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Summary:  This bill provides two property tax benefits for veterans:  

• Exempts from property tax the home of any person eligible for the disabled veterans' 
exemption; and 

• Eliminates annual inflation factor-related assessed value increases on homes owned by veterans 
65 years and older. 

Purpose:  To provide a full property tax exemption to disabled veterans or their unmarried surviving 
spouses and property tax relief to senior veterans by freezing assessed values once they turn 65.  

Fiscal Impact Summary:  Annual revenue loss of $75.6 million. ($65.9 for disabled veterans’ 
exemption and $9.7 million for senior veterans.) 

Disabled Veterans’ Exemption 
Revenue and Taxation Code Section 205.5 

Existing Law:  The California Constitution1 authorizes the Legislature to exempt partially or fully from 
property tax, the home of a person or spouse, including an unmarried surviving spouse, if the person has 
incurred certain injuries, including blindness in both eyes, lost use of 2 or more limbs, or is totally 
disabled.  The exemption also applies if a person’s death is from a service-connected injury or disease, 
or if a person’s death occurs while on active duty in military service. This exemption is commonly 
referred to as the “disabled veterans' exemption.”  

Statutory Exemption Amount.  Current law contains a partial exemption.2  For the 2016-17 fiscal year, 
for persons with household incomes below $57,258, the exemption amount is $191,266.  For all other 
eligible persons, the exemption amount is $127,510.3  

Proposed Law: This bill provides a full exemption for the home of any person qualified to receive 
the disabled veterans' exemption.  

Effective Date. As a tax levy, this bill is effective immediately upon enactment.  However, the bill 
provides that it applies commencing with the lien date for the 2017-18 fiscal year.  

In General: California law provides qualified disabled veterans and their unmarried surviving spouses 
with a property tax exemption that applies to their home’s assessed value. To be eligible, the claimant 
must obtain a United States Department of Veterans Affairs (USDVA) disability rating that either (1) 
rates the veteran’s disability at 100% or (2) rates the veteran’s disability compensation at 100% because 
the veteran is unable to secure and maintain gainful employment.   

  

                                                           
1 Section 4(a) of Article XIII of the California Constitution. 
2 Revenue and Taxation Code (RTC) Section 205.5. 
3 This is the current exemption amount.  Since 2006, RTC 205.5(h) allows a compounding inflation factor to apply to 
the $150,000 and $100,000 amounts.  This is the current income threshold.  Since 2002, RTC 205.5(g) allows a 
compounding inflation factor to apply to the $40,000 income threshold.  

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/15-16/bill/sen/sb_1101-1150/sb_1104_bill_20160217_introduced.pdf
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=CONS&sectionNum=SEC.%204.&article=XIII
http://www.boe.ca.gov/lawguides/property/current/ptlg/rt/205-5.html
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The law also allows surviving spouses to receive the exemption if the spouse's death was service-
connected. To be eligible for the exemption, surviving spouses must receive a USDVA determination that 
the spouse’s death was service-connected.  A USDVA determination is necessary for (1) active duty 
personnel deaths (i.e., the service person was not a “veteran”) and (2) veterans without a 100% rating 
when alive, but whose cause of death is deemed service-connected.  Surviving spouses of veterans with 
a 100% disability rating during their lifetime continue to receive the exemption after the veteran’s death 
so long as they do not remarry. 

The exemption amount depends upon the claimant’s income.  For the 2016-17 fiscal year, the basic 
exemption adjusted for inflation will be $127,510.  If the claimant’s income is less than $57,258, the 
exemption amount will be $191,266.  For the fiscal year 2015-16, 37,653 disabled veterans or their 
unmarried surviving spouses were granted the exemption.  

Qualification Basic Exemption 
Amount 

Lower Income 
Exemption Amount 
$40,000 adjusted for 

inflation 
$57,258 

Disabled Veteran 
• Disability Rating = 100% 
• Disability Compensation = 100% 
• Blind 
• Lost the Use of Two or More Limbs 

 
Spouse of Military Personnel 

• Surviving Spouse: Disabled Veteran 
• Surviving Spouse: Active Duty Death 
• Surviving Spouse: Posthumous service-

connected death finding 

$100,000 
adjusted for 

inflation 
 

$127,510 

$150,000 
adjusted for 

inflation 
 

$191,266 

Claims Granted: 37,653 33,196  4,457 

In 1990, 8,483 disabled veterans' exemptions were provided to eligible homeowners.  For 2015, there 
were 37,653 eligible homeowners.  In the last 25 years, this is a 344% increase.  

 
After 2005, the law allowed the $100,000 and $150,000 exemption amounts to annually increase by an 
inflation factor.  For the 2016-17 fiscal year, the exemption amounts will be $127,510 and $191,266.  
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Background:  The following table lists the most recent legislative attempts to increase the disabled 
veterans' exemption.  

Year Bill Proposal 
2008 AB 2568 (Houston) Full Exemption 
2007 AB 1485 (Jefferies) Full Exemption, as introduced 
2007  AB 1485 (Jefferies) Increase to $200,000 and $250,000, as amended 
2005 SB 1005 (Florez) Full Exemption for Spouses if Active Duty Death 

Full Exemption for Spouses if Public Safety Officer Death 
2004 SB 764 (Morrow)  Inflation factoring commences January 1, 2006 (Enacted) 
2003 SB 764 (Morrow) Increase to $200,000 and $250,000, as introduced 

Commentary:  
1. This bill fully exempts from property tax the homes of disabled veterans and their unmarried 

surviving spouses.  The California Constitution provides that the Legislature may exempt these 
homes in whole or in part.  This bill proposes to modify the current partial exemption to a full 
exemption for all qualifying claimants.  

2. The state does not reimburse local governments for the property tax revenue loss from the 
Disabled Veterans' Exemption.  By contrast, the state fully reimburses local governments for the 
homeowners' exemption.  

3. Operative Date. To transition from a partial to a full exemption at the least possible administrative 
cost, this bill delays the operative date to coincide with the lien date.  Otherwise, as a tax levy, this 
bill would take effect immediately.  

4. How much is the exemption? The exemption amount depends upon the claimant’s income.  For the 
2016-17 fiscal year, persons with household incomes below $57,258, may receive an exemption of 
$191,266.  For all other eligible persons, the exemption amount is $127,510.4   

5. How many persons claim the disabled veterans’ exemptions? For 2015, 37,653 exemptions were 
granted to eligible claimants: 33,196 basic exemptions and 4,457 lower income exemptions.  

6. Top 10 Counties.  For 2015, the counties with the most disabled veterans' exemptions in descending 
order include: (1) San Diego: 5,391; (2) Riverside: 3,732; (3) Sacramento: 2,422; (4) San Bernardino: 
2,373; (5) Los Angeles: 2,092; (6) Solano: 1,764; (7) Orange: 1,691; (8) Contra Costa: 1,147; (9) 
Monterey: 990; and (10) Fresno: 959. 

                                                           
4 This is the current exemption amount.  Since 2006, RTC 205.5(h) allows a compounding inflation factor to apply to 
the $150,000 and $100,000 amounts.  This is the current income threshold.  Since 2002, RTC 205.5(g) allows a 
compounding inflation factor to apply to the $40,000 income threshold.  

 

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/07-08/bill/asm/ab_2551-2600/ab_2568_bill_20080222_introduced.pdf
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/postquery?bill_number=ab_1485&sess=0708&house=B&author=jeffries
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/postquery?bill_number=sb_1005&sess=0506&house=B&author=florez
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/postquery?bill_number=sb_764&sess=0304&house=B&author=morrow
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/postquery?bill_number=sb_764&sess=0304&house=B&author=morrow
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7. Related Legislation.  Current legislation proposing to amend RTC Section 205.5 includes AB 1556 
(Mathis), which would also fully exempt from property tax the home of any person eligible for the 
disabled veterans’ exemption and SB 1458  (Bates) which would allow military service members who 
were not honorably discharged to receive the exemption as long as their discharge was not 
dishonorable.   

Administrative Costs:  BOE would incur absorbable costs to modify forms, publications, and 
website materials.  

Revenue Impact:  Background, Methodology, and Assumptions.  Existing property tax law 
provides a disabled veterans’ exemption to military personnel, or their spouses, in the event of a 
service-connected injury, disease, or death, as specified. The law provides a basic exemption amount of 
$100,000, but increases that amount to $150,000 if the claimant’s household income does not exceed 
$40,000, with all amounts adjusted for inflation.  

The following revenue impact estimate uses FY 2015-16 data and exemption amounts for consistency, 
since this is the most recent year where all variables for the same year are available.  For 2015-16, the 
basic exemption amount was $126,380.  The lower income exemption amount was $189,571 for 
claimants with a household income below $56,751.  

To begin, staff estimated the number of disabled veteran owned homes currently receiving the 
exemption. In 2015-16, 37,653 disabled veterans’ exemptions were granted: 33,196 at the basic level 
and 4,457 at the lower income level.  Based on a survey of several counties, staff estimates that this bill 
will not impact 21% of homes receiving the basic exemption (6,971 homes) or 24% of homes receiving 
the lower income exemption (1,070 homes).  These homes are already fully exempt because they have 
assessed values of less than $126,380 and $189,571, respectively.  Thus, this bill will exempt from the 
property tax 29,612 homes: 26,225 (33,196-6,971) currently receiving the basic exemption and 3,387 
homes (4,457-1,070) receiving the lower income exemption.  

 Homes Granted 
Exemption 

Homes Already Fully Exempt Additional Homes 
Exempted 

Basic 33,196 6,971 26,225 
Lower Income 4,457 1,070 3,387 
Total  37,653 8,041 29,612 

Staff then estimated the additional amount of assessed value that this bill will exempt.  Staff subtracted 
the current exemption amounts provided from the average assessed value (AV) of properties receiving 
the homeowners’ exemption. For 2015-16, the average was $356,370. The affected difference in value 
and revenue loss at the basic 1% property tax rate is then: 

 Average 
Home AV 

Exemption  
Current 

Exemption  
Increase 

Homes Tax 
Rate 

Tax 
Savings Per 

Home 

Revenue Loss 

Basic $356,370 $126,380 $229,990 26,255 1% $2,299 $60.3 Million 
Lower Income  $356,370 $189,571 $166,799   3,387 1% $1,667 $5.6 Million 
Total     29,612   $65.9 Million 

Revenue Summary.  By exempting the homes of persons qualified for the disabled veterans' exemption, 
this provision of the bill would result in a potential annual revenue loss of $65.9 million.  

Qualifying Remarks.  For 2016, the basic disabled veterans’ exemption amount increased to $127,510, 
the lower income disabled veterans’ exemption amount increased to $191,266, and the household 
income limit increased to $57,258. Counties will apply these amounts to their FY 2016-17 property tax 
rolls.  The revenue estimate does not account for any changes in economic activity that may or may not 
result from enactment of the proposed law. 

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/15-16/bill/asm/ab_1551-1600/ab_1556_bill_20160104_introduced.pdf
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201520160SB1458
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Veterans 65+: Inflation Factoring 
Revenue and Taxation Code Section 205.5 

Existing Law:  The California Constitution provides a Veterans' Exemption5 that applies to any 
property owned by a person who serves or has served in the military.  However, this exemption has 
become effectively obsolete. For any veteran who owns a home, the homeowners' exemption provides 
greater tax savings.6  Veterans who do not own homes, but own other taxable property (i.e., a boat or 
business personal property), are disqualified if they own property worth more than $5,000 (if single) or 
$10,000 (if married).  Thus, only two veterans in California currently qualify.   

Inflation Adjustments. The law requires the assessor to establish a “base year value” for real property at 
its 1975 market value and thereafter reset the value to current market value every time the property 
changes ownership.7 The base year value must be compounded annually by an inflation factor not to 
exceed 2%.8 The inflation-adjusted value is called the “factored base year value.”  Generally, every year 
the law requires a property’s assessed value to be based on its factored base year value or its current 
market value, whichever is lower.9  

Relevant to this bill, the California Constitution10 specifies that a property’s base year value may reflect 
from year to year the inflationary rate not to exceed 2% for any given year.   

Proposed Law. Beginning January 1, 2017, this bill eliminates future inflation factor increases for 
qualified veteran homeowners.  To qualify, the veteran must have been honorably discharged from 
military service. This limitation only applies to a veteran's principal place of residence.  

Effective Date. As a tax levy, this bill is effective immediately upon enactment.  However, the bill first 
applies to property taxes due for the 2017-18 fiscal year11 which are based on January 1, 2017 lien date 
values.  

In General: Property Tax System. Voters changed California’s property tax system through 
Proposition 13, which replaced a current market value-based system with an acquisition value-based 
system.  This tax system provides certainty to property owners regarding future property tax liability.  

Specifically, under Proposition 13, real property assessed values were rolled back to 1975 market value 
levels and future assessed value increases were limited to the inflation rate, not to exceed 2%, for as 
long as the property’s ownership remains unchanged and the property is not substantially improved 
(i.e., new construction).   

Thus, regardless of future real estate value increases, the 2% maximum inflation adjustment ensures 
limited assessed value increases. The acquisition-based system with the 2% inflation cap can result in 
substantial property tax savings for long-term property owners who do not move.   

Base Year Values.  The “base year value” of real property is the Proposition 13 protected value of a 
property. Under existing law, once the base year value of real property is established, it subsequently 
must be adjusted by an inflation factor of no more than 2% per year.  

Specifically, RTC Section 110.1 provides that the "full cash value" of real property means its fair market 
value as of the date on which a purchase or change in ownership occurs.  Subdivision (b) of Section 
110.1 provides that this value is to be known as the “base year value” while subdivision (f) of Section 
110.1 requires that the base year value annually be adjusted by an inflation factor, as specified in 
subdivision (a) of Section 51.  This bill proposes to amend Section 51 (a) to prohibit the adjustment for 
income-qualified seniors.  
                                                           
5 Section 3(o) of Article XIII of the California Constitution.   
6 The veterans' exemption is $4,000 and the homeowners' exemption is $7,000.  
7 RTC Section 110.1 (a) and (b). 
8 RTC Section 110.1 (f) and Section 51. 
9 RTC Section 51 (a)(1). 
10 California Constitution Article XIII A, Section 2(b).  
11 July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2018 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=CONS&sectionNum=SEC.%203.&article=XIII
http://www.boe.ca.gov/lawguides/property/current/ptlg/rt/110-1.html
http://www.boe.ca.gov/lawguides/property/current/ptlg/rt/51.html
http://www.boe.ca.gov/lawguides/property/current/ptlg/ccp/XIII-A-2.html
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Background: Veterans’ Exemption.  At its peak, from 1956 through 1962, over one million persons 
received the veterans' exemption. Today, only two people receive the exemption. In 1974, home-
owning veterans transitioned to the homeowners' exemption in 1974 when that exemption began to 
provide greater tax savings.  The remaining veterans who do not own homes have been unable to 
qualify because of the strict wealth limitations fixed in the California Constitution: $5,000 if single and 
$10,000 if married. Legislation to modify the veterans' exemption includes: 

Year Bill Proposal 
2005 SCA 14 (Morrow) Create a Military and Veterans homeowners' exemption that is 10% 

greater than the homeowners' exemption for active military and 
veterans. 

1997 ACA 9/AB 551 
(Morrissey and House) 

Increase the Veterans' Exemption to $7,700 and eliminate the wealth 
cap.  Held in Assembly Appropriations  

1996  ACA 39/AB 2790 
(Morrissey) 

Increase the Veterans' Exemption to $7,700 and eliminate the wealth 
cap.  Failed in the Senate 

Senior Provisions. Various age-based property tax benefits are available generally.  This includes base 
year value transfers for persons 55+ that buy a new qualifying home and property tax postponement for 
income-qualified persons 62+.   

Commentary: 
1. Provides financial relief to senior home-owning veterans.  According to the author, capping the 

property tax assessment of veterans age 65 or older will help lower income veterans afford to stay 
in their own home and avoid homelessness.  The author notes that homelessness is a significant 
issue for veterans.  

2. Freezes assessed values for veterans 65+. In practical application, this bill freezes the assessed value 
for any qualified veteran 65 years of age or older at the home's factored base year value for the 
2016-17 fiscal year, which is the factored base year value for the January 1, 2016 lien date.  In 
addition, as other veterans reach the age of 65, their home's assessed value will also be frozen.  

3. Historically, the inflation factor has applied equally to all property types and owners.  The 
Constitution does not appear to prohibit the Legislature from enacting a law that makes the inflation 
factor optional.  Section 2 (b) of Article XIII A of the Constitution reads:  

The full cash value base may reflect from year to year the inflationary rate not to exceed 2 
percent for any given year or reduction as shown in the consumer price index or comparable 
data for the area under taxing jurisdiction, or may be reduced to reflect substantial damage, 
destruction or other factors causing a decline in value. 

4. Qualification for the next fiscal year should be based on the person’s age on the lien date.  To ease 
administration and minimize implementation costs, a veteran’s age on the lien date (January 1) 
should determine whether inflation factoring will apply to the assessed value for the upcoming fiscal 
year, which runs from the following July 1 to June 30. The following amendments are suggested to 
address these issues:  

Section 51 (a)(1)(E) Notwithstanding any other law, for any assessment year commencing on 
or after January 1, 2017, the percentage increase for an assessment year determined 
pursuant to subparagraph (A), (B), or (C) shall not apply to the principal place of residence of 
a veteran who is 65 years of age or older on the lien date and was honorably discharged 
from military service. for any assessment year commencing on or after either January 1, 
2017, or the veteran’s 65th birthday, whichever occurs later. For the purpose of this 
subparagraph, “veteran” means a person who meets the criteria specified in subdivision (o) 
of Section 3 of Article XIII of the California Constitution, except for the limitation on the 
value of property owned by the veteran or the veteran’s spouse. 

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/postquery?bill_number=sca_14&sess=0506&house=B&author=morrow
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/postquery?bill_number=aca_9&sess=9798&house=B&author=morrissey
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/postquery?bill_number=ab_551&sess=9798&house=B&author=morrissey
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/postquery?bill_number=aca_39&sess=9596&house=B&author=assembly_member_morrissey
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/95-96/bill/asm/ab_2751-2800/ab_2790_bill_960805_amended_sen.pdf
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5. Qualifying senior veteran homeowners will need to take action.  Assessors do not have 
information about homeowners’ veteran status or their age.  The bill is silent as to any filing 
requirements or deadlines.   

6. Manufactured homes are not included. This bill does not apply to veterans who own manufactured 
homes.  RTC Section 51 applies to real property and does not apply to manufactured homes taxed 
pursuant to Part 13 “Taxation of Mobilehomes,” commencing with RTC Section 5800.  To provide 
the same property tax relief to senior veterans who own and live in manufactured homes, RTC 
Section 5813 must be amended.  

7. The bill would apply to veterans that own floating homes.  The law12 provides that Section 110.1 
applies to a floating home, and it is to be treated the same as real property for property tax 
assessment purposes. Therefore, veterans with floating homes would benefit from the bill.  

8. The bill does not address how eliminating the inflation factor applies to land in excess of what is 
reasonably necessary for use of the property as a home.  For example, in other areas of law, 
“residential dwelling” means a dwelling occupied by the claimant as the principal place of residence, 
and so much of the land surrounding it as is reasonably necessary for use of the dwelling as a home. 

9. Inflation Factor Related Legislation.  SB 1126 (Stone) proposes to eliminate annual assessed value 
inflation increases for persons age 65+ with an income of $25,000 or less if single or $50,000 or less 
if married.  

Revenue Impact:  Background, Methodology, and Assumptions.  Generally, a property’s sales 
price is the assessed value (called the base year value), and annual increases to that value are limited to 
the rate of inflation, not to exceed 2% (called the factored base year value). This bill eliminates the 
annual inflation factor increase applied to the base year value of a qualified veteran’s home once the 
veteran is 65 years of age or older and honorably discharged from military service for any assessment 
year commencing on or after either January 1, 2017, or the veteran’s 65th birthday, whichever occurs 
later. 

According to U.S. Census data, California veterans 65 and older account for 18 percent of all Californians 
65 and over. Among this age group, there are roughly 750,000 owner-occupied homes in the state. 
While data does not exist specifically, we can estimate the number of homes owned by veterans 65 and 
older as follows: 

750,000 homes x 18 percent = 135,000 homes 

For 2015-16, the average assessed value (AV) of homes receiving the homeowners’ exemption was 
$358,217.  Eliminating the inflation factor for qualified veterans 65 and older results in annual revenue 
loss at the basic 1% property tax rate calculated as follows: 

Avg. Home 
AV 

Inflation 
Factor 

AV Increase 
Avoided  

Tax 
Rate 

Tax Savings Per 
Home 

Veteran 65+ 
Homes 

Revenue Loss 

$358,217 2% $7,164 1% $71.64 135,000 $9.7M 

Revenue Summary. By eliminating the inflation factor applied to a qualifying veteran’s home, this bill 
would result in a potential annual revenue loss of $9.7 million. 

Qualifying Remarks.  This estimate assumes a similar rate of homeownership for veterans 65 and over 
as for all Californians 65 and over.  This revenue estimate does not account for any changes in economic 
activity that may or may not result from enactment of the proposed law. 

                                                           
12 RTC Section 229. 

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/15-16/bill/sen/sb_1101-1150/sb_1126_bill_20160217_introduced.pdf
http://www.boe.ca.gov/lawguides/property/current/ptlg/rt/229.html
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