qualified use tax on an acceptable tax return is 
deemed to have made the election authorized by this section. (2) (A) In the 
case of a married individual filing a separate California personal income tax 
return, an election may be made to report either one-half of the qualified use 
tax or the entire qualified use tax on his or her separate California personal 
income tax return. 
   (B) (2) If an individual elects to report one-half of the qualified use tax, that 
election will not be binding with respect to the remaining one-half of the 
qualified use tax owed by that individual and that individual’s spouse. 
(c) An election to report qualified use tax on an acceptable tax return shall be 
irrevocable. An acceptable tax return that contains use tax shall be 
considered a tax return for purposes of this part. 
   (d) For purposes of this section: 
   (1) ‘‘Acceptable tax return’’ means a timely filed original return that is filed 
pursuant to Article 1 (commencing with Section 18501), Article 2 
(commencing with Section 18601), Section 18633, Section 18633.5 of 
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Chapter 2 (commencing with Section 18501) of Part 10.2, or Article 3 
(commencing with Section 23771) of Chapter 4 of Part 11. 
   (2) (A) Except as provided in subparagraph (B), ‘‘qualified use tax’’ means 
the use tax imposed under this part, Section 35 of Article XIII of the California 
Constitution, the Bradley-Burns Uniform Local Sales and Use Tax Law (Part 
1.5 (commencing with Section 7200)), or the Transactions and Use Tax Law 
(Part 1.6 (commencing with Section 7251)) that has not been paid to a retailer 
holding a seller’s permit or certificate of registration-use tax. 
   (B) ‘‘Qualified use tax’’ does not include:  
    (i) Use tax that applies to a mobilehome or a commercial coach that is 
required to be registered annually pursuant to the Health and Safety Code or 
use tax that applies to a vehicle subject to identification under Division 16.5 
(commencing with Section 38000) of the Vehicle Code, or to a vehicle that 
qualifies under the permanent trailer identification plate program pursuant to 
subdivision (a) of Section 5014.1 of the Vehicle Code. 
   (ii) Use tax imposed on a vehicle, vessel, or aircraft. 
   (iii) Use tax imposed on a lessee of tangible personal property. 
   (iv) Use tax imposed on purchases of cigarette and/or tobacco products for 
which the purchaser is registered with the board as a cigarette and/or tobacco 
products consumer. 
   (e) If a A person elects that is required to report qualified use tax on an 
acceptable tax return, that person shall report and remit the qualified use tax 
due on purchases of tangible personal property made during the preceding 
comply with all of the following: 
   (1) The qualified use tax shall be reported on and remitted with an 
acceptable tax return. 
   (2) The qualified use tax shall be reported on and remitted with an 
acceptable tax return that is required to be filed for the taxable year in which 
the liability for the qualified use tax was incurred. 
   (f) (1) The penalties and interest imposed under this part, the Bradley-Burns 
Uniform Local Sales and Use Tax Law (Part 1.5 (commencing with Section 
7200)), or the Transactions and Use Tax Law (Part 1.6 (commencing with 
Section 7251)) shall apply to use tax reported as qualified use tax on an 
acceptable return. 
   (2) Any claims for refunds or credits of any use tax reported as qualified use 
tax on an acceptable tax return shall be made in accordance with Chapter 7 
(commencing with Section 6901) of this part. 
   (3) Qualified use tax shall be considered to be timely reported and remitted 
for purposes of this part, the Bradley-Burns Uniform Local Sales and Use Tax 
Law (Part 1.5 (commencing with Section 7200)), and the Transactions and 
Use Tax Law (Part 1.6 (commencing with Section 7251)), if the qualified use 
tax is timely reported on and remitted with an acceptable tax return in 
accordance with the provisions of this section. 
   (g) Notwithstanding a person’s election to remit and to report payment of 
qualified use tax on an acceptable tax return, the State Board of Equalization 
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is not precluded from making any determinations for understatements of 
qualified use tax against that person in accordance with Part 5 (commencing 
with Section 6451). 
   (h) Any payments and credits shown on the return, together with any other 
credits associated with that person’s account, of a person that elects is 
required to report qualified use tax on an acceptable tax return shall be 
applied in the following order: 
   (1) Taxes imposed under Part 10 (commencing with Section 17001) or Part 
11 (commencing with Section 23001), including penalties and interest, if any, 
imposed under Part 10.2 (commencing with Section 18041). 
   (2) Qualified use tax reported on the acceptable tax return in accordance 
with this section. 
   (i) (1) This section does not apply to a person who is otherwise required to 
hold a seller’s permit or to register with the State Board of Equalization 
pursuant to Part 1 (commencing with Section 6001) of this division. 
   (2) This section applies to purchases of tangible personal property made on 
or after January 1, 20032007, in taxable years beginning on or after January 
1, 20032007, and on or before December 31, 2009, and as of that date 
becomes inoperative, unless a later enacted statute extends the operation of 
this section. 
   (3) Notwithstanding this section becoming inoperative as described in 
paragraph (2), any provisions in this section or Section 18510 relating to 
collection activities attributable to qualified use taxes reported prior to the 
inoperative date of this section shall continue in the same manner as if this 
section were still operative. 

 
Section 6487.3 of the Revenue and Taxation Code is amended to read: 
 

   6487.3. (a) (1) For persons that elect are required to report qualified use tax 
in accordance with Section 6452.1, except in the case of fraud, intent to avoid 
this part or authorized rules and regulations issued by the board, or the gross 
understatement of qualified use taxes, every notice of a deficiency 
determination with respect to the qualified use tax shall be mailed within three 
years after the last day for which an acceptable tax return is due or filed, 
whichever occurs later. 
   (2) In the case of a gross understatement of qualified use tax, every notice 
of a deficiency determination with respect to the qualified use tax shall be 
mailed within six years after the last day for which an acceptable tax return is 
due or filed, whichever occurs later. 
   (3) For purposes of this subdivision a ‘‘gross understatement of qualified 
used tax’’ is a deficiency that is in excess of 25 percent of the amount of 
qualified use tax reported on a person’s acceptable tax return. In the case of 
married individuals filing separate California personal income tax returns, the 
total amount of qualified use tax reported will be considered in determining 
whether there is a gross understatement of qualified use tax. 
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   (4) For purposes of this section ‘‘acceptable tax return’’ means a timely filed 
original return that is filed pursuant to Article 1 (commencing with Section 
18501), Article 2 (commencing with Section 18601), Section 18633, Section 
18633.5 of Chapter 2 (commencing with Section 18501) of Part 10.2, or 
Article 3 (commencing with Section 23771) of Chapter 4 of Part 11. 
   (b) This section applies to reporting of purchases of tangible personal 
property made on or after January 1, 20032007, in taxable years beginning 
on or after January 1, 20032007, and on or before December 31, 2009, and 
as of that latter date becomes inoperative, unless a later enacted statute 
extends the operation of this section. 

 
Section 18510 of the Revenue and Taxation Code is amended to read: 
 

   18510. (a) (1) The Franchise Tax Board shall revise the returns required to 
be filed pursuant to this article, Article 2 (commencing with Section 18601), 
Section 18633, Section 18633.5, and Article 3 (commencing with Section 
23771) of Chapter 4 of Part 11 in a form and manner approved by the State 
Board of Equalization, to allow enable a person to report and pay qualified 
use tax in accordance with the provisions of Section 6452.1. 
   (2) Within 10 working days of receiving from the Franchise Tax Board the 
returns described in paragraph (1), the State Board of Equalization shall do 
either of the following: 
   (A) Approve the form and manner of the returns and notify the Franchise 
Tax Board of this approval. 
   (B) Submit comments to the Franchise Tax Board regarding changes to the 
returns that shall be incorporated before the State Board of Equalization 
approves the form and manner of the returns. 
   (b) Any payments and credits shown on the return, together with any other 
credits associated with that person’s account, of a person that elects to report 
reports qualified use tax on an acceptable tax return shall be applied in the 
following order: 
   (1) Taxes imposed under Part 10 (commencing with Section 17001) or Part 
11 (commencing with Section 23001), including penalties and interest, if any, 
imposed under this part. 
   (2) Qualified use tax as reported on the acceptable tax return, in 
accordance with Section 6452.1. 
   (c) The Franchise Tax Board shall transfer the qualified use tax received 
pursuant to Section 6452.1, and any information the State Board of 
Equalization deems necessary for its administration of the use tax, to the 
State Board of Equalization within 60 days from the date the use tax is 
received or the acceptable tax return is processed, whichever is later. 
   (d) This section shall be operative for returns filed for taxable years on and 
after January 1, 20032007, and ending on or before December 31, 2009, and 
as of that date becomes inoperative, unless a later enacted statute extends 
the operation of this section. 
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