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Summary:  This bill provides two veteran-related property tax benefits:  

• Disabled veterans' exemption. Exempts from property tax the home of any person eligible for 
the disabled veterans' exemption; and 

• Veterans 65+: Assessment freeze. Eliminates annual inflation factor-related assessed value 
increases on homes owned by income-qualifying veterans 65 years and older. 

Summary of Amendments: Related to the bill's inflation factor provisions, the amendments 
since the previous analysis (1) limit the benefit to veterans with household incomes of $50,000 if single 
and $100,000 if married, (2) specify the assessment freeze applies only to the home and home site, (3) 
specify that age on the lien date determines eligibility, and (4) extend these provisions to manufactured 
homes. 

Purpose:  To provide a full property tax exemption to disabled veterans or their unmarried surviving 
spouses and property tax relief to income-qualifying senior veterans by freezing assessed values once 
they turn 65.  

Fiscal Impact Summary:  Annual revenue loss of $73.6 million. ($65.9 for disabled veterans’ 
exemption and $7.7 million for income-qualifying senior veterans.) 

Disabled Veterans’ Exemption 
Revenue and Taxation Code Section 205.5 

Existing Law:  The California Constitution1 authorizes the Legislature to exempt partially or fully from 
property tax, the home of a person or spouse, including an unmarried surviving spouse, if the person has 
incurred certain injuries, including blindness in both eyes, lost use of 2 or more limbs, or is totally 
disabled.  The exemption also applies if a person’s death is from a service-connected injury or disease, 
or if a person’s death occurs while on active duty in military service. This exemption is commonly 
referred to as the “disabled veterans' exemption.”  

Statutory Exemption Amount.  Current law contains a partial exemption.2  For the 2017-18 fiscal year, 
for persons with household incomes below $58,754, the exemption amount is $196,262.  For all other 
eligible persons, the exemption amount is $130,841.3  

Proposed Law: This bill provides a full exemption for the home of any person qualified to receive 
the disabled veterans' exemption.  

Effective Date. As a tax levy, this bill is effective immediately upon enactment.  However, the bill 
provides that it applies commencing with the lien date for the 2017-18 fiscal year.  (RTC Section 
205.5(g)) 

                                                           
1 Section 4(a) of Article XIII of the California Constitution. 
2 Revenue and Taxation Code (RTC) Section 205.5. 
3 This is the current exemption amount.  Since 2006, RTC 205.5(h) allows a compounding inflation factor to apply to 
the $150,000 and $100,000 amounts.  This is the current income threshold.  Since 2002, RTC 205.5(g) allows a 
compounding inflation factor to apply to the $40,000 income threshold. Letter to Assessors 2016/017, dated May 3, 
2016, lists exemption amounts and household income limitations effective for lien dates 2002 through 2017. 

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/15-16/bill/sen/sb_1101-1150/sb_1104_bill_20160511_amended_sen_v98.pdf
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=CONS&sectionNum=SEC.%204.&article=XIII
http://www.boe.ca.gov/lawguides/property/current/ptlg/rt/205-5.html
http://www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/pdf/lta16017.pdf
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In General: California law provides qualified disabled veterans and their unmarried surviving spouses 
with a property tax exemption that applies to their home’s assessed value. To be eligible, the claimant 
must obtain a United States Department of Veterans Affairs (USDVA) disability rating that either (1) 
rates the veteran’s disability at 100% or (2) rates the veteran’s disability compensation at 100% because 
the veteran is unable to secure and maintain gainful employment.   

The law also allows surviving spouses to receive the exemption if the spouse's death was service-
connected. To be eligible for the exemption, surviving spouses must receive a USDVA determination that 
the spouse’s death was service-connected.  A USDVA determination is necessary for (1) active duty 
personnel deaths (i.e., the service person was not a “veteran”) and (2) veterans without a 100% rating 
when alive, but whose cause of death is deemed service-connected.  Surviving spouses of veterans with 
a 100% disability rating during their lifetime continue to receive the exemption after the veteran’s death 
so long as they do not remarry. 

The exemption amount depends upon the claimant’s income.  For the 2017-18 fiscal year, the basic 
exemption adjusted for inflation will be $130,841.  If the claimant’s income is less than $58,754, the 
exemption amount will be $196,262.  For the fiscal year 2015-16, 37,653 disabled veterans or their 
unmarried surviving spouses were granted the exemption.  

Qualification Basic Exemption 
Amount 

Lower Income 
Exemption Amount 
$40,000 adjusted for 

inflation 
$58,754 

Disabled Veteran 
• Disability Rating = 100% 
• Disability Compensation = 100% 
• Blind 
• Lost the Use of Two or More Limbs 

Spouse of Military Personnel 
• Surviving Spouse: Disabled Veteran 
• Surviving Spouse: Active Duty Death 
• Surviving Spouse: Posthumous service-

connected death finding 

$100,000 
adjusted for 

inflation 
 

$130,841 

$150,000 
adjusted for 

inflation 
 

$196,262 

Claims Granted: 37,653 33,196  4,457 
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In 1990, 8,483 disabled veterans' exemptions were provided to eligible homeowners.  For 2015, there 
were 37,653 eligible homeowners.  In the last 25 years, this is a 344% increase.  

 
After 2005, the law allowed the $100,000 and $150,000 exemption amounts to annually increase by an 
inflation factor.  

Legislative History:  The following table lists the most recent proposals to increase the disabled 
veterans' exemption.  

Year Bill Proposal 
2008 AB 2568 (Houston) Full Exemption 
2007 AB 1485 (Jefferies) Full Exemption, as introduced 
2007  AB 1485 (Jefferies) Increase to $200,000 and $250,000, as amended 
2005 SB 1005 (Florez) Full Exemption for Spouses if Active Duty Death 

Full Exemption for Spouses if Public Safety Officer Death 
2004 SB 764 (Morrow)  Inflation factoring commences January 1, 2006 (Enacted) 
2003 SB 764 (Morrow) Increase to $200,000 and $250,000, as introduced 

Commentary:  
1. This bill fully exempts from property tax the homes of disabled veterans and their unmarried 

surviving spouses.  The California Constitution provides that the Legislature may exempt these 
homes in whole or in part.  This bill proposes to modify the current partial exemption to a full 
exemption for all qualifying claimants.  Additionally, by eliminating the income-based exemption 
amount, it eliminates the need for these claimants to annually reapply to verify their continued 
eligibility for the higher exemption amount.  
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http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/07-08/bill/asm/ab_2551-2600/ab_2568_bill_20080222_introduced.pdf
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/postquery?bill_number=ab_1485&sess=0708&house=B&author=jeffries
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/postquery?bill_number=sb_1005&sess=0506&house=B&author=florez
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/postquery?bill_number=sb_764&sess=0304&house=B&author=morrow
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/postquery?bill_number=sb_764&sess=0304&house=B&author=morrow
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2. The state does not reimburse local governments for the property tax revenue loss from the 
Disabled Veterans' Exemption.  By contrast, the state fully reimburses local governments for the 
homeowners' exemption.  

3. Operative Date. To transition from a partial to a full exemption at the least possible administrative 
cost, subdivision (g) of RTC 205.5 delays the operative date to coincide with the lien date for the 
2017-18 fiscal year (i.e., January 1, 2017) Otherwise, as a tax levy, this bill would take effect 
immediately.  

4. How much is the exemption currently? The exemption amount depends upon the claimant’s 
income.  For the 2017-18 fiscal year, persons with household incomes below $58,754, may receive 
an exemption of $196,262.  For all other eligible persons, the exemption amount is $130,841.4   

5. How many persons claim the disabled veterans’ exemptions? For 2015, 37,653 exemptions were 
granted to eligible claimants: 33,196 basic exemptions and 4,457 lower income exemptions.  

6. Top 10 Counties.  For 2015, the counties with the most disabled veterans' exemptions in descending 
order include: (1) San Diego: 5,391; (2) Riverside: 3,732; (3) Sacramento: 2,422; (4) San Bernardino: 
2,373; (5) Los Angeles: 2,092; (6) Solano: 1,764; (7) Orange: 1,691; (8) Contra Costa: 1,147; (9) 
Monterey: 990; and (10) Fresno: 959. 

7. Related Legislation.  Current legislation proposing to amend RTC Section 205.5 include: 

AB-1556  Mathis Exemption Amount. Increase to $2.1 Million. 
• Adds New Category of Total Disability Related to Mobility.  
• Modifies Blind Definition. 

SB-1104  Stone Exemption Amount. Increase to 100% exemption.  
SB 1183 Bates Exemption Amount. Increase to $1 Million.  

• Adds New Category of Total Disability Related to Mobility. 
• Modifies Blind Definition. 

SB-1458  Bates Discharge Classification. Extends exemption to disabled veterans with 
other than dishonorable discharge and receiving 100% disability 
compensation or have a 100% disability rating and eligible for federal 
heath and medical benefits.  

Costs:  BOE would incur absorbable costs to modify forms, publications, and website materials.  

Revenue Impact:  Background, Methodology, and Assumptions.  Existing property tax law 
provides a disabled veterans’ exemption to military personnel, or their spouses, in the event of a 
service-connected injury, disease, or death, as specified. The law provides a basic exemption amount of 
$100,000, but increases that amount to $150,000 if the claimant’s household income does not exceed 
$40,000, with all amounts adjusted for inflation.  

The following revenue impact estimate uses FY 2015-16 data and exemption amounts for consistency, 
since this is the most recent year where all variables for the same year are available.  For 2015-16, the 
basic exemption amount was $126,380.  The lower income exemption amount was $189,571 for 
claimants with a household income below $56,751.  

To begin, staff estimated the number of disabled veteran owned homes currently receiving the 
exemption. In 2015-16, 37,653 disabled veterans’ exemptions were granted: 33,196 at the basic level 
and 4,457 at the lower income level.  Based on a survey of several counties, staff estimates that this bill 
will not impact 21% of homes receiving the basic exemption (6,971 homes) or 24% of homes receiving 
the lower income exemption (1,070 homes).  These homes are already fully exempt because they have 

                                                           
4 This is the current exemption amount.  Since 2006, RTC 205.5(h) allows a compounding inflation factor to apply to 
the $150,000 and $100,000 amounts.  This is the current income threshold.  Since 2002, RTC 205.5(g) allows a 
compounding inflation factor to apply to the $40,000 income threshold.  

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201520160AB1556
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201520160SB1104
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billTextClient.xhtml?bill_id=201520160SB1183
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201520160SB1458
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assessed values of less than $126,380 and $189,571, respectively.  Thus, this bill will exempt from the 
property tax 29,612 homes: 26,225 (33,196-6,971) currently receiving the basic exemption and 3,387 
homes (4,457-1,070) receiving the lower income exemption.  

 Homes Granted 
Exemption 

Homes Already Fully Exempt Additional Homes 
Exempted 

Basic 33,196 6,971 26,225 
Lower Income 4,457 1,070 3,387 
Total  37,653 8,041 29,612 

Staff then estimated the additional amount of assessed value that this bill will exempt.  Staff subtracted 
the current exemption amounts provided from the average assessed value (AV) of properties receiving 
the homeowners’ exemption. For 2015-16, the average was $356,370. The affected difference in value 
and revenue loss at the basic 1% property tax rate is then: 

 Average 
Home AV 

Exemption  
Current 

Exemption  
Increase 

Homes Tax 
Rate 

Tax 
Savings Per 

Home 

Revenue Loss 

Basic $356,370 $126,380 $229,990 26,255 1% $2,299 $60.3 Million 
Lower Income  $356,370 $189,571 $166,799   3,387 1% $1,667 $5.6 Million 
Total     29,612   $65.9 Million 

Revenue Summary.  The exemption of homes owned by persons qualified for the disabled veterans' 
exemption  would result in a potential annual revenue loss of $65.9 million.  

Qualifying Remarks.  For 2017, the basic disabled veterans’ exemption amount increases to $130,841, 
the lower income disabled veterans’ exemption amount increases to $196,262, and the household 
income limit increased to $58,754. Counties will apply these amounts to their FY 2017-18 property tax 
rolls.  The revenue estimate does not account for any changes in economic activity that may or may not 
result from enactment of the proposed law. 
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Qualified Veterans 65+: Inflation Factoring  
Revenue and Taxation Code Sections 205.5 and 5813 

Existing Law:  The California Constitution provides a Veterans' Exemption5 that applies to any 
property owned by a person who serves or has served in the military.  However, this exemption has 
become effectively obsolete. For any veteran who owns a home, the homeowners' exemption provides 
greater tax savings.6  Veterans who do not own homes, but own other taxable property (i.e., a boat or 
business personal property), are disqualified if they own property worth more than $5,000 (if single) or 
$10,000 (if married).  Thus, only two veterans in California currently qualify.   

Inflation Adjustments. The law requires the assessor to establish a “base year value” for real property at 
its 1975 market value and thereafter reset the value to current market value every time the property 
changes ownership.7 The base year value must be compounded annually by an inflation factor not to 
exceed 2%.8 The inflation-adjusted value is called the “factored base year value.”  Generally, every year 
the law requires a property’s assessed value to be based on its factored base year value or its current 
market value, whichever is lower.9  

Relevant to this bill, the California Constitution10 specifies that a property’s base year value may reflect 
from year to year the inflationary rate not to exceed 2% for any given year.   

Proposed Law. Beginning January 1, 2017, this bill eliminates future inflation factor increases for 
qualified veteran homeowners.  To qualify,  

• Honorable Discharge. The veteran must have been honorably discharged from military service.  
• Principal place of residence. The inflation factor limitation only applies to a veteran's principal 

place of residence, including so much of the land surrounding it as is reasonably necessary for 
use of the dwelling as a home.  

• Age. The veteran must be 65 on the lien date (January 1).  
• Household Income.  The veteran must have a household income, as specified, of less than 

$50,000 if single or $100,000 if married.  

Effective Date. As a tax levy, this bill is effective immediately upon enactment.  However, the bill first 
applies for any assessment year commencing on or after January 1, 2017.  Generally, property taxes for 
the 2017-18 fiscal year11 are based on the assessed value set for the January 1, 2017 lien date.  

In General: Property Tax System. Voters changed California’s property tax system through 
Proposition 13, which replaced a current market value-based system with an acquisition value-based 
system.  This tax system provides certainty to property owners regarding future property tax liability.  

Specifically, under Proposition 13, real property assessed values were rolled back to 1975 market value 
levels and future assessed value increases were limited to the inflation rate, not to exceed 2%, for as 
long as the property’s ownership remains unchanged and the property is not substantially improved 
(i.e., new construction).   

Thus, regardless of future real estate value increases, the 2% maximum inflation adjustment ensures 
limited assessed value increases. The acquisition-based system with the 2% inflation cap can result in 
substantial property tax savings for long-term property owners who do not move.   

  

                                                           
5 Section 3(o) of Article XIII of the California Constitution.   
6 The veterans' exemption is $4,000 and the homeowners' exemption is $7,000.  
7 RTC Section 110.1 (a) and (b). 
8 RTC Section 110.1 (f) and Section 51. 
9 RTC Section 51 (a)(1). 
10 California Constitution Article XIII A, Section 2(b).  
11 July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2018 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=CONS&sectionNum=SEC.%203.&article=XIII
http://www.boe.ca.gov/lawguides/property/current/ptlg/rt/110-1.html
http://www.boe.ca.gov/lawguides/property/current/ptlg/rt/51.html
http://www.boe.ca.gov/lawguides/property/current/ptlg/ccp/XIII-A-2.html
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Base Year Values.  The “base year value” of real property is the Proposition 13 protected value of a 
property. Under existing law, once the base year value of real property is established, it subsequently 
must be adjusted by an inflation factor of no more than 2% per year.  

Specifically, RTC Section 110.1 provides that the "full cash value" of real property means its fair market 
value as of the date on which a purchase or change in ownership occurs.  Subdivision (b) of Section 
110.1 provides that this value is to be known as the “base year value” while subdivision (f) of Section 
110.1 requires that the base year value annually be adjusted by an inflation factor, as specified in 
subdivision (a) of Section 51.  This bill proposes to amend Section 51 (a) to prohibit the adjustment for 
income-qualified seniors that are veterans.  

Background: Veterans’ Exemption.  At its peak, from 1956 through 1962, over one million persons 
received the veterans' exemption. Today, only two people receive the exemption. In 1974, home-
owning veterans transitioned to the homeowners' exemption when that exemption amount increased 
and provided greater tax savings. Veterans who aren’t homeowners, but own a boat or other personal 
property qualify because of the strict wealth limitations fixed in the California Constitution: $5,000 if 
single and $10,000 if married.  

Legislative History. Proposals to modify the veterans' exemption include: 

Year Bill Proposal 
2005 SCA 14 (Morrow) Create a Military and Veterans homeowners' exemption that is 10% 

greater than the homeowners' exemption for active military and 
veterans. 

1997 ACA 9/AB 551 
(Morrissey and House) 

Increase the Veterans' Exemption to $7,700 and eliminate the wealth 
cap.  Held in Assembly Appropriations  

1996  ACA 39/AB 2790 
(Morrissey) 

Increase the Veterans' Exemption to $7,700 and eliminate the wealth 
cap.  Failed in the Senate 

Senior Provisions. Various age-based property tax benefits are available generally.  This includes base 
year value transfers for persons 55+ that buy a new qualifying home and a state program that allows 
income-qualified persons 62+ to postpone property taxes with interest.  

Commentary: 
1. The May 11, 2016 amendments limit this bill’s provisions on the basis of income: $50,000 if single 

and $100,000 if married. Additionally, the amendments extend this bill’s provisions to manufactured 
homes by making similar amendments to Section 5813.  As introduced, senior veterans that live in 
manufactured homes would have been excluded. Section 51 applies to real property, while Part 13 
“Taxation of Mobilehomes,” commencing with Section 5800, applies to manufactured homes. The 
amendments additionally require the veteran to provide the assessor with all necessary information 
to determine that the claimant qualifies for the benefit. Finally, the amendments incorporate 
several changes suggested in the prior BOE analysis to ease administration and minimize 
implementation costs.  These amendments specify that the age of a person on the lien date (January 
1) determines whether inflation factoring will apply to the assessed value established for the 
upcoming fiscal year (the following July 1 to June 30), add a “household income” definition, and 
expressly provide that the inflation factor limitation does not apply to land in excess of what is 
reasonably necessary for use of the property as a home.   

2. Provides financial relief to income and age qualifying home-owning veterans.  According to the 
author, capping the property tax assessment of veterans age 65 or older will help lower income 
veterans afford to stay in their own home and avoid homelessness.  The author notes that 
homelessness is a significant issue for veterans.  

  

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/postquery?bill_number=sca_14&sess=0506&house=B&author=morrow
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/postquery?bill_number=aca_9&sess=9798&house=B&author=morrissey
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/postquery?bill_number=ab_551&sess=9798&house=B&author=morrissey
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/postquery?bill_number=aca_39&sess=9596&house=B&author=assembly_member_morrissey
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/95-96/bill/asm/ab_2751-2800/ab_2790_bill_960805_amended_sen.pdf
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3. Freezes assessed values for income qualifying veterans 65+. In practical application, this bill freezes 
the assessed values for income and age qualifying veterans at the home's factored base year value 
for the 2016-17 fiscal year, which is the factored base year value for the January 1, 2016 lien date.  
In addition, as other qualified veterans reach the age of 65, their home's assessed value will also be 
frozen.  

4. Historically, the inflation factor has applied equally to all property types and all property owners.  
The Constitutional provision specific to “full cash value base” inflation adjustments does not appear 
to prohibit the Legislature from enacting a law that makes the inflation factor optional.  And the 
Constitution is silent on differential application of the inflation factor to the “full cash value base.”  
Section 2 (b) of Article XIII A of the Constitution reads:  

The full cash value base may reflect from year to year the inflationary rate not to exceed 2 
percent for any given year or reduction as shown in the consumer price index or comparable 
data for the area under taxing jurisdiction, or may be reduced to reflect substantial damage, 
destruction or other factors causing a decline in value. 

Nonetheless, Section 1 of Article XIII of the Constitution provides that: 

All property . . . shall be assessed at the same percentage of fair market value. When a value 
standard other than fair market value is prescribed by this Constitution or by statute authorized 
by this Constitution, the same percentage shall be applied to determine the assessed value.  The 
value to which the percentage is applied, whether it is to be the fair market value or not, shall 
be known for property tax purposes as the full value.”  

Article XIII, Section 1 uses the terms “assessed value” and “full value.”  It is unclear if the 
amendment to Section 51 prohibiting the application of an inflation adjustment to a limited class of 
properties could be interpreted to run counter to Section 1’s requirement, or if it could be 
interpreted as being “a statute authorized by this constitution.” 

5. Is basing the property tax on income level an emerging trend? This year, four bills are pending that 
propose differential property tax assessed values on the basis of a homeowner's income rather than 
property value.  

• SB 1126 - CPI-elimination seniors 65+ at $25,000/50,000 
• SB 1104 - CPI-elimination veterans 65+ at $50,000/100,000 
• AB 2668 – Permits base year value transfer for homes of greater values for 55+ if at or below 

"county median income" 
• AB 2818 - Preferential assessment if a person with moderate or low income, at the time of 

purchase, buys a home from a Community Land Trust.  

6. Assessment uniformity.  Assessed values lack uniformity under California's acquisition value based 
system.  However, the acquisition-based standard is authorized by the Constitution and has been 
upheld by the courts.  Adding an income-based element expands the lack of assessment uniformity 
and complicates administration of the tax. This bill contains three qualifications (military service, 
age, and income), none of which are expressly authorized in the Constitution.  

7. The property tax is an ad valorem tax based on a property's assessed value. Historically, the 
imposition of the property tax does not vary based on income.  Likewise, the imposition of the sale 
and use tax and the various BOE-administered special taxes and fees is not impacted by one’s 
income. Property tax law does provide certain constitutionally-authorized exemptions to be applied 
to a property's assessed value and exclusions from the definition of change in ownership based on 
age.  

  

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201520160SB1126
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201520160SB1104
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201520160AB2668
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201520160AB2818
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8. Annual income verification.  Should it become common to enact property tax laws that base 
assessed value on the property owner's income, this would place a growing importance on a 
verifiable way to determine income eligibility.  Further, it would require assessors to delve into 
homeowners’ or businesses’ private financial matters unrelated to property value. Assessors will 
need to establish a procedure to verify continued income eligibility specific to this bill's provisions. 
To this end, the bill requires qualifying veterans to provide proof of income eligibility to continue to 
receive the benefit.  

9. Household income measure.  The bill uses the "household income" standard of RTC Section 20504 
for the defunct Property Tax Assistance Program, the soon to be revived Property Tax 
Postponement Program, and the disabled veterans' exemption.  Essentially, this is Adjusted Gross 
Income per Internal Revenue Code 62, with a modification for certain school teacher expenses and 
attorney fee-related income relating to awards given to whistleblowers (RTC Section 17072).  It also 
includes a detailed number of cash items as listed in RTC Section 20503 (public assistance, 
unemployment, social security benefits, veterans benefits, lottery winnings, etc.). As explained in 
the next comment, this is for "all income received by all persons of a household while such members 
of such household."  

10. Suggested technical amendment.  The income definition for a single veteran and a married veteran 
both specify income "as defined by RTC Section 20504."  This law section defines household income, 
not an individual person's income.  Therefore, the language of "annual income" if single and 
"household combined annual income" if married contradicts RTC Section 20504 in the case of a 
single veteran who lives with other persons in his home, such as an unmarried partner or child.  
Corrective amendments consistent with intent are needed.  

11. Qualifying veterans will need to take action.  Assessors do not have information about 
homeowners’ veteran status, age, or income.  The bill specifies a basic claim-filing requirement to 
request this tax benefit.   

12. Includes manufactured homes.  As introduced, this bill did not apply to qualified veterans who live 
in manufactured homes.  RTC Section 51 applies to real property and does not apply to 
manufactured homes taxed pursuant to Part 13 “Taxation of Mobilehomes,” commencing with RTC 
Section 5800.  To provide the same property tax relief to qualified veterans who own and live in 
manufactured homes, RTC Section 5813 has been amended.  

13. Includes floating homes.  The law12 provides that Section 110.1 applies to a floating home, and it is 
to be treated the same as real property for property tax assessment purposes. Therefore, any 
qualified veteran that owns a floating home would also be eligible.  

14. Excess land. This bill expressly provides that the inflation factor limitation does not apply to land in 
excess of what is reasonably necessary for use of the property as a home.  This is consistent with 
other property law provisions in which a “residential dwelling” means a dwelling occupied by the 
claimant as the principal place of residence, and so much of the land surrounding it as is reasonably 
necessary for use of the dwelling as a home.  For example, for a home located on a parcel of land 
that is a large farm, the inflation factoring limitation would be limited to the home and the home 
site.  

15. Inflation factor related legislation.  SB 1126 (Stone) proposes to eliminate annual assessed value 
inflation increases for persons age 65+ with an income of $25,000 or less if single or $50,000 or less 
if married.  

  

                                                           
12 RTC Section 229. 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201520160SB1126
http://www.boe.ca.gov/lawguides/property/current/ptlg/rt/229.html


Senate 1104 (Stone)  Page 10 

This staff analysis is provided to address various administrative, cost, revenue and policy issues; it is not 
to be construed to reflect or suggest the BOE’s formal position. 

Costs:  BOE would incur absorbable costs to modify forms, publications, and website materials. 

Revenue Impact:   
Background, Methodology, and Assumptions.  Generally, a property’s sales price is the assessed value 
(called the base year value) and annual increases to that value are limited to the rate of inflation, not to 
exceed 2% (called the factored base year value). This bill eliminates the annual inflation factor increase 
applied to the base year value of an age and income qualified veteran’s home. 

Age.  According to U.S. Census data, California veterans 65 and older account for 18% of all Californians 
65 and over. Among this age group, there are roughly 750,000 owner-occupied homes in the state. 
While data does not exist specifically, we can estimate the number of homes owned by veterans 65 and 
older as follows: 

750,000 homes x 18% = 135,000 homes 

Income.  Based on a review of available data, we estimate that about 80% of veteran-owned homes will 
qualify given the income limits of $50,000 if single and $100,000 if married.  

135,000 homes x 80% = 108,000 homes 

For 2015-16, the average assessed value (AV) of homes receiving the homeowners’ exemption was 
$358,217.  Eliminating the inflation factor for qualified veterans 65 and older results in annual revenue 
loss at the basic 1% property tax rate calculated as follows: 

Avg. Home 
AV 

Inflation 
Factor 

AV Increase 
Avoided  

Tax 
Rate 

Tax Savings Per 
Home 

Income 
Qualifying 

Veteran 65+ 
Homes 

Revenue Loss 

$358,217 2% $7,164 1% $71.64 108,000 $7.7M 

Revenue Summary. By eliminating the inflation factor applied to a qualifying veteran’s home, this bill 
would result in a potential annual revenue loss of $7.7 million. 

Qualifying Remarks.  This estimate assumes (1) a similar rate of homeownership for veterans 65 and 
over as for all Californians 65 and over and (2) a similar level of income for veterans 65 and over as for 
all Californians 65 and over. This revenue estimate does not account for any changes in economic 
activity that may or may not result from enactment of the proposed law. 
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